We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Prasanna Gem Centre

Closed Now: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
All photos (12)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good16%
  • Average22%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible31%
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Contact
921 Sirimavo Bandaranayake Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Website
+94 81 2 389892
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Prasanna Gem Centre
from $85.00
More Info
from $45.00
More Info
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveler rating
7
3
7
3
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
7
3
7
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews weren't interested short video precious stones gem stones tour group reputable gemstones fascinated
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 28 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2019

Over priced over sold and sadly fake gems. We were taken here as part of a Peregrine Tour so assumed that it was all above board. But it is not, purchased earrings that are worth far less than I paid and are not even sapphires....More

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank SarahG20
Reviewed March 12, 2019

Our driver guide brought us here, and we were shown a short video on gem mining and given a briefing on Sri Lankan precious stones, which was quite interesting. It was obvious to the member of staff that was escorting us around the Centre that...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Jeff W
Reviewed March 11, 2019

We started with a little education and a video about gemstone mining which was interesting to me - a gem collector hobbyist. I was fascinated with the museum part but was rushed through this as the guide was intent on giving his sales pitch and...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank pinkerrific
Reviewed March 11, 2019 via mobile

Taken here by our driver as part of a weeks tour of the Cultural Triangle. Interesting museum,video and show cases that depict all the gems which can be found in Sri Lanka. I chose 2 Cats eye moonstones to be made into earrings to be...More

Date of experience: February 2019
4  Thank 607julied
Reviewed February 14, 2019

We were taken to this place by our driver/guide without the chance to read any reviews. If you’re lucky enough to read trip advisor prior to going to this establishment then please take heed of this warning and the other similar reviews. Don’t give them...More

Date of experience: December 2018
4  Thank Lilyee
Reviewed January 18, 2019 via mobile

My father and i went in and Dad chose 2 very nice sapphires. We decided to get them made into a ring each. The next day when we went to collect them, my father was sure the stones had been swapped. He was so disappointed...More

Date of experience: January 2019
2  Thank Georgina G
prasanna919, Manager at Prasanna Gem Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2019

It is very surprising you have not contacted and confronted us then and there if you had a problem. Our impression was that both of you were very happy with the purchase and you did mention you were. After all you were in Srilanka after...More

Reviewed January 9, 2019

It is my third time in Srilanka. and I always visit Prasanna Gems. The service is very good. I still wear the jewellery I bought from here 17 years ago in 2002! I recommend this place to everyone!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Emilia2019
prasanna919, Manager at Prasanna Gem Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2019

Thank you so much for Emilia! We hope to see you soon again.

Reviewed December 12, 2018 via mobile

I have been here yesterday and I was fascinated with the stuff they have got and the museum gives nice idea about the mining. The staff was very nice of course they have to since they have to do their business. Anyway worth seeing and...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Asanka S
Reviewed November 15, 2018 via mobile

I read through the comments from other customers. Similarly I did not intend to buy precious stones but ended up getting a pair of rings. I don't agree that they con and make you buy it but the level of customer care can change your...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Shanthan M
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

We visited here as part of our tour of Sri Lanka. To be honest beforehand I was not interested in going but went anyway. You got to watch a short video which was really interesting and then see the workshop. We really had gone with...More

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank EMELeicestershire
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 117 nearby hotels
Kandy City Stay
122 reviews
.20 miles away
Oak Ray City Hotel
145 reviews
.27 miles away
Hotel Hilltop
701 reviews
.37 miles away
The Tourmaline Hotel
458 reviews
.45 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 248 nearby restaurants
Cool Corner Fried Ice Cream Parlor
294 reviews
.56 miles away
The Whizz
39 reviews
.21 miles away
OpenRice Sri Lanka
66 reviews
.55 miles away
Frozsta
39 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 492 nearby attractions
Kandy Tourist Information Center
67 reviews
.00 miles away
Mahaweli Tours & Holidays
274 reviews
.01 miles away
Sthree
15 reviews
.24 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sharan K
December 8, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 607julied | Reviewed this property |
No...I was overcharged and given poor quality items...Avoid if you are a tourist
0
Votes