Tamarindo Diving
9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
About
Tamarindo Diving is your best choice to experience the sea in the most enjoyable way while applying the higest safety standards possible. We are right at the entrance of Tamarindo, just in front of Best Western Vista Villas Hotel.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Features animals

Awards
Travelers' Choice
2022

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Tamarindo Diving
Travelers talk about
(48 reviews)
(22 reviews)
(22 reviews)
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
634 reviews
Excellent
523
Very good
78
Average
14
Poor
6
Terrible
12

EH in ND
Bismarck, ND73 contributions
Jun 2021 • Family
My family (immediate family and some extended family members traveling with us) did a combined Snorkeling and Scuba diving tour with Tamarindo diving at the offshore Catalina Islands. We had a wonderful experience. Four of us are advanced open water certified divers (two adults and two teens) and three of our group are snorkelers (one teen and two adults). Everyone came away with a great experience and big smiles! The snorkelers saw eagle rays, white tip sharks, and a variety of fish. The divers saw plenty of white tip sharks, octopuses, and a variety of fish. The dive profile was adjusted to our level of certification and had minimal current and excellent visibility. Snorkelers had an excellent time and had a separate guide. Both dive/snorkel sites were phenomenal. The guides were very safety oriented and lots of fun. Due to the size of our group it was just our family and guides/captain on the boat. The seas were very smooth on the way out to the dive sites, but a little rough on the way back. I am not prone to see sickness so it was no big deal, but those in our group that do have a tendency to get seasick took Dramamine prior to the tour as a precaution which I would recommend in general for anyone doing offshore diving or snorkeling as water conditions can be unpredictable. I’m sure there can be a huge variety of marine life depending on the time of year that you visit and that visability can vary tremendously, but June was 10/10 for us!!! Overall it was an awesome experience for quality of dive, quality of service, and we would love to come back.
Written June 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you very much for using our service, and we are proud to have had an unforgettable experience with your company. We hope to see you again soon, a greeting. -TamarindoDiving-
Written August 31, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Marinel6
5 contributions
Feb 2021
I went diving with Luis who was an excellent guide and I was very surprised how much he could spot underwater in such short time (seahorses, octopus,etc...)
We saw so many eagle rays, sharks, turtles, morays, sea snakes and even a giant Manta Ray! I'll never forget these two dives and everything was very professional. I trust them 100 percent and would come back if I ever could!
Written February 19, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Davide G
Thank you so, so much!!!! We are so happy that your diving experience was so amazing!!! Sometimes the ocean makes wonderful presents!!! This was one of those days. Of course we try very hard, but all of our efforts would be useless without the help of the ocean and its creatures! Pura Vida!!
Written March 29, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

GreivousAngel
Oxford, MS2 contributions
Jul 2022 • Family
Daughter and I had a great experience with Tamarindo Diving. When we met David at the shop he told us that there had been a cancellation and we (daughter and I) would be the only divers. Many outfits would have shut down the trip and refunded our money instead of operating at or near a loss. That says a lot about TD. So we had a boat captain, mate and diver master all to ourselves. Dive Master was Emily. She was professional when she needed to be and laid back when she could be. My daughter appreciated Emily not being patronizing as some Dive Masters can be with a teen diver. Daughter and I know what we are doing so with a minimum of fuss we got three dives with maximum bottom time. Emily had a good eye and pointed out lots of sea life. Surface intervals included water, tea, fruit, cookies and a box lunch during the second interval, Imperial for the ride home. Captain and mate were also helpful when needed. We would dive with Tamarindo Diving again without hesitation. Oh yeah, I liked the option of three dives vs the normal two with most outfits. -J
Written July 25, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Davide G
Hi! Thank you so much for your kind words. We always try to make sure you have the best experience possible and we are very happy to hear that you had it. Also Emily and the whole stuff had a good time with you. Hope to see you again in another great experience underwater. Pura vida!
Written September 9, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Amanda E
Denver, CO3 contributions
Dec 2019
We chose to go scuba diving with Tamarindo diving. I forget the name of our wonderful guide but he made the experience so great. We went on the boat with the snorkelers and after the peaceful ride out to the island we got our safety lesson and were on our way. I couldn't believe how many fish and sea animals we saw, our guide was great at pointing things out while making me, a first time diver, feel perfectly safe. It was by far my favorite activity of our trip and we did a lot! I would highly recommend diving with Tamarindo Diving.
Written January 24, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Davide G
Thank you so much for your words! We always try to make your adventure as enjoyable as possible while always keeping safety as our priority. The first time scuba diving is always an exciting and wonderful experience and we are glad you got the most out of it! Our guides know the area very well and can show you all the hidden surprises you can find at the Catalinas. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your adventure and would love to have you back! All the best and Pura Vida!
Written January 25, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Eva A
London, UK31 contributions
Jan 2022
A lifetime experience.
All of the instractors, dive masters, crew and receptionists were always with a smile, very helpful and delivered with professionalism their passion and respect for the aquatic life.
My highly skilled instructor Francesco taught me how to enjoy the underwater "pura vida" and use diving as meditation.
Written January 29, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Davide G
Than for these nice words! We really try our best and our customers' satisfaction is our main goal. You're so right!!! Diving is a very good way to meditate. We hope to see you again for another underwater adventure. Pura Vida!
Written March 18, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

julier329
La Fortuna, Costa Rica15 contributions
Jan 2020 • Friends
I got into town yesterday and booked online with Tamarindo Diving. I called them to ask questions and the young woman I spoke with was very helpful. I walked over to the store to ensure everything would be set for the next day (due to my own anxiety, not because the dive center required it) and the young women that were working were so helpful and patient with me, especially as they helped me look up my dive cert info. I was picked up right on time and I was able to get my gear ready without issue. The boat ride, guides, and everyone associated with Tamarindo Diving was awesome. Our guide Toby was careful and attentive. I am a moderately experienced diver and would highly recommend this group. I would also dive with them again in a heartbeat. We also saw some really cool things underwater, but that obviously is not necessarily dependent on anything but nature. Thank you again to the Tamarindo Dive team!
Written January 29, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you so much!!! We are so glad to hear about your satisfaction in relation to our services. This is exactly why as a team, we try really hard. We want all of our customers to feel safe and well looked after while they dive or snorkel with us. Thank you again! We would love to see you again in the future and scuba dive together. Pura Vida!!!
Written February 6, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lien T
Dublin, Ireland15 contributions
Jan 2020
Lovely, polite staff and a good diving center on the main tourism street of Tamarindo. We gathered at the center at 7am and the staff drove us to a nearby beach (at Chiringuito restaurant) to get on our diving boat. I'm certified with PADI Open Water and got to do two dives with the center, one at Islas Catalinas and one at Sobreros. Visibility was moderate to good, and we saw the white tip sharks that populate Costa Rica waters. Those on the boat snorkeling and not diving caught sighting of a humpback whale! My divemaster was Andy who was great.
Written January 28, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you so much for your nice review. We are so glad you enjoyed this experience. We work hard in order to satisfy our customers in every aspect. From the moment they get in touch with us, until the moment they leave Tamarindo. Of course, all our efforts would be in vain, without the help of our friend the Ocean!!! We hope to take you diving again in the future. Pur Vida!!!
Written January 29, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

RaisaZhovklaya
14 contributions
Dec 2020 • Friends
Davide at Tamarindo Diving was so accommodating and great to our group! He met us at the beach every single dive before and after we got back. He made sure that we enjoyed ourselves :)

The dive leaders Sean and his Wife Kim, were incredible! They both have a vast amount of diving experience, knowledge and great personalities :) Kim was great at spotting all the little sea creatures while Sean would point out the white tip sharks! They’re a great team. You can’t go wrong with diving through this shop with such an amazing team!!!
Written December 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Davide G
Thank you!!!! We have to say that we also have amazing customers!!!! It was a pleasure to take you diving and your words are such a reward to all of our efforts! We hope to see you again in the future, maybe underwater..... Pura Vida!
Written January 28, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Serge P
Gatineau, Canada1 contribution
Mar 2020 • Family
We went to Catalina Island and the national reserve. Although I have nothing but compliments for the crew, the guides and the service we received, the experience was quite disappointing. In our group, about half of the people when scuba diving and had a great experience. The rest of us went snorkeling and that was a mistake. The water was so murky there was little to see. We managed to see a few fish and a few rays for a few seconds here and there but the view was really terrible and the water was chilling. Obviously these waters are full of fish of all kinds but it's not a place for snorkeling. It's quite disappointing to be lead to believe we could snorkel there and expect to have a great experience. Almost a scam honestly. I believe they take clients to snorkel only to fund the scuba diving trip. Lame. I have done a lot of snorkeling in various places in the Carabeans and it was awesome, nothing like this.
Written March 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Serge, thank you for complimenting our crew and services. We re sorry if your snorkeling experience wasn't as you expected but, unfortunately, we cannot control nature. And I can assure you (but you can see that reading the reviews) that snorkeling at the Catalina's most of the time is an amazing experience. Sometimes snorkelers can see more than divers as some big fish approach the surface looking for plankton or for fish hiding among the rocks in shallow waters. Some other times both groups have a wonderful experience. We are serious people, we put all our passion and efforts into what we do and our main goal is our customer's satisfaction. We have to respect nature though and understand that every day is different. Pura Vida!
Written March 11, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

williamjirwin
Tampa, FL1 contribution
Jul 2021
Diving out at the Catalinas was an unforgettable time and the tour guide that took was professional and friendly. He'd frequently find small hard to spot sea creatures like a starfish that he scooped up and showed us. They provided snacks and water too as well as decent gear if you didn't bring your own.
Written August 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you very much for using our service, and we are proud to have had an unforgettable experience with your company. We hope to see you again soon, a greeting. -TamarindoDiving-
Written August 31, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 567

Tamarindo Diving - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go