We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tortuga Island

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Punta Arenas 00000, Costa Rica
Today
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Tortuga Island Cruise Tour From San Jose
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Day Trip to Tortuga Island from Jaco

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 465 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 143
    Excellent
  • 53
    Very good
  • 37
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Stunning!

Bring bananas to feed the fish if you go snorkelling! Beautiful day we spent there had a lovely time, the crew was amazing! Oh there was a group of baby pigs we fed. Super cute!

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 week ago
Jeschua P
,
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

465 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 248: English reviews
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Bring bananas to feed the fish if you go snorkelling! Beautiful day we spent there had a lovely time, the crew was amazing! Oh there was a group of baby pigs we fed. Super cute!

Helpful?
Thank Jeschua P
MCubero, General Manager at Tortuga Island, responded to this review

Hi, We are so happy to learn that you had a super day at Isla Tortuga. Thanks for your comments. Mario C. More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely Island with white sand and a couple of restaurants. We did Go on an organized trip via our hotel. We went on a tuesday which is recommended since the place fills up quite fast on the weekends.

Helpful?
Thank Mikaelaswe
MCubero, General Manager at Tortuga Island, responded to this review

Hi, We are glad you were given good advices which helped you to have a good day at Isla Tortuga. We totaly agree with you that Isla Tortuga is lovely. Thanks for comments, Regards, Mario C. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The guides help you find the most beautiful fish and sea life! Food on island prepared was delicious. Restaurant quality.

Helpful?
Thank Debbi G
MCubero, General Manager at Tortuga Island, responded to this review

We are glad you had a positive experience on your trip to Isla Tortuga. Thanks for your comment. Mario C. More 

Herradura, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great time traveling to Tortuga Island on CostaCat cruises. Had coffee, muffins and fruit on the way over to the Island. Relaxed on the Island, went snorkeling, rode the banana boat and hiked the island. Saw wild pigs, deer, iguanas and lots of birds. Lunch was grilled chicken with plenty of sides. Rum punch and margaritas were included... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnnieb47
MCubero, General Manager at Tortuga Island, responded to this review

Hi, What an amazing tour you had!!! Well that is mainly how our visitors feel after visiting Tortuga More 

Albany, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Tortuga Island can be reached using one the tour operations in nearby tourist locations. The tours are similar, well organized and pleasant. They include about two snorkeling stops in locations that once had corals that have been damaged by the huge amounts of visitors and pollution from the boats, although there are still tropical fish and natural beauty to admire.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jog4fun
MCubero, General Manager at Tortuga Island, responded to this review

Hi, we are glad you had a pleasant tour to Isla Tortuga. We are sorry you felt the Island as being a bit over crowded. This is the peak of the high season. Thanks, Mario C. More 

Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good, but we went with La Costa tours. Not sure what it would be like if you were paying separately for everything, including the washrooms, beach chairs and umbrellas, lunch, snorkelling, banana boat rides, etc. The hike would be free but is not that special. Some vies, no real signage or information. Nice beach, lots of colourfull fish for... More 

Helpful?
Thank SQLRTD
MCubero, General Manager at Tortuga Island, responded to this review

Hi, it is good to know you had a good day and that the package you bought with Costa Cat was a good deal for you. Thanks, Mario C. More 

Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked our trip with Lost Beach Tours and went to Tortuga Island......What an amazing day we gave had. Got picked up at 7am this morning and took a catamaran out to Tortuga island. Snorkeled and saw some really fun fish tried the banana boat (and got thrown off with everyone everyone else) swam in a beautiful ocean until we... More 

Helpful?
Thank pattdina
MCubero, General Manager at Tortuga Island, responded to this review

Hi pattdina, We are so glad to learn about the wonderful day you had at Isla Tortuga. We do our best so our visitors go back in love with Isla Tortuga and Costa Rica as well. Thanks for your beautiful comments. This motivates us to work even harder. Thanks, Mario C. More 

Sunset, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2017

We used Arenas Travel, located at the Double Tree Resort. They have a 30 person speed boat that gets you to the island in 45 minutes. On the way we stopped to see a family of dolphins! We also stopped to snorkel off shore and saw a tremendous amount of fish and eels. Great lunch provided and then we saw... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Charles M
MCubero, General Manager at Tortuga Island, responded to this review

Hi, we are glad you had a great experience on your trip to Isla Tortuga. It is a great one day tour. Thanks, Mario More 

Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2017 via mobile

The beach was very busy with multiple tours. The snorkeling was disappointing, we were secluded to a small area surrounding a massive rock, the water was not crystalline as we were told and the fish were lured to us with bread 😒. If you are going on this tour..... ask these questions: 1)How much travel time for bus/boat total? (Me... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah O
MCubero, General Manager at Tortuga Island, responded to this review

It strange that your comments are quite negative but you rate us with 4 stars. Obviously there were other positive aspects of the tour that you liked. We hope next time we can learn more about those positive things. Thanks, Mario C. More 

Miramar Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
196 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2017 via mobile

We stopped here for a picnic while on a cruise. Very nice beach with lots of coral pieces. Check out the little pigs in the picture.

Helpful?
Thank Donald C
MCubero, General Manager at Tortuga Island, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to share with other travelers your positive experience on Isla Tortuga. We are glad you liked not only the beautiful beach and ocean water but the wildlife as well. Thanks, Mario C. More 

Travelers who viewed Tortuga Island also viewed

Paquera, Province of Puntarenas
Punta Arenas, Province of Puntarenas
 
Punta Arenas, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tortuga Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Tortuga Island and other visitors
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Tortuga Island staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?