We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Poovar Backwater Cruise

396 reviews
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
More
About Poovar Backwater Cruise
Poovar is a small coastal village in the Trivandrum district of Kerala state, South India. This village is almost at the southern tip of Trivandrum and there is only one last village. Pozhiyoor which mark the end of kerala. This village has a beautiful beach and backwater which attracts tourists. There are also some good tourist resorts. Unspoiled and amazingly unexplored.
Open Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Certificate of Excellence
Travelers talk about

Poovar Backwater Cruise
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
Recommended experiences in and around Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
from $30.00
More Info
from $420.00
More Info
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveler rating
226
129
23
7
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
226
129
23
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golden sand beach arabian sea boat ride back waters floating restaurant spot booking neyyar river online booking exotic birds elephant rock hour trip boat man mangrove forest coconut trees both sides boat service boating experience
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

Took a boat ride for one hour. It was excellent and beautiful with natural greenery and huge trees in back waters . The atmosphere was such that we felt that we are in a different world for few minutes.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank Anilkumar616
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is one of the experience you cannot miss if you visit Thiruvananthapuram its located 40 mts from main city . The cruise is around 3500 for 4 to 5 people for 2 hr trip . Starts from backwater and ends up in Arabian sea...More

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank RAJ K
PoovarCruise, Manager at Poovar Backwater Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review. As per our records, you have not booked a cruise with us. We believe you had done spot booking with unauthorised people.That is why they charged INR 3500In online booking, we charge INR 2500 for 4people for 2hour cruise we provide...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very beautiful place. Family and friends like enjoyed that place. I really recommend that place your visit that place.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank udhayamukesh
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

WE were very much apprehensive about taking this cruise as we had seen many cruises. We finally took a boat which charges Rs. 2000 for the 4 of us. Dont fall for online booking. You stand a better chance to get a good deal at...More

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank 481prasadm
PoovarCruise, Manager at Poovar Backwater Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your review. As per our records, you have not booked a cruise with us. We believe you had done spot booking with unauthorised agents. From your review, we came to know that you didn't have a proper itinerary. For proper itinerary and enjoyable...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Usual 1.5 hrs of boat ride around poovar backwater through mangroves and beaches. It is must take for INR 3500-4000 for one boat that can accommodate 7 people other operator.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank balkivinod
Reviewed May 8, 2019

This is a 2 hour boat ride that will take you through the mangroves and cocunut groves . Please do it @ 6 or 6.30 am in the morning. This will ensure you will see all birds and flora @ its best. The drop will...More

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Sriramramanathan
Reviewed May 1, 2019 via mobile

I and my friends gone to have leisure time to beach, and we were properly not knowing the place so we asked a local person he arranged an auto which was directed to boat place ,the people out there told us there is no other...More

Date of experience: May 2019
3  Thank Virnda
PoovarCruise, Manager at Poovar Backwater Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2019

Thanks for your review. As per our records, you have not booked a cruise with us. We believe you had done spot booking with unauthorised people.That is why they charged INR 4000.In online booking, we charge INR 2500 for 4 people for 2hour cruise we...More

Reviewed May 1, 2019 via mobile

Please book online to avoid being charged highly. Actually there are 3-4 cruise operators. However it is a nice place to visit. You can see the river and sea simultaneously here. There is a golden beach also.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank PurshotamS12
Reviewed April 29, 2019

You can opt for boat cruise when you are at Poovar. There are many options available between Rs. 3,000 to Rs. 4,000. Try to bargain.More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Ady_mukerjee
PoovarCruise, Manager at Poovar Backwater Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

Thanks for your review. As per our records, you have not booked a cruise with us. We believe you had done spot booking with unauthorised people.That is why they charged INR 4000In online booking, we charge INR 2200 for 2 people for 2hour cruise we...More

Reviewed April 3, 2019 via mobile

A relaxing experience to see birds and tranquil backwaters...All family enjoyed a lot. Just a shame to see plastic waste spoiling the natural habitat of birds and animals.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank SvetlanaD34
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Akshat P
June 2, 2019|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from JadH1955 | Reviewed this property |
No problem visiting Poovar Island during this time period
0
Votes
EmileK11
February 25, 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from PoovarCruise | Property representative |
Thanks for your Questions For proper itinerary and enjoyable route please book online. We provide govt. authorised boat with all safety measures and licensed driver. We strictly recommend all to proceed with advance... More
0
Votes
EmileK11
February 25, 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from PoovarCruise | Property representative |
For proper itinerary and enjoyable route please book online. We provide govt. authorised boat with all safety measures and licensed driver. We strictly recommend all to proceed with advance bookings since the following... More
0
Votes