We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wahoo Fishing & Tours

Features Animals

Wahoo Fishing & Tours
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
32
All photos (32)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent78%
  • Very good12%
  • Average0%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible0%
Travelers talk about
“wahoo”(15 reviews)
“boat captain”(2 reviews)
About
Get your Pura Vida... wet! Join us for near and/or offshore fishing, dolphin and snorkeling trips, a sunset tour, or a booze cruise. Whether you're a hard core fisherman/woman, or just want to get on the water, we will work with you to design the...more
Contact
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Website
+506 8601 5294
Call
Improve This Listing
Recommended experiences in and around Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
from $133.00
More Info
from $55.00
More Info
from $55.00
More Info
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
36
6
0
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
36
6
0
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wahoo dolphin watching boat captain costa rica playa chiquita janet pino coastline birds
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This trip felt very similar to any other fishing trip, where you go out for a few hours and they drive you around to catch minimal fish. We had read there was snorkeling and dolphin watching involved, but did not receive this. However, the captain...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank baileykimball
Janick2010, Owner at Wahoo Fishing & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the review Bailey, I'm sorry we didn't knock your socks off, so please come back and give it another shot!! I think part of the confusion on the snorkeling and dolphin is that you requested a shared boat, or what we call "Fishing...More

Reviewed June 24, 2018

WARNING!! If you are looking for a luxury resort with people running around everywhere and staff to cater to your every whim then stop reading now. This is not the place for you. If you are still with me and looking for a super cool...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Bob C
Reviewed November 24, 2017

We did a 1/2 day trip and despite the rain and ending a bit early as a result it was still a great time. Pino is excellent to fish and hang out with. The fish weren't really biting too much, but we caught a couple,...More

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank Jennifer W
Janick2010, Owner at Wahoo Fishing & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2017

Thank you, Jenn! We are really fortunate to live in such a beautiful place and sharing it with folks like you brings us even more delight. Pino is indeed the real deal--his skill, relaxed manner, and most of all his humor! We hope to see...More

Reviewed July 16, 2017 via mobile

Book Pino and Nick. Super knowledgeable and ultra friendly. We've never been fishing before and it was great. Caught lots of jack's which were cooked in 'Hot Rocks' restaurant on our return which was fab. We also went snorkeling which I loved. They supplied all...More

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Jubropamil
Janick2010, Owner at Wahoo Fishing & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Shucks, thanks for such a nice review. We would love to take you back out, so come back soon!

Reviewed June 28, 2017

We stopped up at Hot Rocks looking to book a fishing trip the next day (our last in Puerto Viejo). Unfortunately the timing was bad. Pino was busy and Nick's boat was getting a new motor put on. Everyone else they contacted were just busy....More

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Karla M
Janick2010, Owner at Wahoo Fishing & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

Thank you for the nice shout-out! We're so glad you enjoyed your trip with Dover. He's a hoot, isn't he. We were disappointed it wouldn't work out with our boats, but knew Pino's cousin would be a close second. Next time... janet

Reviewed March 30, 2017

Janet was great to correspond with and Nick & Pino did a fine job touring my three children and me around. The fish weren't biting much, but we had a nice run up the coast and caught up with some dolphin around Monkey point. Always...More

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank steven37215
Janick2010, Owner at Wahoo Fishing & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

I'm with you, just being on the water is such a transforming experience, and I take great pride in the care my husband and captain (Nick and Pino, respectively) provide our guests. Thank you for taking the time to review your trip, we'll do what...More

Reviewed February 23, 2017 via mobile

I have fished a lot, and have come to realize that there are two things that make for a great day. Knowing where the fish are, and spending quality time in a small boat with people that you actually like. When it comes to the...More

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Owen D
Janick2010, Owner at Wahoo Fishing & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

Hey Owen, I enjoyed our day on the water as much as you. It's always fun to be on the boat with someone who is just living in the moment and enjoying the ride, and it paid off eventually! Sometimes I think Pino has the...More

Reviewed November 14, 2016

Although we had booked and paid a deposit several months in advance, when we turned up at 7am on the morning of the trip, we were told they had double-booked. However, luckily (for us at least) we were prioritised and went out on the boat....More

Date of experience: October 2016
2  Thank Sally M
Janick2010, Owner at Wahoo Fishing & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2016

We apologize for the disappointing day you had with us, clearly we were not on our best game, and thus realizing that, we offered you a significant refund, to which you replied, "Absolutely not, it was part of the adventure". The mistake with the scheduling...More

Reviewed November 1, 2016

As a single traveler with some tours requiring a minimum of 4 people, Herman and assistant Novia have gone out of their way in assisting me in finding others to share ATV, National Park tour and fishing trips. They both speak excellent English. I can...More

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank JBrianT
Janick2010, Owner at Wahoo Fishing & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

Thanks for the shout out. We are always happy to put single travelers on a shared boat, or even send you out solo with our captain on his little boat. We're proud that the local tour agencies have put their trust in us, and are...More

Reviewed October 30, 2016

We spent almost a year planning our trip to Costa Rica with our 4 kids and this deep sea fishing trip was suppose to be the highlight, we were all looking so forward to it! First I have to say that Nick and Pino were...More

Date of experience: October 2016
2  Thank ShariR161
Janick2010, Owner at Wahoo Fishing & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2016

We had two back-to-back disappointing tours, and I can only assure you we learned some valuable lessons that week. Life happens, and as ex-pats living in Costa Rica, some of Nick and my lives exist thousands of miles away. I was out of the country...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 14 nearby hotels
Hotel Maritza
45 reviews
.18 miles away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
265 reviews
.19 miles away
Umami Hotel
54 reviews
.22 miles away
Hotel Blue Conga
742 reviews
.30 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 180 nearby restaurants
Cafe Rico
838 reviews
.04 miles away
Bread & Chocolate
1,688 reviews
.10 miles away
Monli Bar Restaurante and Grill
458 reviews
.09 miles away
KOKi Beach Restaurant & Bar
1,779 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 68 nearby attractions
Puerto Viejo Beach
1,199 reviews
.03 miles away
Finca La Isla
117 reviews
.94 miles away
Luluberlu Art Gallery
93 reviews
.15 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Michelle S
December 16, 2015|
Answer
Response from Janick2010 | Property representative |
Michelle, my bad! This venue is a tough one for me to monitor. I hope you found us, and for THE NEXT TIME (there's always a next time once you discover the Caribe Sur) please contact us again.
0
Votes
Pickleballers
October 21, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Janick2010 | Property representative |
G'morning Scott, the seas are flat flat flat! Lago Caribeno yesterday, been catching macks and kings. With seas this flat though, the captain has also been diving. Kilo sized lobster and fist sized conches. We call these... More
1
Vote