Aquatika Freshwater Aquarium Karlovac

Aquatika Freshwater Aquarium Karlovac

9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Write a review
About
Freshwater aquarium Aquatika presents the flora and fauna of Croatian rivers and lakes, geological history, traditional culture and history of the basin of four Karlovac rivers. Visitors can witness richness of life in rivers and lakes, and more than one hundred freshwater fish species, of which 40 are endemic. This is an EU project financed from European Development Fund. Additional services: Coffee Shop (open 8 am-9 pm), Souvenir shop, children playgrounds
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience Aquatika Freshwater Aquarium Karlovac and nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
79 reviews
Excellent
39
Very good
25
Average
12
Poor
3
Terrible
0

Olfinho
4 contributions
Aug 2021
Aquatika was a great find on our way to Zagreb! Situated outside of the city with a large parking the Aquarium is an ideal place for a stopover to relax and not only have a coffee in the café nearby but also learn about lokal freshwater life.
Founded only in 2016 the fairly new collection is definetely worth a visit. In oposit to many poor touristic aquariums along the whole Adriatic coast this place is only for freshwater life. It shows the life in rivers from the upper region down to the sea. Rare species are on exhibit as well as the common prey of the angler. Idela for children the large tanks are built almost down to the floor. Go and see this unique place.
Written August 15, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Morana R
Karlovac, Croatia4 contributions
Jan 2020
An excellent idea in an original way of presenting biodiversity of city on four rivers. The education and visual experience of underwater fauna is an interesting experience for both children and adults. Located in a building that is perfectly architecturally fitting to the environment, the Karlovac Aquarium is an unavoidable point of visiting the city. Great souvenir shop with local produce, fine coffee in the cafe, friendly hosts. Quiet and peaceful place for a morning walk and escape from the noise of everyday life.
Written February 18, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you very much for your great review. We appreciate it very much, as we really work hard in representing our institution in the best possible way. Looking forward to your next visit to our aquarium as well as to our caffe bar.
Written February 19, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Li S
Ely, UK733 contributions
May 2018 • Family
After being a bit disappointed with the town we made our way here. I turned in one junction early and unknowingly participated in a portion of a Croatian driving test (it shares a car park with the test centre).
The aquarium is new and immaculately kept. It focuses on the ‘normal’ fish found in Croatias rivers, so think more Roach, carp and pike than exotic tropical fish. Staff very helpful.
Con: The café doesn’t do food.
Written May 29, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had a great time visiting our freshwater aquarium and that you have learned a lot about the mysterious freswater world. Hope you will visit us again soon as every visit is different due to our constant striving to expand and give additional content to visitors.
Written June 6, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tereza H
Prague, Czech Republic9 contributions
Aug 2022 • Family
Aquariums are pretty small. Pictures of Aquatika are nicer and bigger than reality. It took us 20 minutes to see all what we needed. Not much description in English. Mostly freshwater fish and almost no sea fish. It would be nice to have fish names in more languages.
As a tourist I wouldn’t stop there again. For local people it might be nice to let kids explore Aquatika, read them signs and stop for a coffee in the restaurant nearby.
Written August 26, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

ivanmrav
9 contributions
Sep 2019 • Family
Being an nature lovers, we had great time visiting Aquatika!
Beautiful setting on shores of river Korana, its new modern design blends nicely in the enviroment ...
All types of of freshwater fish can be seen in pools, and some are in impressive size!
But also relaxing caffe bar area or just walk to the dam are quite nice.
A little bit dark in some areas(tunnel), and as well lack of the other wildlife from the water )like frogs, snakes etc) are areas which could be improved...
Written November 8, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had a great time visiting our freshwater aquarium. The tunnel is made dark to help experience the underwater world of a cave. The exhibition is made so every visitor can experience the typical karst rivers, from its source to estuary, including the dark cave life of endemic fish species. Regarding other species like frogs and snakes, we would very much like to have them, but need to invest in proper exhibition of such species and educated workforce. And we can do so just after 5 years as we are monitored as a European project for this period of time. Hope you will visit us again soon as every visit is different due to our constant striving to expand and give additional content to visitors.
Written November 11, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

joellem2812
Malta19 contributions
Jul 2018 • Family
the aquarium is kept very clean and each tank has a sign with all the types of fish in it. the guide which took us round was very well informed and explained all the things she knew about each fish. the only thing which was a bit annoying was the fact that the glass is a bit reflective so pictures taken do not always turn out to be the best
Written August 6, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had a great time visiting our freshwater aquarium and that you have learned a lot about the mysterious freswater world. Taking pictures is allowed only without using the flashlight. Maybe the reflection was made by the flashlight. Hope you will visit us again soon as every visit is different due to our constant striving to expand and give additional content to visitors.
Written June 6, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Zvonimir H
Zagreb, Croatia45 contributions
Jun 2017 • Couples
Financed by EU in amount of 4.5mil EUR ... that's a nice money to spend! So, they spent it: architecture is applicable, there are some fishes in aquariums ... but, it seems that guys who managed this project were only bureaucrat. There is no added value, few aquariums and that's it. For 4.5 million somebody would do more: you cannot read the descriptions near the aquarium, there is very little information about eco-system, fishing, inventory of the most fish species is not attractive. Catfish of 6-7 kg is one of the largest in such aquarium? Kidding? 60kn for entrance? (8EUR) Joking?
I have seen some better aquariums in Hungary... Italy.. which did not cost 4,5mil EUR.
Written July 6, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We are sorry that you experienced our aquarium in this way. Maybe to get the added value it would be preferable to listened to our free audio guide for smartphones to experience the river flow from source to estaury. And our colleagues from Professional and technical department are always happy to answer any questions regarding our fish species or tehnical issues. Concerning the ticket prices, please follow us on our Facebook page or our web page to keep track when we have special offers. We hope you will come ti visit us again and experience the mysterious freshwater world.
Written August 21, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Maja Lovretin
Jastrebarsko, Croatia8 contributions
Mar 2017 • Couples
Well,very nice from The outside,great view on The river Korana. In The in side,IT is a little bit poor. I didn't Like it,for example,The description of fishes in aquarium and The pictures Are Black and white and YOU have to be some kind of Genius to recognize The specific fish. Also,we payed 80HRK for The two of us,that is The price for students. For that money YOU can see ALL the animals in ZOO in Zagreb!
Written March 15, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we didn't live up to your expectations during your visiting to our freshwater aquarium. But to make the full experience of the visit, we would really recommend you to take the guided tour (which we give for free in several periods of the year). Our guides give you the full experience of the river, from its source to estuary, with a special accent on the interesting facts about the fishes. The info text and sketches of fish were made so in order not to distract attention from the fishes in aquariums. We agree that sometimes it is difficuilt to recognize which one is which, but to make a full experience, we highly reccomend you to take a guided tour. We really hope you will visit us again soon and find out all the secrets of the freshwater world of our rivers and lakes. We constant strive to expand and give additional content to our visitors.
Written June 6, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Damir G
Zagreb, Croatia421 contributions
Nov 2016 • Family
Aquatika in Karlovac is for shure one of the best places to visit in Karlovac and one of the best aquariums in the region. Although it is not too big it deserves high ranking.
Entry tickets for Croatian standard and for a tour lenght are quite high, so that is one of the changes owner should do. It is a nice modern aquarium but I am missing more interactive features. After looking at all those fishes visitors should have some different perspective and more interaction with museum. Nice souvenir shop at the end of tour and a nice kofee place makes the whole story very well arranged.
Surroundings of Aquatika is great with river just near by and in summer you can take a nice swimming after aquarium visit.
Big parking area just in front of Aquatika makes visit more easier.
Aquatika is shurly worth a visit. If you combine it with a nice walk around city parks you can spend a great day here.
Written November 19, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Boris N
Zagreb, Croatia30 contributions
Jun 2021 • Family
Great experience for a family visit.
Really nice setup of Croatian freshwater fishes in nice aquariums.
Loved it and it was our 3rd visit in the last couple of years.
Written June 4, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 56
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Aquatika Freshwater Aquarium Karlovac - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

Frequently Asked Questions about Aquatika Freshwater Aquarium Karlovac

Aquatika Freshwater Aquarium Karlovac is open:
  • Sun - Sat 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Buy tickets in advance on Tripadvisor. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel at least 24 hours before the start date of your tour for a full refund.

We recommend booking Aquatika Freshwater Aquarium Karlovac tours ahead of time to secure your spot. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel up to 24 hours before your tour starts for a full refund. See all 3 Aquatika Freshwater Aquarium Karlovac tours on Tripadvisor

Hotels near Aquatika Freshwater Aquarium Karlovac: View all hotels near Aquatika Freshwater Aquarium Karlovac on Tripadvisor