We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Galapagos Alternative

Features Animals
Avenida Charles Darwin S/N, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
+593 99 465 5018
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Outstanding trip to Galapagos using Galapagos Alternative !

We found Galapagos Alternative (and their very high ratings) on TripAdvisor. As we did not want to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
KitchenerJoey
,
Kitchener
Great experience with Galapagos Alternative!

I chose Galapagos Alternative after shopping around a couple more companies that are similar in... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Shane H
,
New York City, New York
Read all 308 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
At Galapagos Alternative we specialize in personalized land-based tour packages. We offer unique experiences of the islands the way we see them: as locals. Choose the sights and activities most interesting to you, stay at local places, eat at local restaurants, and of course, get up-close experiences with the amazing animals that make the Galapagos Islands so special. We can help you find the best options to fit your timeframe, budget and preferences. We can help with all aspects of your trip, from booking unique accommodations to daily activities and transport between the islands. We are Jill and Javier Moreno, and we'd like to welcome you to our home. We look forward to treating you like family, showing you our favorite places, and ensuring that you have the experience of a lifetime in the amazing and beautiful Galapagos!
  • Excellent89%
  • Very good7%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“vip lounge” (10 reviews)
“day trip” (27 reviews)
“los tuneles” (9 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM
LOCATION
Avenida Charles Darwin S/N, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
CONTACT
Website
+593 99 465 5018
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"vip lounge"
in 10 reviews
"day trip"
in 27 reviews
"los tuneles"
in 9 reviews
"local economy"
in 12 reviews
"land based tour"
in 16 reviews
"santa cruz"
in 96 reviews
"la casa de marita"
in 8 reviews
"every evening"
in 13 reviews
"restaurant recommendations"
in 6 reviews
"blue footed boobies"
in 18 reviews
"great trip"
in 14 reviews
"vip treatment"
in 5 reviews
"sea lions"
in 30 reviews
"isabela island"
in 17 reviews
"baltra airport"
in 13 reviews
"kicker rock"
in 10 reviews
"pick ups"
in 5 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We found Galapagos Alternative (and their very high ratings) on TripAdvisor. As we did not want to tour the Galapagos via ship, their land based tours were the perfect solution. We stayed 7 nights in the Galapagos (2 at Santa Cruz, 3 at Isabela and...More

1  Thank KitchenerJoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I chose Galapagos Alternative after shopping around a couple more companies that are similar in nature (i.e. arranging itineraries and tours, etc.). As a big traveler, I never use this type of service and always plan things on my own, but I chose to go...More

Thank Shane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jilapagos, Owner at Galapagos Alternative, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We are VERY pleased to see this kind review. We know things got off to a rough start so thank you for giving us a chance to come through with a great overall experience. Casa Lago is under very new administration which we are excited...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After researching a few agencies I decided to go with Galapagos Alternative based on the positive reviews on Tripadvisor, and I am so glad I did. From the I time I emailed them I always got prompt responses. I worked with Clara on my itinerary....More

Thank mrwayneforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jilapagos, Owner at Galapagos Alternative, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the glowing review, Sinchan! You really made an impression here with our team :). Positive, easy going, adventurous people like you are our favorite kind of travelers. The animals feel it too and you get the full experience because they don´t shy away....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2018

We spent 8 days in the Galapagos which was arranged by Maria at Galapagos Alternatives. Maria responded promptly to our emails and arranged the trip within our budget and time frame. We arrived to Baltra after two weeks on the mainland so it was a...More

Thank judikloper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jilapagos, Owner at Galapagos Alternative, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are pleased to know you had a lovely time and that our team was able to make it extra special. And thanks for sharing the tips about how to beat the motion...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2018

We couldn't have imagined a better trip to the Galapagos! The staff at Galapagos Alternative was all wonderful - Karina was fantastic to communicate with over email and help us plan the perfect trip, Maria was super helpful when we first arrived to Santa Cruz,...More

Thank jschwab91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jilapagos, Owner at Galapagos Alternative, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2018

Thank you for the glowing review! We certainly have a wonderful team that goes above and beyond. Your enjoyment and wellbeing are our priority during your visit. We are pleased to know you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2018 via mobile

Our day trips through Galapagos Alternative were fantastic. A representative met us at our hostel the day of our arrival to go over some details about the boats and she gave us great recommendations for dining options in Puerto Ayora. She even went and rented...More

1  Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2018

Never having booked a tour myself to another country and unsure of details to consider, I choose Galapagos Alternative after reading reviews. I was not disappointed! The trip was organized according preferences for my husband and I, and Maria did a great job seeing to...More

1  Thank SJ_Koc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jilapagos, Owner at Galapagos Alternative, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2018

Thanks for sharing your positive experience. We are very pleased to know you had such an amazing trip and that we were able to exceed your expectations! It´s comments like these that make our day. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018

I had a wonderful time at Galapagos with the assistance of Galapagos Alternative team. I was travelling on my own and it was all very organised from the moment I stepped off from the plane. When I arrived at the hotel, Maria was already there...More

Thank KatieKYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jilapagos, Owner at Galapagos Alternative, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Thanks for the kind recommendation and positive feedback! We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your visit and that our team was able to make it extra special. And good for you for trying something new! The underwater world in Galapagos is just as...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2018

Galapagos Alternative was wonderful to work with! Maria came to our hotel every evening and went over what we could expect the following day. Everything was so well organized and high quality. We wouldn't use anyone else!!

Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jilapagos, Owner at Galapagos Alternative, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2018

Thanks, Nancy! Our pleasure. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2018

Oh. My. God. This is all I can say about my experience with this company. From the moment we stepped off the plane in Baltra, to the time we headed back to the mainland, Galapagos Alternative provided us with the best travel experience I've ever...More

Thank chadaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jilapagos, Owner at Galapagos Alternative, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2018

Oh my! I hope we didn't spoil you too much. ;) We do our best, the animals do the rest! We find that the positive and adventurous travelers attract the animals to them. I agree it's certainly difficult to do the regular tourist thing after...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 26 hotels in Santa Cruz
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
194 reviews
27.53 miles away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
505 reviews
30.42 miles away
Pikaia Lodge
64 reviews
31.31 miles away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
95 reviews
32.24 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
ANKER mar to table
104 reviews
35.90 miles away
Almar
87 reviews
35.88 miles away
Los Kioskos
177 reviews
35.92 miles away
IslaGrill
848 reviews
35.91 miles away
Nearby Attractions
North Seymour Island
262 reviews
19.60 miles away
Archipell
14 reviews
35.69 miles away
MC Adriana
29 reviews
35.81 miles away
Reserva El Chato
1,504 reviews
27.91 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
4acadia
June 6, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Kim0429 | Reviewed this property |
We spent 8 days, and felt like that was perfect, but you can certainly still do LOTS in 6-7 days. I would highly recommend splitting time between Santa Cruz and Isabela. And while on Isabela, definitely book the Los Tuneles... More
1
Vote
emily b
February 6, 2017|
Answer
Response from jilapagos | Property representative |
The best way to contact us is through our website or email us directly.
0
Votes
aj0reilly
February 3, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from aj0reilly |
Thanks Jill, my husband is already in dialogue with Leone.
0
Votes