We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chaves Tours

Features Animals
La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
+506 2479 0606
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Poor Horses!

My family (husband and I with 3 kids aged 11, 9 and 9) were recommended to this place and were... read more

Reviewed January 15, 2018
hottiemur
,
Ontario, Canada
Stole money from us

We went on a tour with Chaves Tours on December 27, 2017. Upon reaching the waterfall, the guide... read more

Reviewed January 10, 2018
CostaCraig
,
Whitby, Canada
Read all 37 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Be picked up from any of the tourist hotels in Fortuna. We take them to the stable where the journey begins. This tour is approximately 1 hour, where you see a great variety of flora and fauna, plus spent three natural rivers, our guides will explain what is going to see during the trip. About 300 meters before reaching the waterfall stop the horses and undertake a short hike to the waterfall where they have about 1 hour to swim in the refreshing waters, take pictures or simply enjoy the peace and quiet to live there. After that we return that lasts about 1 hour.
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good16%
  • Average10%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible13%
Travelers talk about
“great tour” (2 reviews)
“horse” (15 reviews)
LOCATION
La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
CONTACT
Website
+506 2479 0606

Similar Things to Do in La Fortuna de San Carlos

Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"la fortuna waterfall"
in 5 reviews
"great tour"
in 2 reviews
"horse"
in 15 reviews
"ride"
in 18 reviews
"beginners"
in 3 reviews
"path"
in 3 reviews
"explanation"
in 2 reviews
"activity"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 35 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2018

My family (husband and I with 3 kids aged 11, 9 and 9) were recommended to this place and were SHOCKED at how poorly the horses looked! They were small and skinny and during the ride my son's horse kept trying to bite my horse....More

Thank hottiemur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2018

We went on a tour with Chaves Tours on December 27, 2017. Upon reaching the waterfall, the guide Francisco offered to hold our belongings. When we finished swimming in the waterfall and had our belongings returned to us, $300.00 USD was missing from my wallet....More

Thank CostaCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaves T, Director General at Chaves Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are very sorry for your bad experience. We have absolutely nothing to do with your situation and we totally reject these accusations. We have seen that you mention some important points that we must clarify: 1. In our employee form we do not have...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2017

I am not a horse person but when we arrived for the 3 hour LaFortuna Waterfall tour, I was pretty upset to see the condition of these horses. They were huddled in a dirty, muddy pen. Many of them had open sores on them &...More

3  Thank ohtotravel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2017 via mobile

Great tour!!! Very relaxing and joyful !!! My two kids 7 and 9 y.o loved it!!! Horses are well behaved and our tour guide Joel was amazing, made our trip fun and exciting!!! Loved it!!! Thank you Joel and Miel!!!

1  Thank Mapushonok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2016 via mobile

Overall average tour. A bit pricy in my opinion... - The horses seemed pretty grumpy when I went on the tour. In fact one horse was biting other horses that got too close and it bit my knee!! Luckily it was a minor cut and...More

1  Thank janhungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful ride to the waterfalls and could not have asked for a better experience! We were a bit worried after reading some of the reviews, and the only explanation we can come up with is we did a private tour - two...More

Thank FifteenMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

The staff at this place was friendly and knowledgeable. The ride was fantastic and the horses we rode well behaved!

Thank CeciDeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2016

We set up this horseback ride through a friend of our AirBnb host, and read the trip advisor reviews on our drive to the horse stables. We were a bit weary after reading some not so favorable reviews, but as you'll see we were very...More

Thank 569ryano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2016

It's taken me a while to do this review. I was so angry I needed to distance myself for a while. Here are the facts THE GENERAL SET UP - Our horseback riding tour was booked through our hotel (Hotel Royal Corin) - This tour...More

Thank LynnKF51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2016

The horses on my visit were in reasonably good condition but the bosal bitless bridles were fitted way to low and tight which would be very uncomfortable especially if ridden by beginners. The actual trek is pleasant and the waterfall wonderful. The horses were sound...More

Thank Happy1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PreviousNext
1234
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 59 hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Jireh
68 reviews
.23 miles away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
248 reviews
.39 miles away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
122 reviews
.40 miles away
Hotel Rey Arenal
18 reviews
.47 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Red Frog Coffee Roaster and Hostel
289 reviews
.37 miles away
Anch'io
768 reviews
.56 miles away
Pollo Fortuneno
424 reviews
.68 miles away
Restaurante Mi Casa
391 reviews
.37 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Arenal Oasis Wildlife Refuge
231 reviews
.53 miles away
Onirica Art Gallery
28 reviews
.79 miles away
The Motmot Jungle
11 reviews
.44 miles away
Desafio Adventure Company
3,465 reviews
.75 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Chaves Tours staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit