We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Juan Ballena Travel Experiences in Cartagena

Cartagena, Colombia
More
About Juan Ballena Travel Experiences in Cartagena
Juan Ballena is a trusted online travel agency focused on showing you the local and authentic side of Cartagena,giving you a full picture of our culture and lifestyle throughout our professional travel experiences. If Cartagena is on your travel wish list, we make it simple for you. You can find and book online activities with us. There are amazing things to see and do out here. Let’s go exploring
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
110Reviews10Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 91
  • 8
  • 2
  • 2
  • 7
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
kenten wrote a review Mar 2020
Rochdale, United Kingdom55 contributions20 helpful votes
A very professional company to deal with , picked 6 of us up from the airport on time . Nice clean minibus , Would recommend
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Chris M wrote a review Jan 2020
Cheltenham, United Kingdom35 contributions9 helpful votes
We drifted peaceful guided by the gentle strokes of our boatman who was also our guide. There was an amazing amount of birdlife on clear display but the keen eye of our guide also picked out kingfishers and other small birds that we simply wouldn't have detected alone. He was a very pleasant man and so was the driver who took us to La Boquilla on the edge of the estuary and all the other staff at the boat yard. This kind of ecotourism should be well supported. It is very important in this day and age but more than this it was a highly rewarding experience
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Greg M wrote a review Jan 2020
9 contributions22 helpful votes
Rented a private boat for my wife's birthday to take us from Cartagena to Rosario islands. We paid $500 USD in full 3 months before the trip. Via WhatsApp I communicated the preferred itinerary at time of booking. The day before the trip - I reached out to confirm details and the person in the chat was very rude. Said that information is in email from 3 months ago and that last minute they changed the boat. Information we wouldnt have known had I not reached out. Askes about what kind of boat it would be and was told to check the website to find it. Day of trip - get to marina - and the boat guys are not sure what name to expect or what the itinerary was. Additionally there was a language barrier. I asked the person who I was communicating with in WhatsApp to sort out the plan (lunch, stops, etc.) since we were unable to communicate directly with the staff on the boat. Again - very abrasive tone from the person I was communicating with in the chat. Additionally they didn't book a lunch spot so when we arrived on the island had to wait and sort out and wait 2 hours. Very frustrating and sour experience. Would not reccomend.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Gustavo L, Gerente at Juan Ballena Travel Experiences in Cartagena
Responded Jan 31, 2020
Hello Greg, thanks for your comment We make our best effort for having a fast and friendly customer service and always are ready to solve your doubts for any channel of communication we offer. Your rating is not fair because we have all the emails and messages since you made the booking. Regarding the change of boat that you mentioned we gave you an upgrade of your booking to a more expensive boat for the same price. You mentioned that you wanted to have lunch at Coralina Island prior to your booking, however you didn't confirm. Upon arriving at the place as you did not confirm anything to us by email or whatsapp, they were not expecting you. We talked to them anyways and made the possible arrangements to fix the miscommunication.
Read more
MrsCzr wrote a review Jan 2020
42 contributions6 helpful votes
We used this company for our airport private transfer to and from the hotel. Upon arrival, we found Alonso waiting outside with our name on a sign. He drove us directly to our resort and showed up on time to drop us for our return flight. We also used this company for a tour to Rosario Island. Our guide, Kevin picked us up at the resort, checked on us throughout the trip and organized transportation back to our hotel. Ruben, provided prompt responses to my concerns when communicating with me via WhatsApp. I will use this company on my future trips to Cartagena.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Ian R wrote a review Nov 2019
Pender Island, Canada11 contributions1 helpful vote
Its been decades since we travelled by rail.Via is doing a good job despite insufficient subsidies. Resevations and ticketing easy. No hassles on board. snacks on board looked good. All on time. Staff were very helpful.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Cartagena
from $25.00
More Info
from $88.54
More Info
from $95.00
More Info
from $50.00
More Info