Habla Ya Spanish School, Bocas del Toro Campus- Day Classes

Habla Ya Spanish School, Bocas del Toro Campus- Day Classes, Bocas Town: Hours, Address, Habla Ya Spanish School, Bocas del Toro Campus- Day Classes Reviews: 5/5

Habla Ya Spanish School, Bocas del Toro Campus- Day Classes

Habla Ya Spanish School, Bocas del Toro Campus- Day Classes
5
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Sunday
1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
About
Habla Ya offers different types of Spanish courses: from group lessons (4 hours per day, maximum 6 students per class) and private classes.
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

5.0
246 reviews
Excellent
206
Very good
31
Average
5
Poor
3
Terrible
1

Merle O
Anglesey, UK11 contributions
Learning Espanol
Feb 2020 • Couples
I spent a total of 5 weeks refreshing and learning Spanish Latin American style at HablaYa in Bocas del Toro Panama. I was able to meet students from other countries and had a great tutor Senor Briceno Jose for both Group and private study. I found my tutor both encouraged and motivated me to improve my speaking skills. On ending my studies at HablaYa I feel able to improve on the skills I achieved thanks to a very able tutor...gracias Jose.
Written March 5, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sheila d
20 contributions
studying Spanish
Feb 2020
The program was very well run, my teacher was so creative and professional and got us involved in interesting conversations...in Spanish. I met people from all over the world and they made activities available to students for after school, which was so helpful. Great experience.
Written March 4, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Mark D
Surrey, Canada11 contributions
Great Experience
Jan 2020
We spent two weeks at the school. Of course it was not enough. My reading and writing were not too bad before I went but I struggled with listening and talking. I got a lot of this at the school so I am happy with the level of instruction and conversation. I know now some of the things I need to work on and I may try this again in another location sometime in the future.

I had a constant struggle in Bocas Town between studying in the afternoons and evenings or taking advantage of the other activities that are available: Snorkling, surfing, beaches, etc. I think I would have gotten more out of the school if I had concentrated more on the Spanish. There were two other students while I was there that did this and made tremendous progress.

There was good comaradarie amoungst the students and we had lunch together quite a few times. On the final Saturday, 7 of us did the Zapatillas trip together and had a great time.
Written January 29, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ryan F
2 contributions
Great Experience
Oct 2019
I spent 4 weeks studying at Habla Ya in Bocas and had an awesome experience. My teacher Lineth was excellent. She did a great job of making the classes challenging and fun at the same time, and I learned a TON of Spanish. The student body at Habla Ya comes from all over the world and I really enjoyed making new friends from around the globe.

If you take the classes seriously and try to speak with locals outside of class hours you will be amazed at how quickly you learn!
Written November 19, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

EmilyMarie98
1 contribution
Great experience!
Oct 2019
I had a great experience with Habla Ya in Bocas del Toro. My teacher, Iraida Howard, was incredibly patient and taught me so much during my 4 weeks in her class. I started at the introductory level and Iraida answered all of my questions and challenged me in a supportive and encouraging way. I would love to return to Habla Ya someday to continue working on my Spanish! My husband and I appreciated the variety of activities provided by Habla Ya, including the Cacao Farm tour, exploring the beautiful beaches around Bocas, and enjoying many meals with teachers and other students. Overall, Habla Ya provided an enriching and memorable experience!
Written November 19, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Josefine H
Oruro, Bolivia1 contribution
Absolutely amazing
Oct 2019 • Couples
I had an absolutely great time in Bocas with Habla Ya. First I was afraid it could become boring to stay in such a small city for four weeks but in the end I felt like I could have stay there for a long time more. There are so many nice places around to see, especially Isla Zapatilla. In Bocas itself there are nice places to hang around, go swimming or eat. And the spanish school organizes cool trips every day. It's been so cool that the spanish teachers spent time with us outside of class. I was so lucky to have four weeks of class with Lineth. She was fun, tought us a lot about her culture and how to speak but she also was strict at the right time. That is why I finally learnt more spanish than I could have imagined before. So thank you Lineth and thanks to Habla Ya for this great opportunity in Bocas where I got to know many people I want to stay in contact with
Written November 16, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Nika B
Zurich, Switzerland17 contributions
More than learning a language
Oct 2019
I spent two weeks at Habla Ya, Bocas del Toro in October 2019 (October is considered low season).

First of all, I have to say that I only chose a language trip because I wanted to travel alone but easily get in contact with others.
As I am 29, in a stable job and only have a limited time of vacation, I did not picture myself in a noisy 12 bed dorm to get contacts.

Before the trip, I had quite a tough time at work, so I only knew that Bocas was a group of Islands and that the weather should be better there during rainy season than in Panama City (which is true).

Coming with little expectations, I was overwhelmed by the beauty of the place and the friendlyness of the people. If you come by plane, make sure to get a window seat - the sight and especially the landing is a magical experience itself.
Bocas lives mainly from trourism, so everybody is super friendly and willing to help. Just be careful with prices. E.g. a taxi in the city area should not cost you more than 0.60$, a taxi boat to the neighbouring island about 1$.

From all over the place, you can have a beautiful sight on the sea and other islands. At the hostels Mamallena or Selinas terrasses are open for visitors and invite for a swim or a drink in the afternoon. Many students also stayed there as especially Mamallena is quite close to school. I stayed at the Palma Royale because, as mentioned, I wanted a rather quiet sleeping environment.

For me, what made my journey outstanding, where my teachers at Habla Ya. I have done courses in Spain and Mexico before but this wasn´t comparable. Every person I was in contact with, was keen to provide the best experience to the students and to get their Spanish to the next level. Furthermore, they also took part in evening activities, partied with us and tought us not only their language but their culture.

To me, this is outstanding because we tend to forget that for them, people change all the time. Every week, new people come and others go. And each and every time, they immediately connect with new arrivals and celebrate last evenings with leaving students. They all have friends and family but invest so much more than the teaching time they are paid for.

To summarize it: Bocas del Toro is a paradise. Yes, you can see beautiful beaches, dolphins, sloths and have the filthies friday party of your life. But more importantly, you should go there if you want to meet people that are honest, open and invite you to discover their real culture, far beyond happy hours, Caribbean style island bars and raggaeton parties at the beach.
Written November 12, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sophie S
1 contribution
Habla ya Bocas
Oct 2019 • Solo
Thanks to my second teacher Lineth I learnd a lot during my month in Bocas. She has a great way to teach and her classes are very funny.
Written October 20, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Laura Ferguson
Atlanta, GA4 contributions
What you should know about Habla Ya
Oct 2019 • Solo
Habla Ya may not be the best at teaching Spanish, but it absolutely excels at manipulating its online presence to create a sunny impression that is, to some degree, simply mirage. I recently signed up for a four-week course in Bocas del Toro, and the course material and teaching techniques were so heavy on grammar rules and scarce on casual conversation that I found the whole thing detrimental to my learning Spanish. After a week and two days, I dropped the class, knowing I’d have better success with Duolingo. One would hope that if the program didn’t work for you, the school would acknowledge your experience, issue a refund, and try to part with conciliatory words. But that simply didn’t happen. It turns out the owner is filled with so much hubris and sense of entitlement that he thinks he has a right to keep my $700 fee even though he failed to deliver, even modestly, on what I paid for. It is simply worth noting that if you plan to enroll, don’t pay for more than a week at a time, just in case it doesn’t work for you, as it didn’t work for me. Also, be wary of their specials. They’re never quite as advertised.
Written October 12, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Laura, We are very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations, and that you were not satisfied with your Spanish course in Bocas del Toro. However, as we already explained to you, we cannot teach the class in English. Our methodology goes against this and it's not in our students' best interest. It is also written on our website here under the title "A Conversational Approach, Classes will be Conducted Entirely in Spanish": https://www.hablayapanama.com/methodology/ . It would also not be fair to the rest of your classmates to tailor the group class to your personal needs, since they were very happy with their class format. Our methodology is the Communicative Method, which puts emphasis on oral communication, as opposed to grammar. Of course, a little grammar cannot be avoided, or else you'd not be able to form a sentence or conjugate a verb correctly. Again, we're sorry if this format didn't work for you. Moreover, as we already explained to you, you came with a special promotion (buy 3 weeks and get a 4th for free). There is no refund in this case as you had acknowledged and accepted when we discussed this in person, and you agreed to receive private lessons in Boquete instead, since you didn't feel comfortable in a group setting. We also offered you a credit in the form of online lessons to keep learning from the comfort of your home. It really surprises us that you are insisting on a refund, since you had yourself requested private lessons in Boquete or Panama City. We organized your classes in Boquete, and you didn't show up for your first class on Monday. Later on we heard that you found Boquete to be too humid and simply left.... Finally, we can assure you that all the reviews on this and other sites are authentic, and we're happy to provide you with references of students who have completed a course with us if you'd like. We hope that you will keep on learning Spanish if not through us but via Duolingo, and again, are extremely sorry to see that our service was not up to your standards. Best, Evelyne
Written October 14, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sharon S
Kamloops, Canada24 contributions
Not for us
Nov 2018
Although the school was nice, it was a bit fast for our level and we found it too difficult to keep up so we quit after the second day. It was very sad .
Written October 8, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 213
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing