We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gamefishing Asia - Day Tours

Features Animals
Port Blair, India
More
About Gamefishing Asia - Day Tours
Gamefishing Charters Andaman Islands, India. We operate unique all included fishing charters in the pristine Andaman Islands. We cater to sport fishing, gamefishing for Black and Blue Marlin,tuna, popper fishing for Giant Trevally, deep water jigging for dog-tooth tuna, fishing expeditions North and South of Port Blair,special charters to Barren Island, Invisible Bank.
Read more

Gamefishing Asia - Day Tours
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
33Reviews7Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 27
  • 3
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Paul T wrote a review Jan 2019
9 contributions
+1
On the strength of My Brother's (David T) previous trip in January 2018 and subsequent recommendation, we decided to plan a return to the Andamans to coincide with the 'Super-Moon' event in January 2019, accompanied by my Son in Law, (Mark Wood) and myself (Paul Townsend). David is a resident of Oman, so the Logistics were made a little more complicated as we had arranged to meet and spend a day in Muscat before flying off as a threesome to the Andamans, via New Delhi. After a relatively trouble free journey we were collected by Game Fishing Asia from Port Blair airport, finally arriving at Kokari Lodge some 20 minutes later. Our Host, Django, received us with a most friendly welcome and a cool glass of juice. Despite the lengthy journey, we 'tackled up' and within 2 hours of our arrival, we set off from the harbour in the 37Ft open deck fast fishing cruiser for our first afternoon of Game fishing. This was Mark's first 'outing' in pursuit of GT, Dog Tooth Tuna, Red Bass and any other species that would be lured by Popper or Stick bait, having only taken up Carp fishing within the past 12 months. He readily adapted to the Popping 'skill-set' and was soon enjoying a very capable cast and retrieve technique. With much delight, he took his first GT (around 6Kgs) within only a couple of hours! We had planned for the five day visit to include 3 days and nights to the Little Andamans, and subject to weather conditions, to finish with a day on the Invisible Banks. Between the 3 of us, we landed around 50 fish totalling around 550Kgs, and ranging across 5 species - GT's - mostly 8 - 20 Kgs, with one at 38Kgs and the largest at around 40Kgs! As many again were lost, mostly due to the Barbless Hook Policy. Almost all of the fish caught and returned were taken on Poppers, with Dzanga, Bertox and Amagari being most successful. Weather conditions were generally windy with the occasional squall and a single morning of torrential rain which brought fishing to a halt due to risk of lightning strike. The sea was mostly 'rough' which presented difficulty in staying upright on the pitching and rolling boat deck, but our very friendly and capable skipper, RAMA, and his willing deckhand Sushil (aka 'Suzie') managed to find calmer waters in the lea side of the islands. During the 5 days at sea, Mark caught a couple of GT's at 20Kgs, a memorable 30Kgs White-Tip Reef Shark, a 10Kgs Dog Tooth Tuna, a Blue Fin Trevally and many more GT at 10 - 15Kgs. David caught a King Barracuda with a charming smile, 2 x GT at around 38 Kgs each and I caught my Personal Best of 40Kgs (117cms x 88cms Girth) as well as a very handsome Red Bass - chuffed! The weather was not good enough to make the 2.5Hour trip to the Invisible Banks which was a little disappointing, but the last day was spent fishing out of Port Blair and a great day was had on the local reefs. Accommodation at Kokari Lodge is of a relatively high standard with air-conditioning, comfortable and clean beds and linen and offers a small but comprehensive range of fishing tackle for hire as well as a few Poppers and stick-baits for sale. The catering crew, Deepak (best omelettes and 'Noodles') and Saheb Mondal (best Dog-Tooth Sushimi and Biriyani in the Southern Hemisphere) excelled themselves in the quality of food produced for us and this included great attention to presentation. Choice was also plentiful, mostly served with Indian flavourings ranging from blow-your-head-off to acceptably spicy!! My only criticism, (hence 4 stars) was the accommodation on the Little Andaman Island, but this an 'easy fix' to make the necessary improvements that would ensure a positive experience from start to finish! I can live with the dodgy wiring and plumbing, although a hot shower would have been a nice way to clean up for dinner. Free issue bar of soap and shampoo would have also been welcomed, as would have been a toilet roll. The kitchens were not of a high standard in terms of hygiene, (although the food was great). The whole place would benefit from a lick of paint, re-wire and re-plumb (including a hot water boiler in every room) and some close attention to acceptable standards of hygiene and visitor comforts. That said, we were essentially there to fish... and did we fish! A special mention to our wonderful boat crew - RAMA and SUSHIL who have an ability to spot 'opportunity' by way of distant bait balls at 500mtrs and get us on the fish quickly enough to take advantage. They worked tirelessly and competently throughout the 5 day trip and as experienced GT specialists, (Musandam, Hallanyats, , Maldives, Sri Lanka) we would have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending them as a fantastic crew. Having just returned from the Andamans, we are already looking to make a booking for 2020 - just hoping that management will act on the few improvements as noted before we get back!
Read more
Date of experience: January 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from DarranD75, Director of Sales at Gamefishing Asia - Day Tours
Responded Feb 18, 2019
Dear Paul, Thanks for your great review and we would be happy to have you guys back anytime to fish with us. We will certainly take up your comments regarding the accommodation at Little Andaman and implement the smaller things as asked for. The only problem we face is getting service providers to give the same quality of service experience that we provide at places we run and operate ourselves such as painting, plumbing and rewiring. We shall however keep trying. best
Read more
ThousandOaksJim wrote a review Dec 2018
Thousand Oaks, California9 contributions4 helpful votes
The fishing was not good, and the fish we did get were small. but that can happen anywhere. The lack of of communication and lack of service was not what I was expecting. In spite of having a van, we had to walk a half mile with our fishing rods in hand to the boat and back each day, usually unescorted. Fishing rods and reels had to be washed off in the bathroom shower. The one time staff did handle my rods, they broke the tip on one rod. After being told for two days that the wifi/internet was working, they finally admitted there was a problem. The worst part is that complaints and discussions with on site management failed to change anything.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from DarranD75, Director of Sales at Gamefishing Asia - Day Tours
Responded Feb 18, 2019
Dear Jim Having gone through the review regarding your Andaman trip, it is clear that what you were expecting in terms of service standards is very different from what we provide. Your expectations seem to be that a Guest House should provide world cuisine, have chefs and waiters waiting on you hand and foot and should have airport pickups with managers to receive you etc. Some of us have traveled in Singapore, France and US and at no place where the accommodation charge is USD $70.00 a night have we received a fraction of the services we offer to our guests. Accepted that the cook was misguided in asking you how to prepare the fish but I'm certain if we asked for Kadhai chicken in one of your country's similar type accommodations your countrymen would laugh at the expectation.    As both of you are world travelling anglers we would presume that you would have researched the facilities available in Port Blair, India and would, from your extensive travels, know what to expect in remote locations. The Guest House is outfitted and services provided with the general angler in mind. If we haven't offered rod-carrying services, it is because anglers prefer to carry their expensive equipment personally. If you had insisted on our staff carrying it for you, some arrangement could have been made. On a related note, after we'd arranged for a car to drop you at the jetty on the fourth day, which was refused.   Apart from the fact that there is a perceived gap from your end in the expectations with regard to the service levels you expected to receive, can you please elaborate on any service that we did not provide as detailed in our service voucher to you?   We have at no point refused to take you out on the boat for the remaining two days that were part of your package. You have clearly stated that there was no problem with the boat or crew and decided to leave because of perceived service deficiencies at the Guesthouse (I may add Guesthouse and not a hotel).    While we regret that the trip did not turn out to your liking, we do feel that this a clear case of an expectation mismatch. We also thank you for some of your suggestions and will look at what can be implemented in order to improve our service offering going forward.     Kind regards
Read more
Didier C wrote a review Dec 2018
1 contribution
Fishing was disappointing despite best effort from crew,it appear that there was only one Interesting fishing spot (invisible bank) which is unfortunately 2.5 hours boating to get there and need perfect weather conditions.No descent jigging drop off. The worse is the lodging experience coupled with chicken rice at every meal and management with no customer experience focus. Highlight was meeting Jim the other solo angler .
Read more
Date of experience: November 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from DarranD75, Director of Sales at Gamefishing Asia - Day Tours
Responded Feb 18, 2019
Dear Didier, Having gone through the review regarding your Andaman trip, it is clear that what you were expecting in terms of service standards is very different from what we provide. Your expectations seem to be that a Guest House should provide world cuisine, have chefs and waiters waiting on you hand and foot and should have airport pickups with managers to receive you etc. Some of us have traveled in Singapore, France and US and at no place where the accommodation charge is USD $70.00 a night have we received a fraction of the services we offer to our guests. Accepted that the cook was misguided in asking you how to prepare the fish but I'm certain if we asked for Kadhai chicken in one of your country's similar type accommodations your countrymen would laugh at the expectation. As both of you are world travelling anglers we would presume that you would have researched the facilities available in Port Blair, India and would, from your extensive travels, know what to expect in remote locations. The Guest House is outfitted and services provided with the general angler in mind. If we haven't offered rod-carrying services, it is because anglers prefer to carry their expensive equipment personally. If you had insisted on our staff carrying it for you, some arrangement could have been made. On a related note, after we'd arranged for a car to drop you at the jetty on the fourth day, which was refused. Apart from the fact that there is a perceived gap from your end in the expectations with regard to the service levels you expected to receive, can you please elaborate on any service that we did not provide as detailed in our service voucher to you? We have at no point refused to take you out on the boat for the remaining two days that were part of your package. You have clearly stated that there was no problem with the boat or crew and decided to leave because of perceived service deficiencies at the Guesthouse (I may add Guesthouse and not a hotel). While we regret that the trip did not turn out to your liking, we do feel that this a clear case of an expectation mismatch. We also thank you for some of your suggestions and will look at what can be implemented in order to improve our service offering going forward. Kind regards
Read more
David T wrote a review Jan 2018
Muscat14 contributions18 helpful votes
Our flight from Chennai had been unable to land due to torrential rains. We had a 12 hour lay over in Chennai and through gross mismanagement of the 200+ stranded passengers by Jet Air, we bought new one way tickets online with Air India at extra cost the next morning. Jet Air ground staff proved to be full of false promises. As has been reported by others, be careful with you baggage allowance on domestic flights. The three of us finally arrived in Port Blair having been traveling more than 30 hours from Oman and even more for one from the UK who joined us in Muscat. We had had no sleep for over 48 hours. Nevertheless we were keen to get straight into the Fishing and GFA staff efficiently arranged our 5 day Fishing permits while we had a great breakfast in their guest house and tackled up for an 11AM Start. The Kokari guest house apartment is on the 2nd floor but the staff carried up all our luggage which was most appreciated. The guest house was spotlessly clean and the staff very welcoming. After a hard day’s popping for GT’s, a hearty and delicious meal washed down with a few beers ensured a sound nights sleep. Except for some who were assaulted by mosquitos despite repellents. Since the weather was not too bad we opted to extend our fishing options and go to Hut Bay on Little Andamans for 2 nights. We spent the next day making our way there fishing at numerous spots with great success. Many GT’s were caught between us on poppers and we were encouraged by the number of juvenile GT’s which bodes well for the fishery’s future. The Sea View hostel in Hut Bay was a short journey by Jeep and while very basic was adequate. Dining was in a nearby restaurant, which was also very basic but yet again the Indian food served was outstanding. Our meals while out on the boat were simple - egg or cheese sandwiches for breakfast and stir fried rice or noodles with chicken for lunch. GFA also provided Fruit, crisps and biscuits which maintained our energy levels throughout the day along with plenty of water and soft beverages to maintain hydration levels. We fished from GFA’s newest addition “Reef Raider” a 37’ centre console offering plenty of space for the three of us to cast from. Captain Rama Rao and his crew of Manoj and Suhail were brilliant. Captain Rama’s extensive experience and thorough knowledge of the reefs and relevant tides for each reef ensured we had incredible success each day we fished and he is such a personable guy too. Manoj and Suhail were very attentive throughout the long days on the boat. All in all, we had an incredibly enjoyable experience with GFA, with whom we had had fished in Sri Lanka. Being resident in Oman for the last 12 years we have fished for GT’s many times in the Musandam and also The Hallaniyats in North And South Oman respectively. Whilst the opportunity to catch bigger fish over 50kgs may exist in Oman, The Andamans offer a greater variety of reefs and fishing spots than Oman and, at least for us, a far more productive tally of 74 fish, 30 in one day, with many between 20 to 25 Kgs with a few 30 to 40 kgs. Many more were lost for one reason or another. If you are looking for variety and plenty of action ,and the weather permits, then It is well worth going that extra distance to Little Andaman which is nowhere near as heavily fished. You’ll have to work hard but your efforts will likely produce better results. And by the way, we saw huge GT’s and lost one way over 40kgs due to an unfortunate line snag on the boat. It took line like an Exocet missile with a Stella 18000 drag locked down! Ah! The one’s that get away! Tight lines!
Read more
Date of experience: January 2018
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from DarranD75, Director of Sales at Gamefishing Asia - Day Tours
Responded Feb 18, 2019
Thanks for your response David and welcome back anytime.
Read more
Harry wrote a review Jan 2017
Glasgow, United Kingdom50 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
Fishing in the Andaman Islands with Game Fishing Asia has been a tremendous experience. We were very fortunate to fish with Pratap and captain Rama as we were new the methods of popping and jigging. Some days were very slow, no fault to the crew as it was a complete learning curve for us. My wife and I finally found our feet the last couple of days & started to raise some fish and land them ourselves. My wife & I have travelled around the world fishing for various species of fish and so far fishing with Game fishing Asia has been the best experience by far. The lodge was amazing and so was the food. We also got to spend time with like minded people. We definitely recommend GAME FISHING ASIA. Thanks for the great experience and we hope to be back.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from Team_GFA, Customer Service Manager at Gamefishing Asia - Day Tours
Responded Feb 20, 2017
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure having both of you over. Our team enjoyed your enthusiasm as much as you enjoyed the trip, and we'd love to have you both back in the Andamans.
Read more
Previous