We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Good day out at the course

The Refuge is a nice family course. It has a decent number of challenges with some left and right... read more

Reviewed April 11, 2017
stilts16
,
Saint Joseph, Michigan
via mobile
Needed Golf fix, so does the golf course.

Just finished a horribly kept golf course in Aruba. It was relatively cheap but decent greens. Gulf... read more

Reviewed December 29, 2016
Alvin K
Read all 52 reviews
5
All photos (5)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good34%
  • Average17%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible11%
Feb 19, 2018
“Thinking What Could Be”
Nov 1, 2017
“Golf course ”
About
Combining the captivating natural scenery of Gulf State Park and the design of Earl Stone, our 18-hole championship golf course offers an exceptional experience and the natural beauty found only on the Alabama Gulf Coast. Opened in 1974, Refuge...more
Contact
20115 State Highway 135, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-4501
Website
+1 251-948-7275
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Gulf Shores
from $20.88
More Info
from $160.16
More Info
from $71.50
More Info
from $103.00
More Info
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveler rating
13
17
9
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
13
17
9
7
6
See what travelers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 52 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2018

This is a well laid out golf course; we've been golfing here for 25 years. But, every year the condition of the course gets worse. There is virtually no grass on the fairways, the greens are abysmal, and there are fallen limbs everywhere. I have...More

1  Thank egreer19
GulfStatePark, Staff at Gulf State Park at Gulf State Park Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

The golf course upkeep and maintenance is covered under an operating budget from the Alabama State Parks division, whereas the lodge and trails are being constructed by funds from other sources. We do hope you continue to visit the golf course and witness the changes...More

Reviewed November 1, 2017 via mobile

Called the course early this morning to see if we needed a tee time, was told no to come on so we went to pro shop to check in a was charged the normal senior price. At no time during these two opportunities did anyone...More

2  Thank dlh817
GulfStatePark, Staff at Gulf State Park at Gulf State Park Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

We are so sorry to hear you had anything less than a top notch experience. We are currently doing our best to repair the golf course with the funding provided to us.

Reviewed September 6, 2017

I have played this course 3 or 4 times in the past couple of years. It was always in decent condition and a very good value for a public course. I approached it this year with that in mind only to be thoroughly disappointed. The...More

1  Thank Larry W
GulfStatePark, Gulf State Park Staff at Gulf State Park Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Very sorry you had a bad experience, we are working on funding for this major project.

Reviewed April 11, 2017 via mobile

The Refuge is a nice family course. It has a decent number of challenges with some left and right doglegs. Greens where shaggy so ball did not roll much. Price was average for 18 holes with cart. They did not charge for riders only. There...More

1  Thank stilts16
GulfStatePark, Public Relations Manager at Gulf State Park Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2017

Thank you for writing a review about our Golf Course. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. We hope you will come back again soon.

Reviewed March 28, 2017 via mobile

The ground crew was running a drag up and down the fairways in front of us for 3 holes in a row and would not move. We asked them what the deal was and they said management makes them do that. I actually hit one...More

Thank Diana R
GulfStatePark, Public Relations Manager at Gulf State Park Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

We are sorry that you had an unpleasant experience at the golf course. We are working to improve the course with the funds that are available to us. I am not sure what happened the day that you visited but will be sure to pass...More

Reviewed February 27, 2017 via mobile

My brother-in-law and I went here to golf on a beautiful day. Front nine the course was packed. Marshall kept everything moving. Back nine, no Marshall. There were only 8 people left on the course. Foursome in front of us. One behind us and one...More

Thank Kevin1234567892014
Reviewed December 29, 2016

Just finished a horribly kept golf course in Aruba. It was relatively cheap but decent greens. Gulf State being a State Park and being located in AL, it's light years better, but definitely needs major improvements. Right now they are working on the nature walking...More

Thank Alvin K
GulfStatePark, Public Relations Manager at Gulf State Park Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our Refuge Golf Course. We are glad you enjoyed your experience. We hope you will come golf with us again soon.

Reviewed October 31, 2016

Was not aware that this golf course was in Gulf Shores. It is a nice 18 hole course. Don't expect Kiva Dunes, pretty sure it is State maintained so they probably have to survive on limited funds. But, it was fun to play. Nice little...More

Thank CatWil23
GulfStatePark, Public Relations Manager at Gulf State Park Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2016

Thanks so much for your review. You are correct that it is maintained by Gulf State Park so we do our best with limited resources. We hope you come again soon.

Reviewed July 30, 2016

Greens were as furry as the fairways. Cartpaths had more potholes than pavement. Ranger did nothing as fivesomes and kids/new golfers (on a primetime weekend?) went unchecked. Have not played here in 15 years, now I remember why. Gave it a chance. It failed. I...More

Thank Mark M
GulfStatePark, Public Relations Manager at Gulf State Park Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2016

Thank you for your feedback. We are doing the best we can with a very old course and no money to make the major repairs necessary which is why our rates are so low. State parks just do not have the 1.5 million dollars it...More

Reviewed May 26, 2016

Fees were reasonable, putting and greens were not up to par with the course designer. This course is in need of improvement. I realize it is not the perfect season yet but this course has a long way to go. I have played worse but...More

Thank Will132
GulfStatePark, Public Relations Manager at Gulf State Park Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2016

Thank you for your feedback. We are doing the best we can with a very old course and no money to make the major repairs necessary which is why our rates are so low. State parks just do not have the 1.5 million dollars it...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 26 hotels in Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
344 reviews
1.52 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
270 reviews
1.58 miles away
Royal Palms
40 reviews
1.63 miles away
Quality Inn
221 reviews
1.69 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 176 restaurants in Gulf Shores
Hope's Cheesecake Incorporated
382 reviews
1.29 miles away
The Diner
773 reviews
1.23 miles away
Sunset Cork Room
195 reviews
1.25 miles away
Hazel's Nook
386 reviews
1.50 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 89 attractions in Gulf Shores
Gulf State Park
1,102 reviews
1.12 miles away
Gulf State Park Fishing Pier
943 reviews
1.55 miles away
Alabama Gulf Coast Zoo
1,368 reviews
1.60 miles away
Big Beach Brewing
79 reviews
1.24 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ron F
September 23, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from GulfStatePark | Property representative |
We have a pretty relaxed dress code at Refuge Golf Course. You do not have to wear a collared shirt but no sleeveless. Denim is allowed. No swim wear. For more details please call 251-948-7275 ext 2135
0
Votes