We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gekko Trails Explorer Guatemala

45 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Gekko Trails Explorer Guatemala

45 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Recommended experiences in and around Antigua
from $99.00
More Info
from $82.09
More Info
from $70.52
More Info
from $46.16
More Info
Full view
Location
Contact
Antigua 03001 Guatemala
Get to know the area
Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch
Archaeology Tours

Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

57 reviews
Experience one of the ancient world’s most incredible archaeological sites at Tikal, a celebrated Mayan city deep in the Guatemalan jungle, on this convenient 10-hour trip by air from Antigua. Enjoy a bird’s eye view of the Guatemalan jungle on your flight to this UNESCO World Heritage-listed Mayan site, spending the day exploring this incredible city’s steep temples and beautiful plazas with the help of your guide. Your day trip from Antigua to Tikal also includes round-trip transportation from your Antigua hotel, lunch, and all entrance fees.
$393.71 per adult
45Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 12
  • 4
  • 6
  • 1
  • 22
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
floxintelod wrote a review Mar 2020
Dublin, Ireland19 contributions4 helpful votes
We paid a deposit online and the receipt said we had 125Q left to pay in person, when they picked us up they requested the full amount of 150Q. We paused for a second to double check as we were nearly sure it said 125, instantly the man collecting the money got really defensive and would not listen to a word we said. Would not accept that we had paid a deposit and told the driver to go without us as we didn’t want to pay. It was embarrassing as everyone on the bus could hear the whole exchange and he spoke down to us, not concerned about the $5 deposit but the man was downright rude.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Fernando O, Manager at Gekko Trails Explorer Guatemala
Responded Mar 16, 2020
Hi, thank you for your comment. We're sorry to hear that, your receipt had your second amaunt to pay in US dollars, it was $20 per person, we were talking with you by phone and gave you an explanation about the wrong message with Q125 per person. We have tried to explain Q125 is not $20, if you want to use this exchange rate, you will get Q6.25 to $1, when the average exchange rate in Guatemala is Q7.5 to $1. There was a mistake in a message, we gave you an explanation and your receipt was clear, second amount to pay $20 per person. All our tickets are in US dollars.
Read more
Scott J wrote a review Feb 2020
Zihuatanejo, Mexico2 contributions
I don’t understand why this company gets all the bad reviews. I dealt directly with Carlos at Gekko who always quickly responded/was helpful for all my questions(and I had a lot) via WhatsApp. Realize, though that this a travel company and NOT the bus company(Rooney.com is who supplies the actual bus service). So, if there is a problem with the bus it is out of the control of the travel company. I prepaid via PayPal trip from El Tunco to Leon and after three days to Granada for 3 and return to Antigua(very long 2 days). The bus drivers were prompt and helpful at border crossing and help you figure things out. Realize though, that should you get pulled over such as we did by Nicaraguan police and searched it is out of their control of bus company. All drivers were bi-lingual in Espanol/English to assist you in all border crossing. Never felt unsafe and I would use again should I ever travel back to El Salvador, Honduras and Nicaragua. Things might seem a bit “hokey”, but it is what it is. Handing your passport and paying driver USD at start seems odd, but hey we crossed border and our passport back with relative ease. (Honduras is 3 USD to enter AND exit, Nicuragua is 14 USD to enter, 4 USD to exit, El Salvador and Guatemala free as of February 2020-must pay in USD ONLY).
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Alex wrote a review Jan 2020
3 contributions
We took the shuttle from Panajachel to San Cristobal de Casas. Everything was working well. We had to change the minibus at the border and they helped us with all administration there. We were 1.5h earlier in San Cristobal than they said. The buses were not very comfortable (few space), but this is how minibusses are.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Josh W wrote a review Jan 2020
18 contributions4 helpful votes
I booked with them months ahead and they confirmed my shuttle. During the window when they were supposed to pick me up I emailed to confirm they were still coming and Gekko told me they moved my shuttle by a day but I was never told this. I confirmed with all my email boxes this was never shared. Thanks to them I am out hundreds of dollars as I had to find new transportation, taxi costs, cancellation charges from the hotel I wasn’t able to stay at and finding a new last minute hotel all while stressing out I was going to make my flight home.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Jeff wrote a review Dec 2019
Denver, Colorado2 contributions
I took a shuttle from Antigua to Santa Ana in El Salvador, service was very efficient, not problem at all, driver was very professional, I was in contact by facebook with Alejandra all the time, she aswererd all my questions and helped me to find a hostel in town. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Previous
1234568