We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
COVID-19 Update:To limit the spread of the coronavirus, attractions may be closed or have partial closures. Please consult government travel advisories before booking. More information can be found here.

Tea Ceremony Koto

171 Reviews

Tea Ceremony Koto

171 Reviews
Get the full experience and book a tour
Recommended
Our most popular tours and activities
Nearby Experiences
Other experiences in Kyoto
Full view
Location
Contact
37 Kinugasanishi Goshonouchicho, Kita-ku, Kyoto 603-8377 Kyoto Prefecture
Get to know the area
Gion Walking Tour by Night
Night Tours
Gion Walking Tour by Night
181 reviews
Immerse yourself in Kyoto’s geisha culture on this Gion walking tour. Your guide explains the difference between maiko, geiko, and many other terms, as well as the history and traditions of Japan’s old capital. See famous movie locations, and upgrade for a longer tour with a private guide for a more in-depth experience.
$12.37 per adult
171Reviews3Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 155
  • 12
  • 3
  • 1
  • 0
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Host was very gracious and made sure we had an absolutely amazing experience. She explained the history of tea making and then made us make a cuppa 😃. Highly recommended.
Read more
Response from Koto T, Owner at Tea Ceremony Koto
Responded Dec 21, 2019
Thank you very much for your message! I’m really happy to hear that you enjoyed my tea ceremony in KOTO. Since here is Japanese old traditional house, I think guests can feel Zen spirit more than in the new city buildings:)
Read more
Me and my friends were looking for something traditional to do whilst in Kyoto and stumbled upon this little gem. Very informative and highly recommend to anyone looking for something authentic.
Read more
Response from Koto T, Owner at Tea Ceremony Koto
Responded Sep 29, 2019
Thank you very much for joining Tea Ceremony and writing this message! I always prepare the tea utensils which suits to seasons and best organic matcha tea grown in Uji Kyoto. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed them!
Read more
Interesting ceremony. They offer a lot of explanations and the lady performing the ceremony is a professional. We paid about 25€ per person for a 45 minute ceremony with only 5 other guests.
Read more
Response from Koto T, オーナー at Tea Ceremony Koto
Responded Sep 10, 2019
Thank you very much for your message! I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed the informations of Japanese tea ceremony. I’m always willing to answer any questions about tea ceremony and Japanese traditional culture here.
Read more
Private Tea Ceremony was fun, a relaxing break from the crowds of the Golden Pavillion. We learned history and appreciated even more the culture of Japan while engaging in the ceremony with our host. This is a highly recommended experience, especially in a small group.
Read more
Response from Koto T, Owner at Tea Ceremony Koto
Responded Jun 5, 2019
Thank you very much for coming to Tea Ceremony Koto and writing the review!! I’m glad to hear that you could feel relaxed in the tea room. We also recommend to join Private session to feel more calm and peaceful.
Read more
I went to visit tea ceremony privately and solo . Unfortunately I was late by 15 min due to traffic on the streets . Was greeted by 2 ladies at the front , you are asked to take your shoes off as you enter although no slippers are provided to you at this stage . So I had to stay
Read more
Response from Koto T, オーナー at Tea Ceremony Koto
Responded Mar 29, 2019
I’m sad to hear that. We had once thought you might not come because it often happens the guests who booked without paying don’t come. But we were waiting for you. We usually accept the reservation with the payment in advance but It was the night one day before you booked, so we could not send the link. In addition, you confirmed the finish time was 11:35 by the email. We managed to perform the tea ceremony because it was the private session, but we sometimes have to refuse to enter when the guests were late 15 minutes and tea ceremony has already started in the group session, which needs the quiet atmosphere. In reality, We always try not to refuse, but unfortunately we often experience customers who are late complains about our session and write bad review. The reason is they couldn’t experience whole things. But I guess the customer will be more upset if we refuse to enter. We can flexibly work when we have no reservation after, but it’s difficult to manage it especially in cherry blossom season. And of course we never prepare slippers for tea room. It’s the custom in Japan.
Read more
Previous