Ajabu Adventures Ltd - Day Tours

Ajabu Adventures Ltd - Day Tours

Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 12:00 PM
About
Welcome to Ajabu Adventures!Together with our exceptional professional team of driver/guides we offer tailor made safaris to all National Parks in Tanzania. Besides that we also offer Kilimanjaro Climbs and Mount Meru Climbs and also beach holidays to Zanzibar, Pemba and the beautiful Swahili Coast. Karibu sana Tanzania!
Arusha, Tanzania
Features animals

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Ajabu Adventures Ltd - Day Tours
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor
Want other options you can book now?
Show options
Travelers talk about
(2 reviews)
(2 reviews)
(2 reviews)
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

5.0
145 reviews
Excellent
139
Very good
5
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
0

Fay S
6 contributions
Oct 2022
4 days in the Safari (Tarangire, Ngorongoro, Serengeti & Masai village) and 4 days Mount Meru climbing....Just an A-M-A-Z-I-N-G experience! Thank you very much Ajabu Adventures for the nice organization of these wonderful days. Highlights: the big 5 we managed to see in the safari, the leopard eating the baby zebra and the cheetah eating the antelope, the "wild" nights in the Hippo camp in Serengeti where you could literally hear all lions, hippo, hyenas and zebras around your tent without any fear, the kind porters that encouraged and helped us n the climbing of mount Meru and of course our sweetest guides: Peter for the safari and Godfrey for the climbing.. Both were top! We had very nice connection with all local people. All extremely warm, welcoming and friendly! Accommodation was wonderful! Food in the hippo camp amazing. If we could change something from this trip we would prefer to stay the first two nights in cheaper lodges as we didn't have time to take advantage of the luxurious place..Other thatn that, great experience overall! We will miss the Hakuna Matata and the pole-pole moto!
Written November 3, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Stella F
Chintheche, Malawi33 contributions
Mar 2022 • Solo
Traveling in the wild Africa is my passion for the last 40 years and I was, after Covid times, looking forward to my private tailor made Safari to the Serengeti. Luckily this was not my first visit to Tanzania, but my first organized trip, as I am normally driving myself.

My quite unfortunate major highlights: Pick-up was “forgotten”. I was downgraded, had to sleep in the first night in a scorching hot camping tent. At two gates we had to wait very long, as the fees had been incorrectly calculated by the company and nobody could be contacted by the driver. In general the driver did not make much effort to track many animals, stayed on the main road. The location for the last picknick lunch was chosen right next to a stinking wild rubbish hole- an unpleasant end of a mediocre safari!

Conclusion: Very bad value for good money!

The “prescribed” tip amount per day, a very strange facet of Tanzanian tourism, was in strange relation to the driver’s salary, who told me, that drivers are only paid on contract while they are out.
Written August 23, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Stella, thank you for taking time to share your review of your safari in Tanzania. We are very sorry to hear that your trip was not as you had expected. It is true that your planned pick up was delayed, due to a last minute change made in your itinerary as requested by you. This caused miscommunication on our side and should not have happened. We hope that you accept our apologies once again. Punctuality is one of our top priorities and we have tried to compensate for it by offering you drinks at our expense at your first accommodation. During your safari you stayed in the tented camps that we had planned when drafting the itinerary together. Because you informed us that you were not happy staying in one of the booked safari tents, we offered you a free upgrade to the luxury cottage. We are sorry that you also experienced some delay at the park gate. Unfortunately the system and network is not as efficient as you may be used to, and therefore checking in can sometimes take a bit longer than expected. Our guidelines for tipping are entirely based on the standards for Tanzania safaris. Although in the end it is of course completely up to our guests how much they want to tip. Again, we are sorry that your experience was disappointing compared to your previous self-drive trips. Your guide Juma is one of our top guides and we can assure you that he has done his utmost best to make your safari comfortable and enjoyable, and to let you enjoy the beauty of the national parks to the fullest.
Written September 8, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rudolf
19 contributions
Jun 2022
Before Corona we were planning a four week tour visiting Tanzania. Corona caused a lot of delay, but finally we could go. We had lots of discussions with Miranda and later Anja about the details of this trip. They did a lot to help us with our wishes. So finally we could go with our excellent guide Joachim.

Some highlights:

- Visiting The Small Thing, a social initiative near Arusha
- A full day game driving in Lake Manyare
- Lunch with a Masai family in their boma which was a great and authentic experience.
- The hot outback of Lake Natron
- Serengeti, where we stayed in the Great Migration Camp and we were so lucky to see 4 migration herds, but also lots of lions, cheetahs, leopards and servals
- Ngorongo is a bit less impressive and more touristic, but you don't want to miss this.

The unfortunately we got an accident (my wife fell and broke her shoulder). Here Anja and Joachim could show their value for helping us with he arrangements of visiting a hospital and our early return. We hope to come back in October and will travel with Ajabu then.

