We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oak-Ray Isiwara Ayurvedic Village

Upaliwatta,Dimbulgamuwa,Madawala Upatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
+94 66 2 249222
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Definitely pushy sales and expensive products that might be a scam

We visited this place on the recommendation of our driver and the guide was interesting but very... read more

Reviewed October 9, 2017
alisummers1
,
Byron Bay, Australia
Overcharged

We thought it would be interesting. However the salesman was very hard sell and even when we were... read more

Reviewed October 4, 2017
kiwijokers
,
Auckland, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 152 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
  • Excellent3%
  • Very good5%
  • Average11%
  • Poor19%
  • Terrible62%
Oct 9, 2017
“Definitely pushy sales and expensive products that might be a scam”
Oct 4, 2017
“Overcharged”
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Upaliwatta,Dimbulgamuwa,Madawala Upatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
CONTACT
Website
+94 66 2 249222
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 97 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2017

We visited this place on the recommendation of our driver and the guide was interesting but very pushy. I did buy a few things and was shocked at how expensive it was. I did purchase No. 29 a treatment for psoriasis and have tried it...More

1  Thank alisummers1
Manager_OakRayHotels, Guest relations officer at Oak-Ray Isiwara Ayurvedic Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest Thank you for taking time to review in your visit at ISIWARA AYURVEDIC VILLAGE. ISIWARA is not engaging in unethical activities. We always hear to guest voice. We educating about our products you can decide buy or not it is your decision. We...More

Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile

We thought it would be interesting. However the salesman was very hard sell and even when we were taken to the shop, he put an item in the basket I didn’t want and didn’t realise until I read the list sometime later and saw I’d...More

1  Thank kiwijokers
Manager_OakRayHotels, Guest Relations Officer at Oak-Ray Isiwara Ayurvedic Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to review in your visit at ISIWARA AYURVEDIC VILLAGE. If we made a mistake we like to correct it as soon as possible. Ple send us your complain via email to us in-detail and we regret inconvenience happened...More

Reviewed September 2, 2017

Hard-sell marketing spoiled what could have been a wonderful visit. An in-house guide shows you round and explains how various trees, plants and roots can be used for medicinal purposes and in cookery. You can see them and smell the powder or liquid that is...More

1  Thank Zicoh
Manager_OakRayHotels, Guest Relations Officer at Oak-Ray Isiwara Ayurvedic Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2017

Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to review in your visit at ISIWARA AYURVEDIC VILLAGE. We appreciate your comment on our garden tour but please look at our idea on product price. We using to quality raw materials to produce our products relevant cost...More

Reviewed June 27, 2017 via mobile

Our driver stopped by this place on Wednesday, 28th June 2017. Our 'guide' gave us a short tour of a few key products, before sitting us down in some sheltered area with many other tourists. Here, we were given a pamphlet with all the available...More

2  Thank Nadia T
Manager_OakRayHotels, Guest Relations Officer at Oak-Ray Isiwara Ayurvedic Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to review in your visit at ISIWARA AYURVEDIC VILLLAGE. We respect your freedom to express ideas on us but we cannot accept our activities you calling as a scam. ISIWARA is a registered genuine business. we believe our...More

A TripAdvisor Member
14
Reviewed June 8, 2017 via mobile

We visited here as our driver suggested it. The tour was quite fun and Informative. However, as soon at it was over the hardest sale imaginable started. I was too stupid to say 'no' so bought the hair removal cream: I had tried it on...More

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Manager_OakRayHotels, Guest Relation Officer at Oak-Ray Isiwara Ayurvedic Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017

Dear Guest Thank you taking time to review in your visit at ISIWARA AYURVEDIC VILLAGE. ISIWARA is not engaging in unethical activities. We always hear to guest voice. We educating about our products you can decide buy or not it is your decision. We ready...More

Reviewed May 31, 2017

We arrived at the Isiwara Village via our driver Sarath. The man giving the tour of the garden and facilities started out as very nice and cordial...although looking at his complexion and rough hands he could have definitely benefited from some of their products...which was...More

1  Thank T-NutsP-Nuts
Manager_OakRayHotels, Guest Relations Officer at Oak-Ray Isiwara Ayurvedic Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking to review in your visit at ISIWARA AYURVEDIC VILLAGE. Our products are genuine and we say we are not doing any harmful things to our guest. Guest satisfaction on service may be difference time to time due to number...More

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed May 14, 2017 via mobile

The tour of the garden was fine and informative, but they do a very unpleasant hard sell at the end which leaves a really bad taste in the mouth. It is interesting to see how the various plants grow, but they really try to take...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 24, 2017 via mobile

No doubt garden is nice. There were many guys in black trousers and white shirts. We thought they are free assistants appointed by the property. It was not true, the so called assistant was waiting for us while we were having lunch. Since we were...More

Thank Rajesh K
Reviewed April 18, 2017

The tour of the garden is informative and interesting and the beautiful scents are lovely BUT like others before us we were given a massage and then had to sit through a very long explanation of 45 product !!! . From there we were taken...More

2  Thank Lisa P
Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile

Horrible experience: our guide hurried through the spice garden not explaining anything about the plants. Very uninformative. He simply introduced their products to us, gave us a list where we should tick the products we want to buy later. Later in the shop we wanted...More

2  Thank Melbel1302
Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
The Spicy Kitchen
10 reviews
7.75 miles away
Saruketha
158 reviews
18.56 miles away
Kanchana Restaurant
74 reviews
19.28 miles away
Athula Restaurant
185 reviews
16.89 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Euphoria Spice and Herbal
157 reviews
.44 miles away
Nalanda Gedige
82 reviews
4.72 miles away
Ranweli Spice Garden
208 reviews
1.31 miles away
Paramount Spice Garden
21 reviews
1.56 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
mima t
June 28, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Toto5323 | Reviewed this property |
I did! I had bought some oil as my sister in law is having joint pain. The bottle was sealed and the ingredients was outside the bottle. Also they gave me a certificate and a number to contact in case i was stuck in the... More
1
Vote