MiaoQianBingShi - Hope and Sesame Speakeasy and Jazz Bar

MiaoQianBingShi - Hope and Sesame Speakeasy and Jazz Bar, Guangzhou: Hours, Address, MiaoQianBingShi - Hope and Sesame Speakeasy and Jazz Bar Reviews: 4/5

MiaoQianBingShi - Hope and Sesame Speakeasy and Jazz Bar

MiaoQianBingShi - Hope and Sesame Speakeasy and Jazz Bar
4
Bars & Clubs • Jazz Bars • Piano Bars
7:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Monday
7:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Tuesday
7:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Wednesday
7:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Thursday
7:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Friday
7:00 PM - 2:00 AM
Saturday
7:00 PM - 2:00 AM
Sunday
7:00 PM - 1:00 AM
About
Hope & Sesame is a chic and modern Chinese cocktail bar in Dongshan, Guangzhou. A traditional Cantonese snack bar houses it's secret entrance. We open everyday, from 7:00 pm to 1:00 am with jazz live concert. Booking is strongly advised for any nights as our venue is fairly small. We have two rounds of reservation: 7pm until 10pm and 10pm onward. Our menu evolve every 4-5 months, we strive to offer something very unique with an ever revolving theme, however, more traditional drinks are available any time. We offer a small selection of bar snacks to fill the gap.
Suggested duration
2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience similar attractions


4.0
29 reviews
Excellent
19
Very good
6
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
4

RJ M
Barry's Bay, Canada154 contributions
An oasis of libation, jazz & fun
Nov 2019
My boyfriend and I only discovered H & S from watching a YouTube video from a couple years ago, showing how to find the place, its hidden entrance, etc, and decided this was exactly what we were looking for. We arrived around 9PM on a Saturday, and were initially sat against the back wall until two chairs opened up at the bar. We were very fortunate, not only to get seats at the bar, but to be there on a night when a celebrity bartender, Michele Mariotti, from the Mandarin Oriental Singapore, was serving.

Yes, the drinks are more expensive than you would get elsewhere in Guangzhou, but every cocktail we had tasted better than the previous one, and Michele - recognizing we were a couple - served us each drink for us to share and sample, rather than drinking to get drunk.

Because of the subway closing down at 11pm, we only stayed for 90 minutes (then came back again Sunday at 7pm for a quick drink), but it was one of the highlights of our trip. Not just because of the drinks and the cloak and dagger nature of finding the place, but because the staff were lovely, the atmosphere was dreamy, and because it was so not what we were expecting from that night (our original plans were to go attend the Guangzhou Evergrande FC match that evening, but drinks at Hope & Sesame turned out to be a much better idea.
Written December 4, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Minnie Y
Seattle, WA582 contributions
Amazing & A Rarity
Oct 2019 • Friends
I have heard about this place for 4 long years, finally had the chance to come. We actually didn’t get a reservation because it was full. We were referred to go to their other location, Charlie. However, the manager there was gracious enough to take us to Hope & Sesame personally for a tour since it’s only 5 minutes walk away.

The bar, as it is advertised, is a speakeasy modeled after the underground bar during prohibition. The thrill of going somewhere unsuspecting then presented with gorgeously decorated environment is always addictive.

Because we didn’t have reservation & the place is tiny, we had to convince the host to let us stay for one drink. He was reluctant but we soon found out why- the bar filled up quickly. The drink menu is one of the most original & creative in all of China. We all got “one feet under,” an unique alcoholic concoction of flavors that really open up the taste bud. Kudo to the HS team!

The bartender was friendly & efficient. The host & the manager were super sweet. A rare rare thing in China. This is a must visit. Make sure you book ahead.
Written October 27, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

SlavaSoul
Guangzhou, China62 contributions
Overpriced and soulless
Sep 2019 • Couples
Extremely overpriced for that small bar with just funny entrance. Music quality is very low( I “enjoyed” my whiskey with Beyonce ). This place isn’t for drinkers like me, this place for those who like to suck one cocktail half night.
Written September 25, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lee B
Guangzhou, China34 contributions
Hopping Spot of Hope
Jul 2019 • Friends
We booked a table with a group of friends fully knowing the reputation of this spot.
We were not disappointed.
Cozy and atmospheric, the drinks we sampled were either interesting inventions or inspired twists on classic flavours.
If you're in Guangzhou you'd be doing yourself a favour to sample this hidden gem.
We were paying about 80-120rmb per drink with a wait of 15-20min for a round to be served, but the quality and attention to detail is self evident. The staff even broke down the individual ingredient lists for us, detailing the intention of selecting different flavours and textures.
There's a reason people recommend this place.
Written August 4, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Rendra Hertiadhi
Jakarta, Indonesia240 contributions
Great Cocktail, Great Jazz, Wrong Timing
Jun 2019 • Friends
This is an awesome bar at Guangzhou. Excitement starts from finding the place, then the entrance, and finally tasting their homemade cocktails which were awesome! A jazz duet makes great ambience despite the very small place. I tried the ginger beer cocktail which was awesome!

I booked the place for my party of four. We got a reservation for 8pm, and arrived there on time, got a good spot at the jazz room. However just before 10pm the waiter told us that we have to go out since the spot has been reserved by another group, and we could continue having cocktail outside the bar! The bar is so hype that many people wanted to come, and some people need to be kicked out for that! So we got a chance to chat with the jazz players (an American and a Dutch guy), and they explained that it's either you come early before 8pm and enjoy the bar until 10pm, or reserve for 10pm onwards.... Whew!

Anyway, we enjoyed the short visit for the excellent cocktail. I don't know if I wanted to go back there, maybe for a sip of cocktail only. Must try, just don't get kicked out! LoL!
Written July 19, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Phum
London, UK19 contributions
Love this place !
Jul 2019
I had read many good reviews about this bar but the real experience was beyond my expectation. Great cocktails and music with nice decoration and service!!
Written July 10, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Juliette D
Hong Kong, China5 contributions
Absolutely the worst!
May 2019 • Couples
We have checked out most of the bars on the top 50 Asia best bars list and Asia based bars that are on the world's best bars list. Unfortunately, Hope and Sesame was one of the worst experience we had. We arrived on time, as per our booking, at 7 pm (the opening time) yet the bar was not ready to serve. We were asked to come back in 15 min. It was hot and humid outside, they could have asked as to wait in the relatively cool bar while they finished their prep. Strike #1. After returning, we were promptly seated at the bar and given a menu with some pages falling out. We ordered drinks from their classic menu. The bar was empty save for another couple yet our drinks took about 20-25 mins to be delivered. Strike #2. It turns out much of the staff was in Singapore (??) and they had a guest bartender - Steven Beerens - with 3 custom gin based drinks on a separate menu. How are you going to be under staffed with a new menu on a Saturday night? Strike #3. Other guests came and had long delays getting their drinks too. One single lady eventually walked out. Instead of attending to their guests, the staff huddled together chatting or preoccupied with something else... Strike #4. We had liked the first round of drinks enough to order more drinks. After a 10 -15 min wait, we canceled order and decided to leave. Strike #5. Apparently they had messed up the guest bartender's menu (some mismatch between the drink names & their ingredients). Moreover they didn't have all the ingredients he needed so he had to go and buy more ingredients at 9 pm, as we were leaving the bar. So what was the delay in prep for? Strike #6. Maybe it was just a bad night for them but we won't be returning back.
Written May 12, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

PushExplore
Singapore, Singapore4,776 contributions
Stunning Cocktails and Live Jazz
Mar 2019 • Friends
We absolutely love H&S. We had made reservations and were delighted to witness some really nice live Jazz music over stunning cocktails. Can't wait to head back over a relaxed evening.
Written April 16, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello! Many thanks for taking time to share your experience and very happy you enjoyed your time! Till your next visit in Guangzhou! Best, Bastien
Written April 22, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Chtaive
The Hague, The Netherlands28 contributions
Cocktail innovation at it's peak
Oct 2018 • Business
Mind-blowing creativity from the entire team. Such warm and wonderful service from the hospitable staff, who are not only friendly but informative and patient. They have quite an overwhelming menu (a LOT of options!) which is not a bad thing at all! Never be shy to ask the team for some direction, who have always been delighted to explain any questions!

It might be slightly hard to judge from the outside (you might even walk right past the entrance, not expecting it to be the entrance of the best bar in China) but this intimate space houses the most talented cocktail minds in the entire country. Their willingness to share their knowledge and explain their many steps behind the creative process can only be explained by their genuine love for their work, which is such a refreshing concept for mainland China. I hope this place will be here every time I return!
Written April 15, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Schtaive, Warm thank you from all of us at H&S. I shared it with our team and we are working hard on kicking our upcoming menu in the next 10 days, looking forward to welcome you again next time with some new surprises Best regards, H&S
Written April 22, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

candy88524
London, UK55 contributions
Great speakeasy and cocktails. Poor jazz
Dec 2018 • Friends
A lovely find in the old part of guangzhou. Has all the bells and whistles of a good speakeasy bar and accompanying charm. There are three parts to this, a front of an old Cantonese dessert place, a main bar and a jazz room. If I were to come again I’d just do the main bar. The jazz musicians that were playing the night I went were lacklustre and had zero passion and soul. Disappointed.
Written March 23, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello Candy, Thank you for the feedbacks! We try to have a great variety of musicians, both locals and internationals and I shared your point with our music director about your experience. See you on your next visit Best, Bastien
Written April 14, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 26
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about MiaoQianBingShi - Hope and Sesame Speakeasy and Jazz Bar

MiaoQianBingShi - Hope and Sesame Speakeasy and Jazz Bar is open:
  • Sun - Thu 7:00 PM - 1:00 AM
  • Fri - Sat 7:00 PM - 2:00 AM