Shemeji Safari Tanzania

Shemeji Safari Tanzania, Arusha: Address, Phone Number, Shemeji Safari Tanzania Reviews: 5/5

Shemeji Safari Tanzania
5
About
Personal service, quality safaris and expert guides. At Shemeji Safari we attach great importance to this. Our Dutch and Tanzanian team is trained to organize the best safari trip. To go that extra mile for you. But that’s not all. At Shemeji Safari we care for our community. Therefore we donate a part of our profit to education for Maasai girls. Come and explore the amazing Serengeti and Ngorongoro Crater with Shemeji Safari!
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Tours and Tickets

Popular mentions

5.0
114 reviews
Excellent
105
Very good
5
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
4

Kennedy G
1 contribution
An amazing company and safari
Jun 2021
I spent countless hours researching various safari companies, countries, and itineraries. After contacting Shemeji Safari, Emma was nothing but helpful. Our trip was delayed for a year due to COVID, and when we were able to go, Emma was very helpful in making sure we knew the requirements to enter the country and in helping us rearrange our itinerary so we could get a covid test before going home.

Upon arriving in Tanzania, our guide Adam met us at the airport. He was excellent and made the trip amazing, definitely exceeding our expectations. He showed us the big 5 along with much more. He was very patient, allowing us to spend as much time watching the animals as we wanted. In the Serengeti, we watched cheetahs hunt and watched a lion eat a wildebeest for an hour each, and Adam didn't rush us one bit either time! He taught us about his beautiful country and answered any questions we had. He helped us with translating while getting a covid test in the Serengeti (needed to be allowed back to the US). When we still didn't have results before our flight due to a system corruption, after dropping us off at the airport 30 minutes prior, Adam turned around and drove back to sit outside the airport for 1.5 hours with us in case we didn't get the results and needed a ride back to the hotel. While we were trying to figure out the issue with the results, Adam was on the phone with Shemeji Safari making sure we were taken care of. Luckily, the system was back up and running an hour before our flight departed.

The accommodations and food also exceeded our expectations. We were provided with so much food at every meal that we were never hungry. The tented camps had great hospitality and were very clean and comfortable.

It was our first time in Africa and Shemeji Safari made it such a wonderful experience; I would travel again with them without hesitation. The company also supports Maasai girls, so you will experience a fantastic safari while doing good! I recommend this company to anyone looking for an unforgettable safari.
Written June 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Phil & Pei
2 contributions
非洲動物!Perfect and Satisfied Safari
Mar 2020
行前透過網路與Emma還有一些其他safari的旅行社接洽,想規劃客製化的Safari行程。Emma的回覆讓我們覺得最了解我們的需求,也很快規劃了符合我們期望的行程。我們的航班延遲抵達,在海關辦簽證又花了一點時間,沒辦法及時聯絡當地導遊,有點擔心會無法會合,但我們一出機場就立刻看到我們的導遊。Shemeji Safari是一間可以信賴的旅行社,旅途中有任何問題,他們都可以協助解決。我們的導遊Godliving有很多本動物圖鑑,還有厲害的望遠鏡,即使聽不懂動物的英文,也可以利用圖鑑對照了解。我們是2020年一月底到二月初去的。
We'd like to arrange a customized safari trip and contacted several safari agents. Compared to other agents, Emma, who was our contact of Shemeji Safari, not only responded our need and requirement but also arranged the itinerary very soon. Our flight arrival was delayed. Moreover, we spent a lot of time for visa. We were a little bit worry that we couldn't meet our local tour guide. However, we just saw our tour guide (and his jeep) welcome us once we left the airport. Shemeji Safari is an agent you can trust. Our tour guide Godliving helped us solve many problems we encountered during the safari. He had many animals and birds books (as well as nice telescope). Although we didn't know how to call (yell) many wild animals in English in the beginning, we could still learn many animals' features and characters from Godliving's vivid commentary and his books. Our safari trip was during late-Jan to early-Feb, 2020.
Written February 17, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

JulieLov
Bristol, UK25 contributions
No need to look elsewhere!
Oct 2020
From the first contact with Emma at Shemeji we received an unsurpassed customer service. I lost count of the number of emails forwards and backwards before our trip as I wanted to customise the itinerary, and Emma was very helpful with suggestions and recommendations. In the month before the trip actually happened we had quite a few flight changes & cancellations due to the Covid situation, and this meant a knock on effect for the holiday itself. Emma had to make various last minute changes to hotel bookings for us and this all happened smoothly with no fuss. Once there, our guide Adam was excellent, and the vehicle with pop up roof was better than expected. I've been going to various African countries for over 10 years and my dream photograph that I've never been able to achieve was of a leopard draped over a tree branch. Needless to say Adam found one for us and we had the sighting all to ourselves. The hotels were mostly very nice although the one in Arusha has seen better days and the swimming pool is a pile of rubble. All other hotels were perfectly good though. The day that we were due to fly on to Zanzibar happened to be the day of the general election in Tanzania and at the last minute Shemeji thought it wise to change our itinerary so that we did not stay in Stone Town as there was potential unrest there. Instead we went straight to the beach, and finished our trip in Stone Town when the situation had become calmer. We appreciated them taking our safety seriously even though it meant extra work in rearranging hotels and transfers for us. I cannot recommend Shemeji highly enough and if you are looking to arrange a reasonably priced safari then look no further. We also loved the option to add on Zanzibar at the end.
Written November 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

robbinreads
Bellefonte, PA452 contributions
Truly outstanding safari experience
Oct 2020
We reviewed many different options for safari operators over the course of several months, and ultimately went with Shemeji Safaris. Our experience was outstanding, and we would absolutely recommend them: communication, logistics, meals, comfort, the vehicle, wildlife guiding, and more were all excellent.

I’ll include more detail below, but in our positive interactions with Julius and Godson, our guide and chef, as well as in our observation of other people on safari, it became incredibly clear that we made the right choice when selecting an operator. Experience, consideration, a welcoming spirit, and concern for us having a good time made Shemeji stand out from the pack.

For reference, we opted for a six-day private camping safari for two adults. Our itinerary included Tarangire NP, Lake Manyara NP, Serengeti NP, and Ngorongoro Conservation Area.

--

More detail for those who are interested:

Booking and planning – Emma, the contact at Shemeji’s office, was professional, helpful, and courteous from our first communication through our follow-up after the safari. She responded efficiently to all of our requests, and even when the office limited hours because of COVID, we didn’t wait more than two business days for an email response to questions about everything from outlets in the vehicle to payment.

Guide – Our guide for this trip was Julius, who is an experienced safari guide whose years in these parks gave him an edge in making our safari successful. He considered both my priorities (close encounters, especially with elephants) and my husband’s (as much diversity of viewing as possible), and we were able to have special moments close to animals every day, and saw nearly every animal we hoped to, including a black rhino and three leopards. A little bit of this comes down to chance, but Julius’ experience is what really made all of this happen; he knew what to look for, he assessed what we were prepared to do (use the “bush toilet”, sit in the vehicle for long periods of time patiently in search of some elusive cheetahs), and he made it happen. Julius was informative and answered all of our questions, never rushed our watching or viewing, shared his knowledge with us, and generally made this a great experience. We were blown away by how many animals we saw.

Chef – Our personal chef for the trip was Godson, and he made our trip comfortable and full of delicious food. We are vegetarians, and weren’t sure what to expect, but every meal was different and full of local vegetables and fresh flavors. Dishes were somewhat familiar, but always had Godson’s flair (carrots on pizza are fabulous), and servings were always way more than we could finish. More than once I thought about ways that I could make his dishes at home. We also appreciated the welcoming details: a Masaai blanket tablecloth even at lunchtime, hot water for tea and coffee at all meals, and always a warm smile and “Karibu.” Godson made the savannah feel like home.

One final note on Camping – We opted for a 100% camping safari, and are both extremely happy we did so. Our first two nights “glamping” included real beds in a surprisingly large and comfortable tent at a site that Shemeji’s parent company owns. The next three nights were at public campsites in or next to parks (meaning wildlife interaction, like giraffes by the parking area or an elephant drinking from a water tank!), and Shemeji went out of their way to make those sites comfortable, adding cots, sleeping mats, sleeping bags, and real pillows to the tents for us. Ultimately, it was still camping (which was our choice), yet the most comfortable type of camping I’ve ever done!
Written October 18, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Alex H
United Kingdom2 contributions
Amazing family adventure
Aug 2020 • Family
Great attention to detail. Julius, our driver and guide, made the experience extra-special. He was patient and flexible - invaluable when traveling with four young children. The teams at each camp were amazing hosts and demonstrated genuine commitment to making our family’s experience as pleasant as possible. Julius organized a tour of a Masai village for us which resulted in one of our favorite moments of the entire trip.
Written September 7, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review, great to read that your family had a good Safari. You came just after the Covid-19 reopening and had a safe and fantastic Safari. Also greetings back from Julius, he is still showing unforgettable pictures from all game drives what you did.
Written September 10, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Dee
London, UK2 contributions
Amazing experiances!!
Mar 2020
this all trip was memorable to me and my partner and make it was the help and advice i received from sheika (sorry if i spell wrong the names) , she even went out of her duties as we were quit surprise to see her at the airport. she made sure that accommodation had everything we asked for by coming with us to the lodge and managed to find an itinerary that fit around our holiday (5 days in total) . Mr Msago, our tour guide was amazing , helpful, friendly and very knowledgeable . We enjoyed every moment with him at the parks. We will definitely recommend Connect African Safari’s to any one coming to Tanzania.
Written March 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for the review, and welcome back to unforgettable Tanzania
Written September 10, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Göran B
Lund, Sweden1 contribution
Great camping safari with Shemeji
Feb 2020
As a family adventure, this was a perfect trip. The whole booking procedure and all the arrangements with first night hotel, transfers and the additional walking safari worked perfectly. Our adult daughters happily stepped up at half past five in the morning ready for morning safaris. We visited 4 national parks in 6 days and camped in public campsites. Ben, our guide knew a lot about the landscape animals and animals behavior. He was also great at finding the animals and also getting along even though it was very flooded in both Serengetti and Ngorongoro which was unusual for the time. Isaak our chef was also very good and attentive and so we got good food throughout the trip, breakfast, lunch and dinner. If you like campinglife then this is a perfect way to make a safari trip
Written February 24, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review and good to read that your trip was perfect. This year the rain was extreme, maybe 2020 is, in general, a strange year, but the game is still spectacular and waiting for you! Serengeti, Ngorongoro crater, Lake Manyara, and Natron or Tarangire they are all different so every day it will be a new adventure
Written September 10, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

phuong_steckiewicz
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam62 contributions
Be careful with car breakdown middle of safari roads
Jan 2020 • Family
We booked the package of 3 people with the payment of 2 adults and 1 child for 7 days trip.

What we have received was: after the morning game drive on the day 6, we were turned back due to roads damage. On our way from Serengeti the car broke not due to weather conditions but due to very poor technical conditions of the car, (weather had nothing to do with this). This was around 2pm. We spent about 2h waiting for some transportation to take us further. When the car arrived, we just drove as fast as possible back to Lake Manyara, where we arrive around 9pm.

Safari was great (thanks to our tour guide Elemes, Isaack and Beautiful Nature) but Emma’s management is solely focused of protecting her own interest rather than providing 5-start experience for clients dealing with the company.

This was our family first holiday in 10 years, due to our very tight work schedule. We have managed to arrange just this amount of days and we paid for every day to use it efficiently. Understanding the unpredictability of the weather we don’t mind some minor alternation to the itinerary but risking our safety and missing entire day due to car technical problem and denying compensation for this day is not satisfying us.

How harmful it could be when our child was in the car and the car driving full speed and the car dropped an entire wheel. If the car rolled, the accident threatened out lives (three people) which of course the company has nothing to do with and has no responsibility to face consequences for their poor-quality fleet.

The car quality was not the first-time problem your clients had, I just missed reading it.

The company had have changed the accommodation type, which we DID NOT REQUEST, nor expected. If we wanted to go for luxury accommodation, we would have booked one, but it was not our demand. Safety and activity range however was, regardless of the type of accommodation.

They are clear in regard to their policies and weather blame for the accident, rejecting their responsibility in anything.

Totally not worth the payment. And management dealing lacks respects, commitment and honesty to clients.

Do not waste time with this company as when you pay full payment in advance and could lose a lot of time dealing with car problems on the road, it also could threaten your life with car breakdown in middle of safari.
Written February 24, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In your first e-mail you write beautiful words about our company: I quote from your e-mail: “We are back to Arusha now. We want to thank you for the arrangement of the trip. It was truly memorable experience which we will keep in our hearts forever. It was unfortunate however that due to weather conditions we had to change the route of the trip and vehicle failure which caused us lose entire day of the planned activities. We understand this was unintentional, however, it did cut the trip from 7 days to actually 6 days experience. Therefore we need to ask you for the price correction and refund ro reflect the actual value of our trip.” Only after we have denied your refund due to the fact that the reasons where beyond our control (weather conditions) you and your partner decided to write a most damaging review about our company which in our opinion doesn’t reflect the actual situation. Our company paid usd 330,- extra in parkfee’s (which we didn’t charge to you), offered an alternative activity for the last day (which you happily accepted) and we gave a free room upgrade on the last night but none of this is mentioned in your review. We understand your disappointment by we did our best in a fair way for both parties to solve the issues that have occurred. Our team always works hard to make sure our clients get the best experience and we would never put clients in any unsafe situation. We wouldn’t have so many good reviews if our company didn’t work hard and took care of our guests. Edit reply | Delete reply
Written March 2, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Margarida A
Lisbon, Portugal8 contributions
An unforgettable experience
Jan 2020
Everything went well. The communication was good, the suggested accommodations corresponded to what we intended and glamping is a very interesting economic alternative. Our guide Good Living was fantastic and provided us with a wonderful experience.
Without any doubt, I would re-book with Shemeji Safari Tanzania
Written February 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Mariusz S
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam26 contributions
Memorable safari with terrible ending
Jan 2020
We have booked a 7-day safari with Shemeji. It was our first trip to Africa and the first safari experience, therefore we didn't really know what to expect therefore decided to rely entirely on a local provider. We found Shemeji on the internet and it caught our attention because it had an excellent rating as well the offer matched to what we were looking for.
We believed an experienced service operator would know exactly what they were selling and would assume responsibility for the events happening during the trip. Well, it appeared we were wrong about it.

Firstly, we would like to shout huge thank you and express endless gratitude to the guide/driver Elemes and the chef Isaack, who did absolutely everything and more to make our trip comfortable and memorable. These two gentlemen service was 5-star throughout our entire tour. Always smiling and always helpful, they made our trip successful within all their capacity.

However, what made us give Shemeji 1 start is the company management approach to the problems we faced.
We had to pay 100% in advance, which is understandable but they added 5% to the price if the payment is by a credit card. This is not a standard procedure as in the hotel we were not charged extra to the card payment.
As mentioned earlier, we relied on the local operators, expecting them to know the situation better than us coming from another continent.
Out trip didn't start very well, as the car was delayed on the first day already due to technical problems. The second day the car got stuck in the mud for over 2 hours on the campsite just before leaving for the safari drive.
Not only our trip was again delayed but also a car of another couple whose staff was trying to help our driver. The quality of the car we got was rather poor but we accepted it as we didn't mind the conform as long as the safety wouldn't be compromised. We trusted the company did treat the safety of their clients and the staff seriously.
One part of our adventure was the visit to Lake Natron going from Serengeti. Due to the heavy rain, the roads and bridges were cut off and we were forced to turn back, which resulted in driving again through Serengeti.
We did understand the weather unpredictability and followed the situation without complaints. However, later on, we have learned that Lake Natron, during the rain, is dangerous and we shouldn’t go there. I would think a local company would know that during the rainy season rain comes rather frequently and either shouldn't include this point in their itinerary or would have advised us on the potential risk beforehand. But instead, they have sold the trip without any notice.
Somewhere on the way, it happened that the car got a flat tire, which again we understood and didn't complain about it either.

On our way back through Serengeti the car got seriously broken. Our rear wheel fell off. The same wheel as the one which got a flat tire a day or two earlier. This was a very scary situation as we were driving at quite high speed and we realized how lucky we were that the car didn't rollover.

This accident caused a very long time delay and we have lost an entire day of our planned trip waiting for another transportation to take us back to some accommodation, in addition to quite a traumatic experience of seeing our car's wheel rolling ahead of the car.
Later on, we have also learned that after the wheel was fixed and the car was on its returning way it had broken again, which made me doubt in the technical conditions of the car. Is the company truly investing in car maintenance and the clients' safety or is purely focused on sale and profit?

The last day was entirely lost and the next day was too short to fill it with what we have in our plans. We had to return to the campsite and just spent last night in the same place we started, which was not according to our purchased package. The company offered a visit to Maasai Village, which was the only option to do, even though it was not of our interest initially.

We were never demanding and stayed the entire trip very understanding, knowing that the weather conditions can not be planned, however, the plans we badly affected and we expected the company to take responsibility for the trip they have sold and at least correct the price according to what we have received.
To our surprise Emma, one of the owners (according to our understanding) rejected all the claims, stating that they did us a favor not requesting us to pay extra for the park fees which we had to drive again through, pushing all the responsibility to the weather conditions.

We were also told that the operator had to pay the accommodation booking fees in advance, even though we have found out that the accommodation places and the tour operator belong to the same corporate group.
This was a very disappointing end of our trip.

From 7 days safari that we paid for, we have received actually not even full 6 days. We experience a very dangerous incident and we were left with the impression that we should be grateful that we were not requested to pay extra. This was not what we have imagined from a professional, 5-star rated tour operator.
The safari was great and the guide and the chef service was top notch but if you consider buying a service from Shemeji you may think twice if you are ready to risk your life, and pay for everything in advance regardless what the trip brings, as you will be charged and given responsibility for everything that happens during your trip.
Written February 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review, and sorry that you did not realize that a safari can be sometimes a bit adventurous. A breakdown from two hours is of course not good, but also sometimes it is nice to see how they solve it without even a workshop. You have done all your activities, we have paid all the park fees, so there is no reason for a refund or even a claim. If there is a problem we solve it, but when not you have to accept the going on Safari is more than a day out to thematic park as Disney. We know you had still a good safari, seen a lot so please enjoy your memories with the thousands of pictures that you made. And if you have a serious claim, the company is a member of Tato and there is a mediation possibility for the tourist to get your rights.
Written September 10, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 90
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing