Venezia Lines

Venezia Lines, Porec: Hours, Address, Venezia Lines Reviews: 4/5

Venezia Lines
4
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
About
Venezia Lines offers a high speed ferry service connecting Italy to the Istrian Peninsula. We organise trips connecting Venice to Pula, Porec, Rovinj, and Umag in Croatia as well as Piran in Slovenia. The service is seasonal and commences in the last week of April until the first week of October. In July and August we offer a daily service between both countries. Venezia Lines is the fastest and most secure way to cross between the 2 countries.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
Top ways to experience Venezia Lines
Popular mentions

4.0
416 reviews
Excellent
187
Very good
100
Average
55
Poor
30
Terrible
44

Graham S
Tewantin, Australia3,706 contributions
One-way Venice to Porec ( lounge option is great) - but what a mess at San Basilio terminal
Aug 2019
Venezia Line experience starts at embarkation & the basic facilities are below par at San Basilio. No real communication from ticketing staff on the trip or anything!
Add a hot wait on uncomfortable seats & then very rude Customs officiating. CUSTOMS are quite prepared to embarrass passengers not withstanding that it could all be a smooth process IF SOMEONE JUST EXPLAINED WHAT WAS REQUIRED.

Boarding the San Pawl was an utter relief, the lounge area was great, & new friends were made over a vino & beer sharing our disgust at the experience at the wharf.
( This we agreed was another way of discouraging tourism in VENICE ).

If Venezia Lines employ the ticketing staff then a course in customer service is required. They too could help with alerting customers of the basic requirements that will trip them up going through Customs. Tolerance, empathy & a kindness by staff all round would make THEIR DAY ... let alone the customers.

... the trip over was calm, & although refreshments are really just kiosk style, the ability to stretch out with a beer or wine was terrific.
At Porec we literally walked off the boat past a Customs Hut, had our passports stamped, & kept walking. No delay at all.

>>> If you have ANY SHARPS & it doesn't matter which bag it is in ( unlike Airlines) you need to reveal this to customs PRIOR to going through the scan.
They will note it, retain the item & return it on departure from the boat.<<<
Written February 5, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review. We are glad we could welcome you onboard our vessel. We empathise with you, since unfortunately no matter how much we try to influence the level of service given by the port officials, this is purely beyond us. For this, we truly apologise and at least I take comfort in seeing that your voyage with us was comfortable and to your satisfaction. It is a pity that the actions of government official reflect negatively on us. Thank you once again for travelling with us.
Written February 6, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sandy T
Sydney, Australia317 contributions
Heading to Porec
Jun 2019 • Couples
Had some problems with the air conditioning, and the loading off with luggage at Porec, a little slow. Staff are very friendly.
Written October 5, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lukea745
Thank you for your review and for your comments. We will look into what happened with the Air conditioning on the day you travelled. I hope you enjoyed the rest of the trip and that our service was to your satisfaction.
Written October 15, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

hidehi987
East Yorkshire43 contributions
Trip to Venice
Sep 2019
Trip to Venice was amazing. The package which is offered is a must. The guides are very knowledgeable and friendly.You can purchase food and drinks on board.
Written October 3, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your positive review, we are glad you found our service to your satisfaction and that the guides were to your liking. Thank you for choosing Venezia Lines
Written October 4, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

1alan280
Cranbrook, Canada157 contributions
Good Lunch
Sep 2019
Makes for a very long day especially if the weather is bad. Actual trip was good but seemed you had to add on almost double the cost to see the basic while we were there. Glad we did it but would not do it again.
Written September 24, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review. Venice is a place you either love to visit many times or the one time is just enough, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your day and visited Venice with us.
Written October 4, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dameon G
Mount Vernon, NY884 contributions
Day trip to Venice
Aug 2019
The trip to Venice was great. The staff and service on-board were both good. The activities offered in Venice was severely overpriced wait until you get to Venice to purchase your activities. We docked late and had to wait 1 hr. on the boat to exist and the immigration wait was about the same losing almost two hour of the day trip.
Written September 24, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that our service was to your satisfaction and that the staff were helpful. Unfortunately, the immigration controls do take some time from the actual visit to Venice. We are hoping that Croatia's entry to the Schengen zone will be accelerated since this is the only way to reduce the controls.
Written October 4, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Debbie M
2 contributions
Terrifying Experience
Sep 2019
We were also on the same trip as BennetS_13 "Final Destination!!! (19/09/2019)" We agree with all the comments made, but would like to reiterate what a terrifying and traumatic experience the return trip was. In your reply to BennetS_13 you say you were unaware of any storms. How is this possible? My son in the UK messaged my husband to say did we know there were bad storms in the Adriatic. Friends had booked a trip on a boat going out of Rovinj, they received a text the night before informing them it had been cancelled due to the storm. So how did you not know there was a storm forecast? We were tossed around like a rag doll in a washing machine! The tour guides were nowhere to be seen, no one could tell us what was happening. The crew member giving out sick bags was shaking and crying, offering us no reassurance and confirming the situation was serious. The captain stopped mid sea to determine if the storm would pass, but we should have turned back straight away! Next, there was an almighty bang, crew started running all over the place, fire extinguishers and welding equipment came out. The crew obviously started to try and mend what was broken. They were all shouting at each other, panicked and distressed. Passengers were hysterically screaming and being sick. A crew member came round making sure everyone with heels removed their shoes, and all exits had crew members guarding them; all in preparation for an emergency exit. All we were thinking of was how were we going to survive if we had to abandon the ship. When the catamaran finally returned to Venice 3 hours later, we had to endure a horrendous 5 hour bus journey. We had to change coaches twice, even the bus drivers did not know what was going on. It was utter chaos. The coaches had no supplies, not even water. We had to stop at services to buy our own. To add to this the reps were no help, and had no idea what was going on. When I asked why we had stopped the rep simply replied "I don't know." When I said that we just wanted to get back to the hotel, his reply was as simple as "yeah so do I." There was absolutely no communication, and overall we had a 0/5 experience.
Written September 22, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you had to go through the experience on our voyage. As already replied the storm was not as forecasted. Irrespective of what your son knew in England, we do not see the rain forecast but the sea state forecast which I do not assume you look into. The declared forecast was for 1.2 m of waves which is highly acceptable, the reality was over 3 m waves so at that point the captain decided to turn back. We always look for the safety of passengers and we did it this time too. I know it was not a nice experience and that is the reason we did not proceed. I am not sure which trip in Rovinj you are referring to because the other 2 vessels.on the route proceeded with the trip and their captain call our captain to tell us that it is hell outside. Although you may not belive it we didi the right thing and turned back 3 different shipping companies went out that day and only we returned due to the bad weather. Do you think that 3 different shipping companies would have gone out to do a trip if we all knew the weather was so bad? What you are stating that crew went around telling people to remove heels and that crew were crying and repairing and welding items in the voyage is not true. There was never an emergency situation on the ship. The ship simply turned back due to weather and at that point we organised 7 coaches to take all people back to croatia. Something which is not an easy task to do at such a short notice. The reality and what is being stated here are not the same thing. I understand that it was not a pleasant experience and we are sorry about that. Im sorry but we cannot control the weather.
Written September 23, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sue
1 contribution
Beware hidden costs!
Sep 2019 • Family
Lovely as it is beware if you have any disability. It states 2km walk in brochure then when onboard says 45 min brisk walk. This is not suitable for young children or disabled. Ends up costing 45euro extra per person at least. Add to that the inflated prices of everything in Venice and you could have had an extra few days holiday!
Written September 20, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lukea745
Thank you for your review. The walk from the port to the centre is a 45-minute brisk walk which is approx 2km passing through the streets and the bridges. I understand that it is hard for disabled and families with children, but we do have many of both travelling every year without issues so I believe it is all a matter of what you are expecting out of Venice as a city. The city is the way it is, you must walk everywhere or pay to use public or privatley organised transportation. The costs are only there is you do not want to walk but this is purely optional. I am sorry that you were left disappointed with the trip and with the amount of walking in Venice.
Written September 20, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

BennetS_13
Cardiff, UK36 contributions
Final Destination!!
Sep 2019 • Couples
Booked this trip through Tui and travelled yesterday from Rovinj at 0600.
Paid about £120 to Tui for the basic package (ferry and walking tour for my wife and I.)
Then chose a boat transfer from the port and a motorboat through the Grand Canal which was an extra £90 in cash on the ferry. Be warned you cannot pay by card!!
The trip over was fantastic. Very smooth and the guides very informative in several languages. Venice itself is a must visit place. So much to see and do.
However, the problems started the minute we exited Venice and entered open water for our trip back.
We went through a terrible storm which at one point was lifting people out of their seats. Sick bags were being passed around, and still it got worse!
The waves were smashing into the windows, the ferry seemed to be groaning and there was loads of banging and shouting from the crew. Clearly something was wrong.
The only way I could describe the experience was it was like something from a theme park!! It was really scary!
I tracked our journey on my phone satnav and could see we were going around in circles, maybe waiting for the storm to pass??
After about an hour, it was announced we'd be returning to Venice as it was too dangerous to continue.
This was a relief to everyone because there were now people crying around us.
We had to wait in the port until buses were arranged to take us home. This was quite prompt and the whole trip to Rovinj harbour took 4 hours, travelling through Italy, Slovenia and Croatia.
Six buses were laid on to take everyone to Poruc and Rovinj.
We finally got to our hotel at 0230 this morning.
My review is not to knock the company, as without the storm, it would have been wonderful. But SOMEONE MADE THE DECISION TO SAIL 280 PASSENGERS STRAIGHT INTO A STORM!!
The reps said it's the worst they've had in 3 years, so why did it sail??
The storm would have shown on forecasts
etc??? It was clearly rough only 10 mins out of the port?? Surely we should have turned sooner??
Someone's poor decision yesterday has put off many passengers from sailing ever again!!!
Not good enough i'm afraid. A genuinely scary experience.

Written September 19, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lukea745
Thank you for your review. Our first and top priority is to ensure that our customers are safe. This will always be the case and that is the reason why the captain decided to turn back to Venice. I can assure you that if we were aware that the weather was going to be so bad we would have never sailed out in the morning let alone the evening. It is not our objective to go to Venice and return by coach. We rely on the forecasts which are available and outside was nothing like the forecast. In fact, there were another 2 ships that sailed out from Venice that same day. They decided to proceed but our captain did not. In fact, he tried to wait for the storm to pass by but then we received a call from the captain of the other vessel telling us that it is literally HELL outside and at that point, the captain took the decision to turn back. So every decision which was taken was in the interest to safeguard the safety of the passengers. We can understand that it is not ideal to return by bus and for this, we truly apologise, but please believe us when we say that the weather was not forecasted to be as it was. On another note, we am glad the rest of the service was to your satisfaction and that, as you pointed out, we are glad that your day in Venice was wonderful.
Written September 20, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

David D
9 contributions
Time well spent in Venice
The best thing about this whole excursion is that every minute is well organized. This is by far the best way to experience Venice in around 5 hours. The whole crew was very friendly, especially Žiga and Ingrid.
Written September 19, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lukea745
Thank you for your positive review. So glad you enjoyed our day and you found our service to your satisfaction.
Written September 20, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

sylvia r
Liverpool, UK70 contributions
Family holiday
I went with my cousin on a day trip to Venice while we were on holiday in Porec. It was a really lovely trip, the staff were very polite and helpful and it was a very smooth crossing. We even saw a couple of dolphins on our way back, which made the trip even more special.
Written September 17, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lukea745
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your day in Venice and that you found our service to your satisfaction
Written September 18, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 258
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing