Casa Popenoe

Casa Popenoe, Antigua: Hours, Address, Casa Popenoe Reviews: 4.5/5

Casa Popenoe
4.5
9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
About
Casa Popenoe appeals to the inquiring mind. It prompts us to ask questions about ideas, about passion, about commitment; about history, art, science, beauty, austerity, proportion. What role does each play in human development? In the development of civilization?
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
Top ways to experience Casa Popenoe
The area

4.5
104 reviews
Excellent
76
Very good
19
Average
5
Poor
1
Terrible
3

Bess713
1 contribution
A great spot in antigua!
Jul 2019 • Solo
Loved this museum. I go to a ton of museums, and this one was excellent. My guide was incredibly knowledgeable, even citing sources as she was talking. It was very interesting too, to see the home of a wealthy antiguan, and the layout and the uses of different rooms. Highly recommended if you like history, architecture or even just the rich and the famous
Written July 10, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review, we are so happy when our guests like what we show and talk about Casa Popenoe. Have a great vacation here.
Written July 11, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

ARTX2
College Station, TX63 contributions
Loved this tour!
May 2019 • Couples
I love learning about the history of the places I visit and this tour hit all the marks!

Scheduling was very easy, simply email casapopenoe@ufm.edu. I got a response in about an hour and tour was booked.

Loren was our English speaking guide and she was fantastic! We got to hear about the history of the house, the history of Wilson or Dorothy Popenoe in Antigua and why their mark on this house became so influential to the city. Learned lots of interesting facts about colonial life and specific design features of the house. (Seriously, the colonial plumbing is remarkable!) Great info on how the house has been reconstructed, and deconstructed, over the years. Even learned that their daughter, in her 90s, still lives in town and visits the house regularly.

If you love history you will not want to miss this tour!
Written June 14, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you, it is a pleasure to show the house to people interested in history and art. We always want to give our best and love when people enjoy the tour as you said so. Thank you very much.
Written June 18, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Hugh T
Atlanta, GA43 contributions
A hidden gem in Antigua.
Apr 2019 • Couples
This wonderful house museum was recommended to us by a fellow dealer in antiques. He was spot on! This was our favorite museum in a town full of interesting things. The Casa tour has to be booked via the internet. You’ll find the web address on the door of the house. Lorena was our contact. She also provided the tour in Spanish the day we visited. A tour in English is provided on some days, unfortunately not the days we were available.
The tour gives great insights into the beginning of the development of Antigua and how the house itself was restored. The tour takes around one and a half hours. It seems quicker.
It’s worth the small effort required to make the appointment. The web address is casapopenoe@ufm.edu
Use this to make your online appointment. Hope you’ll enjoy it as much as we did.
Written April 16, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review, we are always delighted to give our best to visitors so they will have a wonderful tour. You are always welcome!
Written April 17, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Brian J
Fife, Scotland54 contributions
Excellent museum tour. Great insight to not only Mr Popenoe but Guatemalan history
Feb 2019 • Couples
This is a very worthwhile tour. Our guide was very knowledgable & enthusiastic about Popenoe & Guatemala's history generally. It's a wonderful insight into the hidden world behind the high walls and solid wooden doors of magical Antigua. But you do have to email and book a tour at least 24 hours in advance. Don't just turn up and bang the brass door knocker. You won't get past security if you haven't booked.
Written February 16, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review, We always ask people to book ahead because we are not always available, or perhaps we are touring a visit at that moment. We like to give a good quality tour and we need to schedule the visits in advance to ensure this. Our volunteers come by demand they are not here all day long, but all of them love Casa Popenoe and are very happy to give a tour. Thank you again for coming and for loving what we show here at Casa Popenoe.
Written February 22, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Karenandmartin
Calpe, Spain35 contributions
A fabulous tour
Feb 2019 • Couples
We had no problems arranging our tour of Casa Popenoe; simply send an email and the curator will come back to you with some options. Lauren responded to us within a couple of hours fitting us in with another group of 4. In the end the other 4 were no shows, so we had a personal tour.
Loren was absolutely charming and the tour was really informative.
Casa Popenoe should definitely be on your must see list in Antigua - so email a couple of days in advance to make sure you can get in.
Thank you Loren
Written February 7, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you, Karen, we feel so happy when our guests enjoy Casa Popenoe. This is the reason we try to do our best to show the house, talk about its history, and to manage the different requests to enter Casa Popenoe as good as possible. Thank you very much. And all the best to you!
Written February 8, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

stephan j
London, UK818 contributions
Impossible to visit
Feb 2019 • Couples
I can confirm what another reviewer said. I have tried to arrange a visit on their website. However it seems as we are less than 5 people one can’t even send a request for a visit which would perhaps enable them to add us to another group.
Disappointing
Written February 2, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, This is surprising for us that the website didn't allow you to put a number lower than 5, because we usually received requests for two or just one person and we accommodate them in the tours we have available. For example: Tue, Feb 5, 1:49 PM (2 days ago) to casapopenoe Visit us Name: xxxx Email: xxxx Date: 02/12/2019 Time: 9:30 Number of adults: 3 Number of childrens: 0 And I tried myself and I could put any number in the space. We are sorry you couldn't find the way. We always try to do our best receiving and accommodating visitors in different schedules as they wish.
Written February 7, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lequesteau
Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten20 contributions
Wow!
Nov 2018 • Couples
We had a great tour. Eugenie gave an outstanding guided tour. It was very interesting and she was very knowledgeable. It's an amazing place with an amazing history.
Written November 15, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you very much for your review! We are always happy when our visitors find the house and the guide superb. We want to give a great experience to our tourists and show them a bit of a House in Antigua.
Written November 16, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

StevieCCD
Leigh-on Sea, UK98 contributions
Impossible to get into
Nov 2018
We tried, we tried but did not realise how difficult it would be to visit Casa Popenoe - there is no info on trip advisor or lonely planet. We simply turned at the Casa today according to the published opening hours and were turned away, unceremoniously, by the security guard. A bad experience.
This is what I learned - You have to book ahead, via email and have a group size > 5. If you are independent travellers forget it because the placed is booked out by tours. I checked the Casa website which is limited help. I even had an emil dialogue withe the person who tried to be helpful and apologetic but te bottom line is we wasted time and energy and never did get to see the Casa - don't waste your time too...
.
Very disappointed as it sounds wonderful
Written November 7, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We are so sorry we couldn't give you a tour the day you wanted. We offered you the tour the next day of the day you wanted it, but you were not able to make it. We were going to give you the tour no matter if you were only two. I just said that Thursday was full so we were able to give you the tour on Friday. In our webpage which is in Spanish and English, we provide the information to book a tour of the house. casapopenoe.ufm.edu/en/visitor-information Anyways we are apologizing again with you, our guardians don't understand or speak English and they don't allow people to get inside the house if they are not coming for a tour, so they gave you a card with my email and I answered you as soon as possible. Loren Lemus Curator of Casa Popenoe
Written November 8, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Terri S
Antigua, Guatemala9 contributions
A beautiful home! A must see
Oct 2018 • Solo
I would highly recommend that when visiting the lovely city of Antigua Guatemala, that you visit this house. It is so full of the history of Antigua and Guatemala. Eugenia, our tour guide who speaks english very well, had a vast knowledge of the history and of Wilson Popenoe. She really had a way of bringing the house to life and you could almost feel what it must have been like to live in such a place.
The saddest was to hear that not all Guatemalans visit, although they may know some of its history, because of the cost for them. I was truly taken back that they cannot visit free and show their children their history. I would hope that the university would consider perhaps a once a month free tour for them. Its a same they cannot see this place.
Written October 17, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked Eugenia's tour, she likes the house very much and shows it with knowledge and passion. We receive kids from schools and they just have to pay 10 quetzales each. But unfortunately, most of the time schools prefer to do other things on their field trips. We will take in consideration your suggestion. Thank you.
Written November 16, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Traveler 1009
Kenedy, TX3 contributions
Great History!
Oct 2018 • Friends
Although I currently live in Antigua, this was my first guided tour. I love the colonial architecture of this city. Casa Popenoe does not disappoint. Most of its history was new to me. Our guide, Eugenia Bester, was wonderful! She took time to explain not only the buildings and grounds, but the family as well. She is extremely knowledgeable and obviously very proud of Antigua and its heritage.

I way recommend putting this tour on your bucket list.
Written October 10, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you very much, We are so glad that you loved the tour. Eugenia is one of our best volunteers and she is always researching more and more about Wilson Popenoe and his family. We are so proud of Antigua and its heritage and will love to have hundreds of people visiting the house and showing them the legacy that the family Popenoe left to la Antigua Guatemala. Thank you again for your review, it is very important for us.
Written October 11, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 70
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Casa Popenoe

Casa Popenoe is open:
  • Mon - Fri 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
  • Sat - Sat 9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Buy tickets in advance on Tripadvisor. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel at least 24 hours before the start date of your tour for a full refund.

We recommend booking Casa Popenoe tours ahead of time to secure your spot. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel up to 24 hours before your tour starts for a full refund. See all 1 Casa Popenoe tours on Tripadvisor


Restaurants near Casa Popenoe: View all restaurants near Casa Popenoe on Tripadvisor