We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Horsejungle

Features Animals
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
More
About Horsejungle
Horse back riding on wonderful place : Observe the jungle, Cross a River, Walking on the beautiful beach (Barco quebrado, Buenavista, Barigona...) on Costa Rica... And we speack about wild life. French english spanish Helmets and saddle adapted Happy and Healthy horses
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Horsejungle
406Reviews10Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 377
  • 19
  • 2
  • 3
  • 5
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Charlyne D wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Amazing experience with HorseJungle ! Melissa is passionnated, knows her horses by heart and loves the country where she lives. She is full of patience with beginners. During the ride, we saw howler monkeys, baby crocodiles, iguanas, and birds. The landscape is highly diversified : jungle, forest, rivers, beach. The beach she took us to, Buenavista, was beautiful, clean, and empty. Such an amazing way to experiment the "Pura vida" in Costa Rica ! If I return to Samara in the future I would definitely contact Melissa for another horse jungle excursion ! Muchas gracias !
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Stacey M wrote a review Jul 2021
Cumming, Georgia6 contributions
We had a great time! Sandra was our guide and she was really pleasant and shared her knowledge of the Costa Rican ecosystem. We are a family of 5 with kids ages 12,14, and 16. The variety of trails was beautiful and the beach is gorgeous! Highly recommend this place!
Read more
Helpful
Share
Jessie wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
The place was difficult to get to in our car and we had to call multiple times before we were able to get them to come pick us up with some horses (which was really awesome). The tour I would rate a 3/5. It was a nice experience although my horse wasn’t great (seemed exhausted/tired and had really bad gas). If the horse was better I would have gave it a 4/5. With that said, when we finished the tour, our guide didn’t want to take us back and we honestly didn’t know how to get back. She pretty much took our money and told us goodluck getting back to the car. She didn’t provide guidance/assistance. We had to basically swim across a river in our clothes (waist high). We ended up lost in the jungle and took roughly 30 minutes to find out where we parked our car. I will just say that if you don’t want to pick people up/drop them off, then don’t. But don’t let them have to fend for themselves after you take there money. Super unprofessional and it was upsetting. It would have took her a total of 10 minutes (maybe), but she didn’t want to assist. It is what it is but we just left really frustrated because of this. I was going to actually leave a 1 star but decided against it after cooling off.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from Audrey D, Propriétaire at Horsejungle
Responded Jul 22, 2021
I left you the location a few days before the tour. This usually gives you time to get a feel for where we are located. It is very easy to find us from the center of Samara with your car (4 km, about 15 minutes). I have put up signs at every intersection to make it easier for you to find us. Unfortunately, you booked through an organization that I did not know and you arrived from a distant destination. You did not want to cross the river (which can be bypassed by following another road.) So I kindly came to pick you up on horseback to take you across the river!!! The tour is said to be excellent as you mentioned yourself. When we arrived at the ranch, another group had been waiting for me for more than 20 minutes due to the adventures of your arrival on the other side of the river in the morning... I apologized to them and then to you and asked you if you could reach your car by your own means, to which you answered yes. I explained to you that the river was not high (it arrives below the knee!). Costa Rica is the land of adventure, take off your shoes, pull up your pants and let nature embellish your life during a river crossing! It's just happiness! ) Finally, our horseback ride is very diverse, the horses are good and happy, I don't think I deserve a low score all because you didn't know or couldn't find us by car .... And I'm sorry but I think I was very accommodating...
Read more
Sylvia Z wrote a review Jul 2021
Hemet, California8 contributions
We highly recommend taking a tour with Horsejungle. We had a great time on our tour! Melissa was friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. I like that she does not book multiple groups at a time, it’s just you and your party. It’s great because you can hear when she’s talking and are able to ask questions as you go. We had such an awesome time riding through the jungle and taking in the beautiful scenery. The part I enjoyed most was crossing the river and running the horses on the beach-it was a thrilling experience! We will definitely take another tour with Horsejungle when we return to Costa Rica!
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
Helpful
Share
ChelsJohn wrote a review Jul 2021
Wilmington, North Carolina3 contributions
This experience was definitely one of the biggest highlights of our trip to Costa Rica. Melissa was very knowledgeable about the horses, the wildlife, plants, and area as a whole. We were even able to see some howler monkeys that she spotted in the jungle. Galloping on the beach was a magical experience and we felt that the horses were very loved and cared for. We will definitely be returning one day. Thanks for an awesome memory!
Read more
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456