Traventuria
Cultural Tours • Historical & Heritage Tours • Hiking & Camping Tours • Nature & Wildlife Tours • Day Trips
Read more
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Sunday
7:00 AM - 10:30 PM
About
Sofia, Bulgaria

Awards
Travelers' Choice
2022

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Traventuria
Bus Tours
6+ hours
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Recommended by 93% of travelers
This number is based on the percentage of all Tripadvisor reviews for this product that have a bubble rating of 4 or higher
from
$21.27
per adult
Cable Car Tours
6+ hours
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Recommended by 93% of travelers
This number is based on the percentage of all Tripadvisor reviews for this product that have a bubble rating of 4 or higher
from
$31.92
per adult
Travelers talk about
(189 reviews)
(56 reviews)
(21 reviews)
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
1,385 reviews
Excellent
1,110
Very good
194
Average
48
Poor
13
Terrible
22

debtate
Norton, UK26 contributions
Jul 2022 • Friends
A group of us did the Week long Peaks and Lakes of the Purin and Rila mountains tour which had been rearranged since covid. Our guide Kamen picked us up at airport with our driver Rosen.
Cannot fault the organisation of the whole tour from start to finish it was beyond excellent , the hotels were basic but adequate, the food good, but the icing on the cake was the absolute beauty of the lakes and mountains of Bulgaria , some of the best hikes we’ d ever done all lead by the expertise of Kamen.
I would not hesitate in recommending this tour, we are seasoned hikers so didn’t find any of the hikes particularly challenging but they may have been to a novice hiker.
We were also taken to Rila Monastry and Kamen’s knowledge was fantastic, explaining in detail what everything meant.
The whole tour was a fantastic, memorable experience , Thankyou Traventuria 😁
Written August 3, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Active5
Toronto, Canada4 contributions
Jun 2022 • Solo
We had an amazing time on our self guided 8 day Tour du Mont Blanc trip with Traventuria(Also known as Innwalking). Everything happened as it should have. The hotels were clean, comfortable and many in stunning locations. (The mountain views from the Hotel Splendide in Champex were simply beautiful) , breakfasts and dinners were generous and tasty and there were always vegan options available. Refuge Mottets was a highlight. We found the itinerary book and map provided by Traventuria to be extremely helpful. We had no trouble getting around the area. The weather was very warm and we were able to do all the higher altitude hikes as there was really almost no snow left. Our trip started on June 18, 2022. Going clockwise was the best. Having done it that way now I can’t imagine being in the long train of people going in the other direction each day.
Thank you for putting together a great experience for it. It truly was a trip of a lifetime.
Written July 10, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TraventuriaAdmin
Dear Kathy! Thank you for sharing your thoughts with others! We really value your time! We hope you will join us again for a tour or two! Safe travels, Maria Kamenova
Written July 15, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dreamplango
boston, ma102 contributions
Jul 2021
We booked a 6 day self guided hiking tour with Traventuria and everything was great. The transportaion was dependable, on-time and efficient. The hkes were as described and the route maps were very detailed and easy to follow. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. We made some changes mid-trip and the communcation response was quick and accommodating. We throughly enjoyed our adventure to Bulgaria and I would recommend this travel company to anyone that wants to hike in Bulgaria.
Written August 22, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Friend, Thank you for valuing the work of our team. We are glad that we met your expectations. Best regards, Nadya Korunova, Traventuria team
Written April 27, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

keenest
Victoria45 contributions
May 2022
We made a hefty 400 Euro deposit on walking in the Tyrol (2 people). The site is still showing this walk available, even though it is not available. They charged us $62 Canadian just to make an inquiry. An outrageous scam, IMHO.
If the trip is not available for that date, it shouldn't be shown on their website.
So we are out $62 for nothing.
Warning others away from this company.

To make this review, a date entry was required. May 2022 is when this company scammed us.
Written May 23, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your review and please accept an apology if our booking conditions have not been clear, as they are for most of our customers. However we find it strange that you question certain booking conditions, which you explicitly agreed upon by yourself when booking online the tour on our website. For the sake of truth I need to say that you were charged 300 Euros (150 per person) and not 400 Euros. But this is just the first of the misleading "facts" on your review. You booked a self-guided your in Austria with us. Above all potential dates, available to book online on our website, it is clearly stated that "The dates as listed below do not correspond with real-time availability!". As an addition, during the booking process, you read and confirmed by yourself that the Important Instructions textbox saying that : "Note that we never check accommodations for availability in the first place, as by the time clients (potentially) decide to book, rooms may be gone. To start a reservation process, we require a deposit payment (150 Euros/person, payable online by card/PayPal). If there is availability we will let you know within a few business days (normally 3-7, rarely more if your booking is last minute, falls within peak season or involves hard to reach mountain accommodations). If there is no availability we will also let you know, and refund the deposits paid (minus 15 Euros/person for bank transaction charges)." Although rarely, it happens that certain last minute bookings cannot be confirmed due to lack of availability. You were given the options to reschedule or change the tour which you declined. As a result 15 Euros per person fee were deducted when issuing your refund (needless to say the refund was done within 24hrs of cancellation). Obviously you do not realize that card processors charge taxes for each payment. Same for refunds. This is why we are forced to charge minimal respective fees too, meant to cover irrevocable expenses . Again I need to say that you agreed on these conditions when making the online booking. And posting misleading warnings to other customers is by no means fair given your own actions just a few days back in time. My advise, when having issues to understand and comply with simple booking conditions, is to contact the agency beforehand and make sure you understand them well before placing an order. This will save a lot of hassle at both ends. With best regards, Ivailo Nikolov
Written May 28, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jonathan P
Turriff, UK23 contributions
Jul 2022
My wife and I did an 8 day self guided (In the Footsteps of Orpheus) walking tour. We booked it before COVID so have waited more than 2 years, but it was more than worth the wait. Traventuria are so professional, everything before and during the holiday was so well planned and organised. The accommodation and food was excellent, and the drivers were all very helpful and friendly. We knew nothing of the Rhodopes mountain area in Bulgaria but when you arrive you are given notes, maps and GPS files that make navigation very straightforward. Each day averages about 6 hours / 20km walking and the walking is fairly straightforward (well marked trails). We wore fairly light weight walking boots which were more than adequate, and just had a small day pack - refilling water along the way was very easy. We have come home with very good memories of the landscape and the people of the Rhodopes mountain region. On our last day when we were in Sofia we chose to do a guided walk to Mount Vitosha and the Cherni Vrah summit and again the guide was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Traventuria should be commended for being such positive ambassadors for Bulgaria.
Written July 18, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

S R
Los Angeles, CA56 contributions
Jun 2022
We did a full day private tour for our family with the wonderful guide Lubomir Botev of Traventuria. We left Sofia around 9am and returned close to 5 or 6pm. Lubo speaks perfect English and taught us so much about the history and culture of the Rila Monastery and the cave where St. Ivan Rilski spent much of his life. The hike up to the Cave is moderate with a few slightly steep parts. Along the drive, we also learned many things about Bulgaria and the areas we were driving through. Not only is Lubo a very intelligent guide, he made the tour enjoyable for our kids as well, sampling some of the yogurt made near the Monastery. The Monastery is really a must see during a visit to Bulgaria and we were lucky to see it this way instead of in a larger group. We ate lunch at a wonderful river-side restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed the whole day! Highly recommend this!
Written July 14, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Friend! Thank you for the amazing and detailed review that you gave of our service and the sights seen. Lubo is happy to know he was an important part of your day! Looking forward to many new trips! Safe travels, Maria Kamenova
Written July 15, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Chris M
Germany9 contributions
Apr 2015 • Couples
We have booked a day trip with Traventuria for Saturday, 4th April 2015, to see the Rila Monastery (a 120 kilometers away from Sofia) and Boyana Church in the suburbs of Sofa. The tour was indicated to start from Alexander-Nevskiy-Square just next to the Cathedral and sought to last from 9 am until 5 pm.

Our guides Zveto and Rado are friendly guys, but finally we were no longer able to enjoy the tour for the following reasons:

Our departure from Nevsky-Square was delayed by 25 minutes because we were waiting to pick up other guests arriving late to the meeting point. Afterwards, our bus was making a detour to Ramada Hotel (next to the Railway Station) to pick up other guests there so that we left the city as late as 10 am and arrived at Rila Monastery at 12:40 am. We left the Monastery then at 2:45 pm.

Straight at the beginning of the trip (still in Sofia), we told Zveto that we had tickets for the Sofia Opera that evening at 7 pm and asked him whether there would be any problems to be back in Sofia on time. We were explained that we would be back at Nevsky-Square at around 5:30 pm. This would have allowed us to have a quick dinner and to change our dress.

Even though traffic was trouble-free, we had difficulties to be back on time and communication in this regard was very poor and disappointing. At around 6:10 pm we were still stuck in Sofia traffic and Zveto told us that the bus was returning the group to the hotel at first and that we could take the metro ourselves. We replied that this would generate additional cost even though we had paid for the trip (the cost of 25 Euro plus 8 Leva entrance fee for Boyana church is not pocket money in Bulgaria). The answer was that we should consider that a metro ticket was not expensive (!). Even though we had not seen any police controls, Zveto argued that such kind of controls had caused our delayed departure in the morning. We consider this to be a pretext.

Finally, we were dropped off at 'European Union' metro station at 6:20 pm (80 minutes delayed with no clear perspective when to arrive at Nevsky-Square), took the metro to Serdika station (being there at 6:35 pm) and ran to the Opera house where we arrived at 6:48 pm, 12 minutes ahead of the ballett performance without having had a quick dinner and dressed in our ordinary day clothes.

The delay and the communication thereof made our day trip and the opera visit rather stressful and spoiled the day. It is understood that things can always go wrong und unpredictable things do happen. But what we expect is reliable and honnest behaviour, not pretexts and ignorance. At least we would have expected them to say: we are sorry for the delay, but we will pay you the leva for the metro trip as compensation. Instead we were put off with pretexts and the information that the metro was not expensive.

This is why we recommend Traventuria to re-evaluate their communication towards customers.
Written April 14, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Chris, Thank you very much for taking the time to express your constructive criticism and writing your comments regarding the tour to Rila Monastery and Boyana Church on the 4th of April. This is the 5th year we are running the excursion to the two above mentioned UNESCO sites. Usually this is a small group tour with 5-8 tourists enjoying an individualistic approach from our guides. The 4th of April, due to the Easter holidays, we had a record of customers (48 pers from over 25 different countries) who booked the tour. I have taken the managers decision not to stop the sales the day before, since most of our valued customers had only this day for a day trip outside of Sofia. I personally helped with some of the hotel pick-ups in the morning so that the tour can start on time. There were no police that were checking the documents of the bus, but employees from the Bulgarian automobile administration. This is a rarely executed procedure of checking the documents, but it took exactly 17 minutes, from 9:05 until 9:22. This delay was beyond our possibility to address in advance and to mitigate accordingly. Definitely there has been a delay in the tour, which was not well communicated with you by Tsetso. Tsetso explained to me that you wanted to get off the bus and take the metro for a faster transport to the center. Please accept my teams and my personal apologies for the ill communication during the tour. Please also contact us for the reimbursement of 1 lv per person for the Metro tickets. I hope you will still remain with good memories of Bulgaria and its cultural sights. Be well and all the best!
Written April 20, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Daniel G
San Francisco, CA6 contributions
Apr 2014 • Solo
Last minute decision on my part to see Rila Monastery, hotel desk called and made a reservation for me for the following morning. Triton arrived on time, greeted me in very warm and friendly manner. Showed into the van and off I went to Boyana church and Rila Monastery. Triton was not just a driver he was tour guide and provide some interesting facts along the way. On the return instead of taking the route going he took through some back roads that provided some amazing views of the Rila Mountains and picturesque views of vineyards, fields and old villages. Because of my experience with Trifon, again on the spur of the moment, I asked if I could another trip the next morning with Traventuria. He made a call and got a booking for the next day. Amazing service!
Written April 4, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Daniel, I would like to express my gratitude to the fact that you shared your experience with the Tripadvisor society. It is nice, motivating and pleasant to read a good review of a member of our team. We are looking forward to seeing you again in Bulgaria! Regards, Ameliya
Written July 25, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

EllisShuman
Jerusalem, Israel64 contributions
Jul 2019 • Solo
I first visited the Seven Rila Lakes in 2010 and dreamed of going back. This time, though, I wanted to take a longer hike and to see as much of the Bulgarian mountains as possible. I signed up with Traventuria for the “Peaks and lakes of the Pirin and Rila mountains” (8 days).

First of all, Traventuria’s organization of the trip was excellent, with attention to all the smallest details. I received ample information before my arrival and the pickup was at the exact time planned. I met the guide – Kaloyan – and the seven other members of our group. We got along fabulously from the start.

The hikes were amazing. Due to weather conditions, the itinerary of the first day was changed as visibility would not have been good on the mountain, but Kaloyan made our forest trek memorable. This also gave my muscles a chance to acclimate to the hiking. There was unseasonably cold and wet weather on some of the other days as well, but that didn’t stop us. We made it to the Vihren, Malyovitsa, and Musala peaks in style.

Accommodations in the family-run guesthouses were comfortable and the food was excellent. Kaloyan made sure that we would have different dinners each night and we ate at a number of local restaurants, giving everyone a chance to experience Bulgarian cuisine. The night of Bulgarian folklore was particularly enjoyable.

Kaloyan kept us going at a pace that was comfortable for all members of the group and his explanations of the country’s culture, history, and nature were knowledgeable and interesting. His professionalism made everything go according to clockwork and we were never rushed, getting a good chance to take in the amazing scenery and fully enjoy the experience.

Overall, the hike was a trip of a lifetime, the fulfillment of all my expectations and dreams. I highly recommend Traventuria as a company and Kaloyan in particular as a guide.
Written July 23, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Ellis, Thank you for booking with Traventuria! Also, thank you for the good words and the review! We are looking forward to servicing you in the future! Best Regards Ameliya
Written August 13, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Balthier33
28 contributions
Nov 2018 • Solo
I decided to join Konstanza (the guide) and the other people who, as me, booked this daily tour because if you go to Bulgaria, you cannot avoid to visit the magnificent Rila Monastery. The tour was very good, the guide excellent (she speaks english perfectly, besides she's pleasant to listen to and well-prepared) and the places we visited were really worthy. I definitively recommend it!
Written November 23, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello! Thank you so much for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time on our tour. We work really hard to offer the best customer service so I am happy to see that reflected on your visit. We at Traventuria are doing our best to present Bulgaria's culture and nature at its best. Thank you for your high appreciation of our services. It means a lot to us. We hope to welcome you again in Bulgaria. There is plenty more to discover. Regards, Ameliya
Written August 12, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,034

Traventuria (Sofia) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go