We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Costa Rican Trails - Day Tours

San Jose, Costa Rica
More
About Costa Rican Trails - Day Tours
Costa Rican Trails proudly presents a collection of unique travel experiences in each and every tour. Every multiday package, hotel, tour, and transportation service has been carefully designed and selected to meet our high standards of quality and travel value.
Read more
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Costa Rican Trails - Day Tours
Overview
An all-inclusive tour is an efficient and affordable way to visit Costa Rica’s essential highlights in just a week. Transportation, activities, meals, and lodging are included on your visits to Arenal Volcano, Monteverde Cloud Forest, Tortuguero Canals, and more. Plus, traveling with a guide means gleaning lots of insight into local culture and history that you might miss traveling alone.
275Reviews3Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 245
  • 18
  • 7
  • 2
  • 3
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
HarrisAlbon wrote a review Jul 2020
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom11 contributions4 helpful votes
We travelled in August 2019 with 2 boys aged 9 and 11. Had THE most amazing time! Thank you to Kristina and the team at Costa RIcan Trails. From the moment we landed everything went smoothly. Cannot fault the accommodation, exactly as planned and to meet our requirements. They helped juggle the tours to meet our needs, arranged private transfers so we had time out on our own for the long journeys. Made excellent recommondations and just all in all and fantastic experience. Our tour was: 2 nights Torguguero at Mawamba Lodge 2 nights Puerto Viejo at Azania Bungalows 1 night Boca Tapada at Maquenque Lodge - Treehouse (unbelievable) 2 nights Arenal at Arenal Springs (loved the hot springs at the hotel) 2 nights at Monteverde Lodge & Springs All the recommended tours were amazing. Hikes to see wildlife, white water rafting, horse riding, zip lines just a memorable holiday. We then flew to Florida Keys on the way home for some R&R which was needed after packing it in!!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
DayTrip179520 wrote a review Apr 2020
1 contribution
Although they seem to have a previous positive track record, when it’s not good for them, they are not very nice or accommodating. I understand this time is hard on the entire travel industry but Costa Rican Trails...DO THE RIGHT THING. We had a trip planned for Spring Break and of course it was canceled. Our airlines refunded our flights in 24 hours but I sit here several weeks later and still no refund from CRT. My travel agent has called, and I have called and we just keep getting the run around. It was processed, then it wasn’t, Alejandra is out today, might take a week. I’m done with excuses. I need my very large payment to pay for bills of my own. You just lost a future customer. You need to be attentive and caring in the good and bad times. Not just when you are benefiting. I’m sure I can’t be the only one.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Lorena A, Public Relations Manager at Costa Rican Trails - Day Tours
Responded Apr 20, 2020
Dear Mrs Chmiel I hope you are fine and keeping safe. We understand that this situation that we are all facing is difficult, but rest-assured that we are taking all the necessary measures to follow up on all of our customers’ requests. In reference to our clients refunds , we have been processing them as they come , and as you can imagine due to this COVID-19 crisis, we have been extremely busy with lots of requests and our response time has taken a little bit longer than usual. Your refund was processed by our company last Friday to the credit card company (Credomatic) . At this moment the credit card company (Credomatic) is quite overwhelmed by all the refunds from the overall travel industry, and they are taking more time to process each request . We have been told that they are taking at least 15 working days to process one request. We sent today a copy to your travel agent of the email where the credit card company states that they are taking this longer time to process a request. Thank you for understanding that these are unusual times. Our company has been in the market for over 30 year and we have an untouchable financial and service quality record . We do apologize for this situation, but at this moment this is something that is out of our hands. We kindly ask you to please remove this bad review from Trip Advisor.
