Peru Hop
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Sunday
11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
About
Peru Hop is a hop on-hop off bus. It's the most fun, flexible, and safe way of discovering the magic of Peru by bus. Our fleet of modern & safe guided buses take you to not only the famed tourist destinations but also to the small hidden gems off the beaten path. Hop on & hop off as you please with passes valid for 1 year.
Lima, Peru

Awards
Travelers' Choice
2024

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Peru Hop
Travelers talk about
(339 reviews)
(787 reviews)
(31 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles9,433 reviews
Excellent
8,070
Very good
889
Average
234
Poor
103
Terrible
136

Joanna S
Burnley173 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019 • Couples
We’re glad we used Peru Hop to get around during our trip. As we were against a tight schedule to get from Lima to Cusco in 3 days we opted for the ‘get to Cusco quick’ tour in which we stopped in Paracas for a night, Huacachina for a night, a short stop in Nazca and briefly stopped in Arequipa and Puno on the way. The journey between Huacachina and Cusco was long but we had regular stops for meals (all restaurants had good food and were reasonably priced) and some photo opportunities. The bus itself was comfortable and our guide Renzo was faultless - really nice guy and really helpful! Having previously travelled on my own and as part of a planned tour I found Peru Hop a good ‘in between’ - it has the safety and hassle free structure of a tour but the flexibility of travelling alone as you can hop on and off as you please and stay in destinations as long as you want. The discounts at restaurants and hostels are good too and it’s very easy to book accommodation and tours through the tour guide. It’s obviously more expensive than taking public buses but with the discounts we believe we spent £40 each more than we would have on public buses. This is quite steep when on a traveller budget but due to our tight schedule and the promise of safe travel we decided to pay the extra. The only thing I would point out is when we booked we were under the impression we would travel straight from Nazca to Cusco, making the final leg of our journey quicker, however it transpired we would need to travel via Arequipa and Puno - I believe this was a miscommunication at the booking stage though
Written January 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello Joanna, Thank you for choosing Peru Hop and writing a great review! We are delighted to hear you had a great time during your trip and that Renzo did a fantastic job! He will be more than happy to hear he exceeded your expectations! Also, thank you for the feedback, we are working hard to make improvements every day so your feedback its really useful! Thanks again for your review, all the best with your future travels! The Peru Hop Team
Written January 6, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Potatie
Harrogate, UK117 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2022 • Couples
If you're wondering if Peru Hop is worth the money in comparison to other tour operators, let me tell you...it is. On arriving in Lima we booked the full bus ticket to La Paz (cost around £230) as we wanted a safe, reliable and easy way to navigate around the expanse of Peru, and they certainly delivered. Peru Hop is totally ideal for anyone wanting to get to the main sights such as Huacachina, Cusco, Lake Titicana etc, plus they offer loads of very reasonably priced day trips and excursions. At all times we felt safe and looked after, which is a big thing when you read some horror stories or hear from other travellers. Our bags were looked after as were we and honestly it's the best way to get around. You have a full year tomise your bus ticket meaning you can either follow their itinerary if you're short or time, or you can stay longer in the places you like the most.

My only pieces of advice for anyone using Peru Hop would be:

1. When on the bus make sure you get seats away from the toilet. Any journey beyond 3 hours and they absolutely hum, the smell of urine is overpowering. Oh and bring your own loo roll as it runs out fast!!

2. If your guide says the bus is leaving at 5.10am...add an hour to that minimum. I've heard of Peru time but P.Hop takes it to the next level. From Arequipa to Cusco we were told to be at the collection point for 5am...we didn't leave until 6.20am meaning an hour and 20 minute wait on the pavement when we could have been in bed!

3. Bring snacks and water on any journey as stops can be very infrequent.
Written November 17, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Josh B
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2022
My husband and I traveled with Peru Hop on their "Get to Cusco Quick" trip. The preset itinerary and optional add-on packages were convenient and reasonably priced.

After arriving in Lima, we rode the Peru Hop bus down the coast to Paracas where we took a boat tour of the Ballestas Islands and a bus tour of the Paracas National Reserve. The natural beauty of the area was one of the highlights of our trip. Our guides, Alex and Melanie, had excellent recommendations for additional excursions, restaurants, and activities. In addition to the sea lions and penguins of the Ballestas, we were able to see flamingoes and dolphins just outside of the reserve.

After Paracas, Peru Hop took us to the desert oasis of Huacachina where we rode dune buggies, sand boarded, and enjoyed the night life. The dune buggies were exhilarating and the views of the desert breathtaking, but like other reviewers, we had our concerns about our safety during the dune buggy ride. The next day, Peru Hop took us on two amazing excursions to a Pisco winery and a tejas making class. After a night of drinking at the hostels, these two tours were well worth getting up early for.

From Ica, Peru Hop took us to Nazca for a view of the Nazca Lines and a bus transfer to Cusco. We opted to view the lines from the tower (included in our bus ticket) rather than take a plane ride. The viewing tower was more than sufficient and by skipping the plane ride we were able to take part in the winery and tejas tours in Ica.

While the bus ride from Nazca to Cusco was extremely long, the bus was comfortable and felt safe even on the winding roads through the mountains. With "Get to Cusco Quick," you skip the Arequipa and Puno visits prior to going to Cusco. If we had more time, we definitely would have done the longer trip to those cities.

Upon arriving in Cusco, our time with Peru Hop came to an end. We made several new friends along the way, including our outstanding guide, Melanie. We would recommend Peru Hop to anyone looking to see as much of Peru as possible in a convenient, cost effective way. Their friendly, knowledgeable guides are what really make Peru Hop worth the time and money - and the best way to see Peru.
Written March 11, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Elisa
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Solo
Mixed feelings.
First of all Peru Hop sure can be the right thing for you to do, while visiting Peru. But it sure is not suitable for everyone. I wouldn't do it again.
In the beginning I compared the prices of the Peruvian Bus companies and tours with the all in all price of Peru Hop and I was surprised, that there ws only a difference of 15 or 20 $. But what I didn't thought about was that the local Buses have definitely better seating options (with some foid for free), than PeruHop does (cama, semi cama).

The thing is that in some busses they had semi-cama seats on the first and normal seats at the second level, but everybody paid the same, but some could sleep and some didn't.

It sure was very nice to have someone on board who does know something about the places to visit and has tips for you, but I relly felt like in primary school, when they explained you where to find the USB, how to use the light and the toilet and told you like 20 minutes before we arrived to pack our stuff. But I mean I'm used to do or think about those things on my own after traveling for some months. If you can't deal with complicated situations on your own, than PeruHop is the best thing to do for you.

The thing with the Drop off and Pick up. Worked out fine, but but when I need to wait for this "easy way" nearly half an hour at the bus station in Cusco, because they first need to wave five more taxis off the street, cause there were not enough for us all. I could have taken as well a taxi in that time or in case of other citys, I could have walked that.
But I didn't need to worry about getting a cab, so that's not that bad anyway. But I felt extremely lazy. And I do not like that feeling.

