We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Recommended experiences in and around Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
from $40.00
More Info
from $125.00
More Info
from $58.47
More Info
Full view
Location
Contact
Meters North Of the Bcr Bank 100, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403 Costa Rica
Get to know the area
Walk in Cahuita National Park
4WD, ATV & Off-Road Tours

Walk in Cahuita National Park

1 review
Explore the South Carribean Costa Rica with a local guide. Get an incredible and authentic experience, with multiple destinations all over the Talamanca area. <br><br>This tour will take you through the forrest of Cauhita National Park, while following the coastline. On this trip you will enjoy the magnificent wildlife Costa Rica has to offer, in shape of plants, flowers, primates, sloths, birds and hopefully reptiles.<br>Feel free to book several of our day tours on the same day, and design your own day-tour. We also have the perfect ideas for your next adventure.
$50.00 per adult
384Reviews8Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 252
  • 74
  • 22
  • 15
  • 21
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
George C wrote a review Oct 2020
Walnut Creek, California5 contributions6 helpful votes
The shuttle is picking up folks from _*near*_ SJO and since airports now do not allow vehicles to wait at the airport as well as they most likely would charge the shuttle company a relatively high price for each person/pickup they have decided to wait, stage and pickup in the nearby Denny's restaurant. So that most certainly is one of the things that is important for one to know if they are expecting a curb pickup and at the same time have a low transportation price for a nearly 4-7 hour trip to Puerto Viejo area. Make sure to keep in touch via WhatsApp using the number provided on Caribe Shuttle's website. Keep the delay and flight schedule changes synchronized with the driver and company as needed. I would say the $30 that I paid for the ticket were the best spent for the entire transportation pipeline. Marco, the driver, was amazing in taking me 0.5 miles off the main road to my new residence. The alternative of dragging 2 suitcases up the hill is not very pleasant, so I decided to provide him a $12 tip, which was greatly appreciated after the long drive. Keep in mind that usually the drop offs are happening on the main road and not all side roads would be ok for the shuttle to go to. To note the obvious, during a pandemic time everyone is required to wear mask at all times in or around the shuttle. Marco was happy to spray my hands and the luggage handles with disinfectant prior to boarding. BTW a cab offered me to get me from SJO to Puerto Viejo for $200. If you are to get the official bus, it is far away from the airport (Alajuella) in San Jose, that would require you to take a taxi, which is more expensive than the shuttle itself ~ $80.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Sel A. wrote a review Oct 2020
New York City, New York4 contributions1 helpful vote
Caribe Shuttle was simply perfection. There are currently "bloqueos" in the country (roadblocks due to protests) and the two drivers who took us from San Jose to Puerto Viejo were amazing! They figured out how to get around the two blockades we encountered (the creativity was brilliant) and were both on time, super kind, communicative, and drove very safely. All my thumbs up for Alejandro and Marvin :) Highly recommend this company, and customer service communication through WhatsApp was really great too.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Coolsara99 wrote a review Aug 2020
Sao Paulo, SP6 contributions
It was ok but way to expensive. Take the bus people just avoid the scams at the bus stations especially in san jose. Dont let the cab drivers charge you $20 for whats really only $3
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from KevenP46, Public Relations Manager at Caribe Shuttle
Responded Aug 27, 2020
Hi Coolsara99, We are sorry to hear that you did not feel that our shared shuttle service with A/C and WiFi was worth the $30 that you paid. Despite the global pandemic, which has all but devastated the tourism industry here in Costa Rica, and only being allowed to operate our vans at 50% capacity, we still decided to offer this discounted price for our San Jose - Puerto Viejo route, over 40% off the normal rate. That being said, you are absolutely right that if you are looking for the cheapest way to travel then you should consider taking the public bus, where you will travel alongside 50 other passengers and no empty seats, A/C or WiFi. We wish you safe travels and hope you enjoyed your time in the South Caribbean of Costa Rica.
Read more
bectoria wrote a review Mar 2020
Jersey2,457 contributions116 helpful votes
I used Caribe Shuttle for a few trips during my 3 weeks in Costa Rica, and there was a good amount of changing dates/times/directions as my plans flexed. All enquiries and changes were answered quickly and efficiently, all my shuttles were on time and drivers friendly and polite. Would recommend.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
LavenderBrown2 wrote a review Feb 2020
Recklinghausen, Germany5 contributions
Highly recommend- we had a super experience with caribe shuttle... especially with Kevin! I was very worried before, we were travelling with a small child, a baby, lots of bags, baby seats, strawler and a big heavy surfboardbag... in the end it was so easy, they even picked us up 10 min earlier, Kevin explained everything we needed to know how to cross the border, (it is simple, pay the tax, Exit one - walking over the bridge and enter the other country)... But without Kevin we would have been lost with our luggage, he carried all the heavy stuff across the bridge! Great man! Thank you soooo much! We were very lucky, at both immigrations we didn’t had to wait at all... Then we drove to Almirante, the sea was super quiet and we crossed to bocas- we were so busy with all our bags, we forgot the car seats for the kids at the dock in Almirante, as we arrived in bocas and asked about them, we were told that they had already been on the next boat and 10 min later the seats arrived in bocas too... What a nice journey! Thanks so much!
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Previous