Lunuganga Garden Tour

Lunuganga Garden Tour, Bentota: Hours, Address, Lunuganga Garden Tour Reviews: 4.5/5

Lunuganga Garden Tour
4.5
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
About
Spread over 15 acres, this iconic estate sits at the banks of the Dedduwa Lake in Bentota. The enchanting retreat and fascinating gardens of Lunuganga was often considered a beautifully crafted experimental ground for Geoffrey Bawa, whose extraordinary work can be seen amidst the many architectural charms across the estate. The estate provides telling insights into the life’s work of this prolific architect. Elements of Italian Renaissance gardens, English landscaping, Japanese garden art, and the water gardens of ancient Sri Lanka come together to form Bawa’s most extravagant creation - a mecca for those passionate about landscape design and architectural history. Every turn and bend in Lunuganga is an interesting experience - with so many exotic plants, trees and views to take in. The house is also adorned with paintings and photographs that is a marvel in its own right.
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
Top ways to experience Lunuganga Garden Tour
Popular mentions

4.5
394 reviews
Excellent
247
Very good
98
Average
21
Poor
11
Terrible
17

layomi_987
Colombo, Sri Lanka33 contributions
Dec 2020
We had a wonderful stay at Lunuganga. The beauty of the place is quite inexpressible. So many stories behind every nook and corner. Important fact to travelers exiting the Welipenna exit : Do call the property and get the directions clarified. The route shown in Google maps is far and the road is not great. Kudos to Teardrop Hotels for the warm hospitality. Food was absolutely delicious. Lunuganga is not your everyday vacation. It's more.
Written December 25, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

senkatis
Galle, Sri Lanka1 contribution
Oct 2020 • Family
Really disappointed 1500 per one person nothing bad management they ask us to pay after the tour 6000 rupees no body ready to pay such a big amount as entry tickets this is not a national park so bad experance we didn't pay even a cents be care full don't be cheated
Written October 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jinashri S
Colombo, Sri Lanka135 contributions
Aug 2020
The mind of great Jeffry Bawa becomes clear when you visit Lunu Ganga. A man who truly admired nature, was one with it, considered it his family and knew like some superior being just how to give it highlights, to frame scenes with artfully placed trees, or to view those scenes just from the perfect angle by placing simple basic but beautiful benches and tables, in the right place!

Our tour guide Pradeep was excellent, there is a difference between a guide who knows facts and rattles them off to you, and a guide who knows facts, and is passionate about what he is showing to you. Pradeep is the second kind and makes you understand how Bawa looked at things and helps you appreciate the beauty of the place even more! He explained how all the steps leading to the garden and the ponds or anything in Lunuganga for that matter, was created by hand by the workers as Bawa hated noise. So machinery was hardly used to create this beautiful place. He also explained how natural light and and air is invited into the buildings. He talked about medicinal properties of trees and architecture with simplicity and ease!

This is a must see for those who love architecture, landscaping and even if they didn't, for those who love to experience story book idyllic garden settings. I am determined to stay here one day, and live what Jeffery Bawa lived and see what he saw from day break to sun set!
Written August 21, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Desira W
2 contributions
Jul 2020
It was most evident that Geoffrey Bawa was the most influential architect in all of Asia, when we took a stroll today here at Lunuganga. A phenomenal experience indeed! It was as if we were walking in the shoes of the celebrated architect himself. Every turn we took inside his residence was a reason for us to marvel at. Not only that, the reception was top notch. We were greeted with warmth and amazing hospitality, followed by equally excellent guidance throughout the entire time we spent walking in Geoffrey's garden.
Written July 4, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Hemanthac
Negombo, Sri Lanka5 contributions
Mar 2020
The Lunuganga Estate was the country house of the renowned Sri Lanka architect Geoffrey Bawa. The estate had been used as a cinnamon estate during the Dutch era and then a rubber plantation under the British. The small house in the estate was given on rent to the local tax collector. Geoffery Bawa bought it from it's owner intending to convert state bungalow into a week end house and create a tropical version of European renaissance garden. It is located on the bank of Dedduwa Lake - Bentota. Bawa named the state Lunuganaga which is sinhala mean salt lake.
Nowadays Lunuganaga also function as acountry hotel and maintain the special ambience created by Mr.Bawa six beautiful furnished and spacious suite, all with connection bathroom have been estabished in the various pavillions which are dotted around the garden.
Written March 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jim
5 contributions
Jan 2020
You get a 1 hour guide around beautiful gardens but you cannot stop to enjoy the surroundings. We avoided many of the tourist-filled trips available and were looking forward to a relaxing day, contemplating the delightful settings but not going to happen. The only good thing is that these guides get very little pay so with a tip he managed to provide for his family.
Written February 20, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Although we’re sorry to hear that you had a poor experience at Lunuganga, we're pleased to inform you that as of April 2020, Teardrop Hotels have taken over management of the property. We have reviewed all past Trip Advisor feedback and made adjustments where necessary. We do hope you’ll visit again to see these improvements for yourself. Warm regards, Teardrop Hotels
Written March 17, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

hoi61
Austria65 contributions
Feb 2020
The only reason why I give Lunuganga 4 instead of 5 points is that we also stayed at Nr 11 in Colombo, run by the same people and it was just that much better when it comes to service and room as well. Lunuganga is a magical place. You need to spend at least a day and also join the garden tour. People there are very friendly, but just a tiny bit lacking supervision. The boys forget orders while being on their mobiles or smoking in the kitchen... I needed to go into the kitchen a few times to ask for food they had forgotten and found one of them smoking, the other on his facebook sitting around a table. I don't think, one should fault them too much, but a bit more supervision would not hurt. Our room was ok, but we could have chosen better. We tried to see the other rooms when there, but were told that they were not allowed to show them without permission from the head office. That is a bit sad.... You are already there and cannot see the rooms in case you wanted to come back another time. We chose cinnamon cottage from the reviews, but would not choose it again. We think most other rooms are more appealing. Our room was a bit spartan - only a chair and a bed and it smelled quite moldy. For 300$+, I would have hoped for more. Anyway, inspite of all this, we loved our stay and everyone was very nice. Would definitely recommend to others - just wish the choice of rooms was made easier.
Written February 12, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

David O
Melbourne, Australia242 contributions
Jan 2020 • Couples
I stayed for several nights in 2010 when the house was being managed by a Galle villa operator. On revisiting & doing the garden tour, 1,500 LKR, it was noticeable to me that the buildings are in need of maintenance. The property is now run by the Trust established by Geoffrey Bawa before he died.

The garden tour is worthwhile and lasts about an hour. Tours are at advertised times - 9AM, 11AM with the last tour at 4PM. But ask your hotel to check before you arrive. On our 11AM tour there were about 20 people. You also receive a good map of the grounds with information of Geoffrey Bawa. But the house is “private” and not open to visit as it is let out for people to stay by the Trust.

The house & gardens of Geoffreys brother, Bevis, are worth a visit. No gardens tours - you wander around by your self but someone will explain the items in the house.
Written February 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Robyn W
Melbourne, Australia290 contributions
Jan 2020 • Friends
Our visit to Lunuganga was the perfect way to end our Sri Lankan holiday. The tour guide moved us through the estate at a pace sufficient for us to appreciate its beauty, scale and thoughtfulness. Every room within the garden has a focal point, a particular planting of trees and a place to stop and ponder. Each area was designed by Geoffrey Bawa with a specific view point, a distant object to contemplate, a glimpse of the river or a distant temple. Each area has its own bell. The beauty and scale is impressive.
Our tour took about 90 minutes and cost LKR1500. Tours are conducted 9.30, 11.30, 2pm and 3.30.
Written January 12, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

banstead
Reigate, UK407 contributions
Oct 2019
we had been to his brother's garden the previous day, and were somewhat disappointed. However the 50 years it took to develop this location is worth the wait. It is fabulous. There are different vistas designed into the landscape, with every part of the garden having a place for Geoffrey to sit and a different bell in each area to summons his servants with drinks!

We were lucky to be the only people on our tour, the guide had worked for Mr Bawa so was able to add personal stories.

Everywhere you turned there was something interesting to see, both in the landscaping and the planting. A must see for any keen gardener.
Written January 12, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 335
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing