We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ayni Peru Expedition

Cusco, Peru
More
About Ayni Peru Expedition
Ayni Peru Expedition is a responsible trek and tour operator based in Cusco, Peru. The programs we offer cover everything from well known areas throughout the Southern Andes, to remote trek routes and archaeological ruins that few operators offer. Our goal is to provide our clients with unique and memorable travel experiences and professional, timely, and secure service. As a responsible travel company, we prioritize local goods and services and work with the communities we visit to develop and improve our trips and their impact on local residents and the environment.
Read more
Closes in 9 min
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours

Ayni Peru Expedition
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
80Reviews0Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 78
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Andrea V wrote a review Jan 2020
12 contributions1 helpful vote
Where to begin when a client asks for itinerary for a private tour they booked one would expect to receive it we were refused to be given any info and Amanda just told us look at our site you find everything . This is a lie because the site just gives a general view of which sites one visits but it does not mention where the homestay is when the local activity takes places etc. Our guide was not informed by Amanda we wanted to do star gazing. But according to her our homestay was tide to the stargazing ( homestay was more than one hour away from the station thus needing us to wake up at 4 to make it to the train!! ) Our guide said we can go on the roof if we want to see stars. If I want to see stars this way u can do it anywhere. We were told homestay vary we were told activity might change due to weather but the weather was bad in any case so there was nothing to be seen. In fact we went on another tour in Manu where despite not having stargazing activity we have had the best view of the sky. It was all a lie and not a local experience. We would strongly suggest to book elsewhere because this is just a rip off. We were booked in a horrible room in aguas calientes while other guests had much better ones as per pictures on the internet. The difference from one to another is literally 20usd but it's all about how you treat your clients. Amanda could not be bothered. She just can't be bothered to do her job. When you pay nearly 2000 for this trip you expect something. We enjoyed Machu Picchu of course but we could have enjoyed it without booking with this rip off of an agency. We were offered 20 USD refund what a joke. As if my time wasted would be made better with 20 Additionally bring water supplies for three days as nowhere during the trip we could refill our bottles so yet another lie other guides were even varying water but when we asked during lunch wee wee told there is no water and we can buy after we are done with the activities!
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Ayni-Peru, Owner at Ayni Peru Expedition
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Hi Andrea, As you have read in the multiple email conversations we´ve had, we´re very sorry you are unsatisfied with the experience. However, it is impossible for you to review a tour if you didn´t experience any of it apart from the Machu Picchu portion. You didn´t visit the homestay community or host family. You didn´t hike the Inca Trail. By your choice, these activities were cancelled at the last minute. Furthermore, Ayni received messages containing rude, personally insulting, threatening and untrue statements from you and your partner throughout your time in Cusco. This made things difficult to resolve; our attempts to help were met with personal insults and untrue statements. Again, we´re sorry that you didn´t enjoy the tour that you partially participated in. As mentioned to you at the time, your perspective would likely have been different if you had done the homestay and/or Inca Trail hike. Ideally, Tripadvisor wouldn´t publish reviews from clients that use insults and threats, including threats of writing negative reviews online.
Read more
Lyvern S wrote a review Aug 2019
28 contributions7 helpful votes
This tour has been one of our best yet because Simon our guide was so knowledgeable and willing to tell us about different sites and cultural traditions as we passed through the country side and villages. We chose the tour as part of preparation for our Salkantay Trek to see how we'd go hiking at altitude, the ruins are at 3645 meters, I think this was a good plan. I would highly recommend this tour.
Read more
1 Helpful vote1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from Ayni-Peru, Manager at Ayni Peru Expedition
Responded Aug 18, 2019
Thanks for your review. We´re so happy that you enjoyed the tour and hike!
Read more
Lott wrote a review Jul 2019
5 contributions1 helpful vote
big THANKS Simeon - the amazing guide a cook - chef magician Raymond - reliable mediator the trip was secured really professionally
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Marco_Trekkilandia wrote a review Jul 2019
Padua, Italia5 contributions2 helpful votes
Travelling with Ayni Perù means being sure that your trip and holidays become an experience and good memories for the rest of your life. Since the moment you get in touch with Amanda you feel you're in good and expert hands, precise and quick responses and always atentive to every request; than you get to Cusco and you meet up with Domingo, a smiley and cheerfull man who arranges all the logistics and takes care of last minute changes. During the trip Mario and Huber make sure you're doing great and you're enjoying every corner of the marvellous landscape you bump into. Trekking with Ayni is the best and funny part though!! Arrieros are kind and local people who make sure every morning you wake up with a cup of hot tea and the cousine of Julio Cesar is even better than whatever you can try and eat in Cusco city center itself. Man, this guy is a wonderfull chef and can bake a cake even in campsite-kitchen conditions!!! We travelled with a group of 7 italians for two weeks, visited Cusco, Sacred Valley, the beautiful ruins of Pisac, Ollantaytambo, Maras and Moray; climbed up to breathtaking Machu Picchu Mountains from where the Vilcanota river winds its way through craggy and lush peaks, trekked for 6 days the challenging route of Vinicunca-Ausangate which was particularly and wonderfully taylor made for us and ended up our journey at Titicaca Lake and the city of Puno. Not as single details have been missed and everything worked excellently and smoothly. If you travel to Cusco area and the Southeast of Perù this is the company to travel with Looking forward to meeting you next year guys Saludos Marco
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Neeva wrote a review May 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Everything was wonderful from the quality of the transportation to every detail of the service. Domingo and his team were very professional, courteous and attentive. The vans were immaculate and our drivers were excellent. We felt very safe and comfortable at all times. Domingo is extremely knowledgeable on the local history, customs and with the landscape. He also has a great sense of humor. We learned a lot and had a lot of fun along the way.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous