Emerald Downs

Emerald Downs, Auburn: Hours, Address, Emerald Downs Reviews: 4.5/5

Emerald Downs
4.5
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
9:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 12:00 AM
About
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
170 reviews
Excellent
97
Very good
57
Average
10
Poor
5
Terrible
1

Ryan Templeton
Seattle, WA83 contributions
Jan 2019 • Friends
This is a great place right off the highway. You can bet on the race and it is so much fun. It is great for a date night or a family outing.
Written May 21, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

YaYa1949
Olympia, WA69 contributions
Jul 2013 • Friends
We have been coming to Emerald Downs (ED) for years, and usually have a great time. They charge adults for admission, so if you have a large group of kids, you can get off cheap. Compared to seeing the Mariners or Seahawks, this is a real bargain.

They have family days with free bounce castle, inflatable slides, face painting and pony rides. Food is not outrageously expensive, but you can bring your own - just not alcohol or open beverage containers (like your Starbucks latte). Free seating at the track level, but you can pay a little extra for grandstand seats, or buy box seats or tables at the Rainier Restaurant on the 5th floor. Reservations are taken up to two weeks in advance. If it's cold or rainy, it's worth it to sit in a paid seat, because the wind blowing along the concrete can get very chilly. Another advantage to the paid seating is that you can see the whole track, and not have your view of the track obstructed by the reader board or people standing in front of you. Seating on the 5th floor is particularly good.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the view of Mount Rainier is lovely. There's also a small air field nearby and lots of planes take off and land throughout the afternoon. And, there's train traffic, which is relaxing.

Visitors to ED represent a cross-section of America. All kinds of dress - from fancy evening wear with hats and gloves to grubby jeans and t-shirts and everything in between. All ethnicities. All ages. The smokers are segregated downwind. (My advice - wear layers.)

You don't have to bet to have a good time, but for those who want to learn about betting, ED has an education booth where you can get the basics. They don't talk down to you, so don't be afraid.

If you have questions about the track, ED's customer service staff is very helpful.
Written July 31, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

TKinSeattle
Seattle, WA197 contributions
Jul 2018 • Friends
Loved the Sunday horse races & Weiner dog races!!! Park for free, Get your Living Social for $10.00 for entrance, a free program and lunch included, Grab an umbrella covered table by the track for free get a cold beverage & enjoy a fun filled day at the track! Clean, safe and completely enjoyable day out!!! Highly recommend it!!!
Written July 8, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Julie S
Pelzer, SC253 contributions
Aug 2018 • Friends
Our party of four really enjoyed our experience at Emerald Downs. Used a groupon and with the ticket, received $10 towards lunch, a beverage and a free program ($3). Stopped at the Customer Service area for a brief explanation of how to place a bet and was a bit disappointed in the gentleman's attitude. We watched the 2nd race and wished we placed a bet as I picked the 1st place horse. From then on, we won money in five out of six races. Spent $20 and walked away with $50. Super fun and can't wait until we return the next time we are visiting family in Seattle. Would advise not bringing the kids. Very crowded in the outdoor seating area; everyone was 'saving seats'.
Written August 16, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Laura A
6 contributions
Aug 2018 • Friends
We had a great time watching the corgi racing (the horses are fun too). Our only issue was that we got there a little late and every single parking lot was full. We ended up parking at the Outlet Mall and taking a Lyft there. Once there, I saw there was a shuttle running from one of the Auburn stations, so we might try that next time. Overall, we had a great time!
Written August 8, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura we want to thank you for making the extra effort to attend!! It’s one of our most popular events.
Written August 9, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

witwiscarmensandiego
Edmonds, WA2 contributions
May 2018 • Friends
Great race track, fun full day activity. Able to walk around and see the horses up close. Well worth the visit. Only bad experience I had was with admission. I purchased seating tickets in advance online through the emerald downs website and was told at the gate that only seats were purchased, NOT admission. Note that admission is an additional charge if you buy reserved seats. Not obvious on the website and was disappointed and surprised at the additional charges. Next visit I will purchase tickets directly at the track for general admission--reserved seats weren't necessary
Written May 13, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

luvsroadtrips
Marysville, WA102 contributions
May 2018 • Friends
Fun day at the races, their Kentucky Derby party was so much fun, and a huge turn out, complete with Mint Juleps! Had such a great time already planning next years trip!
Written May 7, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ashlid1981
Leadenham, UK120 contributions
Aug 2019 • Family
We really enjoyed our afternoon at the races when visiting with around 20 of us in our party. We took rugs for the bleachers, as they were quite uncomfortable to sit on. A small track meant that we were able to see the races clearly. The children enjoyed the free activities on offer (wax hands, face painting and glitter tattoos). Food stands are quite expensive, as you normally find at these events. We brought in our own snacks (no opened drinks are allowed through the ticket barriers, so be sure to only bring sealed drinks). The ice cream from the ice cream parlour is huge & great value for money. My two children were able to share the small scoop and still couldn't manage their portions! The winners circle is lovely to head to. The cheaper parking was very busy by the time we arrived, with quite a queue, so we opted to pay for the more expensive parking, nearer to the entrance
Written August 18, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Turoquise
White Salmon, WA29 contributions
Dec 2018 • Solo
I went there for a dog sent trial. They have many events there during off racing time. It is a beautiful facility with gambling on other races showing on TV.
I want to go back and watch the racing, the track looks amazing. I don't gamble but the beauty of watching the gorgeous horses race would be thrilling! Go just for the fun of it. Gamble or not, it would be a great day!!
Written December 11, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sun J
1 contribution
Aug 2018 • Friends
Ive lived in WA for over 10 years and never went to emerald down and finally this year for my birthday i brought 8 adults with me .. it was just terrible .. at the Rainier restaurant half of our orders didnt even make it to the table and the other half was cold,dry,bland.. we got there around 6 and their prime ribs were already sold out . The mongolian beef didnt taste like mongolian beef, the salmon dish was dry and cold. Was not what i expected from here.. very disappointed in our first time experience.. when we brought it to the manager she gave us free entry tickets .. we are military we get in for free and for 2 meals i paid for that was over 50 dollars and to be given a 9 dollar entry ticket is pathetic. Soooo disappointed because i gave this place a chance even after reading bad reviews .. SHOULDNT HAVE! ..
Written August 31, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We saw your review on another site as well and we are so sorry you had such a bad dining experience. We don’t want this to be your last experience so I’m hoping you will give us another try and let us make this up to you. Please email me at philz@emeralddowns.com.
Written September 1, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 169
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Emerald Downs

Emerald Downs is open:
  • Mon - Tue 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  • Wed - Wed 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
  • Thu - Sun 9:00 AM - 12:00 AM