There is one little minus. We would have loved to do some camping inside the national parcs, sleeping i small tents between the wild animals and do the cooking ourselves. Ajabu could not accommodate that unfortunately.
Written August 15, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Rudolf, first of all we want to thank you so much for your patience and support throughout the difficult (corona) years. Finally you were able to come to Tanania and do part of the safari that we had carefully planned together. Although our company deliberately does not tap into the basic camping trip segment, we hope that the included camping experiences, like at Migombani Camp and Great Migration Camp, still met your expectations. We are happy that you have been enjoying the beautiful northern part... and such a misfortune that you had to break off the safari unexpectedly. But no worries, also this time Tanzania (and Joachim!) will be waiting. We look forward to welcome you and your wife back again next month and guide you through the unexplored south of Tanzania! Bringing it to a completely perfect trip! ;-)
Written September 6, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Emma B
2 contributions
Jun 2022 • Couples
Gertjan saved our self-drive holiday! Stuck in the Serengeti with 3 flat tires that were unfixable, he drove all the way to Arusha to find us new tires and sent them to Seronera. Incredibly kind and great service
Written July 9, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Well, we know no one wants to leave the Serengeti... but being stuck with 3 flat tires is a bit too much! It was a pleasure helping you out, that is part of our service as well. Hopefully we will see you back one day in Tanzania!
Written September 6, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ari
2 contributions
Feb 2020
Ajabu Advantures, via Evaneos, made our vacation to Zanzibar in February 2020 unforgatable! The best service one can ask for, great accommodations and everything according to plan. If you wish to have a wonderful holiday in gorgeous Zanzibar, we will certainly advice you to reach out to the Ajabu team in Tanzania or to book via Evaneos. You won't regret it! Miranda, thank you so much for your great support and making this vacation so special. Ari and Dorina
Written February 25, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Ari and Dorina, thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the various places at Zanzibar and were able to experience the beauty of the island. Hopefully we will see you another time at the mainland for a safari adventure!
Written March 6, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Céline M
Djibouti, Djibouti167 contributions
Feb 2020 • Couples
We did a 5-day Safari with Ajabu and everything was perfect! Miranda prepared a customized itinerary and was very reactive with answering! Our guide Juma was excellent and very professional. He drove us everywhere and went to places where very few others cars went. He is an excellent driver and thanks to him we never got stock in the mud as a lot of other cars!
We saw so much wildlife so close to the car. The camps selected were excellent, clean and with great food.

Thank you Ajabu for making this trip unforgettable !
Written February 12, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Celine and Niels, thank you for taking time to share your experiences. It was a pleasure to host you on this private safari and share the beautiful (less visited) places with you. It's great to hear that you were happy with your guide Juma and that the accommodations lived up to your expectations. Thank you for travelling with us and hopefully we will see you again in Tanzania in the future!
Written March 6, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

edward p
Leiderdorp, The Netherlands12 contributions
Dec 2019 • Family
A short safari of 5 days, organised by Mirthe from Ajabu. All information upfront was excellent and also she made our trip so efficient as possible. Our guide/driver was Issa, a very very enthousiastic guy and a perfect driver. We were able to see so many animals, incl the big five ! I would certainly recommend Ajabu and Issa to everyone!!
Written January 2, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Edward, thank you for sharing your experiences. We're happy to hear that you all enjoyed your family trip and that you had such an amazing time. We're pleased to hear that Issa was a good guide and that you saw so many animals. Perhaps we will see you in the future for more 'bush experiences'? As you probably have learnt: Karibu Sana!
Written January 6, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

DanielleS
Scharbeutz, Germany29 contributions
Sep 2019 • Couples
From picking us up until bringing us to Airport everything during our whole Safari was organized perfectly! Our very funny and kind guide Juma knows so much about game and nature, very interesting and a major advantage. We stayed in very luxurious camps, and at the end of our trip we had the chance to evaluate everything with someone from the travel Agency for evolve the trips of former customers.
Written September 22, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Danielle, thank you for taking time to share your experiences. We're pleased that you all enjoyed your family trip and enjoyed the comfort of the lodges and Juma's company. Hopefully you now have all been "bitten by the Africa bug" and will simply have to return! :-)
Written September 23, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Manju J
Ampang, Malaysia37 contributions
Jul 2019
We did a 9-day safari in mid July, starting with Tarangire, Manyara, the Rim, Ngorongoro Crater, and the Serengeti right unto witnessing the Migration in the North. It was nothing short of spectacular, both in terms of the service provided by the Safari Company and the total experience.
Ajabu Adventures had been so helpful and tried to accommodate all our requests .
Our guide Juma Yusuful, was very professional and competent, he made the whole experience so memorable that it makes us want to go back again.
The camps and lodges we stayed at, were very comfortable. The quality and variety of food served at all meals was good. Two in our group were vegetarians and they were equally well taken care of. Definitely recommend Ajabu Adventures Ltd as one of the must-try Safari companies in Arusha/Tanzania.
Written September 20, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are pleased to hear that you still think back of your safari with sweet memories. It is our goal to make sure that we meet every expectation (and beyond) and it's always nice to hear when we have succeeded. Of course you are very welcome to come back to discover more, or another part, of Tanzania!
Written September 23, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

scottfromusa
Mars18 contributions
Sep 2019 • Couples
From the time we landed until it was time to sadly say goodbye we felt confident that everything possible was done to make sure we had the best time in Tanzania. Miranda at Ajabu Adventures created to best safari experience, the accommodations were amazing and gave us a taste of Africa. We had a food allergy and she made sure everyone knew before we arrived and they prepared separate meals that were as good or better than what everyone else ate, it relieved a lot of stress knowing we were being taken care of so well. Juma our guide was the best, he was the most accomidating person I have ever met. I don't know how he did it but he spotted a lions head in the tall grass at 300m. I know they can't guarantee what you will see but Juma always seem to manage to get us in the right spot at the right time. We saw all the animals we could have hoped to see, even baby cheetahs in a tree. If you are planning a trip to Tanzania I would highly recommend you talk to Miranda at Ajabu Adventures and request Juma as your guide.
Written September 10, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Scott, thank you so much for your lovely feedback. It was a pleasure to host you and your wife and introduce you to the beauty of northern Tanzania. We can imagine travelling with a food allergy can make you feel a bit nervous, but as you have experienced, you are in good hands. "Asante sana" and we do hope to welcome you back again!
Written September 23, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 60

Ajabu Adventures Ltd - Day Tours (Arusha) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go