Stick No Bills Poster Gallery

Stick No Bills Poster Gallery

Stick No Bills Poster Gallery
4.5
Speciality & Gift ShopsArt Galleries
11:30 AM - 7:30 PM
Monday
10:30 AM - 7:30 PM
Tuesday
10:30 AM - 7:30 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 7:30 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 7:30 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 7:30 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 7:30 PM
Sunday
11:30 AM - 7:30 PM
About
Stick No Bills™ is the number one destination for poster art pertaining to the island paradises of Ceylon/Sri Lanka and Las Islas Baleares. Our Asia flag-ship gallery is spread out through every main room of a beautiful old Dutch colonial townhouse situated at the heart of Church Street, the 'golden mile' for cultural tourism in Sri Lanka's UNESCO World Heritage City of Galle Fort. We provide robust packaging so you can get your posters and postcards home safely. We regard copyright as paramount. In the case of our travel posters we have exclusive copyright. If you see our images selling anywhere other than on our own website, at either of our two flagship galleries or via Stick No Bills™ network of approved luxury resellers, please let us know as this is likely is in breach of our copyright which is a criminal offence. Visit us so we can transport you back in time to the golden era of travel, a utopia wherein our core objective is help you bedeck your walls with stunning poster art.
Duration: < 1 hour
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

The area
Address
Reach out directly

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles87 reviews
Excellent
59
Very good
16
Average
8
Poor
1
Terrible
3

Flic M
18 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2022 • Business
We Bought 3 large posters , the man in the shop who was putting them into the tube was squeezing them inside separately it looked terrible. My father who’s an architect for 40 plus years suggested he take them out and re wrap them together ( as that’s what he does with his drawing ) instead of 1 by 1 squeezing them in the tube he laughed and said I do this every day , when we got home the posters were torn and creased . Very unhappy with the customer service - very unhappy with the professionalism will not be returning and wont Recommend . I have found another website you can buy 30%cheaper and who can wrap the posters properly .
Written July 11, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Sir / Madam, I am sorry for the delay in our response. It took me a while to fathom how this unacceptable level of service happened as in all our ten years of selling travel posters in Galle Fort and internationally we have never applied the one-by-one insertion technique as it does not work. So all our staff our trained in accordance. There was, at your time of writing, only one man on our Galle team and that is our Sri Lanka Director Liam who had no memory of this incident occurring. I now understand what happened: you did not purchase your posters from our gallery but from a reseller a few doors down who we no longer supply. I am so sorry this happened to you and so I would like to offer to compensate you. So if you can kindly email us at info@sticknobillsonline.com I can explain what we would like to do. Thanks and best regards, Meg Meg Gage Williams CO-FOUNDER & CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER Stick No Bills® Licensed Travel Poster Art brought to you by The Poster Design Group® (UK) Ltd. Stick No Bills® European Flagship Art Gallery (Costa d'en Brossa) Palma de Mallorca, España Stick No Bills® Art Gallery & Printworks (Costa i Llobera con Avenidas) Palma de Mallorca, España Stick No Bills® Asian Flagship Art Gallery (71 Pedlar Street. Galle Fort) Galle, Sri Lanka
Written December 7, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Oli
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2023 • Business
I ordered a print from their website, 30cm x 40cm.

The white border makes up 3cm either side of the print and 1cm on the top and bottom of the print. However, the print itself has its own border. So the print is actually only 24cm x 38cm and doesn't fit a standard sized frame if I were to trim the white 'protective' border... the proportions are completely out.

Typically prints are advertised as the dimensions of the print itself, not the border. Stick No Bills clearly understand this concept because I was ridiculously told to instead buy the £140 'museum standard print' which lists the actual dimensions of the print (29.7cm x 42cm) excluding the white border.

The images on the website misleadingly shows prints without the white border visible in 4 out of 5 of the images.

So a warning to anyone buying: the size you pay for is not the size of the print itself, it's the size of the sheet. 15% of the print will be a white border and completely throw off any sizing you have.

The print itself seems good quality, but I now cannot gift it as intended.

Very disappointing.
Written November 22, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

J S
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2021 • Couples
The staff at their shop in Galle is rude and clueless. I have received conflicting information from three different staff working at the shop. They are unable to advise on posters, they appeared one by one from the back of the shop, one has been chewing some food talking to me as she was coming out of the back of the shop.

Not a great experience, it ruined my day in Galle Fort!
Written December 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jagriti K
Bangalore District, India226 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2021 • Couples
We walked by the place on our way to lunch and absolutely had to come back because it looked great! They have lovely prints, maps and very vintage art. You get all sizes. We brought back 10 postcard sizes, but wish we could have got some of the bigger pieces too. Definitely check it out if you're in Galle!
Written December 29, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

HGM915
Philadelphia72 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2016 • Couples
This shop had an enormous selection of vintage-style posters. I believe most options were around 3,000 rupees. We searched all over Galle and thought that Stick No Bills had by far the widest selection and best service! The packaging also held up well for our travels home.
Written February 2, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Brittney C
Wollongong, Australia30 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2017 • Friends
Found this little place in Galle, really awesome vintage posters and postcards. They wrap the posters up beautifully for flights home in a tube so they won't get wrecked. Great place for good quality gifts (which are otherwise hard to find in Sri Lanka). Posters $30AUD.
Written January 8, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Brittney, thanks so much from us all at STICK NO BILLS™ for your upbeat review, hugely appreciated. Happy New Year and come again soon, Meg
Written January 11, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lizfawn
London, UK167 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2014 • Friends
We were recommended this shop by a friend in Weligama and were not disappointed.

There is a wide selection of excellent posters and post cards ranging from modern, to graphical, from Bollywood to Hollywood all at good prices and great quality.

Worth a visit.
Written December 20, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelloverdelmundo
Hartford, CT575 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2018 • Solo
they have a great variety of post cards but not basic here is a picture of ...post cards but iconic ones...endless summer Sri Lanka..multiple versions and lots and lots of amazing posters...i bought 1 then went back for a second.

the staff is very friendly and helpful and when you looking for something out of the ordinary you found the rights place by coming here.
Written January 23, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

_kcrichtonstuart
London, UK1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2017 • Couples
Don’t bother going anywhere other than Stick No Bills gallery to buy posters and postcards, these designers are the pros, their collection is legit, well printed and they have loads of travel posters nobody else has.

I asked the manager why the stick no bills posters were a bit more expensive and she said they are the only company that pays the artists for copyright. I’m a painter so I hate it when people pirate your work off the internet or wherever. Well done this little gallery, the discounts they offer when you buy lots are good value and at least I can look at my posters at home without feeling guilty about stealing.
Written January 8, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Nathaniel
340 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2016 • Couples
We decided to explore the Galle fortress and least did we know its going to be a long day ahead of us. We passed by the Fort Bazar hotel and found this small shop Stick No Bills. It was our second visit here. The collection of postcards were lovely. We personally loved the postcards with the girl in the bikini and the Ashok Leyland bus you see all over Sri Lanka. The big posters were also really lovely and are being used in many back pack hostels all over Sri Lanka namely Clock Inn and Hangover Hostels in Colombo. The gallery of postcards takes us on a delightful virtual tour via their postcards. We were pleased with the visit and thank Meg for the posters. #natnzin
Written November 17, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 68
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Stick No Bills Poster Gallery - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

Frequently Asked Questions about Stick No Bills Poster Gallery

Stick No Bills Poster Gallery is open:
  • Mon - Tue 10:30 AM - 7:30 PM
  • Wed - Sun 11:30 AM - 7:30 PM



All Galle HotelsGalle Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Galle
All things to do in Galle
Day Trips in Galle
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars