We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About Costa Adventures
Costa Adventures is a boutique, Costa Rica based Tour Operator founded in 1999, offering tailor trips and vacations for travelers, self-formed groups). Our company has been awarded as "Top Travel Specialist" by prestigious travel magazine Conde Nast Traveler every year in a row since 2011. We design and operate vacations to Costa Rica, Panama and Nicaragua (one country or 2-3 countries in the same trip, as these countries are neighbors but offer very distinct experiences). We offer multi days itineraries with original day tours, experiences on the way from destination to destination, all with an exceptionally personalized service, trying to adapt to our guests many requests. We work with 3 to 5* properties (hotels, Eco lodges, villas), no hostels. Please check us online and contact us with your “wish list” for a dream custom made vacation! We are working close with all the suppliers involved in your trip to guarantee high standards of safety and cleanliness for your family or group!
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Costa Adventures

Nicaragua Overnight Tour from Guanacaste

A totally different travel experience from anything you will see and do in Guanacaste: visiting Colonial Granada, Lake Nicaragua and its hundreds of charming islands "Isletas" which is a world apart, see an active volcano from the crater's edge and visit native markets, this trip is much more interesting than a one-day tour to Nicaragua, (that our company doesn't offer because you would spend most of your time in transportation with quick stops on the way- Granada is 5-6 hours drive each way to the beaches of Guanacaste including the border crossing), this extension trip from the areas of northern Guanacaste in Costa Rica includes a night in Granada, the jewel of the colonial cities in Nicaragua, and stops on the way in Masaya area, its active volcano amd market, to enjoy sightseeing during transfers and maximize your visit without being "rushed". After the tour, we transfer you back to your location in Costa Rica; we can also drop you off at Liberia airport LIR for your flight back!
Read more
2 days
from $349.00

San Jose to Manuel Antonio or Jaco transfer with chocolate tour on the way

This is the best way to turn a day of transportation to a wonderful experience, with a tour on the way to your next destination! Discover one of Costa Rica's traditional productions, we love this chocolate tour as it is an artesanal, authentic local experience, not a large group, standard tour, allowing lot of interaction with your guide (during the tour, as the transfer is provided by a professional driver, not with a guide). Ideal for families and adults too!
Read more
4 hours
from $148.27
28Reviews0Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 27
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lucia C wrote a review Jun 2020
2 contributions
I cannot recommend Costa Adventures enough! Michael and Pierre made our trip from Costa Rica to Nicaragua incredibly memorable. Before our trip to Costa Rica, Michael was in constant communication with me helping plan a trip that was custom for my group of 4. We planned going to the Masaya Volcano, City Tours and Horse drawn carriage rides as well as a detailed itinerary of travel information including border crossing. On the day of our trip, we were met at our airbnb by a private bus that transported us to the border, after crossing the border we were directly met by our Costa Adventures tour bus and our adventure continued into Nicaragua! We felt incredibly safe, our tour guide was fantastic and knowledgeable of the history of each location we went to. The hotel we stayed at was filled with other travelers and also felt very safe and clean. There was never a time that we felt uneasy or unsure of where to go. Michael made himself available at all times. At the end of the trip we were again transported to the border and after crossing met by another private bus that took us back to our original location. We never felt lost at any time. If you are planning on making a trip to Nicaragua definitely choose Costa Adventures!!
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Melanie M wrote a review Mar 2020
New Rochelle, New York2 contributions
Costa adventures, Pierre , organized a fabulous trip for us to Panama. Fantastic diversity of locations from the Carribean to the cloud forests, the Pacific to Panama City. Wonderful choice of historic and unique hotels. Everything was perfect! This was our second trip with Pierre organizing it. Nicaragua several years ago and we couldn’t be happier to highly recommend him.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from pg011, Manager at Costa Adventures
Responded Apr 6, 2020
Dear melaniemI5112WC, Thank you so much for posting this very nice review, we were so pleased to hear you had a great trip (arranged with just a few days’ notice in February)! Having organized your trip to Nicaragua a few years ago, we had a quite good idea of what kind of locations, experiences and activities you would enjoy. Thank you again for your trust, and also for referring various of your friends after your trip, we are now working with some of them for a combined Costa Rica – Panama trip for Feb. 2021. Merci!
