Tropical Tours Shuttles
Tropical Tours Shuttles
4.5
Scuba & SnorkellingTaxis & ShuttlesSightseeing ToursNature & Wildlife ToursHorseback Riding Tours
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
About
Tropical Tours Shuttles in Santa Teresa, 100% Local Reliable Family Shuttle Business offering Minibus Transportation Services: Airport Shuttles, Daily Transportation & Private Shuttles in Costa Rica. Our destinations are: SJO International Airport in San Jose, La Fortuna, Monteverde and the entire Guanacaste area like: Tamarindo, Playa Grande, Samara, Nosara, Carrillo, Mal Pais, Santa Teresa, Montezuma, Liberia Airport LIR, Flamingo, Playas del Coco, Brasilito and more... Our main routes are departing from Santa Teresa to San Jose Airport and Liberia Airport. 2020 Travelers Choice on Tripadvisor. Join us on your next trip to Costa Rica.
Montezuma, Costa Rica
Meets animal welfare guidelines

Awards
Travelers' Choice
2023

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Tropical Tours Shuttles
Travelers talk about
(46 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles744 reviews
Excellent
539
Very good
80
Average
40
Poor
28
Terrible
57

Stina28203
Germany67 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021
I took the tropical Shuttle three times. Compared to the public bus it is quite expensive but it has also been very convenient, always in time an foreseeable. The booking is very fast and answers to every answer per email immediately. I would go with tropical shuttles anytime again. The drivers have always been really nice. Sometimes you have to change the bus or the bus is waiting for another bus or anything. It could be nice to be better informed - but anyways thanks to tropical shuttle to take and bring me on time anytime I asked for it.
Written August 1, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

JulesEvansUKtravelle
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2021
I've used Tropical Shuttles twice - so far, perfect service. Renting a private shuttle for long journeys is cheaper than renting a car for some weird reason in Costa rica (where insurance hideously expensive). Also means i can lounge in the back and chill! Drivers have been safe, worn masks, been polite, stopped when i wanted, and found the places easily. Great stuff.
Written January 3, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

W9737IQinfoballs
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2021
Booked a shared shuttle at 5pm the night before my scheduled pick up (8 am bus from Nosara to Santa Teresa). Company responded to my online form and WhatsApp inquiries very quickly, which was much appreciated. Driver arrived at my Airbnb at 8:15 (which is normal, as they have to cruise around and pick up multiple people starting at 8am). We left Nosara by 8:45 with 6 or so people in a shared van. This first van was a bit hot but not too bad given the price. It was only an hour or so to Nicoya where we transferred to a much larger bus with very good AC. That 3hr leg of the trip to Santa Teresa was great and very comfortable. Driver dropped me off right at my hotel. Would definitely recommend this company and will definitely use them again.
Written March 9, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Melissa C
Ottawa, Canada44 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020
I took this shuttle today from Samara to Montezuma. Things started off really well, particularly the customer service during the booking process - I did it at the last minute, and in spite of that it was seamless and very friendly. I expected good things!!

I was picked up at my hotel in Samara exactly on time and after picking up a few more people, we found ourselves on the main road in Samara, being told to get out of the van. The driver told us we had to change vehicles and told us to grab our luggage and follow him, which we did. He brought us to another van which was full and had no empty seats, and told us (myself and an American) that we were to sit on the pile of bags at the front of the van. No seat, no seatbelt. We refused.

After a huge amount of yelling, the two of us were rid that we would have to go to Nicoya and then transfer to another bus to Montezuma. We did as instructed and arrived in Nicoya about an hour later, and were transferred to yet another bus.

The driver of this bus was a very nice and friendly guy, but he talked on his phone constantly, picking it up and making phone calls every couple of minutes. And every time he did so, he swerved all over the road. Finally, when he almost and off the road, the entire bus screamed at him to stop using His phone because he was scaring us.

Eventually we stopped for a break, as soon as we started driving again, the driver stopped at a tire store to pick up a package, which he asked me to put in my lap!!! I declined, and put it with the stack of luggage.

We arrived at our destination two full hours later than planned, and honestly, this is not really a big deal—things happen!

But the approach to safety is very concerning. I have taken shuttles all over Costa Rica and have literally never purchased a ticket without being given a seat. And I have never, ever been scared that I was going to end up upside down in the van because of dangerous driving. I did complain about this to the « family company » and their response? I should have taken a private shuttle if I did not want things like this!!

I do not recommend this company due to their questionable safety standards. I have video of the driver on his phone as well as the pile of suitcases that I was asked to sit on. Sadly, this entire review is completely the truth.
Written February 20, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Miikka
Barcelona, Spain2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2021
They were the only operating service that I found during COVID to get to Liberia from Santa Teresa. I asked help from a local restaurant who booked me on the first trip which I unfortunately missed, then I booked the next one online and they charged me 25usd if memory serves for missing the first one. I consider this kind of extortion, as they had enough people to make the trip anyway the first time.
Written June 4, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Josh H
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2021
Context: My girlfriend and I were traveling around Costa Rica for two weeks with my surfboard and my light weight wheelchair. The wheels come off my chair, and it fits easily in a car seat. We took many taxis during our travels with my wheel chair. Tropical Tours created a new company policy on the spot saying that people with wheelchairs could not take shared shuttles, and forced us at the last minute to only take private shuttles.

