We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colorful-China Travel

Kunming, China
More
About Colorful-China Travel
A day trip from either Lijiang or Zhongdian to the famous Tiger Leaping Gorge in the Yunnan Province China, one of the deepest canyons in the world. The difference in height from the Yangtze River to the highest peak of Jade Dragon Mountain measures almost 4,000 meters. Along a high trail, you hike high above the Yangtze River and enjoy the most breathtaking views the Yunnan Province can offer.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about

Colorful-China Travel
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
32Reviews0Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 29
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Martin wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
Thanks a lot to Adrian Stalder and the whole team for organizing a perfect private trip based on our expectations and his large experience. Everything was great: the travel itenerary, our guides and drivers, the hotels, the mix of sights, nature, hiking, culture and leisure. Even the weather was much better than expected during the rain season. We highly recommend Colorful China Travel and will choose this travel agency again.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Mag S. wrote a review Nov 2019
2 contributions
We just came back from a one week tour of Yunnan by Colorful China. We chose Colorful China over another company in large part because Colorful China said yes - they could arrange the very full itinerary we wanted that included one of our priorities, a home visit to a local home for us (and the other tour company said they do not make arrangements for visit to local homes). Fast forward to when we were actually there in Yunnan, we realize there was never any prearrangement for a home visit made for us. Our assigned tour guide simply walked up to a group of women sitting in front of their home, said hello, was not met with much friendliness, so our tour guide told us to leave. That was it for the promised prearranged home visit. Out of the 3 tour guides assigned to help us, only our last one, Yin Xiao Yan (aka Jesse) was 5-star caliber. In fact, it was only after we had Jesse that we realized how much the other guides paled in comparison. The other guides made some effort, but in at least one case did not have too much to say, and seemed happy to leave us on our own part of the time (which, to be honest, we didn’t particularly mind). Some of the logistics could have been planned better. We were a party of 4 (2 couples) arriving from different places to meet up at the same airport. Rather than simply arranging a definite meeting place, we were given lengthy but ambiguous instructions as to how to meet, leading to confusion, frustration, and wasted time. At least we had a number to call, and things were quickly straightened out. At two different train stations, though, again there were no specific instructions as to where to meet the guide, making it very inconvenient, as there were multiple exits from the station and we were dealing with all our luggage. And at both train stations, there was no car waiting for us. Once, we had to stand in a long line to get into 2 separate taxis. Another time - arriving in Kunming in the evening, we were told there was no good place for the driver to park, so the 4 of us, very tired and with multiple pieces of luggage, had to walk for quite a distance before finally meeting up with our driver. As for hotels, we paid for 5 star hotels because we want a comfortable place to rest after each day's touring. Some were as nice as we hoped for, but one was a definite disappointment, the Bivou in Shuhe. In retrospect, we feel it was a mistake not to stay in Lijiang proper. There were much nicer hotels there, in much better locations, and we found our room in the Bivou to be quite cramped, with the bed taking up most of the room. While it did have a good breakfast, we definitely did not feel we got what we paid for. We selected Colorful China because they appear to have nothing but excellent reviews. They did manage to fit in most of the items on our agenda, and we did have a good time on the trip. However, we feel the logistics could have been done better, and the lack of a pre-arranged home visit was a disappointment, as was staying in Shuhe. We feel we could not wholeheartedly recommend them to our friends, and we will likely not be using them again.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from ADI3400, Owner at Colorful-China Travel
Responded Jul 30, 2020
Dear Maggie, Thanks a lot for your valued feedback to your Yunnan tour. I am glad to hear that you had a good time during your trip and enjoyed your visit to the Yunnan Province. We reviewed in detail all the points mentioned in your comment and came to the following conclusions: 1. You arrived at Kunming airport by two different planes that landed within 1 hour. One flight arrived at the International Terminal and the other at the National Terminal. The flight from Hong Kong was slightly delayed and, in addition, your friends had to pass immigration in Kunming which lead to a further delay of their actual arrival. Therefore, the guide was still occupied with servicing your friends at the international exit while you arrived at the national exit. That was simply unfortunate timing. We are glad you called out 24 hours hotline, and that the matter was solved in no time. We appreciate your comment regarding the missing information about the exact meeting point of our guides at the train stations. We already correct that for future tours by adding the note that the guide will wait in front of the railway station at the exit. Thanks again for this valuable hint. The Taxi transfer from Dali railway station to the Old Town was part of your itinerary and clearly mentioned as such. For security reasons private cars are not allowed to drive up to the front doors of the train station in Kunming. The pickup/drop off point is located about 150m from the exit. This is indeed not very convenient, and we fully understand your frustration. However, this is government policy and for everyone the same. 2. In most of the places you stayed overnight there are simply no 5 Star hotels available and you were accommodated in the best possible accommodation on site. The star ratings of each hotel were clearly mentioned in the travel program. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the Bivou Hotel in Shuhe. The Bivou is one of our trusted partner hotels with an excellent reputation. (5 Stars on Tripadvisor with over 400 comments!!). We agree that there are more exclusive hotels in Lijiang proper. We do think however, that Shuhe offers much more charm, is less touristy and therefore more authentic in comparison to Lijiang. Unfortunately you did not contact us in this matter, we could of course have changed your accommodation to a 5 Star Hotel in Lijiang without any problem. 3. We are pleased to hear that you liked the services of Guide Jessie (Yin Xiao Yan). All our guides have passed a guide training program and meet our high standards for guiding our tours. Furthermore, they are all in the possession of the official guide license issued by the government. However, we are aware that there is and always will be a human factor involved when guiding tours. Tour Guides are all individuals from different background and ethnic origin and are therefore unique in their guiding styles and interaction with our clients. We are really pleased that you found in “Jessie” your favorite guide. Unfortunately you did not reply to my post-tour email asking for a feedback of your tour. This would have given us the chance to resolve the above matters in a private and more elegant way. Thanks once again for traveling with us. We wish you all the best and good health, so you can undertake many more unforgettable travel adventures in the future. With kind regards Adrian
Read more
Zoe wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution
We highly recommend this travel agency. Our private tour from Shangrila to Kunming was well-paced, flexible and exactly what we requested. We were so fortunate to travel with a very experienced and easy-going tour guide, and a safe and punctual driver. We particularly enjoyed strolling through rural villages and learning about the different cultures of Yunnan. Many thanks to Michael for going out of his way to accommodate our requests.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Irmi Zeller wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution
In June 2019, we made a trip through Sichuan organized by Colorful China. The trip was perfectly organized. Wen went e.g. to Leshan, EMEI SHAN and Hailuoguo Nationalpark near Moxizhen. The absolute highlight was our stay in Gongkhar Zong Hotel in Xinduqiao and the visit of the monastery in Tagong. The guide was very kind and well informed. If we would made another trip to China we definitely would book Colorful China again.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
Helpful
Share
Blanka88 wrote a review May 2019
1 contribution
We had an amazing time in Yunnan, visiting Kunming, Shangri-la, Liqiang and Dali and many small hidden gems on the way (especially Shuhe). Despite spending our 5th year in China, this was our first time travelling with an agency and Colorful China was the best choice we could make! The guides were extremely friendly, knowledgable and flexible, they brought us to places we would not have discovered without a guide. The hotels we stayed were all top-quality and family-friendly. I have to highlight the Bivou hotel especially, which is a traditional minority house transformed into a 4-star hotel with excellent food, modern facilities and extremely welcoming, English-speaking staff. We could not have asked for a better program for our final trip in China. Thank you Adrian and Michael for your professionalism!
Read more
Date of experience: May 2019
Helpful
Share
Previous