Read more
LYP wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
Michael and PIerre did an excellent job preparing for the trip, ironing out all minor details before my arrival and being in touch with me if I needed to during the trip. I was a single female traveling and felt very safe and taken care of by the travel team. I traveled in March 2020 - right when the Coronavirus situation started. The company kept me informed on daily basis and took good care of me with changes in my itinerary and customized requests to make sure I leave the country safely. I highly recommend Costa Adventures and I cannot wait to go back to Nicaraqua and use them again. It's a great country to visit.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
1 Save
Helpful
Share
Response from pg011, Manager at Costa Adventures
Responded Apr 7, 2020
Dear lenapS1462JN, Thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor's readers! We did all we could so you could enjoy your trip and monitor the day by day situation, make the necessary adjustments so your vacation would be worry-free at the same time and leave safely, while the country was about to shut its borders (and it did just a few days later and thousands of travelers got stuck, which we wanted to vaoid at all cost for you mand managed to!). We hope to see you again in Costa Rica and Nicaragua soon! Thank you again for using our services.
Read more
Claude F wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
Costa Adventures (Pierre & Michael) organised for us (68 + 72) the whole trip, we have planed and chosen by ourselves, to Panama and Costa Rica. Our trip started on 22.01.2020 in Panama City (at the Airport resp. in Casco Viejo at the Central Hotel). From Casco Viejo we left early morning to start with a smaller tourist boat to a half day trip through the western half of the Panama Channel, what was very interesting and impressive. Next day we had a booking for a private half day tour in a limousine with an excellent guide (53 years old) who grew up in Panama City and who could provide us with a lot of interesting information about this fast growing city, it’s daily live and it's history in the three different areas of Panama City (Casco Viejo, Old and New Panama). Our next destination was the Playa Bluff, near Bocas del Toro, in the North/East and at the Caribbean coast of Panama, close to the border of Costa Rica. We stayed there for 3 nights at The Humingbird Lodge, which is a nice, small, quiet and clean Lodge with very nice and well equipped rooms in the middle of the rain forest. Gerry and Betsy, who own this Lodge, are the right persons to guarantee together with their friendly staff an unforgettable nice stay at this place with a interesting fauna and flora and located just a few steps from the nice sandy beach, where you just hear the sea and no other noise. The road from Bocas del Toro to The Hummingbird is however mostly a sand track, which is very bumpy and only passable for 4WD cars, and the 4WD-Taxis which can bring you there for USD 15 need approx. 30 minutes for the distance of 5-6 kms. In Bocas del Toro there is not much to see and to do, and it is a place for young people and backpackers. From Playa Bluff we were the transferred by boat and and a small bus to Puerto Viejo on the Caribbean side of Costa Rica, where we stayed at the only existing Bungalow oft the Mar Verde Lodge for 2 nights. It is located in the middle of the rain forest and approx. 6 to 8 meters above ground, and it belongs to Léon and Stéfan. Monkees, Bird, Monkeys and other species came very close close to our Bungalow, and we could see and hear there much more of them than in the National Parks of Tortuguero and Monteverde, we visited later on our trip. In approx. 10 minutes of walk from the Lodge you can reach the Playa Chiquita, which is very nice and not dangerous for a swim. The Lodge offers a very good breakfast, but for other meals you have to go to a restaurant or a pizzeria which can also be reached in approx. 10 minutes. The village of Puerto Viejo is 6 to 8 kms away, and you need a taxi to go there. The Cahiuta National Park we visited near Puerto Viejo on a shared walking tour was nice and interesting to see, and the Park was by far not so overcrowded with tourists like in Tortuguero and Monteverde. Next day we were transferred by bus and boat to Guapiles, La Pavona and the Tortuguero National Park, where we stayed for 3 nights at the 4* Manathus Hotel incl. full board and 3 excursions. Although the boat trips along the large Colorado River or through the small side channels along or directly through the rain forest were very nice and impressive. The number of animals “monkeys, sloths, birds, alligators, crocodiles, etc.“ we could see or hear was however very poor and disappointing, but if you see, that every day 500 - 600 new tourists are brought by boat or air into this Park, chasing from many different boats with up to 25 people and from much to close of the few discovered animals for pictures, you must not wonder, that these animals move always deeper into the rain forest, where you can not see and hear them anymore. The 4* Manathus Hotel seems to be the most expensive Hotel at a nice place on the riverside. It has 12 rooms and seems to be the most expensive Hotel in Tortuguero. It is certainly 20 to 30 years old and the furniture in the guestrooms and restaurant have very probably the same age. For it’s age every thing is very well maintained and clean, but it does not anymore correspond to a 4* Hotel. At the Restaurant a wide variety of food is also available, but the quality and presentation does not correspond to ****. The price of almost USD 1000 per person for a stay of 3 nights, incl. full board, boat excursions and transfers Guapiles-La Pavona-Tortuguero and back is for this Hotel much to high.Today we would rate this place only with 2 or 3*. When we left from Tortuguero, we were brought by boat and bus to Guapiles, where we rent a car to reach our further planed destinations «Poas Volcano Lodge, Vara Blanca, Trapp Family Lodge, Monteverde and Alma del Pacifico Hotel, Esterillos», where we stayed always between 2 and 3 nights. Al Hotels, booked with B&B, were good and clean and their price-performance ratio was ok. Concerning the Alma del Pacifico Hotel, we think however, that the wooden furniture in the rooms should be refurbished. The gardens in all 3 Hotel were very nice and in the Poas Volcano Lodge you could see a lot of birds, which were feeded by the owner. In all 3 Hotels we could also get lunch or dinner at normal prices. In Monteverde we booked the Hanging Bridges- and Cloud Forest Reserve Tours, which were interesting, but also there were to many tourist for us, to see the living Fauna in these rain forests. There also, most of the animals existing in these forests have probably left there places s along the walkways of the guides and tourists and moved to more quiet places inside the forests. The village of Monteverde is ugly and very far from a nice mountain place. When we left Monteverde, we drove by car to Esterillos, from where a excursion to the Manuel Antonio National Park was booked as well. We did cancel this trip, due to the fact, that as per the information received from our guides in Monteverde, you will there also just see a lot of tourists and only very few monkees or other animals. A round trip by car, we made one day from Esterillos to Quepos, confirmed this information, because at the entrance of the Park we saw hundreds of car and buses. In all National Parks of Costa Rica we expected to see much more animals in the forests and the nature, but what we have finally seen there was more or less disappointing for us. Just plenty of tourists and almost no animals. Concerning the Fauna in Costa Rica, our trip did unfortunately not correspond to that, what we expected see. But for a couple who traveled during the past 45 years throughout the whole world, visiting by it’s own many beautiful places with almost no tourists, it is today very difficult, to find still such rare and natural places. However, there were at least some other good experiences and beautiful impressions we took back home with us from Costa Rica. This trip, which was planned through us but organized on our demand through Costa Adventures was perfectly arranged through Pierre and Michael, and we would like to express them our thanks for their professional work and organisation. Claude + Maya Fries CH-4153 Reinach BL Switzerland
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from pg011, Manager at Costa Adventures
Responded Feb 23, 2020
Dear 213claudef, Thank you for posting this review about your trip to Costa Rica and Panama! We understand you were very satisfied with our services and the general trip organization but not as happy with some of the areas and hotels that you specifically requested and so we included accordingly. We do not offer very much areas like Tortuguero as they tend to be overcrowded, nor Monteverde as we prefer quieter areas where there is often as much to see but without the crowds, but when travelers require these specific highlights to be included we book them. However, from now on we won’t accept to book any lodge required by a traveler, many times influenced by misleading or biased online reviews (sometimes fake) but only properties we have stayed at or at least visited. We know the good and the not so good properties and judge them according to service, location, infrastructure, value for the money spent (whether they are rustic lodges or luxury resorts), sites of interest and activities, as we have been onsite since 1999 and constantly on the ground checking properties and activities. Thank you again for using our services, we are working on sending an itinerary for the north of Costa Rica and Nicaragua for your next trip as per your request! Best regards,
Read more
Lisa S wrote a review Jan 2020
3 contributions
Pierre and his team planned an AMAZING trip to Costa Rica for our family of four. Our four-year-old son had the time of his life, milking cows, searching for snakes, petting sloths, spotting monkeys, floating in magical hot springs, and playing at the most beautiful beaches. Pierre and his team were incredibly thoughtful in customizing the trip to our needs, and even made went above and beyond to make last-minute changes to ensure the trip was perfect. We highly recommend choosing Costa Adventures!
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from pg011, Manager at Costa Adventures
Responded Jan 29, 2020
Dear LisaTravel3, thank you so much for sharing your review on our services in this forum! I was delighted to work with your family in planning this trip and during the tour too, when you asked to make a few adjustments i.e. a day you felt more like laying at the pool or the beach than going for a hike in Manuel Antonio national park! We are thrilled that your son had such an enriching experiences, it was really nice meeting you and him upon arrival in Costa Rica. We hope to host you or your family members again soon in Costa Rica, Panama or Nicaragua!
Read more
Previous