We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get the full experience and book a tour
Recommended
Our most popular tours and activities
Transfers & Ground Transport
No stress transit for your arrival and departure
Full view
Location
Contact
Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos Costa Rica
Get to know the area
Full day Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna Waterfall and Hotsprings
4WD, ATV & Off-Road Tours

Full day Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna Waterfall and Hotsprings

183 reviews
See the best of La Fortuna and the Arenal Volcano area in just one day with this tour. Start with a hike along the La Fortuna River, continuing to a suspension bridge tucked deep into the jungle. Then walk to a local indigenous village followed by a traditional lunch. In the afternoon, visit the Arenal Volcano for more hiking before wrapping your day up with a soak in a natural thermal river.
$88.00 per adult
286Reviews6Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 242
  • 19
  • 10
  • 6
  • 9
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Elizabeth P wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions
We had a excellent experience with RideCR in particular with Diego who works for them. He picked us up at Liberia airport and despite our flight being delayed 2 hours and a long line to get through customs, Diego was waiting for us with a huge smile and was so nice. On the drive from Liberia to La Fortuna Diego told us all about his favourite places in La Fortuna and made great recommendations. We enjoyed our time so much with Diego that we booked him again for our drive back to the airport at the end of our trip from La Fortuna to San Jose airport. Thanks Diego for being awesome!!!
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from RideCR C, Gerente at RideCR
Responded Mar 23, 2020
Dear Elizabeth P, We love knowing that the experience through the roads of Costa Rica has been so positive. It is a great pleasure to tell our fellow travelers the wonders of the country in which we live and that you can enjoy that magic is also our daily mission. We love what we do and we always work with a smile. We hope you choose us again in the future, RideCR
Read more
Carl201010 wrote a review Mar 2020
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom6 contributions
We drove with RideCR from San Jose to Monteverde in early March 2020. The road up to Monteverde is quite winding and requires a good amount of attention both to navigate it safely and to prevent passengers feeling sick. Thankfully Jimez (apologies if I’ve spelt that incorrectly) RideCRs driver managed both. Efficient, pleasant, knowledge and safe, RideCR ticked all the boxes for us. Very happy to recommend.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from RideCR C, Gerente at RideCR
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Dear Carl201010, Your comments are very motivating and encourage us a lot. We love showing the best of our country and that the trip to your destination is entertaining and that you remember it for a long time. We always want to tell you a lot about our country because we feel proud and because we want you to learn from our country at all times. We hope that you choose us again in the future, RideCR
Read more
Mary R wrote a review Mar 2020
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania112 contributions75 helpful votes
We had three transfers with RideCR, all of them arranged by Pacific Trade Winds. The first two were private transfers for 6, the last was a shared transfer for two, but the bus was full. If my rating was based on the first transfer it would have been a 5+. The driver, Charley (Carlos V) was amazing. He talked non-stop on the long transfer from San Jose airport to the Caribbean. He was incredibly knowledgeable about the county, the people, the economics - everything! He stopped at a restaurant for a rest stop and translated the menu and communicated with the waiter what we wanted. He was very professional and drove safely through the really bad traffic and construction along the way. We appreciated his input on restaurants near our destination as well. Our next driver was OK, in that he was on time and got us to where we needed to go. He did not talk much along the way, and when asked for a rest stop stopped at a gas station, whose ladies room had no toilet seats and the toilet paper was not in the stalls but mounted on the wall outside the stall. Maybe he didn't know that, but he surely didn't go out of his way. That ride was just OK. The last driver asked us where we were going and we told him the name of the resort and the beach. We told him the same info at least 3 times, even handing him our phone that had the name on it, our voucher also had the correct information. Another passenger, looked at his phone and found a hotel with a similar name on the beach that HE was going to. The driver took us to that hotel and really would have liked to leave us there, but I insisted that I verify it was the correct one. No one there spoke English. Once again I said that our reservation was at Playa Hermosa, there was some pointing and conversation in Spanish between a maid and the driver. The driver then apologized and took us to the right place. He got us there, but the idea that he would have left us in the wrong place was very unsettling. So, about RideCR, I would say that the vehicles were clean and safe but ultimately the experience is dependent on the driver. Charley was awesome!
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RideCR C, Gerente at RideCR
Responded Mar 10, 2020
Dear Mary R, We appreciate the time taken to share your comments, we certainly learn to improve with each of the reviews of our travellers. Be sure we will send your positive feedback to Charley, we know that he always works hard to offer an excellent service. In addition, we are very sorry for the inconvenience suffered in the other two services, we are making all the necessary corrections so that all transfers, both private and collective, are always of quality and with the necessary attention for all our travelers. Best regards, RideCR
Read more
Marknlor1990 wrote a review Feb 2020
Chatham, Canada28 contributions9 helpful votes
Our private transportation with RideCR was arranged through Pacific Trade Winds. We were greeted at the Liberia airport by Charlie (Carlos): he was friendly from start, knowledgeable about the country and spoke English very well...phew! He shared his love of his country throughout our ride to Arenal / LaFortuna. He was easy going when we needed to stop and eat on the way, taking us to the perfect spot with great views and great food. We arranged to bring a case of school supplies to donate and asked if he knew of a school on the way to our resort where we could drop these supplies off...he did one better! He cleared it with his company to be our driver a couple of days later and He made arrangements with a small rural school so we could not only drop off the supplies but meet with the kids, have a tour of the school and visit with teachers & principal! He knew it was our 30th wedding anniversary so he made the entire day memorable by taking us to many cultural and scenic spots along our way across the country. We cannot express our gratitude fully for the time and care he put into the drive service. We feel like we made a new friend! If you are heading to Costa Rica, call RideCR and ask for Charlie...you won’t be disappointed!
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from RideCR C, Gerente at RideCR
Responded Feb 26, 2020
Dear Marknlor1990, We love knowing that the experience through the roads of Costa Rica has been so positive. It is a great pleasure to tell our fellow travelers the wonders of the country in which we live and that you can enjoy that magic is also our daily mission. We love what we do and we always work with a smile. We hope you choose us again in the future. We love being part of such special memories, again, happy anniversary !! RideCR
Read more
TAMember1234 wrote a review Feb 2020
Chester, United Kingdom235 contributions91 helpful votes
Thankfully our tour company only used Ride CR for one of the transfers we took on our Costa Rica holiday. We were picked up from our Arena hotel in what looked like a yellow school bus, the suspension was dreadful, the ride to the lake was very uncomfortable. Luggage was piled haphazardly at the back, and slid down the aisle. The boat trip was fine, but the onward transport to Monteverde was appalling. A shabby mini bus, all of the eighteen seats occupied, so no space, especially in the aisle. The luggage was piled up at the back, big cases on top of small ones, with no care or respect. But the luggage was totally unsecured, we were in the back seats and it was just behind our heads. I was seriously worried that we might get hit on the head at any time by an unsecured suitcase. This was like cheap backpacker transport, and we were travelling with one of the UK more upmarket tour operators. If we go back to Costa Rica, I would want names of all the transport companies involved, and refuse to go with Ride CR
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from RideCR C, Gerente at RideCR
Responded Feb 17, 2020
Dear TAMember1234, We appreciate your comments about your experience with us and we regret that the experience has not been positive. We would like to clarify that the yellow bus is in perfect condition, it even has air compensation that is even more comfortable than those of a coaster vehicle, it also has air conditioning and leather seats. We always send a companion who collaborates with the driver so that the luggage is sorted and treated in the best possible way and they are ordered in the back of each vehicle so that the passage is smooth in the Van and in that space there is no risk that customers suffer an incident with luggage. In the boat they are ordered in the main frontal part of the boat (some seats of the same were eliminated to place them in the most orderly way possible in that space). Also due to the season, we are forced to use the maximum capacity of the vehicles, however each customer travels comfortably in their seat and the luggage is ordered in the back as mentioned above. In addition, due to the state of the roads from Río Chiquito to the Monteverde Zone, we cannot work with high capacity buses, so our operations department sends the necessary cars to transport comfortable to all our clients. Finally, in our transfers we always strive to ensure quality and offer the best possible treatment to customers, regardless of whether they travel by bus or private services. Best regards, RIdeCR
Read more
Previous