We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About The Real Deal Tours
We are tour specialists offering excursions and activities to every type of traveler at discounted prices. We operate in Costa Rica, Panama, and Mexico. Whether you're interested in general public tours or tailor-made excursions, we are the best option for your vacation needs!
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
See all hours

The Real Deal Tours
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
15Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 6
  • 4
  • 2
  • 0
  • 3
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Josh F wrote a review Jun 2019
New York City, New York5 contributions6 helpful votes
Wish I could give them less an a 1 star. Poor service. Errors on their website. Do not use as you will not get what you pay for. Go directly to the source for ATV booking (potentially use a different company not Power Wheels in La Fortuna) Had a terrible experience - paid for 3.5 hours and got an hour and 45 minute tour to places that were not in the ride description, stayed on a road with other cars and trucks. May as well have driven instead of atving. No off-road riding or water or mud that you would expect on a tour like this
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from TheRealDealTours, Manager at The Real Deal Tours
Responded Jun 7, 2019
Hola Malcolm, We agree that the description on our website was inaccurate and we completely understand your frustration on the day of your tour. As our customer service representative Katy had explained to you, Power Wheels had not notified us of the recent changes to their routes so we were just as surprised as you. This is why she refunded 50% of your tour as soon as you notified us and we verified with Power Wheels that you only received a tour that was short of 2 hours of riding. We also disabled the booking of those tours until we receive the new updated descriptions and can verify their accuracy. We have worked with Power Wheels for the past few years and have had many very happy clients and we will continue to recommend their services. Keep in mind that ride was not muddy was due to the fact that you were visiting at the end of the dry season. Most of the year, we receive rain in Arenal pretty much daily which is why it is typically a muddy ride. Again, we sincerely apologize for your negative experience but we appreciate that you brought it to our attention so no other clients are affected in the future.
Read more
Minty384 wrote a review Jun 2018
Melbourne, Australia5 contributions
I took a shuttle from San Jose to Bocas del Toro with this tour company. Really good service and I highly recommend them. The trip was a long one so they had a stop over for an hour and half at a nice beachside restaurant in Playa Negra. It was so beautiful that I took photos, there were many kinds of wildlife around the place. It was a very relaxing time in between. The border crossing itself was easy enough and they organised a water taxi for me to get to Bocas. It was very simple, everything was taken care of. And they were prompt with responses via email too :) Would recommend
Read more
Date of experience: May 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from TheRealDealTours, Manager at The Real Deal Tours
Responded Jun 11, 2018
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our services. The Caribe Shuttles really are the best way to travel between Costa Rica and Panama. We are glad you enjoyed your trip! We hope to assist you again on your next journey to Costa Rica or Panama :)
Read more
Steve T wrote a review May 2018
Charlottesville, Virginia31 contributions32 helpful votes
Costa Rica Day Tours was a booking agent that we used for an ATV ride in the Monteverde Cloud Forest. While using them was easy, I don't think it is necessary to book through them and unfortunately because they are a reseller of tours, they're out to make the sale. Everything of our tour was great until I arrived at the location to check-in and was immediately told all single riders must be 18 years of age (Costa Rica law the owner told me). This after I had specifically asked how old do riders have to be to Costa Rica Day Tours 2 times in email since I have a 16 year old daughter. Thankfully, this didn't turn out badly as I was able to show the owner my emails (he informed me Costa Rica Day Tours just books) and convince him my daughter was capable to drive the ATVs. Not trying to bash Costa Rica Day Tours, but when they can't answer a simple (but important) question, I am not sure I'd use them again.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from TheRealDealTours, Manager at The Real Deal Tours
Responded May 7, 2018
Hola Steve, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. My customer service team notified me of this error and we have already taken steps to correct this. Our web page stated that drivers must be adults, but we have since already updated to note adults (18+) to avoid any confusion in the future. https://www.thecostaricatoursite.com/monteverde/tours/Monteverde-Cloud-Forest-ATV-Adventure.php I can completely understand your frustration and surprise on the day of the tour since one of our reps told you that anyone with a drivers license could operate their own ATV. That was in fact incorrect and she (as well as the rest of our team) has been since reminded of the importance of double checking with the tour providers themselves the age limits. We work with several ATV operators in Costa Rica, and they in fact have different policies depending on the municipality and the route they take. Some allow younger drivers as they are entirely on private property and do not access public roads. As you note in Monteverde, most of the dirt roads are also the public roads, so in this case the minimum driving age is 18. Some operators have different insurance policies with different restrictions as well, so we do our best to ensure we provide the correct information. We sincerely apologize for our mistake. We are very sorry that your tour started out on the wrong foot, but we are glad that the provider was able to work things out with you and you enjoyed the tour. Riding ATVs in the cloud forest is definitely an amazing experience so we are glad you did not miss out. We have since apologized to ATV operator as well as we do not want them to think we are not looking out for them. We think of the tour providers we work with as part of our team, we need to do our best to support them. Our end goal is NOT sales, our end goal is to ensure you have the best experience based on your needs. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience so we can ensure the next client booking an ATV tour in Monterverde has a much better experience. Pura Vida! Real Deal Tour MGMT Team.
Read more
Matt S wrote a review Apr 2018
7 contributions2 helpful votes
The Real Deal Tours did an excellent job in organizing a tour for us to Irazú volcano on our trip to costa rica. They provided us with all necessary information and were very effective and timely with communication. Be aware that they book a tour for you with a local guide and do not actually run the tour.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from TheRealDealTours, Manager at The Real Deal Tours
Responded May 7, 2018
Thank you, Matt. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write your review. You are correct that we do not operate the tours ourselves. We leave the operations part to the pros and focus on a smooth customer service experience. Our team is dedicated to seeking out the best experiences all over Panama and Costa Rica and providing you with one easy booking page rather than having to reach out to several different companies. Our job is to provide you with an excellent customer service experience no matter how many destination you visit during your Costa Rica vacation. We hope that we made your Costa Rica vacation experience a memorable one and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Kindest Regards, The Real Deal Tours Management Team
Read more
Katelyn C wrote a review Feb 2017
Calgary, Canada5 contributions6 helpful votes
My boyfriend and I did the over night Pacuare rafting tour. The amount of hospitality provided by this company was out of this world. With picking you up from multiple locations to well balanced meals throughout the day, I felt like my needs were being put first at all times. I would definitely recommend doing the overnight trip, as the eco-lodges were beautiful and quite clean for that matter. Staying in the rainforest over night is a one of a kind experience that you can't miss out on when staying in Costa Rica. Fernando and his team were the best part of the experience, as they were friendly and made us feel safe and taken care of from the moment we arrived to the moment we left.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from TheRealDealTours, Manager at The Real Deal Tours
Responded May 7, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to write a review Katelyn! The Pacuare Rafting tours are one of our best sellers for obvious reasons. We wish we could escape to the eco-lodge for a mini vacation all the time. Fernando is an excellent guide and we are glad you enjoyed your time with him. We will pass along your praises. We hope that you are able to come visit us again soon and we hope to have the opportunity to assist you again in the near future. Pura Vida!
Read more
Previous