We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sumac Coca Travel, Day Tours

#1,039 of 2,090 Tours in Cusco
Cusco, Peru
More
About Sumac Coca Travel, Day Tours
We are a travel agency that offer a mystical experience in Cusco and jungle in Peru, we offer Ayahuasca ceremonies and retreat about Ayahuasca and San Pedro ceremonies. We work with native shaman from the Amazon and Andean shaman.
Read more

Sumac Coca Travel, Day Tours
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
19Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 15
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
  • 1
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
From_Victoria_BC wrote a review Mar 2019
Victoria140 contributions39 helpful votes
+1
I am sorry to hear what the most recent reviewer said about her experience with this company’s freelance tour operators. After 10 years of solo female travel, I am really happy now to have a travel buddy. Yes, there’s less independence, but also less uncalled for and uncomfortable encounters. Hopefully her experience hasn’t turned her off from solo travel. I decided to put my trust the universe and book a San Pedro ceremony through Sumac with Elisa and ended up having one of my best days in Cusco! A beautiful and breathtaking experience with the shaman Andres and his friends where we relaxed and hiked around Rumi Wasi (part of Sacsayhuamán). They played their musical instruments beautifully and I learned more about the plant medicine culture and ceremonial practices. We ate a spiritually-nourishing picnic lunch of fruit and then closed the evening with tea and a delicious home cooked meal at Andres’ masters’ house. I wasn’t expecting that amount of hospitality and it was really touching. During the day the shaman and his friends were a complete gentleman, always checking in and making sure I was okay since it was my first experience with wachuma. Elisa at Sumac was also lovely and supportive, asking how my experience was, rather than just taking my money and forgetting about me. My favourite memory was meditating in the caves of Rumi Wasi, just like our Peruvian ancestors would have done.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2019
Helpful
Share
amberhh89 wrote a review Oct 2018
Amsterdam, The Netherlands2 contributions
I have had a bad experience with this travel company, so I would recommend to book somewhere else, like OkiDoki Travel. The people I have travelled with to Machu Picchu have very good experience with OkiDoki. My story with Sumac Coca travel as a solo female traveller in her late 20´s: I was excited to visit Machu Picchu doing a four day Inca Jungle trek ending at the ancient Inca city. I booked the tour with John and Elisa, as they seem trustworthy and the reviews were good. The night before the tour I got a bad fever, but as I texted John about what to do he said to go on the tour and try to feel better soon, since he couldn´t change the tourdates anymore. I decided to skip the first activity of mountain biking and stayed in the bus to recover. This brings me to the first problem during the tour: during the mountain biking one of the brakes and a saddle broke of, causing an accident for the guy on the bike. Thankfully he was allright, but the tourguide Carlos did not respons well to the accident. He claimed it was the guys own fault for going to fast and being to heavy (the guy was maybe 75kg). This caused a lot of emotions in the group, as Carlos did not let them tell their story and just cycled on. Luckily the guy is allright, but this experience gave me fear for the rest of the trip. After more talking with Carlos about the accident the couple decided to let it be and take it up with their travel agent (OkiDoki), who handled it well. According to Carlos the travel guide and Sumac Coca travel, the responsibility of having good bikes is not theirs. Also they reminded me that I was not on one of the bikes, and therefore I have no right to complain about the quality of the bikes. However, if I would have felt good enough I would have been on the bikes and maybe an accident would have happened to me. Their way of thinking and their lack of responsibility shows an incapability of organizing a quality tour for people looking for a safe and special experience. The rest of the day went well, I went to the hostel and the group went rafting (which I already didn´t book). From what I´ve heard there were no complaints about the rafting. The next night I had a fever again and the next morning I decided not to go on the trek, but to go to St. Teresa directly with a local taxi. Arriving there, I was checked in by a young guy in San Jose hostel, who showed me to my dorm. I asked him to wash some of my clothes that had gotten dirty during the sweaty nights. After an hour I started to feel better and took a shower. When I got out, the guy of the hostel came into my room unannounced and I yelled I´m not ready and closed the door half dressed. In 5 seconds (me still getting dressed) he got in again, grabbed my arm and put his finger over his lips as to silence me. This was obviously an act of forcing himself upon me and I screamed and was able to reach for the door. The guy snapped out of his intentions and apologized. The damage was already done and I contacted John about his actions. The guy from the hostel begged me not to say anything to anyone, because he has a daughter. But actions like this may not be left unrevealed. John immediately sent his cousin Edison to help me, although he did not speak any English. Without going into more detail about what happened, John did help me that day by transporting me to the next town, which was Aguas Calientes. What he did not do was to book a train for me, so I had to walk (while I was still sick) from Hydroelectrica to Aguas Calientes. When I later confronted him with this, he kept referring to the incident in the hostel as ´my problem´ which would not have happened if I just had gone with my tourgroup on the trek. Although he himself had advised me to go to the hostel and to skip the trekking the second day. Obviously the guy from the hostel should never have behaved like this and it is in no way acceptable to say that this is my problem. John did not take any responsibility when I pointed out he is accountable to book me a decent and trustworthy hostel to begin with. He says his responsibility stops when he hires Carlos the tourguide. Also Carlos does not take any responsibility. John has changed my hostel in Aguas Calientes for a private room and has sent me a female tourguide for Machu Picchu the next day. He was helpful in that. It´s mostly the lack of ability to accept constructive feedback about the quality of the tour and the way they see what happened to me in Hostel San Jose in St. Teresa that makes be very unhappy with the service of Sumac Coca travel. I know women are seen as less than men in a country like Peru, but to actually experience it with a travel agent in a touristic town as Cusco, is awful and I wish this to nobody. In the end, when I confronted John with my experiences, he said I was lying about things, that it was my own problem for being sick and for having the horrible experience in the hostel in St. Teresa. He offered me a $20 refund, while I asked for more, since I missed a lot and the quality of the tour was not as they had projected it. Also he wanted me to sign a form saying that I was happy with everything that happened. Of course I did not agree with this, and therefore I am informing my fellow travelers about the way Sumac Coca travel operates. Conclusion: if you want a good travel agent and good tourguide, don´t book with Sumac Coca travel or with Machu Picchu Express (this company hires freelancers to be guides, Carlos was one of them).
Read more
Date of experience: October 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sumac C, Gerente at Sumac Coca Travel, Day Tours
Responded Jun 8, 2019
Buenos días. A la pasajera que trata de manchar la imagen en esta opinión de le dio todas las facilidades Primero ella estaba mal, pero la decisión de cancelar era en la mañana ósea ya a la última hora quería cancelar cuando ya todo estaba listo, y eso implicaba no show, pero ella dijo que no hacía bicicleta y continuó, luego el segundo día se le dio transporte privado gratuito para Santa Teresa por que tampoco quería caminar, llego al hostal y tenía que esperar al grupo que llegara, ella acusó a un joven de 17 años de intento de violacion el cual según investigación policial concluyeron que la acusación era falsa, por que el joven que le atendió sólo quería devolver la ropa que mando a lavar que por cierto tampoco nunca pago, por el Problema tuvimos que asistirlo todo el tiempo para que no se sienta mal, se le brindó transporte privado para continuar y no tenga problemas con la gente del hostal, incluso se le dijo para que se quedara y pudieran hacer la denuncia de la policia sobre su supuesta intento de violacion QUE FUE FALSO y la policia lo consideró a la señorita una persona PARONOICA ENFERMA que trataba de perjudicar a un pobre joven trabajador del hotel en Santa Teresa para simplemente no pagar por su servicio, llegó a Machupicchu pueblo hizo el tour con un grupo privado fuera del grupo de caminata y terminó bien, todo el tiempo asistido por personal de la agencia para su comodidad, después ella misma agradeció por toda la asistencia pero a pesar de todos los servicios ofrecidos adicionales gratis por ayudarla ella al regresar a cusco aún quería que se le dé DINERO, como agentes de viaje ya conocemos gente como ella para no pagar servicios y tratar de viajar gratis, ahora también el tema de sus enfermedad ella una noche antes estaba bien, y no sabemos cómo en una noche se enfermó si fue a comer a lugares insalubres por no pagar una comida sana o salió alguna fiesta. Pero Sadie le presionó a salir al tour ella quiso hacerlo. Y de todo el grupo todos terminaron bien pero ella trataba siempre de cuestionar al grupo para hacer lo que ella hacía, malograr el trabajo del grupo. Pero es una pena tener gente así en el mundo, pero simplemente indicamos que no interesa el comentario de esta persona, solo que es una lastima que haya personas como ella en el mundo que hasta perjudicó a un trabajador de 17 años en el hotel indicándolo de violador eso si ya es muy bajo
Read more
Northstarnwt wrote a review May 2017
Elk Point, Canada6 contributions
Very detailed and professional service. Highly recommended if your looking to book a trip in Cusco!!
Read more
Date of experience: May 2017
Helpful
Share
ilsegalvan wrote a review Jan 2017
Houston, Texas11 contributions
+1
There's no words to describe how awesome this company is. They are super honest, best prices and very professional. John has a lot of knowledge and is very helpful. Best company not just in Cusco but in Lima!! Gracias John.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from Sumac C, Gerente at Sumac Coca Travel, Day Tours
Responded Jan 25, 2017
Muchas gracias por vuestro feedback, nos alegra mucho. somos una agencia tratando de humanizar nuestro trabajo. Muchas gracias allí estamos para cualquier cosa para ti y tus amigos.
Read more
drreneeb wrote a review Jun 2016
Honolulu, Hawaii1 contribution2 helpful votes
I was not impressed with the ceremony, especially considering the price I paid. I had let you guys know from the beginning that my husband wouldn't be participating--just being present--yet he still had to pay what amounted to an unfair price for simply being there. Moreover, the "guide" was unprofessional, and the medicinal plant must have been very diluted. The guide did ask about my experience but did not suggest recommendations when I said I felt nothing. Rather, he went outside with another "guide" to smoke marijuana (without an invite to join in). I have nothing against marijuana, but given the situation and the experience promised, I would not recommend this to others.
Read more
Date of experience: May 2016
Helpful
Share
Response from Sumac C, Manager at Sumac Coca Travel, Day Tours
Responded Jun 16, 2016
hello. sorry for this bad experience, acoording for the shaman he said everything was ok, and we dont have you report in the moment, becouse if the ceremonies are bad, we tray to do one ceremony extra free or back your money becouse is very important for us your happy ceremony, you had our email to give us the report and we can give you one ceremony extra with another shaman, we have 03 shamans but we dont now about your bad experience, but remember no all the ceremonies are visionary, some bodies only have a cleaning becouse the body dont like to recive in the moment the ayahuasca plant, this ceremonies are with energy inside. but sorry again we did not recive you report on time. normally when the people are no good, we back your money and dont pay the shaman, but in this case we paid the shaman allready.
Read more
Previous
12