We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
1,277
All photos (1,277)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good33%
  • Average11%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
About
Porto da Barra is one of the few points of land in Brazil that face west over the Atlantic Ocean (due to its unique geography near the entrance to the Bay of All Saints). Because of this, Porto da Barra Sundown Show features sunsets which are both...more
Contact
Av. Sete De Setembro, Salvador, State of Bahia 40140-110, Brazil
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Praia do Porto da Barra
from $92.53
More Info
Reviews (3,765)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveler rating
54
44
15
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
54
44
15
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chairs and umbrellas crowded beach great people watching urban beach great beach beautiful sunset santa maria drinking caipirinhas nautical museum watch the sunset visiting salvador waves beaches locals gays fort praia
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

It is very busy every day, loud and full of people ready to lie down or just swim. The beach culture is very different to many places with most people arriving with ghetto blasters and competing with loud music. On the top road above the...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank boereklong
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great beach! One of the few that faces the Atlantic ocean. Chairs and umbrellas for rent. (or you can hang out on the sand for free). For 4 people, 2 hours it was 25 R. so pretty cheap. Service is really good as well! The...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank jd3sai
Prefeitura, Gerente at Praia do Porto da Barra, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello! We thank you for your visit to Salvador and for your evaluation. Welcome to Salvador! @visitsalvadordabahia #visitsalvadordabahia salvadordabahia.com Prefeitura Municipal de Salvador Salvador.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Since it's right in the middle of the city this beach can get pretty crowded, but for me that's what makes it so great since you have lots to see, from people playing football, to kids running around, to dogs having fun in the water....More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank anelidanel
Prefeitura, Gerente at Praia do Porto da Barra, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your comment. Cause we are working for make you feel that Salvador is positively different city. Be welcome to visit pour city again, we have a lot of points that can surprise you. Follow Salvador: @visitsalvadordabahia #visitsalvadordabahia Prefeitura Municipal do...More

Reviewed October 17, 2018 via mobile

I flew to Salvador to spend a week enjoying the culture, the sun ,the people and the beaches. The beaches are crowded, covered in litter and stink of urine. The culture and people, with a few exceptions, seems to be one of scams extortion and...More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Andre H
Prefeitura, Gerente at Praia do Porto da Barra, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Thank you very much for your comment. Studying your testimony, we are already working to fix it this soon. Thank agian for your comment, and really sorry for the problems. Be welcome to back soon, Follow Salvador: @visitsalvadordabahia #visitsalvadordabahia Prefeitura Municipal do Salvador

Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

When visiting Salvador Bahia Porto da barra is the main place to go where it’s safe at night and full of nice and tasty restaurants. The beach is small but will do as a first day visit or evening walk.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank KhuramM
Prefeitura, Gerente at Praia do Porto da Barra, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

Thank you very much for your comment. Cause we are working for make you feel that Salvador is positively different city. Follow Salvador: @visitsalvadordabahia #visitsalvadordabahia Prefeitura Municipal do Salvador

Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

A very interesting place for a tourist to visit especially at the weekends when it’s absolutely heaving. Don’t go there expecting a relaxing beach and you won’t be disappointed. It feels like a beach for locals and was packed wall to wall with lots of...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Chief_Scone_Baker
Prefeitura, Gerente at Praia do Porto da Barra, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

Thank you very much for your comment. Cause we are working for make you feel that Salvador is positively different city. Be welcome to back soon, Follow Salvador: @visitsalvadordabahia #visitsalvadordabahia Prefeitura Municipal do Salvador

Reviewed September 10, 2018

One of my favorite beaches in Salvador. It's look like a lake and the view of the island is nice. However be aware, it's nice during the week because basically you have the local residents and a better setting. Over the weekend, it's extremely crowded,...More

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank cesnov46
Prefeitura, Gerente at Praia do Porto da Barra, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

Thank you very much for your comment. Studying your testimony, we are already working to fix it this soon. Be welcome to back soon! Follow Salvador: @visitsalvadordabahia #visitsalvadordabahia Prefeitura Municipal do Salvador

Reviewed July 11, 2018

thats main beach in Salvador sometimes very crowded and dificult to find place..specialy weekends.this beach has everything..familys,tourists,gays,prostitutes......its interesting beach to watch all this people and beach is realy nice,no waves but i miss showers there.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank MITJA R
Prefeitura, Gerente at Praia do Porto da Barra, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Thank you very much for your comment. Studying your testimony, we are already working to fix it this soon. Follow Salvador: @visitsalvadordabahia #visitsalvadordabahia Prefeitura Municipal do Salvador

Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

Small cozy beach, you might get interaction with others so it is nice... but special? Don’t think so maybe in the summer time..

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank airerik
Prefeitura, Gerente at Praia do Porto da Barra, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Thank you very much for your comment. Cause we are working for make you feel that Salvador is positively different city. Follow Salvador: @visitsalvadordabahia #visitsalvadordabahia Prefeitura Municipal do Salvador

Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile

Nice beach, beautiful sunset. A little full of people, but if you get you spot you will enjoy at sunset time.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Guillex13
DITUR S, Gerente de relações com clientes at Praia do Porto da Barra, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

Thank You for your comment and evaluation, feel welcome ever in Salvador Ass.: Salvador City Hall

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 115 nearby hotels
Pousada da Praca
32 reviews
.26 miles away
A Casa das Portas Velhas
237 reviews
.28 miles away
Hotel Don Juan
17 reviews
.30 miles away
Fera Palace Hotel
619 reviews
.30 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 8,386 nearby restaurants
Golden Place Restaurante
.03 miles away
Pontevedra Bar, Lanchonete E Restaurante
.03 miles away
Lanchonete Dom Alexandre
.04 miles away
Prato Bom
.04 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 397 nearby attractions
Sao Bento monastery
164 reviews
.12 miles away
Basilica e Santuario Nossa Senhora da Conceicao da Praia
412 reviews
.35 miles away
Caixa Cultural Salvador
128 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
BoboLondon1
July 12, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from MITJA R | Reviewed this property |
I have to say I never saw one but i do not swimm far away.....
0
Votes