We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BIG5 Voyage Tours Ltd

Features Animals
Arusha, Tanzania
More
Travelers talk about
53Reviews0Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 43
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
  • 3
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Anónimo wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
Our history is summed up in that they do not give us back 2000 dollars. Our experience is being HORRIBLE. We booked the safari in 2020 and they told us to pay all the amount, we did it (we shouldnt have done it, but now its too late). We couldnt go because of the Covid, so we ask for our money. I have written them lots and lots of emails and whatsapps in this TWO YEARS and their answer is always the same: soon we will pay you the money. AND IT NEVER HAPPENS. They give us excuses all the time, like: I've lost my cell phone, I've been away, we have few reservations... It's absolutely exasperating. We have been waiting for 2 years for the refund. We did not even demand 100% of the money, because they told us that 40% is used to reserve, so they would return 60% to us. Dont book the safari with this company!!!!!!
Read more
Date of experience: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Big5voyage, Public Relations Manager at BIG5 Voyage Tours Ltd
Responded May 17, 2022
We still waiting for your confirmation about your next trip. We didn't take your money but during coronavirus everything went scattered.. So if you want to travel again Tanzania we are will to fake you for your tour because we paid everything for the hotels and we have credit note for your reservation. The hotel allows us to postpone the tour during the covid.. Just make arrangements for your next trip we will take you.
Read more
Elisa V wrote a review Feb 2022
3 contributions
We took 7 days safari through Tarangire, Serengeti, Ngorongoro crater and Lake Manyara. It was our honeymoon and it couldn't have been better! Our guide Idrissa gave us very good explanations on every animal that we spotted. He was kind, friendly and so professional. Our cook Morris cooked delicious food.. and nice amount! David helped us with everything, he even booked some train tickets we needed after the safari. I definitely recomend you to book your safari with Big 5 voyage!!!! No doubts!
Read more
Date of experience: November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Leon wrote a review Jan 2022
Warsaw, Poland2 contributions3 helpful votes
Amazing Kilimanjaro Experience! Superb trip with BIG 5 Voyage. The organisation was excellent, very professional, and safe. The boss was very helpful, and we were able to negotiate a good price. For the trek we were the only people, with our team that helped us, and served everything perfectly. Our tour guide was awesome, outstanding work Oscar. The team was very professional, and with their help we made it to the summit! Very thoughtful, and safe journey. Everything taken care of, and planed out! Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Christopher G H wrote a review Oct 2021
5 contributions9 helpful votes
I had arranged for and paid for a two day safari on Viator, but the provider did not show up at the designated time. I called and was offered a one day safari instead at half the price, the next day at 5 am. I accepted this, but even then there were numerous changes. For example, I was promised twice that I would be dropped off at my hotel at completion, but instead was transferred between four different taxis, and the last one told me the managed said I was to pay him another $40 to the ride to my hotel. Apart from the various lapses in judgment and deceptions, the one day safari was worth far less than the two day advertised version, at half price, as it did not include an overnight stay, dinner, breakfast; only one box lunch. This was an unusually frustrating experience, unlike an excellent experience I had with my nine day Kilimanjaro trek with Altezza, just prior to this. Definitely, based on my experience described above, I am sorry I can definitely not recommend Big5 Voyage Tours Ltd.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lore d wrote a review Sep 2021
6 contributions2 helpful votes
Don’t book!! Please, choose another company if you don’t want to worry during your safari. Read this for more information ( long story, below a summery) The hostel were we stayed, recommended Big 5 voyage. The boss came to talk to us We agreed on a 6 days safari. With 1 night in a tent, 2 nights in a camping tent and 2 nights in a hostel in Seregenti park. With WhatsApp messages we got the planning and more details about the safari. In the morning we confirmed to do the safari the next day. We agreed on a total price of $2200 in tota. We got a message back that the hostel was full and for only $120 per person per night we could have a lodge with swimming pool in Seregenti. We agreed on a total price of $2500, 2 persons 6 days safari, everything included (- $45pp cost of the hostel we first agreed on) We got to the office in Arusha to pay, and there it was 5% more to pay with card, that was never told to us (we had cash at the hostel!). After again discussing this, he dropped the commission fees, and we got receipts. Then next day, we started the safari. We arrived at the meeting point to start. Nobody of the company was there, all of the sudden our program was changed and we had to go with another company on safari, also another group. We had no communication about it, even if we asked for it. After day 1 of safari, I got messages from the boss of the company, that we had to pay more money. We called him after this and then he asked for more money: we paid only for 1 night at the lodge he said. So we had to pay $240 more. Also he talked again about commission fees we had to pay. We paid everything in the office so we didn’t understand why he was again talking about it.. The lodge was already booked and confirmed (see photo of WhatsApp message) We didn’t want to pay extra, so we asked for another option. He said we sleep in tents then and get money back. Then all of the sudden the call ended.. We worried all night, because we started already the tour and now we got really bad vibes. The day after we got $240 back. We had a great 6 days safari with tour operator: Meru Slopes We slept 2 nights in a bed and 3 nights in tents at public campsites. Our safari with the other company, meru slopes was really nice. We enjoyed the great migration! Summery: the company asked 3 times for more money, even when we agreed on the price and paid it. No communication during safari or changing plan So book with another company if you don’t want to worry, even if you already started your safari!!
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Big5voyage, General Manager at BIG5 Voyage Tours Ltd
Responded Sep 24, 2021
Dear Lore. Thank you for your review , but seems for the second day you told me that you will write everywhere but the good thing you stay in the lodge at mto wa mbu 2 nights instead of Serengeti that was suppose to stay and i told you to add the money for concessions fees but you refuse and i pay you back your money for accommodation. I wonder why are you write liars and try to put bad reputations on my company? Am very disappointed with you, your the only clients out of 6 who are complaint on me since the first day. I thank God i refund your money and what you pay you deserve it for our service. I wish all the best and Thanks
Read more
Previous
123456