We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wahoo Fishing & Tours

Features Animals
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
More
About Wahoo Fishing & Tours
Get your Pura Vida... wet! Join us for near and/or offshore fishing, dolphin and snorkeling trips, a sunset tour, or a booze cruise. Whether you're a hard core fisherman/woman, or just want to get on the water, we will work with you to design the best trip possible. All trips include fresh tropical fruits, cold drinks (water and something harder) and the exclusive Wahoo cookies. Tours over 4 hours include sandwiches and vegies. Our captain, Pino, was born and raised in Puerto Viejo. He knows the southern Caribe like you know your living room... it is his living room. He will delight you with his humor as he coaches you in the ways of traditional line fishing. If the water's right, he'll dive and find you a langosta for dinner. Rods, reels, bait and tackle included, as well as snorkeling equipment. Boat equipped with GPS, fishfinder, bimini top, fresh water shower, and PFD's. Find us on the beach across from The Parquecito and Tex Mex in Puerto Viejo. Put the Wahoo in your Costa Rica vacation!
Read more
Travelers talk about

Wahoo Fishing & Tours
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
55Reviews4Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 41
  • 6
  • 1
  • 5
  • 2
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
william b wrote a review Oct 16
Boston, Massachusetts7 contributions1 helpful vote
Great morning with Pino and Mike. Tried trolling for a bit. Caught a couple mackerel. Headed to Manzanilla point. We took our own masks and snorkels as well as hawaiian slings, but he provided flippers. Spent a few ours snorkeling above a gorgeous reef. My son got one fish and lobster. Pina got several more. They had great snacks, watermelon, pineapple, eggs, as well as water. Thoroughly enjoyed snorkeling and attempting to spear fish. Would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Caitlin G wrote a review Aug 2021
Brewster, New York7 contributions2 helpful votes
Big thanks to Pino and his crewmate for a super memorable day. We met Pino promptly at 7:30 am for a private half day on the boat. He was ready for us with a cooler of goodies and the boat already in the water. With Covid, it was so nice to have our own boat - nobody but us, Pino and his crewmate. The fish weren't biting much (Pino's crewmate said they were at church which made me laugh) and the kids were eager to swim so they brought us to the most amazing beach south of Manzanillo. There Pino was tireless in his effort to bring home lobsters and found many impressive ones. Both Pino and his crewmate were very responsive to our boys - 6 and 8 - making sure they felt comfortable and were having fun. I've spent many days on the beach in this area but this was my first out on the water. It was a splurge but well worth it. While we only booked a half day, Pino was certainly not looking at his watch. We were out there for 5 hours and loved every minute. Dinner of mackerel and lobster on the grill wasn't bad either. This isn't a luxury cruise or a serious fishing trip, but for our family it was a perfect day on the beautiful waters of Costa Rica.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2021
Helpful
Share
Richard C wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
We are a group of friends that are avid and competition fisherman. I was weary after reading some of these reviews, but our 1/2 day charter was excellent. Capt Pino has the only production make boat at the harbor. Quiet clean and a spacious 21 feet. Fishing started out slow ,but the capt made an incredible effort to get bait and we had almost non stop action on snapper king mackerel Spanish mackerel jacks and more. We chose a few yellow tail snapper and Nick ferried them over to a restaurant that cooked them. It was fantastic and very reasonably. Highly recommend!!!
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Janick2010, Manager at Wahoo Fishing & Tours
Responded Mar 4, 2020
Thanks for honest and detailed comments. In the past year we turned the day-to-day operation of the business over to Pino, he was always the main attraction anyway. We (Nick and Janet) continue to support him by providing the on-line correspondence, booking & reservations, and, when available, customer support. I'll make sure he hears that his efforts were appreciated! We're glad you had a great time and hope to see you again!
Read more
Fish Hunter wrote a review Sep 2019
2 contributions5 helpful votes
This was one of my most disappointing experiences. they offered us a fishing trip from 7:30 to 13:00 with Pino, a local fishermen. when we arrived there, the boat wasn’t ready so we didn’t start the tour before 8:00. After 3 hours the guide said we need to go back to the harbour because he needs to check whether everything was okay with the engine - which he did and although everything was alright the trip was over after just 3 hours!! while we were waiting for the guide, some friends of him already started cutting and taking the fish we had caught (although we were promised we’d be able to keep it - "it’s included"). When we asked for a discount as this was not what we were promised, Pino got upset and declined. Unfortunately - in all the hurry - we forgot some things on the boat and called to check when we could pick them up but once they had our money no one ever responded. Don’t book any trips with them - it’s just a waste of money.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Janick2010, Manager at Wahoo Fishing & Tours
Responded Sep 21, 2019
Indeed, you were disappointed with your trip, and it's due a response. First, when you booked the trip, we made it clear to you that our usual boat was out of service, and that you would be going out in the captain's private boat, a small panga. This was booked as a 1/2 day Fishing with the Captain, a trip that puts you in the boat to fish along with Pino, it's 1/2 the price of the typical exclusive tour. Pino will always put safety first, and if he had concerns about a motor, he's going to prioritize your safe return to shore. I'm sorry the day was cut short, but I am surprised at the characterization that Pino got upset and declined the refund, we understood a different outcome; but we were not on the beach, so I can only assume there was a misunderstanding. Yet, as we've spent many hours on the beach, we can understand the scene on the beach where you lost your fish, and we apologize that that happened. Part of the "charm" here is that this beach scene is one of the last truly unchanged scenes of the old days. When the boats come in, the local townsfolk do what they've done for generations--pull the boats to shore, check out the day's catch, talk smack, jump in to help clean, and take home dinner. I love the energy, the banter, the razzing among the fishermen and the haggling from the women who burrow their way in, but I also get that it may not be charming to everyone. Pino should have hollered, "get your hands off the lady's fish or i'll thrash your ***." But i think he was tending to what he thought was a problem. You told us you did get fish, plenty of fish, just not a particular one which you wanted. I'm sorry. You should have had first dibs. We have been very responsive. We exchanged several emails and at least 4 phone calls with you prior to your trip. We sent you a PayPal invoice for the deposit, you never paid it, opting to pay Pino on the beach. We discussed your dissatisfaction immediately following your trip, and spoke with Pino at that time, too. When we spoke with you at noon you were still on the beach where the boat was on the sand. We did not receive any phone calls about your lost items, nor did we get any emails about it. We do not have any funds from you, any money paid was directly to Pino. Going forward, we've enjoyed running the boat, working with PIno, and living the unique experience of running the only (in)formal fishing tour in an old-time fishing village. But, at this juncture Nick and I are realizing our plan to retire to a small fishing village, that turned into 9 years of waking at dawn, long days of hot sun and/or high seas, afternoons covered in sand, salt and fish blood, are waning. As our boat is out of service, we are directing our tours to local fishermen, continuing the commitment we've always had to support the families of the town's original settlers. In referring tours out, we lose a bit of the control of how things are done, and, like in this case, some fish might get away (on the beach) and "momma" won't be there to make sure everything gets picked up and put away. I'm genuinely sorry you and your girlfriend (who wrote the NO GO review) were so disappointed. It's important to me that the fishermen have clear feedback about what they could improve. I will encourage Pino and others to: 1) to establish a policy and to communicate clearly what will happen if a tour is cut short due to safety concerns; 2) to organize fish cleaning so that the paying guests and their catch are recognized/prioritized; 3) remind guests to gather all their items before getting off the boat.
Read more
Leena wrote a review Sep 2019
9 contributions12 helpful votes
We did the fishing tour and I didn’t like this experience at all! It was super overpriced and you don’t get what you pay for - wouldn’t recommend this to anyone!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
from $125.00
More Info
from $75.00
More Info
from $62.15
More Info