SPB Tours
City ToursMulti-day ToursHistorical & Heritage ToursSightseeing Tours
About
With the most solid and trusted reputation, SPB-Tours is a PERSONAL, FAMILY-RUN company with offices in Berlin and St. Petersburg, founded by a local guide with 25 years of experience. Since 2006, we have become the leading company on the cruise-ship market in the Baltic due to the highest quality tours and shore excursions at the most competitive prices in St. Petersburg (VISA FREE for cruise ship passengers) and across the whole Baltic, including Helsinki, Tallinn, Stockholm, Warnemunde, Berlin, Oslo and Copenhagen! Our tours are specially tailored for cruise-line passengers and we also love to welcome land tourists. You can choose from an amazing variety of tours that offer not only some of the best introductions to the historical and contemporary aspects of city life as part of our SMALL group sizes, but also an INTIMATE and PERSONAL introduction from our top-rated, expert, local guides. If you don't see what you like, no problem! We can craft a special itinerary to meet your every desire and need.We promise not only to give you a trip of a life time but we also give back to our community through philanthropy with the Orphanage House No. 40. Check out our website for more information. :) . From Russia, with love!
St. Petersburg, Russia

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
SPB Tours
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor
Want other options you can book now?
Show options
Travelers talk about
(547 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles6,151 reviews
Excellent
5,667
Very good
370
Average
70
Poor
31
Terrible
13

B0bNM
Fredericton, Canada129 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022
We were part of a group from the cruise ship Enchanted Princess that docked in Oslo, Norway. We were met on the dock by our guide, Lisa and driver Frederick. Lisa was very enthusiastic and organized. She used the microphone to outline our day and was very clear about times for the group to meet back at the bus. It was evident that she was passionate about her job and very thrilled to have tourists back after the pandemic. We spent time at the beautiful Opera House; had a walking tour downtown which included the ornate City Hall; visited Vigeland Sculpture Park, and the Holmenkollen Ski Jump (to replace the Viking Museum which is being renovated). Throughout the tour, Lisa gave us great commentary & colourful insight into the various sights. We felt that the tour was well-paced and we had adequate time at each site. Because of her great organization, we returned to the ship exactly on time. Thank you Lisa.
Written June 9, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Crystaly303
Eastlake, CO476 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2019
My family and a few friends booked through SPB to do two tours while we were at port in St. Petersbur. SPB was really easy to work with, and answered questions right away before we even arrived. Both of our tour guides were very nice, spoke English really well, and I thought they were genuinely helpful. St. Petersburg is beautiful, and it was nice not having to worry about scheduling or getting a visa when going with this tour company. We would definitely go with them again.
Written March 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Iamcruiseguru
London11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2011 • Friends
Jewel of the Seas - Baltic cruise from Harwich, UK

Two day overnight at St. Petersburg, Russia

We were oh so lucky that the guy who organised our 2-day St. Petersburg tour chose SPB Tours. They were fantastic throughout and much cheaper than what the ship was offering. We saw everything there is to see in St. Pete and much more. As they restrict their groups to a maximum of 16 people we were even able to go on the metro system and see some of the stations that are like palaces themselves.

When we first booked our cruise we were led to believe that unless we took a ship tour in St. Pete, we would have to get our own visas. How untrue that is! as SPB included visas for us for both days we were there. Everything, and I do mean everything was included - lunch on both days, entrance fees to all the palaces and museums, camera passes - even a bottle of water for each person.

On the first day our tour guide, Elena, met us after passing through the Russian immigration desk. Forget what you may have heard about Russian customs officials, as beneath that stone-clad exterior they are friendly, like the rest of the Russian people we met. They are just doing there job and they do it well. Treat them with respect and they will do the same back.

During the first day we visited The Hermitage Museum and our organiser guy had managed to get Viktoria, the owner of SPB Tours to get us tickets into the Diamond Rooms. Only a few lucky people every year get to go inside the Diamond Rooms, which house the personal treasures of the Tzars. How she managed it I will never know, perhaps she knows somebody? Whatever, are we glad we paid the few extra Dollars to do that. Nobody else on the ship saw what we saw.

For lunch we went to a city restaurant and had typical Russian food - not really my thing, but hey - when in Rome etc. It was fun and part of the overall experience.

After lunch it was back on the tourist route -
City sightseeing tour and a Subway ride, after which we went on a boat trip followed by a Hydrofoil ride to Peterhof, which is amazing.
Other things we saw were the Catherine’s palace with the Amber room followed by a walk in the park
A visit to Peter and Paul’s fortress and cathedral, the burial place of the Russian Emperors
It was a long day but never hurried - some were too tired for the evening fun tour, also organised by Viktoria and that guy from our ship that must have been a wizard!

The evening fun tour turned out to be one of the highlights of the day and Alexander, one of the other guides that SPB use, taught us the art of drinking vodka, or Wodka, as we called it. On the way to a special canal boat laid on for us, he plied us with three kinds of wodka - the chilli flavoured one was my favourite. On the boat itself we were treated to entertainment from a Russian folk group and had even more wodka, together with Russian savoury delicacies.

On the way back to the ship, Alexander, now plastered, refused to give us more shots until we each came up with a reason for a toast. Various toasts were made to St. Petersburg, Putin (did not go down well with Alex) Pushkin (which was his favourite) and Viktoria and that wizard guy on our ship (I forget his name). Stopping near the river to see the city illuminated, a large box of delux Russian chocolates was handed around by Alex.

We arrived back at the ship around 11pm - fell into our beds and slept like babies - that is, waking every few hours for a visit to the rest room!

Day 2 - not such an early start, thank goodness.

A more leisurely day but we still saw lots of great stuff. The best of which was the Church of Our Saviour on the Spilled Blood. Unlike most other shore excursion companies and even those tours sold on the ship that only got to see the outside of this work of art, we had lots of time to see inside too. It's was amazing - please see the attached pictures to see what I mean.

After a meal at a typical office workers lunch venue (actually better than the previous day's restaurant) where we had a large pie of our choice and a drink, we saw others city sites and did some shopping. If you want to do lots of shopping then let the guide know on day 1.

We got back at the ship an hour before sail time and Viktoria was there to say goodbye. That company sure has attention to detail and treated us as a family member being shown around their city.

If my life depended on finding fault with anything during the two days I would have to say the delay in the Russian customs allowing us back on the ship. For some reason they let you in quickly but take a long time to stamp your passport on exit. Nothing sinister and nobody was searched etc. its just in the afternoons/evenings there is not so many of them around.
Written February 3, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Mary Jill G
London, Ontario, Canada22 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2012 • Friends
Took SPB tours in St. Petersburg and Stockholm. The information provided by both guides was detailed and informative. Both guides were well-educated on their presentations. My disappointment was with the lack of organization on the St. Petersburg tour. We were late getting started on both days. Had trouble with the cheap headsets. Passengers had to ask about seeing the underground subway station that we thought was on the agenda. When we did stop, we were taken to a secondary line rather than the main line that is suppose to be elaborate. Our stop was an ordinary, overcrowded, dingy train. So why did we want to see this? We were not able to get into our scheduled lunch stop (not sure why) so were taken to a fast-food outdoor stand. The hamburger did not sit well. We waited one and a half hours to get on the hydrofoil, even though we were the 3rd group to get in line. Our guide moved us to the side and we stood there forever watching latecomers get on before us. The guide needed to take some initiative in the matter. At the end of the first day, our gude was told about a headset that had not been working (by the way, she had NO extra units to use). On the start of the second day....the headset still was not working (it had never been fixed or replaced) and the guide had NO extra units. She and the bus were also late by 1/2 hour. After telling the guide to get a new headset.... she finally called her office and .a replacement was provided at one of our stops. Nice restaurant with a sit-down meal on the second day, although no choice in entree. The beef stroganoff did not sit well. (Beef in St. Petersburg was not the best for me).
Our Stockholm tour was nice and the guide was well-versed. No headsets at all made it a bit difficult for the large group and she walked briskly, leaving many behind to catch up. I should have known that when she told me the ship was a "15 to 20" minute walk from the square, that this was the amount of time it would take her.....not the average 50-60 year old who doesn't walk 10 miles a day. It actually took us 35 minutes.......so leave yourself enough time before the ship sails! I was not impressed with SPB's organization. The information provided was excellent, the guides were personable, the buses were nice, the fellow passengers were fun. Get new headset equipment, plan a better meal scenario, and skip the hydrofoil and this tour operator would be better.
Written June 11, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Mj G, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with our guides and still had a valuable time touring with us, despite the setback you've listed. One thing I would like to point out is, that we cannot always be held responsible for delays in getting started in mornings–if passage through Russian Immigration is slow, there is little we can do about this, and it is fully in our interest to get the tours running as quickly as possible, just as it is for our guests. Also, the subway ride is not something included on our tours. We fit it in if there is time, and in fact, many of our guests enjoy taking the ride, regardless of which stop we take our guests to. Time is always a factor in St. Petersburg and for our tours, so we cannot spend an hour driving to another part of the city to show the most elaborate subway station, when it can be in the opposite direction of the next sight. Futher, we believe each metro stop gives great insight into typical life of the ordinary life of citizens of St. Petersburg. We do apologize about the headsets not working, but can assure you and all others that all of our headsets are working well :) Thank you for your honest review and constructive criticsm Best, Vika
Written February 6, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

