Great Point Light
Great Point Light
5
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
Towering more than 60 feet, this historic lighthouse was established in 1784, destroyed in 1984 and rebuilt in 1986. Located on the Coskata Coatue Wildlife Refuge. You can get a tour of the lighthouse if you join one of the Trustees of Reservations guided natural history tours depending on the time of year and access to the lighthouse. Beach access is limited during storms and high tides. Always check the local Great Point tides and never drive through water!
Duration: 2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles195 reviews
Excellent
173
Very good
19
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
1

sachen4
Denver, CO43 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2018 • Friends
A few points to note, including information I wish I had when my family set out to see this landmark. (We tried to plan ahead, but we didn’t come across much of this information in our research to begin with.)

-Unless you have a 4WD vehicle and a permit, all vehicles and bikes must stop at the Wauwinet Gatehouse. This is because, except for a short stretch after the gatehouse where some b+b’s and houses reside, the “road” is essentially soft sand. Most of the vehicles we saw were jeeps, with deflated tires.
-The distance between the gatehouse and the lighthouse is approximately 5.5 miles each way.
-If hiking the entire distance, bring bug spray, sunscreen, and a lot of water! The mosquitos are aggressive and not much smaller than birds. Highly suggest wearing a hat.
-Drivers can only go so far, but after a certain distance of driving on the beach.
-The hike between the gatehouse and the actual beach is just over a mile (1.3, to be exact), and for this group of adults it took us about a half hour. (See uploaded google map picture - the dotted line represents that mile, which gives you an idea of the overall distance to the lighthouse.)
-If you don’t have your own transportation, note that finding an uber or taxi can be tough, especially b/c not many cars come out this way. In addition to the lack of cab resources, there is spotty reception. Probably best to drive yourself, arrange your own transportation, or bike over and park at the gatehouse.

The views are gorgeous! There is probably more information out there but hope this is helpful. Easiest option would probably be to arrange a professional outing through the refuge to the lighthouse. Enjoy!
Written August 24, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review. Also, in case you haven't had a chance to climb the lighthouse, we do open it for visitors when we have volunteers available.
Written April 3, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SoFLTravelGirl
Fort Lauderdale, FL33 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2015 • Family
It might sound intimidating at first but don't miss the opportunity. We rented a jeep headed out to Great Point which is a beautiful drive on the paved roads. At the entrance to the beach drive you pay an additional $35 (sand permit doesn't cover this beach location), deflate your tires to 12 psi and start your drive.
The view is gorgeous and that's before you hit the beach. On the beach we were great by seals (yes seals). The beach is very private but for the few jeeps. You could easily enjoy a picnic, wine and sun. There is even a port-a-potty for your use. We had to walk the remaining marker as birds were nesting and we had to be respectful of this being their home.
Don't miss this it is great fun. We drove all over the beach and on the path off of the beach that take you to very private beaches.
Do yourself a favor. Call Young's and rent a jeep for this journey.
Written July 14, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Barbara Shehan
Woodstock, VT16 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2019 • Couples
My husband and I hiked 11 miles round trip to see this lighthouse. Along the way, we saw three different species of seals and also hundreds of baby seagulls. We packed tons of water and a light lunch and made a day trip out of this. By far, this was the best experience of my week-long trip. I will never forget it!!!
Written July 10, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for being prepared for the hike! We love visitors who are adventurers. So glad you had a good trip. Diane Lang Manager
Written July 11, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jerri W
Winter Springs, Florida, United States134 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2015 • Couples
You absolutely have to go see this light!! Rent a Jeep from Windmill Car Rental, then lower your tire pressure to 14psi and have an awesome time squishing through the sand to get to the light! You can walk right up to it but can't climb and then when you walk around it, there are seals on the beach! We were there in the off season, so there was no fee being collected!
Written January 23, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

cliff19
Arizona142 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2014 • Friends
Rent a jeep, pay the extra money and go out to the Great Light bring a lunch, chairs and lotion. Enjoy
Written June 4, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelbug12333
Detroit, MI2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2013 • Family
The Coskata-Coatue Wildlife Refuge has blocked off the beach due to migrating birds building their nests on the sand. They said they still offer tours but they don't go up to the lighthouse. You can drive to within 1.5 miles, and walk the rest of the way (not my cup of tea on a hot summer day). I thought this info might be helpful. The phone at the refuge to find out the latest details: (508) 228-6799. They don't know how long the area will be blocked off. They said it may be until Sept/Oct 2013. Hope this helps
Written July 7, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Bernadette D
Pittsburgh, PA35 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2019
We rented a jeep from Young’s and took off on this great adventure! The ocean was to my right and I admired the seals at the shore while my husband drove us through the deep sand! When we reached the lighthouse, I was disappointed that we couldn't climb it! You can climb it but you have to make arrangements in advance for a private tour and when I called from the base of the lighthouse, they were already done giving tours for the day and wouldn't let us join the tour that was happening while we were there. In fact, I was taking a picture of the wrought iron spiral staircase with plans to walk right up it to the top when a gent in the group - I'll guess one of the trustees - said "read the sign lady" which I then did and it stated "private tour. please don't pass this point." That was a serious disappointment after driving 10 miles in deep sand to get to the lighthouse and then not being permitted to climb it and see that view!! I guess I'll just have to go back to Nantucket and be sure to schedule a tour!
Written September 30, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi! Thank you so much for your review. I did receive your phone message and sorry we couldn't accommodate you while you were on the property. We do, from time to time, have some wonderful volunteers who will open the lighthouse for visitors. That being said, you have inspired me to consider how to be able to let people climb by appointment, which will only work with our dedicated volunteers. Hope you do consider coming back and taking a tour, you will learn and see so much more! Also, although currently not working do to some technical issues, you can check the view through our webcam on top of the lighthouse. Check ahead of time if you visit, you could be in for a treat and the lighthouse could be open for visitors. Cheers! DLang
Written October 1, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

homebody12
Bluffton, SC60 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2018 • Family
I love how they frequently close this place to protect the birds from the Jeeps but have now littered the place with porta-potties. Ridiculous. The place is now crawling with ranger-nazis driving all over the place telling you to slow down. $45 just for the drive out there. It's spectacular but honestly its just about fishing so it you're not fishing, I'd skip it. Don't even think of hiking out there and if you are in a boat make sure you know what you're doing. The rip currents are very dangerous. And don't even think of swimming out there. Great Whites frequently spotted by fishing boats.
Written September 12, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for this great review! Wonderful that you have had the opportunity to be visiting for 45 years! Thanks to the few donors this property will be protected forever from development. We do patrol the beach, so if you ever happen to need help we are there to assist you. We do not allow speeding, so if you have heard 'slow down', well, you know what that means. I suggest that if you have never had an opportunity to visit like this reviewer has, you may just want to consider why anyone would come back for 45 years... Remember you can leave the driving to us and take our Natural History Tour Memorial Day through Columbus Day.
Written April 3, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

vincentd972
Totowa, NJ313 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2016 • Couples
An amazing area with hidden nature treasures. From the serenity of listening to the waves all the way to the bird watching. Truly one of the best simple pleasures nature bring us daily.
Written October 25, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Dan
New York City, NY81 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2013 • Family
Great Point is a national treasure and just gorgeous. It takes a real effort to get out there. You can't just take any old 4 wheel drive vehicle. I wouldn't attempt it in a Subaru or any old 4WD sedan or wagon...it had better be able to handle deep, soft sand. When in doubt about your car, forget it! Then there's the option of renting a jeep that has a permit (though you have to pay a $35 fee at the entrance to the road if you are using a rental): but for the sake of yourself, your pocketbook, and the experience of fellow visitors, unless you are experienced driving in sand, forget it...there isn't a trip I've ever made out there without running across some amateur who doesn't know how to do it, either getting stranded in a rut, or not knowing how to handle backing up to accomodate the fact that there are a few one-lane stretches in which someone has to back up and find a wider place for the other to pass. If you want to go out there, get the Trustees of Reservations to take you out in their van... it's very pleasant and the tour guides really know the natural history of the place and are eager to share.
Written August 30, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 188
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Great Point Light - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Nantucket HotelsNantucket Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Nantucket
All things to do in Nantucket
Theater & Concerts in NantucketZoos & Aquariums in Nantucket
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars