We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rio Claro Valley

Features Animals
Book In Advance
226
All photos (226)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good28%
  • Average5%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“el refugio”(18 reviews)
“cave tour”(11 reviews)
“zip line”(10 reviews)
About
Contact
Medellin, Colombia
Website
+57 4 2688855
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Rio Claro Valley
from $1,177.86
More Info
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveler rating
66
32
7
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
66
32
7
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews el refugio cave tour zip line bring a flashlight water shoes mosquito net included meals eco hotel walk along the river accommodation options small bus avoid weekends dry season nature reserve three hours other travelers unique experience
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My family- all adults- and I just spent 3 nights at Rio Claro. Loved it but offer this advice: Don’t go on a weekend or holiday. The open air accommodations mean you’ll hear every neighbor as if they’re in your room with you. Don’t go...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Morris867
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for three nights and on the whole, had a really fantastic time. We booked one of their best rooms (El Fugio Panoramic) which you definitely become at one with the creatures as it's completely open air. It took a bit of getting...More

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Meredith B
Reviewed November 21, 2018 via mobile

I recommend this every time I have the chance. I would do the cavern exploration again in a heart beat. I want to explore other caves because of my experience here. I went with a group on a day trip and we each did two...More

Date of experience: December 2017
2  Thank Departure11089942284
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Rio claro is a place that you shouldn't miss if you are visiting anywhere near Medellin. If you love adventure and you really don't mind flexing your muscles, this is the place for you. We, around 20 friends visited the place from Medellin. It was...More

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Harish B
Reviewed September 18, 2018

The towels had stains, the mosquito nets for the beds had holes, the bathroom smelled terrible. The food was really subpar, white rice and "pollo sudado" all the time. The activities are great (rafting was really fun) and the river is amazing and really pretty,...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Santiago D
Reviewed May 28, 2018

Great to escape and be back to basics. However the rooms are very very basic and no bedding and can be extremely hot with no way to cool down. The park has a good natural feel with the activities of rafting and caving to be...More

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Carl R
Reviewed April 15, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I spent 3 days in Rio Claro and we loved it. This place offers a great close experience with nature but it also provides accommodations that make it easy and practical for you to blend in with the environment. The food was...More

Date of experience: April 2018
3  Thank Moliver24
Reviewed March 20, 2018 via mobile

Its one of the most beautiful places you will ever sleep. The View is brilliant. Sound is like jungle in its purest form and its romantic as hell. Moonshine and open view right into the djungle and nobody will see you up there. The river...More

Date of experience: March 2018
4  Thank donclemento
Reviewed March 6, 2018

SERVICE: I don´t know why so many people complain about the service.... I was very satisfied with the staff, especially David from reception is a super helpful, patient and polite guy who helped with every question I had (speaks very good english) FOOD: Not high...More

Date of experience: February 2018
8  Thank Alex J
Reviewed December 24, 2017 via mobile

We just got back from Rio Claro. The reserve is absolutely stunning but it is really overpriced for what you get. The rooms are expensive and the service is really poor. We had a very filthy room with poop in the toilet. We told the...More

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Rhodé G
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 122 nearby hotels
Los Colores Ecoparque
68 reviews
4.08 miles away
Hotel Portobelo Guatape
60 reviews
31.73 miles away
Hotel Santa Maria de las Aguas
55 reviews
31.76 miles away
Hotel Guatatur
47 reviews
31.83 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,688 nearby restaurants
Asados Del Camino
67 reviews
8.11 miles away
Crepes Factory San Rafael
20 reviews
30.40 miles away
Pizzeria De Luigi
266 reviews
31.66 miles away
Grill Arepas
9 reviews
8.41 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 541 nearby attractions
Canon del Rio Claro
146 reviews
.98 miles away
Native Horses
25 reviews
17.75 miles away
Spanish Adventure
43 reviews
22.67 miles away
Freak'n Creek'n
31 reviews
26.99 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jacob B
August 3, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Beatrix384 | Reviewed this property |
After further reading, I found there is no refund for lodging or meals, there is a limited list of goods for which you can get a reimbursement in Colombia, the following link has a brochure. Search for DIAN Colombia... More
0
Votes
Jean M
July 19, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Ralf S | Reviewed this property |
Hi there, well.... you have to be in time, because the best rooms are booked in advance very long time ago.... Please call them and ask for the different possibilities... up or down rooms... and I tell you... its really... More
0
Votes