By taking PeruHop you have for sure a easy and safe, but very tourist-like trip to Peru. But do not think, that those things that you get to see is the real Peru. For that please take at least once a local bus, have a chat with the taxi driver, eat the local food (it doesn't need to be cuy) and visit please at least one city thats not in Peru hop, cause it sure will be less touristic.
Written February 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi foxelii, Thanks for taking the time to review our service. We are glad to read that you enjoyed having a local guide on board who could tell you about the country you were travelling in from a Peruvians perspective. We are delighted to know as well that you felt safe with us as this is our number one priority. Nonetheless, we are, of course, sad to read that we did not fulfill your expectations. We would like to comment on the raised points of yours. You suggest that the readers should take a public bus. We know some public companies can have excellent buses, just bare in mind if things go wrong (punctures, delays, safety, etc) then their customer service is famous for being far from the standard that we pride ourselves on. Not only is their customers service often poor, but their safety record is too. We invite you as well as the reader to check out any public bus company Trip Advisor Page and then we will let it be up to the reader if they want to travel with them. Nor do all buses in Peru have cama seats as you mention. Additionally, you mention that public companies include food in the price. This is frozen food warmed in a microwave. We believe our passengers deserve fresh food. Therefore, we do not serve food on the bus, but we stop at restaurants along the way, restaurants that have good quality food at a very fair price. We also find it important to mention that we do not wave taxis. These are arranged before your arrival with a trusted and safe company in order to take you safe and sound to your accommodation as we are legally not allowed to carry out drop offs in Cusco with our big bus. Lastly, in terms of the school trip comment, then just like any flight company, then you are told where the features on the vehicle are and to prepare for arrival. Our mission is to provide a safe fun and flexible way to travel around Peru, making new friends and experiencing places you simply would not get to see if you travel by public bus. You will not get these things if traveling with a public company. However, of course, if you just want to travel from city to city and not see anything else, eat microwaved food and take a potentially dangerous taxi on the street maybe we are not for you. However, thanks for choosing to travel with us. Even though you did not fully enjoy it, it was a pleasure having you onboard. We hope you had a great time in our beautiful country.
Written February 26, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sarah
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Solo
I did Peru Hop in January and February 2020. The best part is the hotel pick-up they were very punctual and you never had to worry about getting to/from the bus terminal. I travelled on my own and met great people. The guides were very helpful and gave tips at each stop. I felt very safe throughout the journey. The buses were rather comfortable and they gave out blankets. Just keep in mind the time shedule can change due to traffic so buses were not always on time. What would be nice in the future is baggage tags and a control who takes which bag.
Written February 7, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Sarah, Thank you for choosing Peru Hop and writing a great review! We are more than happy to hear you had a great time travelling with us! As you have experienced, our buses are a great way to meet other people and often we host people who have traveled alone but then continue their travels together with others to Bolivia or Chile having met on Peru Hop. Thank you again for your review, all the best with your future travels! The Peru Hop Team
Written February 14, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Melissa & Reuben
Nashville, TN54 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 • Couples
The company mostly offered what they outline in the deal, but the "deals" on tours aren't really deals since they are the same cost or more than what youth can get on your own locally. Additionally, the time savings on pickup and drop off at hostels doesn't pan out since you have to wait on everyone to get picked up and dropped off. Furthermore, the buses are not very comfortable, especially when comparing them to the more comfortable and less expensive than this bus. The very worst part was our trip from Puno to Arequipa. They sell it as an overnight trip but really, they split you in two buses (that don't lay back BTW...so good luck sleeping!), waking you up in the middle and rushing you on to another bus...blech and eh..
Written March 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi teachersonhiatus, We are glad to read that you feel we offer what we outline. In terms of the deals, as mentioned on the website and as well on the bus, then we never claim that we work with the cheapest operators nor hotels. We work with hotels that give the best quality service at a fair price. Throughout the years we have tried a dozen of hotels, restaurants and tour operators, and we truly believe the ones we work with are the real value for money. Remember, in Peru, quality is often reflected in the price. Nonetheless, if you have some concrete feedback, then we are always open to listening. As for the pick-ups, this is a feature we are very proud of as we make sure that our passengers depart safely. We are, of course, sad to read that you did not appreciate the service as much as your fellow hopsters. Lastly, all our buses come with the features described on our website. We truly believe that we have a comfortable fleet of buses, but we also know some public companies can have excellent buses, just bare in mind if things go wrong (punctures, delays, safety, etc) then their customer service is famous for being far from the standard that we pride ourselves on. We invite you as well as the reader to check out any public bus company Trip Advisor Page and then we will let it be up to the reader if they want to travel with them. Thanks for choosing to travel with us. It has been a pleasure!
Written March 30, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Karina R
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 • Couples
The ride from Copacabana to Cusco was great - the buses are extremely comfy and it was great to see that there were two drivers at each time. I felt safe the entire time and it was actually super nice to take the long ride that I thought initially would be exhausting. Due to the great seats (you can almost lay), it was a good experience.
Also great that you can book trips in the bus and that they take care of the pickup and drop off, very convenient!
The only minor thing is that the guides seem to be trained to say 'my friends' and 'guys' in every sentence - this was a bit irritating if all sentences start or end like this on a tour that goes for quite some hours.
Written March 8, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Mikhail F
Haarlem, The Netherlands52 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022 • Couples
In short (more details below): poor communication, inconvenient buses, irresponsible driving, deceptive itineraries.

For those ready to read a longer version…
1. The site looks good, and produced a wrong impression that it’s a trustworthy company. The problems did start immediately after the booking though, since we decided to book extra tours via Peru Hop, incl. Machu Picchu. You cannot select desired dates, they just contact you after a few days saying, oh, sorry, we no longer have tickets for MP for that month, but we could arrange something for extra payment. And even after you confirm (since you already paid and there’s no way back), it takes several days and multiple calls to get any information. It’s worth mentioning that we don’t speak Spanish, which might have affected the poor communication.
2. The buses are by no means proper sleeping buses. Yes, the seats can be reclined at 45 deg, but there’s not enough space for legs even if you are only 176cm tall. So you can’t really sleep.
3. Considering horrible roads between Arequipa and Cusco, which surely no one warns you about, and the fact that the driver goes at 80-90 kmh through the serpentine road climbing the altitude of 4400m in less than 24 hours since you started at the sea level… you are guaranteed to feel sick. Our itinerary didn’t even mention that we would be going all the way through Arequipa and Puno, instead we were told we would go directly to Cusco from Nasca.
4. The only reason I’m giving 2 stars is because of our tour guide Claudia who did try her best to resolve some of the issues along the way.
Written November 5, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Angela F
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022 • Couples
I just got home from Peru and love that I was able to travel to many cities within a week and a half.
I would like to thank CLAUDIA for helping us through each city and also giving us a tour and sharing information/history of each city we stopped at. My boyfriend and I did the south route from Lima to Cusco. I highly recommend booking Peru hop and they also have discounted/free tours :)
Written August 25, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Julienne C
Malta7 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Solo
Experience in general was great, very well organised and brilliant customer service including via email, replies were thorough and instant. Pick up and drop offs from hostel were also very convenient and save money.

Recommendations for improvement - Some of Cusela busses were very old and dirty. From 2 overnight bus experiences , one was extremely comfortable and one was less comfortable as seats didn’t recline so much.

Overall great service and totally recommend.
Written February 14, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 8,338

Peru Hop - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Lima HotelsLima Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Lima
All things to do in Lima
Day Trips in Lima
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars