Rancho Tropical
Rancho Tropical
5
Walking ToursHiking & Camping ToursPrivate ToursNature & Wildlife ToursHorseback Riding Tours
6:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Monday
6:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
6:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
6:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
6:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
6:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
6:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Sunday
6:00 AM - 8:00 PM
About
Rancho Tropical offers unique and memorable experiences in the nature exploring the tropical vegetation, the wildlife diversity and panoramic views. Activities are Horseback Riding, Hiking Excursions, Tree Climbing, Waterfall Rappelling and Night Walks.
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Meets animal welfare guidelines

Awards
Travelers' Choice
2023

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Travelers talk about
(37 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles338 reviews
Excellent
319
Very good
17
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
0

Andras
Duarte, CA3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021
We were a group of 4 spending 2-day 1 night in Corcocado National Park, organized with Rancho Tropical. Reliable company, all reservations set correctly, well organized transportation and guided trip.
We were transported to Sirena from Drake Bay by boat, hiked one day around Sirena station, stayed overnight in the station and then did a 30km hike to La Tarde via Los Patos. We got a lift then from La Tarde back to Drake. We had an exciting trip in Corcovado, although the rainy season made the hike challanging. Our guide Pablo was excellent, knowledgeable of flora and fauna and enthusiastic to show the secrets of the forest. We saw a lots of animals which had been difficult to spot without Pablo. Pablo was very friendly, had good conversations.
The 2nd day 30km hike was tougher tan expected, as we were in rush to arrive to La Tarde on time. It was amazing to observe the untouched, virgin primary rainforest deep in Corcovado while we were hiking across the park. However, the hike had a higher sport performance value than the impression of the forest as we were pushed by time. We did not really stop to spot animals and thus we did not see as many as I expected. If we could stop and wait at some areas for a longer period we may have had the chance to experience more of the deep forest life. Thus I more recommend this Sirena-Los Patos trip to those who had the chance to see animals in no-rush walks on the previous day as the hike is more like an adventure, especially if heay rains occur (very likely like in August when we where there).
Cindy from Rancho was helpful in contacting us and organizing our trip, all the transports were well set. The only thing that would have been good to know that rubber boots are better to bring than hiking shoes, especially for the 30km hike. Although rubber boots are available to rent at Sirena Ranger Station, you have to give it back when leaving Sirena, so we could not take it for the hike to Los Patos.
Written August 22, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your great review and super helpful recommendations. We are happy you enjoyed Corcovado National Park with Pablo and we hope to see you back for more adventures!
Written August 24, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Wendy W
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2022
I cannot emphasize enough how pleased I was with this excursion. Yes, you really do see many wild animals in a short period of time and no, it was not strenuous. As a 60+ year old solo traveler, I was skeptical about my ability to keep up, as well as my comfort and safety. I also didn’t believe the rave reviews about all the animals folks said they had seen. On both counts I was pleasantly surprised.

First of all, Cindy is a gem. She planned out each step of my excursion, from my hotel to the boat to the park and back. Her attention to detail, fluency in Spanish, English and French and genuine concern for my well being put her head and shoulders above other tour operators, for the same price. At least a half dozen people had received calls from her to shepherd me along the way until I reached the capable hands of my guide, Melvin.

Animal spotting began immediately after entering the park. Melvin set up his special scope, so that our group (I joined a group of four) could see monkeys and birds close up while he described in excellent English the intricacies of the individual animals and their relationship to the forest. Throughout the 2 days, we spotted dozens of species of animals, birds, reptiles, and insects, including 4 species of monkeys, peccaries, caimans and crocodiles, coatis, agoutis, and more rare birds than I can count. I was also interested in plants and fungi, so Melvin pointed out features of the flora with enthusiasm, though it was clear that he had a special love for birds. We got to see various ecosystems from river mouths and beaches to virgin jungle, where the sky was almost invisible. Not only were Melvin’s skills at spotting, describing and photographing wildlife exceptional, it turned out he could also speak French! Even though we seemed to stop very often to watch animals from spitting distance, going about their day as though we didn’t exist (Yes, I could keep up!), Melvin somehow got us to meals on time and onto the boat back to Puerto Jimenez.

Sirena station featured crisp white sheets and mosquito netting on my bunk, very clean bathrooms/showers and delicious, plentiful varied meals. If you require privacy, can’t stand bugs or damp clothing, pick a different excursion; Otherwise, I highly recommend this trip!
Written July 4, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for such a nice review Wendy! We are glad that you enjoyed your Corcovado overnight tour from beginning to the end. It was a pleasure for me to help you with the booking process and for Melvin to be your guide. We hope to see you back soon with your family. Enjoy the rest of your trip in the beautiful Osa Peninsula!
Written July 4, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jackie Ann Morris
Hertfordshire, UK142 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020
We chose to go on the pony trek, when we arrived, Julio had our trusty steeds ready, two placid horses that knew what was expected of them...a gentle plod for two oldies!
We were taken along the beach with Julio telling us what the trees along the shore were, we then made our way inland seeing some wonderful birds along route,
We enjoyed two hours of beautiful scenery including riding through the forest.
When we returned, I was disappointed to see the tide had come right in as I had been hoping to end the day with a swim.
Julio seeing my disappointment, said he would help me, the waves were quite rough at the shoreline. He whipped off his clothes to his underwear, put his Wellington boots back on, and led me into the sea for a dip and despite his boots filling with water, he ensured I got my dip in the sea!
Julio...you are SUCH a star!
Written February 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Happy yo read you enjoyed your horse riding experience with Julio. Thank you for your review!
Written February 10, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Claire
Calgary825 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019
A horseback riding tour was arranged for us at Rancho Tropical through our resort on the Osa Peninsula. The tour began at what is obviously an immaculately run farm with horses that are clearly very well taken care of. It was wonderful to meet and converse with our guide who is truly a local and gave us some perspective of life in this neck of the woods. It was somewhat unfortunate to hear that the farm is actually owned by a businessman in New York and that our guide is merely the ‘caretaker’ of the farm. Still, he was a wonderful, optimistic individual with a contagious smile and one who truly embodied the Costa Rican ‘Pura Vida’ spirit.

The ride itself was varied and interesting, and the horses are very gentle. Great for children! During the two hour ride we rode both on the beach where it was thrilling to see the pelicans swooping into the water to catch fish, and also on some very beautiful farmland and through marshes. Along the way, he did a great job of giving us some history of the area. Particularly in the areas when we rode through more open fields, it was a pleasure to see a more relaxed attitude towards the experience. Rather than then conventional 'follow the leader' ride, we were allowed to free ourselves from the line and take our horses for a little trot, if we chose to.

This was a wonderful tour on the Osa Peninsula and a great way to spend a morning. Highly recommended, and the prices are more than reasonable.
Written January 7, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your great review! We are happy you enjoyed your horseback riding tour and we hope to see you again in the area for more activities in the beautiful Osa Peninsula.
Written January 9, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lynn L
Layton, UT9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020
This was our third trip to Osa- Puerto Jiménez. We stayed in a vacation rental near Rancho Tropical. In years past we had noticed the ranch, it’s beautiful lush pastures and Brahman cattle. We have horses at home so choosing a horseback ride was more about seeing the ranch and exploring the nearby beach and mountains. These horses were well trained, strong, and fun to ride even as an experienced rider. We had an amazing afternoon. Julio was a warm, knowledgeable and personable guide. We started our tour on the beach, then rode though several lush pastures with cows and horses of different ages. We rode up into the forest, some areas of primary forest, crossing streams, and climbing a fairly steep mountain, where we stopped and let the horses rest. We continued on foot to a beautiful waterfall where we cooled off. The waterfalls was on ranch land and they had improved the trail with cement steps and bamboo railing in places that were very steep. We returned to rested horses and traveled down the mountain, back through the pastures, the views from up high were amazing, plus we saw macaws and toucans at the end of our ride. Thank you Julio for a wonderful afternoon!
Written February 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are happy you had a great time horseback riding with Julio. Thank you for your nice review and we hope to see you again in the Osa Peninsula!
Written February 13, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Matt_L
Manchester, UK14 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023 • Couples
We were really disappointed with our experience with Rancho Tropical going to corcovado. The experience started over an hour late so we missed the first hour trekking around Sirena Station and as we were joining a group that had done the overnight stay, felt like we got 50% of a 2 day tour rather than 100% of a single day tour as our guide didn't give us much information and we had to rely on the rest of the group to fill us in on what they'd learnt on the first day.
Our guide also spent almost half the tour on WhatsApp or leaving voice notes rather than looking out for wildlife so we only saw the obvious and close animals.
Due to the cost of corcovado, we'd highly recommend booking with another tour company. Spending 3 weeks in Costa Rica this was our only poor experience and other guides we had for similar experiences were significantly better.
Written March 28, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Matthew and Felicity, I apologize that our service did not satisfy your expectations, and appreciate you bringing this comment to our attention. We would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further. Please feel free to reach us out with any further comments, concerns, or suggestions you wish to share. As stated before you booked, overnight tours and day tours to Sirena were sold out when you reached us out. We offered an alternative day tour, which is what you decided to book. Your reservation didn't allow you to go to Sirena station neither the trails around the station. We are sorry that you missed out this information in the email or if there was any missunderstanding. Just as the boat departure time from Drake Bay that varies and the day schedule according to the sea tide and other factors hard to control as well. The tour finished later, compensating that you have not been sent in the first boat in the morning. We set a high standard for ourselves, and we’re so sorry to hear this was not met in your interaction with your guide. We’re normally known for our exceptional attention to details, and we regret that we missed the mark. It is true that your guide used his phone. He contacted me during the lunch break so I could let the park ranger know that you will check out of the park later than usual. There is barely no signal inside the park to use a phone except from some specific locations. Your feedback helps us do better. We can’t fix the past but you have my personal commitment to improve the way our team serve every tourists. I hope you'll give us another chance, so you can get the kind of excellence experience we are known for. Until then, please accept my sincerest apologies on behalf of everyone on the team.
Written March 29, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Maite l
8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2022
I did the 3-day Corcovado Walking Tour with sleeping in the rainforest station and it was incredible! The booking with Cindy was very pleasant and easy as she was always kind and helped us find the perfect route and guide for our needs. We had so much fun exploring all kinds of plants and animals in the rainforest and sleeping with rainforest sounds. Our guide was very entertaining and a master at finding animals. We learned so many fascinating facts about the use of natural plants, the lives of the animals and how to spot them in the forest. I definitely recommend this tour with Ranchotropical because they communicate fast and have the most knowledgeable guides. Perfect for anybody who loves nature, wants to experience an area nearly untouched by tourism in Costa Rica, and (for the walking tour) has good physical condition.
Written December 12, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your great review! We are happy you enjoyed your tour with us.
Written December 18, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

JandJReview
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 • Couples
We booked a 2 day walking tour staying one night at Siera Rangers Station. Our tour guide was Cindy and she was superb! The entire experience was wonderful from the boat ride in, lodging at the rangers station to the food and hiking but Cindy made the experience truly special.

I am a coeliac and have to follow a very strict gluten free diet. Cindy handled my specific dietary requirements with care and went out of her way to communicate effectively with the kitchen staff/rangers and ensured I felt safe and secure in eating the food provided. If your are a coeliac, I highly recommend booking with Cindy as she is now knowledgable about Coeliac Disease and has excellent English.

Cindy's knowledge of the flora and fauna was exceptional and her passion and enthusiasm for her job really shone through. There was never a dull moment and her brilliant sense of humour helped to keep the entire group in high spirits in what was at times a challenging hike in high humidity and heat.

Thank you Cindy and all the staff at the rangers station for making our experience so memorable for all the right reasons! We LOVED it!

James & Joe
Written February 8, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are happy that you had a great time on your overnight tour in Corcovado with Cindy. Thank you Janes and Joe for leaving us such a great review! See you again soon.
Written February 8, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ariel H
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2023
Holy smokes, where do I begin??

I tried booking a Corcovado tour with a bunch of different companies and was given misleading information and confusing directions. When I contacted Cindy from Rancho Tropical, she made everything so easy, painless and straight forward. I got the tour I wanted (boat in, boat out of Sirena for 2 nights) with no problems or hurdles in the way.

When I arrived, my guide Carolina went above and beyond to care for me and educate me on my surroundings. I left my tripod on the boat by accident and Carolina ran to get it for me. I was over the moon to have a female tour guide. Not only is Carolina intelligent, strong, and caring, but she has a plethora of knowledge from studying Biology for years. Because of her educational background, Carolina spots animals and plants with ease, and explains how they work together to create the beauty of the jungle.

Carolina combines science with education, and does it in a humorous, laid back way that made me extremely interested and appreciative of my tour. She also taught me a lot about Costa Rica and its rich history. I have never been guided by someone that has aquried so much information about nature!

It is rare to have a female guide who will spend multiple nights in Corcovado, so I feel very privileged to have gotten her as a guide. Carolina mentioned that she doesn't like to do tours with large groups because it can take away from the experience. The largest group I was in included 2 other people, which really allowed me to absorb all the information and feel connected.

If you want to go to Corcovado, I would highly recommend booking with Rancho Tropical and for the love of god do anything you can to get Carolina as a guide! If you show her respect and listen to all the information she has to offer, I can guarantee that you will have the best experience of your life!

Thank you Carolina! You are truly the best!!
Written January 26, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Ariel, thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We are glad you had a great experience with us and fully enjoyed your Corcovado tour with Carolina. We hope to see you again!
Written January 28, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nico
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2022
The Corcovado reserve was amazing, the housing at La Sirena was very comfortable (given the remoteness of the place), super clean, welcoming and the food was delicious.
Communication with Rancho tropical was very efficient and helpful. They gave us a great advice, which is that staying one day at la Sirena allows you to see many more animals than what you see during the walk back and forth between Carate and la Sirena. It turned out to be very true !
Above all, Keller was a great guide: Very professional, friendly, who paid attention to everyone in our group, attentive to hazards and has a great eye for spotting animals. We saw many animals we would never have seen without him.
This opinion is share by everyone in the party (i.e. my kids and I) and we all highly recommend him.
One point that needs to be stressed though: the two 20KM walks to and from la Sirena were more strenuous than we anticipated, due to the temperature, extreme humidity and backpack weight. So pack light !
Written July 21, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your great review! We are happy that you enjoyed your tour in Corcovado with Keller and saw plenty of animals.
Written July 23, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 313

Rancho Tropical - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Puerto Jimenez HotelsPuerto Jimenez Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
All things to do in Puerto Jimenez
Day Trips in Puerto Jimenez
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars