The Real Deal Tours
The Real Deal Tours
3.5
Cultural ToursBoat ToursEco ToursSightseeing ToursNature & Wildlife Tours
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Monday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Tuesday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Wednesday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Thursday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Friday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Saturday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Sunday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
About
We are tour specialists offering excursions and activities to every type of traveler at discounted prices. We operate in Costa Rica, Panama, and Mexico. Whether you're interested in general public tours or tailor-made excursions, we are the best option for your vacation needs!
San Jose, Costa Rica

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Travelers talk about
(3 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles20 reviews
Excellent
8
Very good
4
Average
3
Poor
1
Terrible
4

Lea Greve
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Friends
I bought a 3 days tour to Tortuguero through The Real Deal Tours. The booking went fine, and the customerservice gave quick answers on WhatsApp and were able to get the tour for us even though it was last minute.

However information on the website isn’t right. Especially the additional fees on the tour isn’t right, such as the price for the Caribbean Conservation Corporation and the turtle nesting tour, so our tour ended up being more expensive than what it says on the website.
I even asked customer service on WhatsApp before buying the tour if the prices on the website were right to check if they were up to date, and they said it was.
It really just leaves me with the feeling of being scammed and the impression that The Real Deal Tours is unprofessional and doesn’t really know what they are selling.

Also I would really recommend buying directly through exploradores or ROOTS which is the companies The Real Deal Tours booked our Tortuguero tour through. We had nice experiences with both companies. Especially ROOTS makes great tours with highly competent guides.
Written August 21, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jacinda B
35 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2022
We used this company to book a white water rafting tour on the Tenorio River. The tour itself was amazing (thanks to Tenorio Adventure Company!) but there was miscommunication from The Real Deal Tours that was frustrating. First, the description on their website said we would need to bring cash on the day of the tour to pay, but the ticket they sent 5 days in advance said to pay online at least 24 hours prior. They also gave us the wrong meeting location (they weren't able to pick us up at our Airbnb so we had to drive ourselves) which caused us to be a few minutes late. To their credit, they tried calling us to make sure we had gotten there, but at that point we were already on the bus and were confused why they were saying on their end it appeared we hadn't checked in yet.
On a positive note, in the weeks leading up to our trip they worked well with us to schedule our tour and communicated well through email in advance. And we did successfully make it to our tour, there were just some bumps along the way that could have been avoided if they made sure to have all their details correct. Having incorrect information for the payment and meeting location is inexcusable. If I could do it over, I would book directly through the rafting company to avoid this confusion.
Written December 1, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Amalia C
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 • Couples
Highly recommended! They organised our transportation from Tortuguero, rafting and drop off to La Fortuna. Everything was excellent!
Written April 21, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Deece C
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022
SCAM! They will take deposit online and say on website you must pay cash for balance upon arrival. They will then send you emails attempting to pressure you into paying balance online prior to leaving, and then they will never pick you up as they state they will. DO NOT USE.
Written February 11, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Josh F
New York City, New York6 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2019 • Family
Wish I could give them less an a 1 star.

Poor service. Errors on their website. Do not use as you will not get what you pay for. Go directly to the source for ATV booking (potentially use a different company not Power Wheels in La Fortuna)

Had a terrible experience - paid for 3.5 hours and got an hour and 45 minute tour to places that were not in the ride description, stayed on a road with other cars and trucks. May as well have driven instead of atving. No off-road riding or water or mud that you would expect on a tour like this
Written June 4, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hola Malcolm, We agree that the description on our website was inaccurate and we completely understand your frustration on the day of your tour. As our customer service representative Katy had explained to you, Power Wheels had not notified us of the recent changes to their routes so we were just as surprised as you. This is why she refunded 50% of your tour as soon as you notified us and we verified with Power Wheels that you only received a tour that was short of 2 hours of riding. We also disabled the booking of those tours until we receive the new updated descriptions and can verify their accuracy. We have worked with Power Wheels for the past few years and have had many very happy clients and we will continue to recommend their services. Keep in mind that ride was not muddy was due to the fact that you were visiting at the end of the dry season. Most of the year, we receive rain in Arenal pretty much daily which is why it is typically a muddy ride. Again, we sincerely apologize for your negative experience but we appreciate that you brought it to our attention so no other clients are affected in the future.
Written June 7, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Minty384
Melbourne, Australia5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2018 • Solo
I took a shuttle from San Jose to Bocas del Toro with this tour company. Really good service and I highly recommend them. The trip was a long one so they had a stop over for an hour and half at a nice beachside restaurant in Playa Negra. It was so beautiful that I took photos, there were many kinds of wildlife around the place. It was a very relaxing time in between. The border crossing itself was easy enough and they organised a water taxi for me to get to Bocas. It was very simple, everything was taken care of. And they were prompt with responses via email too :) Would recommend
Written June 10, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our services. The Caribe Shuttles really are the best way to travel between Costa Rica and Panama. We are glad you enjoyed your trip! We hope to assist you again on your next journey to Costa Rica or Panama :)
Written June 11, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Steve T
Charlottesville, VA34 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2018 • Family
Costa Rica Day Tours was a booking agent that we used for an ATV ride in the Monteverde Cloud Forest. While using them was easy, I don't think it is necessary to book through them and unfortunately because they are a reseller of tours, they're out to make the sale. Everything of our tour was great until I arrived at the location to check-in and was immediately told all single riders must be 18 years of age (Costa Rica law the owner told me). This after I had specifically asked how old do riders have to be to Costa Rica Day Tours 2 times in email since I have a 16 year old daughter. Thankfully, this didn't turn out badly as I was able to show the owner my emails (he informed me Costa Rica Day Tours just books) and convince him my daughter was capable to drive the ATVs. Not trying to bash Costa Rica Day Tours, but when they can't answer a simple (but important) question, I am not sure I'd use them again.
Written May 6, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hola Steve, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. My customer service team notified me of this error and we have already taken steps to correct this. Our web page stated that drivers must be adults, but we have since already updated to note adults (18+) to avoid any confusion in the future. https://www.thecostaricatoursite.com/monteverde/tours/Monteverde-Cloud-Forest-ATV-Adventure.php I can completely understand your frustration and surprise on the day of the tour since one of our reps told you that anyone with a drivers license could operate their own ATV. That was in fact incorrect and she (as well as the rest of our team) has been since reminded of the importance of double checking with the tour providers themselves the age limits. We work with several ATV operators in Costa Rica, and they in fact have different policies depending on the municipality and the route they take. Some allow younger drivers as they are entirely on private property and do not access public roads. As you note in Monteverde, most of the dirt roads are also the public roads, so in this case the minimum driving age is 18. Some operators have different insurance policies with different restrictions as well, so we do our best to ensure we provide the correct information. We sincerely apologize for our mistake. We are very sorry that your tour started out on the wrong foot, but we are glad that the provider was able to work things out with you and you enjoyed the tour. Riding ATVs in the cloud forest is definitely an amazing experience so we are glad you did not miss out. We have since apologized to ATV operator as well as we do not want them to think we are not looking out for them. We think of the tour providers we work with as part of our team, we need to do our best to support them. Our end goal is NOT sales, our end goal is to ensure you have the best experience based on your needs. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience so we can ensure the next client booking an ATV tour in Monterverde has a much better experience. Pura Vida! Real Deal Tour MGMT Team.
Written May 7, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Matt S
7 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2018 • Friends
The Real Deal Tours did an excellent job in organizing a tour for us to Irazú volcano on our trip to costa rica. They provided us with all necessary information and were very effective and timely with communication. Be aware that they book a tour for you with a local guide and do not actually run the tour.
Written April 15, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you, Matt. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write your review. You are correct that we do not operate the tours ourselves. We leave the operations part to the pros and focus on a smooth customer service experience. Our team is dedicated to seeking out the best experiences all over Panama and Costa Rica and providing you with one easy booking page rather than having to reach out to several different companies. Our job is to provide you with an excellent customer service experience no matter how many destination you visit during your Costa Rica vacation. We hope that we made your Costa Rica vacation experience a memorable one and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Kindest Regards, The Real Deal Tours Management Team
Written May 7, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Katelyn C
Calgary, Canada5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2017 • Couples
My boyfriend and I did the over night Pacuare rafting tour. The amount of hospitality provided by this company was out of this world. With picking you up from multiple locations to well balanced meals throughout the day, I felt like my needs were being put first at all times. I would definitely recommend doing the overnight trip, as the eco-lodges were beautiful and quite clean for that matter. Staying in the rainforest over night is a one of a kind experience that you can't miss out on when staying in Costa Rica. Fernando and his team were the best part of the experience, as they were friendly and made us feel safe and taken care of from the moment we arrived to the moment we left.
Written February 2, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review Katelyn! The Pacuare Rafting tours are one of our best sellers for obvious reasons. We wish we could escape to the eco-lodge for a mini vacation all the time. Fernando is an excellent guide and we are glad you enjoyed your time with him. We will pass along your praises. We hope that you are able to come visit us again soon and we hope to have the opportunity to assist you again in the near future. Pura Vida!
Written May 7, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Pamela P
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2016 • Solo
I recently attended the cultural and dinner show through The Costa Rica site and had a wonderful time. Was picked up by their shuttle and then dropped off at my hotel four hours later. As it was my first night in Costa Rica, it was a good introduction to the country.
Written September 3, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 17

The Real Deal Tours - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

The Real Deal Tours Information

Excellent Reviews

8

Very Good Reviews

4

The Real Deal Tours Photos

50