qc_at_heart
Surrey, Canada40 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2012 • Couples
My spouse and I along with his mom and dad took a Northern Europe cruise with Princess in August 2012. I did a lot of research and we wanted to be able to enjoy and see as much as possible while we were there but at the same time didn't want to have to pay through the nose for it. SPB tours kept coming up. And, the more research I did with them, the more pleased I was.

I was comparing what SPB was offering with what other tour companies were offering and what was being offered by the cruise line. SPB came out on top each time.

They provided smaller buses in St. Petersburg so that we were not hindered by huge buses with a large amount of people. Our buses had room for 16 people per bus, very manageable and always able to hear our tour guide. They were also able to accommodate a completely different itinerary in Berlin for us. I then went onto Cruise Critic and asked if other people would care to join our group. Because we were able to get 16 people interested in a different Berlin trip than what they offered on their website, they agreed to include this as part of their 5 countries tours at no extra cost to us.

When we got back to port and spoke with other cruise passengers having come back from their tours, many of them were disappointed with their tour. They complained that there were too many people on their bus, the guide was only concerned with getting the group to the 'hotel' for their lunch, they couldn't hear the guide, many people were not keeping up with the group and they were wasting time waiting for people. They also did not see everything that they were supposed to as listed on the tour.

SPB tours on the other hand had more on their itinerary and therefore we saw way more than the people who took their tours with the cruise ship. Everyone on our buses when we got back to the ship were so pleased with SPB. In Berlin, our guide asked us what we wanted to do for lunch, whether we wanted a "eat wherever you want at take outs" or "traditional German lunch" at a large brew haus. We voted and of course chose the brew haus. FANTASTIC..!! Some of the passengers on one of the other tours from the cruise ship stated he was disgusted with the tour because their guide spent a ridiculous amount of time racing through part of the the tour so that they would not miss their 'scheduled' sit down lunch at a hotel. The meal they had was not traditional fair but exactly the same type of food offered anywhere at any American hotel.

One of the traditional lunches we had while in St. Petersburg was absolutely fantastic, because our group of 16 was fairly small, we were able to go into some other smaller restaurants. One in particular was where may other local people from the city were eating. This gave us the opportunity to eat the same traditional food as the people. Once again, the cruise ship sponsored tours did not have this opportunity and once again ate American fair.

All in all, we spent way less money for our tours than the cruise sponsored tours, we received better service, and were able to see more than the cruise sponsored tours.

SPB is extremely easy to correspond with, very helpful and accommodating.

I would recommend them to anyone considering touring in Northern Europe. Don't hesitate, they are by far the best choice and well worth it.

Chantal
Vancouver, BC
Written January 13, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Ken A
Madison, WI1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2013 • Solo
I signed up for an SPB tour of St Petersburg for May 14, 2013. I found SPB to be incompetent, dishonest, and deceptive. They had contacted me by email claiming that, although Catherine's Palace was closed the day of my visit, SPB had made special arrangements to take our tour there whereas no other tours would visit this attraction. When all had debarked our ship and were on the SPB van, the itinerary read by the tour guide did not include Catherine's. The participants brought this to the guide's attention and she claimed she had no knowledge that the attraction had been offered. After checking with the SPB home office, the guide announced that Catherine's Palace was closed and that we would not be going there and that anyone who wanted to cancel their tour could do so. This was hardly a choice as the alternative would be sitting on the cruise ship all day without seeing St. Petersburg, one of the highlights of the cruise. We would later learn that our fellow cruisers who were wise enough to book other tour companies did indeed visit Catherine's Palace. Once we started rolling, the SPB tour guide then seemed to seize on every opportunity to delete another attraction from the itinerary. First, a ride on the St. Pete subway was eliminated because we were slowed by dense traffic. Despite promises that payment could be made by credit card, the guide claimed the two cards I provided would not work (my cards worked fine elsewhere before and after the St. Pete visit) and insisted on cash "or there will be trouble." Finally, despite having "not enough time" to fulfill the itinerary, we were delivered back to our ship more than half an hour before the scheduled return time of 7:00 pm.
Written May 21, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your feedback. We are utterly and incredibly disappointed with what happened on your 1-Day Deluxe tour. Normally, on all of our 2-Day tours, we can rearrange the itineraries in order to fit a visit to Catherine's Palace on one day if it is scheduled to be closed on the other. The issue with your Catherine's Palace visit arose out of an unfortunate situation. Our Berlin office, which handles the emails from clients, was mistakenly misinformed that we would be able to enter Catherine's Palace on May 14th. We quickly spread the word to our guests to reassure you what we thought to be true. We did not learn that this was not actually the case, until it was too late. We have no knowledge that other companies were able to enter on this date. We did make a grievous error in making a promise that we could not keep and we should not have spoken too soon. We were working very hard to gain entrance to the site right up until the touring date, but unfortunately were dismissed. Regarding the guide, it was unfortunately the beginning and the end of her SPB-Tours employment. We pride ourselves in having the best guides, who can make the appropriate decisions about whether or not there is enough time to ride the subway and when to return to the ship. This guide will no longer be working with us, as we too, found her performance to be unacceptable. As for the credit card issues, we apologize for the inconvenience. It seems that this was an instance of Murphy's law when everything that could go wrong, did go wrong. We do not have a history of having issues taking credit cards. We are taking the instance of Catherine's Palace very seriously, and will be sure not to jump to conclusions prematurely in the future. I can assure you such a promise will never be made unfounded again. Sincerely, Viktoria Rother Managing Director/Owner SPB-Tours
Written June 3, 2013
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

debkayscu
garland, tx171 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2012 • Friends
Our tour was filled with great places to visit however Olga our guide did not speak English so that we could understand her. We missed a lot of information because her english is not up to par. We really liked her but could not understand her and when we asked questions she did not comprehend them and could not answer. We noticed on two occasions when our "private tour was combined with other tours how we had been screwed. The guides from the bigger less expensive tours spoke clear, precise English and even enjoyed a great sense of humor. For the money we spent (almost a $1000.00 for 4 people) we feel like we were taken advantage of! Then at the end of the tour they give you a questionaire to fill out and hand back to the people you are writing about. Not good. I cannot recommend the private tour for the amount of money involved unless you get assurances ahead of time that you will get a guide who you can understand. Also, they did not give us the time there that they promised. We were back at the ship a full 1 1/2 hours before we were due, then they were not punctual the second day and again we were back before allocated time. It is a shame we wasted so much money here and learned so little! Also if you are faint of heart beware of they driving. Our driver cut people off and was very aggresive so much so that.
Written August 25, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi there, As the owner and manager of SPB-Tours, I would just love the opportunity to learn more about this tour. Perhaps if you would be willing and able, you could write to us via email so we can do our absolute best to do good on our promise of providing only perfect experiences of the Baltic. You are our priority and we want to leave you feeling satisfied. In the meantime, please accept my apologies. Best, Vika SPB Tours
Written September 24, 2013
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

beachbum06229
Miami, FL1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2013 • Friends
This was the WORST tour that we have ever took. We were on the deluxe tour and it was terrible! We were rushed everywhere we went and our guide had no personality and could never crack a smile and was hard for us to understand. We did not get to see everything that we were supposed to see and the lunches were terrible! We came back to the ship before our tour time was supposed to end but even worse, they missed getting some of the passengers back to the ship on time in Germany.
Everything was fine when we used the website to book our tour. They sure wanted to get our money because they promised all sorts of things that they did not deliver on. They are very deceptive. I tell everyone I meet on cruises not to use this company.
We did not know that you could rate tours on this Trip advisors sight. I only found it because SPB tours sent us a greeting trying to get more good ratings on this sight.
AVOID SPB tours!
Written December 29, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear beachbum06229, TripAdvisor reviews are really important, both for me as the owner and manager of SPB Tours and for the TripAdvisor community. Yet, I find what you share in this review at odds with what I know. For example, we have NEVER had guests miss a ship, ever. It just has not happened. And to be sure, if it were to happen, we have extensive (even exhaustive) measures put into place to get our guests back to the ship, all expenses paid by us. To make TripAdvisor reviews meaningful to us all, specificity helps. For example, would you be willing and able to share saliently the ways we were "deceptive"? In what regard and in which city or cities were your lunches "terrible"? Were they too small or too expensive? Were you on a tour that included lunch? From where in Germany were you returning to the ship? Do you have any details about the guests who missed the ship (we don't have any)? And what specific other "sorts of things" did we not deliver on? I am just perplexed as to why we're only now hearing that you were rushed, that we were late, that you were deceived and not well fed, and that we gave you with no personality. Even knowing the basics, such as which tour(s) you were on and when, is part of providing valuable information to me as the owner and to the community of travelers here on TripAdvisor. WIthout such basic information, I am in no position to improve, or to address your complaint fairly. Best regards, Vika Owner/Manager SPB Tours SPB Tours
Written January 7, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Diane W
Toulouse,France14 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2013 • Couples
We had multiple communications with this agency which we chose based on Tripadviser reviews. We clearly communicated our plan to book a private tour with them and we have the email trail to document it. We arrived in st. Petersburg ready to meet our private tour guide and driver but we were denied admission to St. Petersburg. Fellow passengers on our cruise ship who also had a tour booked assured us that they would inform the driver and tour guide that we were held in customs. The shore excursion concierge on our ship, Silver Seas, was very helpful to us. She contacted and spoke to a driver from this company and explained our dilemma. NOTHING happened, We did not hear from the owner until we were long gone from St. Petersburg. DO NOT BOOK THIS AGENCY! We were taking a luxury trip of a lifetime and we could not leave the ship because they failed ! We looked forward to this trip for many years and SPB Tours ruined it for us. The owner informed us ( a full week after many attempts to reach them) that a person was fired. There is NO EXCUSE for the delay in responding to our dilemma. They had more than adequate time to attempt to rectify the problem and they did not.

This agency deserves a VERY negative rating. I will not have a chance to recover what I lost due to their incompetence.
Written August 23, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Diane, Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and I would like to reply as I remember this case clearly. You did write to us asking to book a tour, but you never got back to us to confirm your booking. At no point did we tell you you were booked, at no point did you submit your passport information, and we never sent you a confirmation or Tour Tickets. On the day before your arrival you wrote to us that you looked forward to meeting us, and one of our employees (who is no longer with us) replied in haste, expressing the same sentiments. His only failure was not reading the email history and realizing that you had never booked. Even if he did do this, it still would ahve been far too late to confirm everything, because we must submit all passport information to the Russian Port Authorities at least 7 days prior to your arrival. This was our only mistake, but I want to make clear again that at no point did we confirm any reservations with you, or go through any of the necessary steps to completing the reservation, because you had not gotten back to us. We are very sorry that things unfolded this way, as this is the last thing we want to happen for anyone's vacation. If you ever return to the Baltic Sea, we will do all we can to recitfy this and show you a wonderful time in ST. Petersburg Best, Vika
Written February 6, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lush_the_Fig
Cambridgeshire19 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2014 • Couples
We were a party of 4 and booked a 2 day 'Russian Treasures' organised tour with SPB tours for St Petersburg on the 28th and 29th June 2014 at a cost of $250 per person. We chose this tour because, whilst it was 1 hour shorter than the Russian Highlights tour, it didn't cover as many attractions, so we thought we would have quality time at each attraction and wouldn't be rushing. How wrong can you be!

Day 1:

Toilet breaks were a real issue for our tour guide Svetlana. Svetlana was far more concerned about beating other tour groups to an attraction, than the needs of her tour group. We were treated like children on a school trip and told to 'hold it'. There would be no unscheduled toilet breaks.

She didn't display her tour guide credentials around her neck as she is supposed to do, and so we had problems getting into attractions and ended up in arguments/delays with attraction officials. This in turn resulted in Svetlana venting her frustrations.....not very professional.

We were told that we would be given a chart of the Tsar's family tree ..... This didn't happen. I think we should have been given this at the beginning of Day 1. It was impossible to follow 'who was related to who' and so everything we were told on the day was a waste of time.

We didn't get to do everything on the itinerary. Apparently there wasn't time! I was surprised by this as we were on an organised tour, which presumably is tried and tested. We didn't do the subway ride, which to be honest, I didn't mind, but others in our group did want to do. We didn't get to walk the upper gardens at Peterhof, nor did we get to walk around the park at St Catherine's Palace.

I really tried to follow Svetlana's commentary but it was just not interesting. It was certainly monotone, mostly rushed and felt very scripted. I can honestly say, I cannot remember anything from Day 1.

We were told to take pictures of the outside of St Catherine's on our way to the entrance, as we would be exiting via a different route. I kid you not, 15 seconds later we were properly chastised for not hurrying. Apparently we had to try to beat another tour party to the entrance.

Finally at the end of our long day, Svetlana proposed that instead of going back to the cruise ship at the appointed time, we should fit in one more attraction (the fortress), as Svetlana feared we would not have time to fit in the fortress the next day. So we rushed through the fortress attraction. 5 minutes and we were done. This was a shame as the fortress looked interesting.

At the beginning of the day we asked if we could go to a pie shop for lunch one day and a pancake house for lunch one day. This was agreed to by Svetlana. We had pancakes in a marquee at Peterhof on day 1. Not quite the authentic experience we were hoping for, but according to Svetlana, eating at the marquee would save us precious time. To be fair the food was tasty. But, we were all very excited about visiting the pie shop on day 2, especially as I had done my research beforehand and knew there was a pie shop near the Hermitage, which was the big attraction on Day 2!!!!!.

Day 2:

I stayed on the cruise ship instead!!!! I just couldn't face another day like Day 1.

Feedback from others on the mini bus is as follows:

Thank goodness we rushed around on Day 1, and squeezed in a rushed 5 minute visit to the fortress on Day 1, otherwise on Day 2 it would have been impossible for Svetlana to fit in both of the 30 minute, unscheduled GIFT SHOP visits. Yes, that's right, according the the others on the tour, they made 2 x 30 minute visits to gift shops on Day 2!

Oh and apparently they didn't visit one of the numerous pie shops on Day 2, despite one within spitting distance of the hermitage.......you guessed it.......apparently there wasn't time!
Written July 12, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 6,028

SPB Tours - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All St. Petersburg HotelsSt. Petersburg Hotel Deals
All things to do in St. Petersburg
Zoos & Aquariums in St. Petersburg
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars