We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Support this operator:Times are tough for the travel community right now. To show your support, consider leaving a review or posting photos of tours and experiences you have taken. Your support will go a long way in helping tour operators worldwide get back on their feet down the road

Wahoo Fishing & Tours

Features Animals
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
More
About Wahoo Fishing & Tours
Get your Pura Vida... wet! Join us for near and/or offshore fishing, dolphin and snorkeling trips, a sunset tour, or a booze cruise. Whether you're a hard core fisherman/woman, or just want to get on the water, we will work with you to design the best trip possible. All trips include fresh tropical fruits, cold drinks (water and something harder) and the exclusive Wahoo cookies. Tours over 4 hours include sandwiches and vegies. Our captain, Pino, was born and raised in Puerto Viejo. He knows the southern Caribe like you know your living room... it is his living room. He will delight you with his humor as he coaches you in the ways of traditional line fishing. If the water's right, he'll dive and find you a langosta for dinner. Rods, reels, bait and tackle included, as well as snorkeling equipment. Boat equipped with GPS, fishfinder, bimini top, fresh water shower, and PFD's. Find us on the beach across from The Parquecito and Tex Mex in Puerto Viejo. Put the Wahoo in your Costa Rica vacation!
Travelers talk about
53Reviews4Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 39
  • 6
  • 1
  • 5
  • 2
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Richard C wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
We are a group of friends that are avid and competition fisherman. I was weary after reading some of these reviews, but our 1/2 day charter was excellent. Capt Pino has the only production make boat at the harbor. Quiet clean and a spacious 21 feet. Fishing started out slow ,but
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Janick2010, Manager at Wahoo Fishing & Tours
Responded Mar 4, 2020
Thanks for honest and detailed comments. In the past year we turned the day-to-day operation of the business over to Pino, he was always the main attraction anyway. We (Nick and Janet) continue to support him by providing the on-line correspondence, booking & reservations, and, when available, customer support. I'll make sure he hears that his efforts were appreciated! We're glad you had a great time and hope to see you again!
Read more
Fish Hunter wrote a review Sep 2019
2 contributions3 helpful votes
This was one of my most disappointing experiences. they offered us a fishing trip from 7:30 to 13:00 with Pino, a local fishermen. when we arrived there, the boat wasn’t ready so we didn’t start the tour before 8:00. After 3 hours the guide said we need to go back to the
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Janick2010, Manager at Wahoo Fishing & Tours
Responded Sep 21, 2019
Indeed, you were disappointed with your trip, and it's due a response. First, when you booked the trip, we made it clear to you that our usual boat was out of service, and that you would be going out in the captain's private boat, a small panga. This was booked as a 1/2 day Fishing with the Captain, a trip that puts you in the boat to fish along with Pino, it's 1/2 the price of the typical exclusive tour. Pino will always put safety first, and if he had concerns about a motor, he's going to prioritize your safe return to shore. I'm sorry the day was cut short, but I am surprised at the characterization that Pino got upset and declined the refund, we understood a different outcome; but we were not on the beach, so I can only assume there was a misunderstanding. Yet, as we've spent many hours on the beach, we can understand the scene on the beach where you lost your fish, and we apologize that that happened. Part of the "charm" here is that this beach scene is one of the last truly unchanged scenes of the old days. When the boats come in, the local townsfolk do what they've done for generations--pull the boats to shore, check out the day's catch, talk smack, jump in to help clean, and take home dinner. I love the energy, the banter, the razzing among the fishermen and the haggling from the women who burrow their way in, but I also get that it may not be charming to everyone. Pino should have hollered, "get your hands off the lady's fish or i'll thrash your ***." But i think he was tending to what he thought was a problem. You told us you did get fish, plenty of fish, just not a particular one which you wanted. I'm sorry. You should have had first dibs. We have been very responsive. We exchanged several emails and at least 4 phone calls with you prior to your trip. We sent you a PayPal invoice for the deposit, you never paid it, opting to pay Pino on the beach. We discussed your dissatisfaction immediately following your trip, and spoke with Pino at that time, too. When we spoke with you at noon you were still on the beach where the boat was on the sand. We did not receive any phone calls about your lost items, nor did we get any emails about it. We do not have any funds from you, any money paid was directly to Pino. Going forward, we've enjoyed running the boat, working with PIno, and living the unique experience of running the only (in)formal fishing tour in an old-time fishing village. But, at this juncture Nick and I are realizing our plan to retire to a small fishing village, that turned into 9 years of waking at dawn, long days of hot sun and/or high seas, afternoons covered in sand, salt and fish blood, are waning. As our boat is out of service, we are directing our tours to local fishermen, continuing the commitment we've always had to support the families of the town's original settlers. In referring tours out, we lose a bit of the control of how things are done, and, like in this case, some fish might get away (on the beach) and "momma" won't be there to make sure everything gets picked up and put away. I'm genuinely sorry you and your girlfriend (who wrote the NO GO review) were so disappointed. It's important to me that the fishermen have clear feedback about what they could improve. I will encourage Pino and others to: 1) to establish a policy and to communicate clearly what will happen if a tour is cut short due to safety concerns; 2) to organize fish cleaning so that the paying guests and their catch are recognized/prioritized; 3) remind guests to gather all their items before getting off the boat.
Read more
Leena wrote a review Sep 2019
9 contributions4 helpful votes
We did the fishing tour and I didn’t like this experience at all! It was super overpriced and you don’t get what you pay for - wouldn’t recommend this to anyone!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
C.Betancourt wrote a review Jun 2019
1 contribution
My wife and I were met by the owner (Nick) before our appointed time. We explained this was our first time salt water fishing. Nick explained what the trip would encompass, and what to expect. Nick provided a cooler with drinks and snacks. We met the captain (Pino) and made him
Read more
Date of experience: May 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Janick2010, Owner at Wahoo Fishing & Tours
Responded Jun 11, 2019
Thanks for taking the time to review us, we appreciate the kind words. Nick and Pino really are good guys who strive to provide the best possible experience. We know that our coast is a unique fishery, and we are fully aware that many of our guests are brand new to the sea. We delight in introducing people to our beautiful fishing community, where the banter on the beach and the beauty of the scenery is as much a part of the experience as pulling in tonight's dinner.
Read more
Beau N wrote a review Apr 2019
Phoenix, Arizona1 contribution
We caught fish, but the trip was mediocre overall. Nick met us at the beach to show us off. We had expected an upbeat captain based on the reviews, but Pino had very little to say. Most were just 1 or 2 word responses, so there were many moments of awkward silence. We went
Read more
Date of experience: April 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Janick2010, Owner at Wahoo Fishing & Tours
Responded Apr 14, 2019
We welcome feedback, perhaps especially so when it helps us improve our service. Let me address the issues you report. 1) Pino is a fisherman, and while most people describe him as friendly and likable, it sounds like you didn't get that pleasure that day. By the number of fish you brought in, it might be that he was just busy doing his job--getting you on the fish, keeping your lines tight and baited, and getting fish into the iced cooler. Silence, awkward or otherwise, might have been preferable compared to his cursing at the fish not biting or the wiley ones that get away! I'll chat with PIno about this so he can learn from the experience. 2) Puerto Viejo is a fishing village, and it's where it is because of the productive reefs within a couple miles of shore. When the fish are in, there is no conceivable reason for us to go out any further, it won't produce any better than what we are getting at Long Shoal, Four Fathoms and Blue Hole--our preferred spots. If you weren't catching fish, Pino would have been scouring the coastline for them. In the 15 e-mails we exchanged prior to your trip, you were advised on what species we'd be targeting, the length of the trip, and the likely distance we'd be traveling. We also offer the option of snorkeling and dolphin watching at no extra cost, but I don't believe you desired either. 3) The PayPal invoice you were sent at booking outlines in the terms and conditions that balance is due on the beach on the morning of the tour. It specifies cash, provides location for the two ATMs in town, and indicates that requests to pay with a credit card must be made a day prior to the tour in order for me to send a final PayPal invoice. But I get it, it's not uncommon to skip over the "fine print" in a reservation or booking, but it is there. 4) While it is true that Nick went to your hotel, you have misrepresented it. I sent you an email that Nick was going to stop by to pick up the payment. Nick didn't make a scene in the lobby, he wasn't creeping around, and he didn't storm off. It's a small town, most hotels know us, and when Nick arrived at your hotel they greeted him and knew you'd been fishing with us. We frequently stop by the local hotels and vacation rentals to drop off the day's catch, or deliver items guests leave behind, etc. You left the beach without any explanation and owing us $300, we were as concerned about you as we were in collecting the balance. We could have reported it as a theft or sent the police to your hotel instead, I guess, but that's not who we are. I'm sorry we fell short of your expectations. In the several emails we've exchanged since your tour, I have tried to reconcile this. You warned us we would get a negative review, and as I said to you before, we welcome the feedback and will use it to assess improvements to our tours and administration.
Read more
Previous
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
from $125.00
More Info
from $75.00
More Info
from $58.47
More Info