Argo Cable Car
Argo Cable Car
4
11:00 AM - 6:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 6:30 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 6:30 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 6:30 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 6:30 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 6:30 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 6:30 PM
Sunday
11:00 AM - 6:30 PM
About
Argo Cable Car is a sightseeing attraction located on Anuria Mountain in Batumi, 250 meters high from the sea level. The complex offers spectacular views of the town, The Black Sea and the surrounding mountains. The center comprises in itself restaurants, Gift shops, Wine House, open air halls and podium. Building design is meaningfully enriched by the use of ARGO symbols, the ship by which Jason and Argonauts sailed to Kolkhida. The complex forms a high building and the podium to create an impression of being on a ship deck. The tower has an image of the sail decorated with combined golden aluminum panels and glasses, sparkling in the sunlight and flashing at night. Argo Cable Car is manufactured by Doppelmayr the Austrian Company. The line is 2 586 meters long, with 20 Cabins. There are 8 seats in each Cabins. One way trip duration is 10 minutes, serving 500 passengers in an hour. A bulk of unforgettable impressions awaits you!
Duration: More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Top ways to experience Argo Cable Car and nearby attractions

See what travelers are saying
  • Subhash
    Al Muharraq, Bahrain165 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Nice Place to Spend Quality Time
    Good Trip , about 20 mins straight up into the mountains, giving a good view of the old and new City, the mountains surrounding, the Black Sea at it's grand. Our trip was hampered due to rains, but we enjoyed the rain and the Cable car. The photography was not the best, as they shld take more than one snap and allow the customer to choose the best
    Dear vbsub, We appreciate your 4-star review and your feedback! We're glad you had a great time with Cable Car ARGO. If there's anything specific you feel could be improved to make your experience even better next time, please feel free to let us know. We're always looking for ways to enhance our service. Best regards, Cable Car ARGO Management Team
    Written February 26, 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Written August 4, 2023
  • Husni T
    Dubai, United Arab Emirates199 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Best way to taking in the views of Batumi
    No doubt, it’s the only way to enjoy the very best views of Batumi city. Prepare your camera or simply take in the beautiful sight of this city from above. Once you reach to the observation deck, there are more to experience including food, drink and shisha from the restaurant. Stay for as much as you can as every second around is just amazing 😍
    Dear HusiniTawil, Thank you for your excellent 5-star review! We're delighted that you enjoyed your experience with Cable Car ARGO. We strive to provide memorable and enjoyable rides for all our visitors. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Best regards, Cable Car ARGO Management Team
    Written February 26, 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited March 2023
    Traveled with friends
    Written August 8, 2023
  • Peter G
    Sydney, Australia1,421 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great view
    Each car seats 8 on a ride to the top of a hill for great views of Batumi. It’s probably not for you if you are afraid of heights. The cables are long and stretch between hills and over valleys on the way to the top. 30Lari per person ($12 US). It’s not worth it in poor visibility but would be spectacular (and crowded) for sunset and in the evening. There’s a cafe at the top (tourist prices) but it’s also slightly cooler and with a nice breeze. A pleasant way to spend an hour.
    Dear PeterG873 We appreciate your 4-star review and your feedback! We're glad you had a great time with Cable Car ARGO. If there's anything specific you feel could be improved to make your experience even better next time, please feel free to let us know. We're always looking for ways to enhance our service. Best regards, Cable Car ARGO Management Team
    Written February 26, 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written August 23, 2023
  • Mary-Anne F
    Ottawa, Canada59 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Comfortable escape from the heat
    The cable car was a nice escape from the beach up onto the mountain on a hot day. We sat comfortably with a cool breeze at the cafe for a long time. Nice to see Batumi from above.
    Dear 654maryannef, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad you chose Cable Car ARGO for your experience. If there were any aspects of your visit that didn't meet your expectations or if you have any suggestions for improvement, we'd love to hear from you. Your feedback helps us enhance our services. Best regards, Cable Car ARGO Management Team
    Written February 26, 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written September 3, 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,773 reviews
Excellent
922
Very good
467
Average
261
Poor
72
Terrible
51

eykei
San Diego, CA5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2021
Waste of time and money. Do not come here. We wanted to see the live Georgian Dance, as advertised by a massive billboard at the bottom. Turns out they haven't had any of that since Covid-19. I can only imagine they left the billboard up to attract tourists who haven't done their research (me)

So what is there to do... eat at the overpriced cafe, shop at the overpriced kiosk, and take pictures of the city. The view is not that impressive, trust me. The lighting is ruiend by some lights below the mezzanine. Save your money and more importantly, your time.
Written September 1, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Zvenit
Ekaterinburg, Sverdlovskaya obl., Russia46 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021
We visited this placed because it's been often quoted as a must-see. Boy, should we have read the reviews before buying the tickets... First, the price is just outrageous (we paid 30gel for one person) and can be comparable with Europe. Second, there's absolutely nothing to do or see once you're up there. Boring and super-plain. We were lucky to at least see the sunset, but it wasn't worth it anyway. Don't waste your time and enjoy the cableway in Tbilisi instead.
Written August 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Oleksandr V
Brovary, Ukraine151 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 • Solo
If you want to have nice foto this is right place. All journey will last about 10 minutes and you can enjoy fantastic view on Batumi. At top there is small viewpoint with restaurant and souvenirs shop. Price for return ticket cost 25 GEL, as for me it is a little too high for what you get instead
Written June 5, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Kyra Davis
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022
I really enjoyed my visit on the cable car, great view and I personally think it was very affordable. I had fun eating lunch with the view and the staff were very friendly. 10/10 recommend one of my favourite days in Georgia.

I think anyone complaining about price increases is forgetting that Georgians deserve to be paid fairly and with the cost of living increasing all over the world its only fair!
Written April 4, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Husni T
Dubai, United Arab Emirates199 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023 • Friends
No doubt, it’s the only way to enjoy the very best views of Batumi city. Prepare your camera or simply take in the beautiful sight of this city from above. Once you reach to the observation deck, there are more to experience including food, drink and shisha from the restaurant. Stay for as much as you can as every second around is just amazing 😍
Written August 8, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear HusiniTawil, Thank you for your excellent 5-star review! We're delighted that you enjoyed your experience with Cable Car ARGO. We strive to provide memorable and enjoyable rides for all our visitors. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Best regards, Cable Car ARGO Management Team
Written February 27, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Magda
Gdynia, Poland20 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Couples
We wanted to go there as everyone was saying 15gel and recommended for the price. Today we tried and saw 25gel which I think during the low season is not really attractive. Price increase from 15 to 25 in winter isnt fair. Finally we went for ferries wheel for 5gel per person with a great view. So I say no to this one, especially when in Tbilisi funicorale/cable in Tbilisi was for 6.
Written February 21, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Frank R
9 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 • Friends
Price is now 30 GEL per person and definitely not worth time and money anymore. In the past it was 10, then 15 GEL, now 30!!! So it is definitely not worth the money anymore. Condition of the cable car decreased, price increased.
Written October 30, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Saniya singh
5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2023 • Couples
Horrible experience. Don’t go if scared of heights I blacked out as it’s a long cable ride and nothing to see
Once u reach also there is no view. Restaurant was shut too
We didn’t take the ride back and booked the cab instead as wasn’t able to sit through
Don’t recommend at all
Written October 26, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Saniyasingh123, We're sorry to hear that your experience fell short of expectations. We take all feedback seriously and would appreciate the opportunity to understand more about your concerns with Cable Car ARGO. Please don't hesitate to contact us directly so we can address any issues you encountered and work towards making things right. Best regards, Cable Car ARGO Management Team
Written February 27, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Andrew L
Vienna, Austria232 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021
Unfortunately, it is a way to nowhere. There is nothing on the top, but a cafe. Comparing to other Cable Cars it has no interesting views. It goes abobe the outskirt of Batumi. The price is 25 lari. We have ordered Bolt premium down the old city, which was only 9 lari.
Written May 7, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Argo R
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Friends
Five euro trip to the top.
Nice overview over the city.
Train goes long way on top of the buildings. Gives good overview over different streets and even cemetery.
Written January 7, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 500
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Argo Cable Car - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

Frequently Asked Questions about Argo Cable Car



Argo Cable Car Information

Excellent Reviews

922

Very Good Reviews

467

Argo Cable Car Photos

1,933