Narwell
City Tours • Cultural Tours • Private Tours • Nature & Wildlife Tours • Day Trips
Read more
About
Narwell Tours offers 1-day to 5-day tours in the beautiful region of Manabi - Ecuador. We are proudly operating Cruise Excursions since 2012. We prefer to work with local people and we promote the natural and cultural wealth of the area. Our goal is that our clients live an authentic and unique experience, and that they come back home delighted with an unforgettable memory.
Manta, Ecuador

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Narwell
Travelers talk about
(2 reviews)
(2 reviews)
(27 reviews)
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
114 reviews
Excellent
95
Very good
11
Average
2
Poor
1
Terrible
5

Andrea W
10 contributions
Dec 2021 • Couples
Fantastic experience! Gabriel's knowledge of the area and sights was very detailed which I loved. We did a custom tour. His English is excellent and it was extremely helpful when we hiked in the Pacoche Wildlife Refuge as the Refuge's wilderness guide spoke in Spanish about the species of animals and their habits etc...we saw and heard the amazing Howling Monkeys! We were very lucky that they were raucous so a very authentic experience but you can't control if they are nearby or to see them of course. We saw 3 in the binoculars but heard many more in the area, some quite close...but you can't control if they are around and active of course. Recommend bringing binoculars if you have them... The world's second smallest frog 🐸,tiger tarantulas, birds, rare plants, colorful, unusual mushrooms and fungi (some poisonous apparently). Our experience with the hats was great too. We met Don Simon a famous hat craftsman and Adrienne. They demonstrated the hat finishing process where they trim, press into shape, finish the brim and banding. We were wanting hats to buy and they custom made two for us right there as we watched from the colors, styles and bands that we wanted and carefully packed then for us to travel. They were excited yo show us their craft and are clearly very passionate people. There was no pressure to buy the hats either we were actually the ones who suggested it. But, I love my hat so much!! It is incredible when compared to others I've seen in the world. My husband lives his too and he loved wearing it at the end of our trip. So, Gabriel's tour was a fantastic experience all round. Highly recommend.
Written January 2, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Andrea, it was such a pleasure to show Manta and its surroundings. Thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to write this wonderful review! :)
Written January 7, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Suprridr
Walnut Creek, CA8 contributions
Mar 2020 • Couples
In November of 2019 we arrived in Manta, Equador on the Seabourn Odyssey. Gabriel of Narwell had arranged our tour for 1/2 the ship’s tour price. The ship cancelled their tour because they could not get to and from the speed boat in time. Gabriel arranged for the boat to wait for us. I has excellent communications with Gabriel who always rapidly responded to all my questions. We left from the pier on a 1 1/2 hour drive to Puerto Cayo, where as promised the speed boat and 5 other passengers awaited me, my wife and our 2 friends. The car ride there was comfortable with excellent driver and English speaking guide. The 1 hour speed boat ride to and from the island was like Mr.Toad’s wild ride at Disneyland. It was an experience we will never forget as the boat rode the 1-2 meter swells like a bronco buster. Isla de la Plata is known as the poor man’s Galapagos. On arrival we were greeted by 2 large sea turtles circling our boat. After a pit stop and briefing we were off on a rather strenuous 2 hour guided hike. We saw poisonous snakes, lizards and an abundance of Blue Footed Boobies and their chicks, a first for all of us. These birds nest on the ground unprotected, with nests even right on our hiking path. They are so dumb they can only survive where there are no predators. We hiked to beautiful cliffs overlooking the sea then back to our boat for an optional snorkel where colorful reef fish, enticed with a bread meal, encircled the snorkelers. The trip back was a mirror of our trip there, then back to the pier in time for a tender back to our ship. All 4 of us had a blast and it was one of the highlights of our cruise. Gabriel and Narwell Tours is highly recommended.
Written March 25, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We are glad we could arrange everything to make this tour to Isla de La Plata possible! Our partners in Puerto Lopez are always keen to make whatever is in their hands so cruise ship travelers have the chance to experience the island. Thank you for trusting us!
Written January 7, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Beston
Manta, Ecuador2 contributions
Nov 2020
Gabriel arranged for us a full day tour of a Cocoa plantation and factory that processes Cocoa. He organized the tours seamless and professionally. He is an excellent organizer and tour guide whom we highly recommend to anyone coming to Manta. Gabriel is very patient and lets you see all you desire to see on the trip without a feeling of compunction. My wife and I were, and still are, pleased with the service he rendered us while we were in Manta.
Written February 17, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Beston, it was a wonderful time for me as well, to meet people like you just make our work easier and enjoyable. We hope all the best for the next chapter of your life. Thank you for choosing us!
Written January 7, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Patrizia P
11 contributions
Feb 2020 • Friends
Me and a friend of mine were lucky to meet Gabriel on Galapagos while he was doing research for his agency. We got to know him and his standards of traveling. He was very supportive and helped us to organize almost our whole vacation in Ecuador. This was the best thing which could happen to us. We are very focused on traveling as much sustainable as possible and he could include this in our plans as well. He had all insights and best tips, I will definitely recommend all his tours to my friends and I am happy to see that there are more and more travel agencies which combine the luxury of traveling but also focus on the sustainability part.
Written February 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
It was great to meet you in Galapagos and help you with your traveling plans in Ecuador! Thank you for the trust :)
Written January 7, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Wouter P
1 contribution
Jul 2022
Last May, my parents and I decided to head to the Galapagos Islands. Discovering a desolated group of islands seemed unfeasible in just two months’ time. Together with Narwell tours we created a two-week tour discovering the best places on the islands for wildlife watching and exploring unspoiled landscapes. During this planning period Narwell Tours was considerate with all three of our wishes and requests. We enjoyed rough and amazing places in the best comfort possible! Viewing the islands immense lava flows from a small plane, cruising the wild Pacific on a luxury yacht, climbing on and inside forgotten volcanoes, snorkeling with hammerhead sharks and walking along ancient Giants. We were able to enjoy all of this to the fullest thanks to the smooth and almost spotless service. Thanks!
Written November 28, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Wendy W
Vancouver, Canada5 contributions
Jan 2020
Worked with Gabriel to arrange a full day tour for several of us traveling on board the Volendam in January. The Trip exceeded all our expectations-the guides met us off the ship in the terminal and we set off for a full day of adventure. Would highly recommend this friendly and professional company when you come to visit Manta.
Written March 21, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you! it was a pleasure to organize such a wonderful experience for you and the rest of the groups traveling on the Volendam!
Written January 7, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

AKSolarBear
1 contribution
Jan 2020
Had a wonderful tour in Manta, Ecuador. Jonathan was friendly, professional and highly knowledgeable, and took us to several places including a fish market, a nature reserve and to see how Panama hats are made. I highly recommend this tour company!
Written March 25, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your review, for us it is always a pleasure to provide authentic experiences whatever the time you have in our beloved town. Thank you for choosing us!
Written January 7, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

pgduncan
Vancouver Island, Canada32 contributions
Mar 2014 • Family
I reserved a tour for my family of 3 while we were in Manta for a day stop on a cruise.

It started by meeting our 'guide' Fernando M. who seemed polite, punctual and helpful when he met us outside the port terminal gates as arranged.

We proceeded to walk to his car which was parked on the street, get in and then immediately have our guide excuse himself to speak on his cell phone as "he had another company that he was running and had to deal with a few things...". If he's working with us and getting paid, I expect his attention in the moment, not for him to take care of his affairs on our time. While on this call, our vehicle was approached by several police officers who appeared to be either looking for a bribe, or were responding to a number of taxi complaints about us travelling in a private/unmarked car. We no sooner got this cleared up when even more police officers surrounded the car and prevented us leaving. This went on for about 30 minutes. As the entire discussion between our guide and the officers was in Spanish, we did not know what the problem was nor was it clearly explained by our guide. We were about to get out of the car and go back to the ship (in hindsight, it would have been a good idea!) when Fernando then advised us that he would not be able to take us on our tour as planned and started to drive away with us in the car. I asked him to stop the car, tell us what was going on and that I wanted to speak with the owner/manager of the company. He then advised us that things were OK and we could continue with the tour while he continued to speak to someone on his cellphone in Spanish and did not tell us further about what had happened.

Having travelled extensively, my family has been on many tours in many countries... this was by far the worst money spent on a tour - EVER.

A short summary of disappointments aside from the above are:

1- we had to ask if we wanted to know anything, no information was given voluntarily
2- Machalilla National Park is a huge let down... there's nothing of interest short of a minor exhibit on historical natives from the area. There is nothing interesting about the terrain, the walk through the park, the flora or fauna... nothing.
3- we stopped at a beach, which was quite nice, but were not advised that we would/could stay at the beach for a while or would have come more prepared
4- we stopped for an 'included lunch' (once our guide found a place that was open), where he advised us we were allowed to spend $3.50 USD each for lunch.... this, on a tour that we were charged a total of $285 for 3 persons. It was a joke. My wife and son shared some decent shrimp for about $7 USD and I had a couple of beers.

We then drove back to the port where I paid the amount due and told Fernando it had been a hugely disappointing day, which was why he did not receive a tip.

In total, it was boring, poor value and totally UNDERwhelming.

I would highly recommend not working with this company and wonder how on earth they received the other glowing reviews seen online. As my title says, was this the same tour company....?
Written April 5, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Peter, As the new manager, I'm replying the old negative comments that we got some years ago. (We did reply during the next days but TripAdvisor apparently rejected the reply). Once again we want to apologize for the bad experience that you had. We surely took actions with all your feedback, we no longer work with this guide and also modified our tours, so you can take the most of your day in Ecuador, plus everything is running smoothly with the authorities and tour operators. We know as cruise ship travelers, you have a short timeframe in every country that you visit, therefore we have designed all our tours so you can complete them and have the most authentic experience in our country. If you get to Ecuador once again, we would appreciate a second chance to show you our new improved services, of course, we will offer a good discount on the price. Kind regards, Gabriel
Written April 5, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Bobwood46
Charleston, SC23 contributions
May 2014 • Couples
We arrived by cruise ship in Manta and were met by Elsa who introduced us to Mamina, our guide and driver for the day. We had agreed up on an itinerary in advance, but Mamina even took us to some different places on the tour which were excellent suggestions. She drove us for several hours, and we were able to see a lot of the countryside as well as an Indian ancestral reserve. Mamina was very knowledgeable and treated us to a fabulous day. We ended the day In Montecristi. We wished we had had more time in this area and with Mamina. We would not hesitate to book with Narwell again and highly recommend this guide service to anyone in the area.
Written June 7, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

marlin1357
Zephyrhills, Florida, USA51 contributions
Jan 2014 • Friends
I had contacted Narwell Tours because of all the great reviews I had read on trip advisor. I organized the trip for myself and seven fellow passengers on January 12, 2014. We arrived on the Holland America Ship Prinsendam (later than expected). As soon as we went through the port gate there they were waiting for us with a Narwell sign and another sign with my name on it. I am so happy I picked this tour because we had an absolutely wonderful experience. The two young ladies Laura and Lori were very friendly and enthusiastic. The eight of us had plenty of room in the air conditioned vehicle. The young ladies giving the tour were absolutely charming and very informative. The driver was very safe and attentive to us, the vehicle and our belongings. The weather was perfect! The tour exceeded our expectations. 

I love to fish so I really enjoyed our first stop which was the fish market, I never saw such huge shrimp or squid. The others enjoyed the fish market as well and we all enjoyed seeing the different stages of boats being built right there on the beach.

I loved how the ladies explained the trees in the forest with the nuts that made the jewelry and the difference between the male and female trees. We were also shown the leaves that made up Panama Hats, and a tree with green balls hanging from a tree that made bowls and other items after processing. Everything was tied together perfectly for us when we got to the exhibition building in Montecristi. We were given so much information. One of the gentleman got a great picture of a Howler Monkey which he will share with all of us. When we left the forest the Howlers gave us a very loud send off. I thought the noise was a plane at first. 

I had some problem walking back up the forest trail after I walked all the way down to a bamboo bridge (single person crossing) to the stream, I saw it was way down so I knew it would be tough going up, but I made it! I am glad I did it now but wished I hadn't at the time. Three others didn't go down, they were smart. I don't recommend it for those who have problems walking. There is a place with benches where you can sit and wait for the others to come back from that walk. We were all in our 60's, young people would have no problem. 

We then went to a beach where there were turtle eggs and beautiful views for some great picture taking. The boats, the fishermen the rocks in a distance were fantastic. We were even lucky enough to view a local fishing boat being launched (very interesting). The restaurant they took us to was wonderful with a great view. The plantains with peanuts were great, the lady next to me really loved them and so did I. It was very nice for the ladies to arrange for us to get beer, that was above and beyond (being Sunday), the restaurant was also very accommodating to us and best of all the food was very good, I recommend the shrimp. 

We all enjoyed the Montecristi area with the exhibition building, the mausoleum and the museum were all wonderful. In the mausoleum were the remains of General: Jose Elroy Alfaro Delgado once President of Ecuador who was betrayed and murdered. The mausoleum is quite impressive. Laura (the other guide) did an excellent job explaining all the symbols on the walls of the mausoleum. Laura also explained the exhibitions, the making of Panama Hats and other items with the natural resources of the region. She also helped us understand what was in the museum, just excellent!   

We did a little shopping in Montecristi for Panama Hats and other items. We walked to a Church a couple of blocks from the store and took pictures of the church and a huge mural of Elroy Alfaro adjacent to the church. We then drove back to the port and one couple stayed on the van to be taken to a nearby hotel to use the wi-fi. We were all so tired by the time we got back to the ship (8 hour tour). Longer than we had signed up for. The ladies were so obliging showing us some extra things. We were never ever rushed, the pace of the tour was perfect. 

When we got into the van that took us back to the ship everyone thanked me for organizing the tour. The next day I even got a thank you note from one couple who enjoyed it so much. I am so happy everyone enjoyed the tour. The Narwell team is very professional from those in the office to the guides and drivers. Whenever I contacted them via email with questions they got back to me either the same day or the next day which is excellent. I highly recommend this tour for anyone going to Manta Ecuador. 
Written January 15, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 98

Narwell (Manta) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)