Read more
Gypsy-Wanderer3 wrote a review Feb 2020
Fairfax, Virginia13 contributions2 helpful votes
My husband and I had used Costa Rican Trail Tours a year ago to see Corcovado and were happy with that tour, so we tried them again for three tours near Monteverde. Making the arrangements ahead of time was very easy and we were given all the information we needed about pick-up times, clothes to wear, etc. We had friends who were latecomers in reserving the same tours as us, but the company was able to get them on our tours. The first tour was to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Our guide spent a great deal of time telling us about the wildlife we might see (and mostly didn’t see). We realize it is hit or miss as to what you might see on this type of tour and this was mostly a “miss” day. However, I did notice that the only sightings of wildlife that we did see were after our guide talked to other guides, which left us with the feeling our guy was not a good wildlife spotter. The next day we took a tour of the Curi Cancha Wildlife Refuge and this guide also spent too much time talking about what we might see. However, we were luckier this day and had great views of the Resplendent Quetzel and our guide let us spend all the time we wanted in watching this magnificent bird and also gave us some interesting facts about these birds and the other wildlife we saw. He was the best guide of our three tours, however, he didn’t spot much more than what other guides had observed first. He also didn’t look back to see if everyone in his group of 12 were following him. This led to a couple people in the back of the group taking a wrong turn. But in doing so, they saw a beautiful blue crowned mot mot. They found our group and we all went back to see the bird. The last tour we took was the Monteverde Reserve Night Tour. There were way too many people on this trip. We split into 4 or 5 groups of eight people per guide. The guides and groups took off in different directions, but all the groups were close by and we could see their flashlights through the forest. We did not go that far into the forest and we were not that far from an urban area. We did see some interesting wildlife and insects. At one point our guide received a radio message and he called out that we needed to hurry and took off almost running. I was right behind him but the rest of the group was far behind. One poor woman at the end of our group could not keep up and got lost. Luckily a couple of people in our group noticed she was missing and went back for her. Our guide did not care. Based on our experience with these tours, we would definitely try another tour company first before using this one again.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Conciergecrt18, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Costa Rican Trails - Day Tours
Responded Feb 28, 2020
Dear guest Your feedback is enormously valuable to us, so we greatly appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience. Our compromise is to offer an excellent service, so we would like to extend our sincery apologies since your expectations were not fullfil. One of our travel designers will contact you to offer more details. Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Costa Rica. Kind regards, Costa Rican Trails
Read more
John G wrote a review Feb 2020
Keelby, United Kingdom13 contributions4 helpful votes
this was the second halk of our Central America holiday, the part being an Uncruise trip for 10 days which was also fabulous. The land tour arranged by Costa Rican Trails was excellent from the hotels, the drivers and the arranged tours and activities all were really good and we would have no problem in recommending this copany to anyone travelling to this area. Everything was on time and of a very high quality.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Conciergecrt18, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Costa Rican Trails - Day Tours
Responded Feb 28, 2020
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and help other customers with your feedback. We are glad to know that your travel arrangements were according with your expectatives. We hope that you decide to come back again in a near future and discover more fascinating spots in Costa Rica. Cordially, Costa Rican Trails
Read more
Kit G wrote a review Feb 2020
4 contributions
We wanted to get a taste of what the country is all about and this was a great way to do it. Our first stay at Bosque de Paz Lodge couldn't have been better for us. Nature up close, small lodge, wonderful people, amazing bird watching. The owner and his wife greeted us warmly and we met like-minded eco-conscious people. The second stay at Selva Verde also good, but we were disappointed that we could hear traffic noise from our room. All our drivers and tour guides were punctual, charming and knowledgeable. Next, Volcano Lodge a beautiful place with great food, lovely to just relax. We had asked to add on a few days at a quiet beach and so were then driven to Bahia del Sol in Potrero, right on the beach, a beautiful 'boutique hotel'. Recommend this tour company highly.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Lorena A, Director of Sales at Costa Rican Trails - Day Tours
Responded Feb 19, 2020
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday in our country. It was a pleasure to assist during your trip and we hope to see you again in a near future. Best regards, Costa Rican Trails Team!!
Read more
Previous