The good: Shuttles were on time, vehicles were in good condition, drivers were friendly and helpful. Tropical tours offered a discount on the private shuttles. If we had wanted private shuttles, our experience would have been perfect. The folks in the front office were responsive to emails and phone calls, and kind in person.

The bad: We paid more than double what we had budgeted for transfers. I emailed with Tropical Tours for weeks before the trip explaining our situation, and they said it was no problem. The day before our shared shuttle was to depart, we got an email saying 'the boss' had created a new policy and would not allow the wheelchair on the shared shuttle. We even offered to pay for an extra seat for the chair on the shared shuttle. Tropical Tours insisted that we take private shuttles and would not allow us to travel on the shared shuttle. They kept insisting we take a shuttle for people with disabilities without offering any alternatives (hint, they don't exist). When I asked if they felt this was discrimination they said no. They felt that by offering a service to us (private shuttles) they were not discriminating against us because they were offering a service. The fact is, they were refusing to offer the same service to me as they would to an able bodied person, and that is discrimination. Their position is contrary to Costa Rica Law No 7600, Ley de Igualdad de Opportunidades (The Equal Opportunities Law for People with Disabilities), "No person can be discriminated because they're disabled if they are equally capable as another person." I'm just as capable of sitting on a shared shuttle as anyone else, and so is my wheelchair.

Summary: The service we received was great, but having to pay more to travel because you are disabled is not.
Written January 7, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jrleake94
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2021
The driver broke my suitcase because he was trying to shove it into a spot that was too tight in the van. The wheel of my suitcase broke off and also he punctured the corner of the suitcase, creating a 4”x4” hole that I had to tape up myself at the airport. When I asked the company to refund me the $50 ticket they accused me of lying, saying there was no way to know if the luggage broke in their care... also, many passengers werent wearing masks and the driver didnt enforce mask wearing. I would highly recommend a different company that takes more care and has better customer service.
Written February 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello Jonathan, we apologize but this is not enough proof about us being involved with this damaged, you used our services 2 days ago and you also flew out of the country, this makes it even harder for us to validate your incident since this could have happened during your trip back home at the airport. Thank you for reaching out to us and for choosing our services.
Written February 23, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

GMN200015
Encinitas, CA5 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Family
Take the flight to Tambor - it's cheaper, takes 45min (instead of 5+ hours of driving) and you'll be beyond happy you did. The drive is terrible, windy, bumpy, not on paved roads, etc. and you might get stuck in the construction for 45min+. I get this is a laid back place, I wasn't expecting a 5 lane highway directly to my hotel, but the drive is really bad and takes a LONG TIME, especially if you have a family/ kids. I'm usually one to save money and "take in the scenery" but there isn't much scenery on the drive and the flight is literally $100 (for 2 adults and 1 kid)...seriously, do it.
Written February 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

micky232021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021
Was on a shuttle service from Santa Teresa to San José Airport. At least 4 of 10 passengers didn't wear their mask on the trip. One of the drivers reminded these folks to wear their masks but they didn't and he took no appropriate action. The next driver wasn't able to handle the situation at all eventhough a passenger was demanding the obligation of wearing a mask several times. Shuttle service ended with a fist fight of two passengers, arguing about the obligation of wearing a mask. The acting of the companys drivers was just reckless. Why didn't they take appropriate measures to enforce this simple covid rule??
Written April 14, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello Micky, thank you for sharing your concern, however we are already a year in the pandemic, it is a very common sense act to wear a mask in closed spaces, but some people just don't want to respect the law and others, they feel free of not using mask. We can only do so much, as you can see they end up in a fist fight for the same reasons. Everyone has their own point of view about things. The driver in the other hand was not going to stop the shuttle because of this situation, we had to be on time at the airport so everyone could get their flight. We don't transport children to school, we provide a reliable service for adults that are completely aware that using a mask its a personal responsibility and respect for others. We hope that every client has the willing of wearing a mask so everyone can have a pleasant ride wit us. Best regards Tropical Tours Shuttles Team
Written April 14, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Emily L
10 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2021
The driver was nice, and the van itself was fine. Going from Santa Teresa to Samara though, we changed shuttles twice, which could be a pro or con, depending on if you want to stretch your legs. Also, there was a woman not wearing a mask the entire time, and she was never asked to put on a mask.

Everyone can have their own opinion of what necessary actions to take during a global pandemic, but if you're going to be in a closed, tight space with others, I think that mask wearing should be enforced for the comfort of the other guests.

I contacted Tropical Shuttles to ask them to enforce this, but didn't hear back from them.
Written March 3, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 688

Tropical Tours Shuttles - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Montezuma HotelsMontezuma Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Montezuma
All things to do in Montezuma
Day Trips in Montezuma
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars