We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About Paragliding Medellin
Flying above one of Colombia's greatest towns is what we do! With more than 25 years experience, we will take you on an adventure. Feel, breathe, enjoy! See Medellin from a whole different angle! We pioneered paragliding in colombia ! FLYING SINCE 1992! Ruben is an international certified instructor. We speak English and Spanish. Welcome to the Sky !
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about

Paragliding Medellin
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
193Reviews6Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 172
  • 7
  • 6
  • 2
  • 6
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lewis J wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
The people who run and manage the company are less than helpful and do not care in the slightest for their customers. I would suspect that the company is very dodgy as they cancelled my flight (even though companies surrounding this company continued flying) and then charged me for the driver. I suspect it it 50/50 with the company and driver. Wasted 3 hours of my day - 2 for traveling with a very bad driver and an hour sitting around whilst the 'pilot' they had was busy running errands during the day even though I gave the company specific time slots. It was a short stay which marred my visit to Medellin. Wasted 100,000 COP on the driver who drove crazily, stopped at the side of the road to pee in a cup (not even leaving the car) and then continued on our journey. Was told I had to pay 100,000 COP or I would have been stranded more or less as it is so far away from the the city. 100,000 COP is a lot, especially for those people or families who do not have this kind of money. I was told that this is a South American expectation that if things are cancelled that the transport is still paid for. Was never told this, still doesn't state on their website and it isn't a South American expectation. The customer service was shambolic as our 'translator' was very poor in translating. The three people I spoke to treated me like dirt apart from one actual person who spoke English but he calmed down after first answering the phone with aggression. Was told that it would be rearranged for the following day due to 'weather concerns' but nobody bothered to contact me (still have not to this day). Other companies around the same place continued to fly without any issues. Medellin weather is very hit or miss and it states on the form that it could be cancelled, which is understandable. However, two hours previous it was confirmed and there seemed to be no issue raised. It is also worth bearing in mind that this company is hard to get to as there are no safe walkway and during times where it has rained previously, you can very easily slip and fall in the mud or slopes. Horrendous experience and could not advise this company in anyway as they did nothing at all right or to try and fix things.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Natasha R wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
I have wanted to get my P2 license for 2yrs. I chose Medellin because I heard of Ruben from a longtime paraglider in Seattle. Ruben is the godfather of paragliding in Colombia starting when paragliding barely existed in Colombia and had just began as a new sport. He takes safety extremely seriously. I would trust him and his partner "H" with my life! This is something to take into consideration when looking for an instructor/tandem as other instructors in the area may be younger, less experienced and less likely to have your best interest at heart. You get what you pay for here and honestly it is worth so much more. Ruben and "H" are like Dos XX men with plenty of amazing stories and life experiences. They are wonderful passionate human beings and extremely trustworthy and honorable. They would do anything to ensure the safety and enjoyment of their clients. I would joke that Ruben was like the Mr. Miyagi of paragliding, it's so accurate! Another reason why Medellin is a wonderful place to learn is the beautiful rolling green mountains in the surrounding area. Ruben and "H" will take you to spectacular landscapes to learn or you would do a tandem over gorgeous Medellin. you should 1000% fly with Ruben! You will not be disappointed.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Andrew P wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
Could not be more thrilled with my experience with Paragliding Medellin. A friend and I both took our P1 / P2 paragliding certifications in English with Ruben and it was an incredible experience. Ruben is a very knowledgeable and caring instructor who is excited to share his passion for paragliding with his students. We were able to travel all around Colombia to different beautiful locations we wouldn't have otherwise seen. Definitely going to come back and do our P3 with him next year!
Read more
Date of experience: May 2021
Helpful
Share
Amir wrote a review Dec 2020
2 contributions
This was a fantastic flight, and the man who owns the operation personally came and picked us up and was so encouraging and comforting, so friendly. The flight guide was experienced and very friendly and understanding; he did not rush, he was happy to do the flight and we even waited a bit so that we could have the perfect weather to make for a perfect flight, whereas other companies were going anyways. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of experience: December 2020
Helpful
Share
Bojan wrote a review Feb 2020
Lima, Peru5 contributions
As we have seen the plenty of good reviews, we have picked rubenfly as our paraglide agency. I have to say it did not disappoint at all! The staff is amazingly friendly and makes you feel at ease. We took the full package which is highly recommended. No hassle whatsoever, which is perfect! The view is obviously stunning and the instructors really seem to have fun in what they are doing! Thank u for making the experience unforgettable!!
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from ParaglidingMedellin, Propietario at Paragliding Medellin
Responded Feb 19, 2020
He dear This is why we love our job Making people happy Best job in the world Gracias !!!
Read more
Previous
123456
Recommended experiences in and around Medellin
from $146.20
More Info
from $112.00
More Info
from $25.65
More Info
from $30.00
More Info