We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About Kusa Treks
Kusa Treks provides hassle free, unforgettable and professionally guided tours of Machu Picchu and Cusco, along with life-changing treks on the Inca Trail, Choquequirao and many other incredible destinations in Peru and the Galapagos.
Open Now
Hours Today: 12:00 AM - 10:59 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
190Reviews0Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 184
  • 3
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
RCas wrote a review Apr 2020
Virginia Beach, Virginia3 contributions
This review is only based on my experience with their customer service. Due to unforseen circumstances my group was not able to go on our scheduled trek. My group originally booked the Inca Trail, but due to heavy rains the trail was washed out and closed for the entire first half of March. Kusa Treks helped us arrange an alternative route through Salkantay with almost zero effort from us. But as fate would have it, an avalanche would also destroy that trail in late February. Without missing a beat, Kusa Treks offered us a full refund on our deposits and offered to hold our tickets to Machu Picchu. And once again we were struck with bad luck. COVID-19 was declared a global pandemic. As we scrambled to leave Peru, airbnbs and uber drivers refused to take us simply because we were foreigners. I notified Kusa Treks we would not be able to use the Machu Picchu tickets and without a beat they offered us a refund. We were shocked with how easy it was! In the face of bad weather, a global pandemic, and an over abundance of bad luck, it seemed like the only good luck we had was picking Kusa Treks. Know that when everything that could go wrong, goes wrong, they won't leave you hanging. Would 100% recommend them to anyone!!
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Rachel G wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
My husband and I learned of Kusa Treks via a family member who'd used their services recently. When I reached out to Michael at Kusa, he very promptly sent me an itinerary based on our interests, which included Machu Picchu and Lake Titicaca. He, Megan, and Erik provided excellent communication. All transfers were on time, and our tour of Machu Picchu with Jimmy was fantastic. I really felt more connected to Machu Picchu after having Jimmy as our guide. There were only a couple times of miscommunication, but this was resolved quickly and without damaging the relationship. We were even refunded a lunch that had been on our original itinerary but we did not have, for one reason or another. Overall, I would definitely recommend Kusa to anyone traveling in Peru. They provide excellent service based on the client's interests, communicate well, and put the client first.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Rodolfo S wrote a review Jan 2020
Washington DC, District of Columbia2 contributions4 helpful votes
Kusa Treks is without a doubt the best guided hiking experience I have ever had. My girlfriend and I were accompanied by a three member team: Davis (guide), Juan Carlos (chef), and Walter (porter). Their positive energy and work ethic are what made this trip unforgettable. They ensured we were one step ahead of the other tour company groups, all so that we could enjoy and take in nature in isolation. Davis as a guide is unmatched, he earnestly put our safety and best interests first at all times: we could put our complete trust in him. His discipline and kind spirit made him someone who was a pleasure to be around, he represents all the best that Peru has to offer. We ate better than we did anywhere else in Peru, thanks to Juan Carlos. Taking into consideration specific dietary restrictions, his attention to detail made for meals of several courses that were well thought out, all the while showcasing local cuisine. Walter did more than what is expected of a Porter. He woke us up every morning with a smile and coca tea, he laid out our belongings the way we liked without us having to ask. When we encountered a landslide along our hiking route, he was one of the first people attending to the fallen rocks so that local people (and our supplies) could make it to their next destination safely. These are the kind of individuals that make Peru beautiful and whom you want watching over you, thank you Kusa Treks!
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
TravelDocta wrote a review Jan 2020
28 contributions13 helpful votes
My husband and I met Michael from Kusa Treks at the Travel and Adventure Show in DC, and we decided to use them to schedule a visit to Peru. While our itinerary was not complicated, the process was not as seamless as it should have been. While it was easy getting information initially, I had to reach out several times in the planning process when I was not getting responses to emails. This was made more frustrating by the fact that we were assigned a person to help with details and not only did she provide misinformation, but she was also not very attentive to queries. I soon asked to work directly with Michael and he apologized for our issues with his colleague, and was our point of contact from that point forward. Upon arrival in Peru, we were able to coordinate a separate pick up for my husband, who unexpectedly had to arrive the next day. Michael was very accommodating with providing this service, for which I was very appreciative. However, it wasn't until we were on our way back to the airport the next day that we were told that there would be an extra fee for this. We were fine with being charged, but not fine with how and when we were told this. This information should have been told to me when the second pick up was confirmed...and an email that I sent to Michael about this went unacknowledged, and when I mentioned it to Erik (our Peru contact) in person, his response was underwhelming, to say the least, indicating that he did not see this as an issue or problem. The rest of the tour went relatively well. Eduardo was a great tour guide, and is the reason why this review is a 3 and not lower, which the rest of this experience deserves. He was very informative and friendly, and aside from an additional (minor) instance of not being transparent about cost, the tour itself was fine. The end of our itinerary included a pick up from our hotel for a transfer to the airport. All other pick ups were early or on time, so, when our driver still hadn't shown at 10 minutes after the scheduled pick up time, I sent a message to Erik (our Peru contact). I waited a few minutes and when I didn't hear back from him, I appealed to our hotel, which ended up arranging a taxi for us. Not surprisingly, literally 5 seconds after the hotel clerk got off the phone with him, Erik called me back to let me know that the driver was "two minutes away." If he came, it was after our taxi arrived to pick us up, about 20 min after our scheduled pick up time. All in all, I would definitely consider doing another tour with Eduardo again, but I would not positively endorse Kusa Treks...
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from KusaTreks, General Manager at Kusa Treks
Responded Feb 12, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write a review traveld0cta. I am very sorry to see that you did not have a 5-star experience on your trip with us. I apologize that your trip to Peru was not enhanced through our services. However, I would like to take this opportunity to address some of the concerns you had with our company as I believe your complaints unfairly depict the series of events of your trip as well as the quality of our service. The first complaint you mention in your review was out of our control. As a result of your own planning we had to accommodate a second transfer for your husband because his passport expired too close to your return date, forcing him to be delayed and having to take a different flight that landed in the early hours the following morning. Our local team in Lima handled this request seamlessly and picked you, and later your husband, up from the airport with no issue or delays from our staff. Naturally, having to arrange for an additional service resulted in an additional cost. This cost was communicated to you in person the following day by the owner of our company (Erik). It should not have been a surprise, given that you required two transfers when you initially paid for one. I am very glad to hear that the entire reason you went to Peru, to experience the tours that we provide, went well. Eduardo is one of the many local Peruvians that we hire as guides and I am glad that "he was very informative and friendly", and that you "would definitely consider doing another tour with Eduardo again". Once again, as this is the main reason you went to Peru, I am so happy that our services exceeded your expectations. For the second complaint, we understand that traffic patterns in Peru can be unpredictable. We try to remind our customers to expect delays. Your driver was delayed that day because of an unplanned transportation strike. Following your trip, we offered to reimburse you for the taxi that you had to take to make up for this inconvenience. Again, I am sorry, that in your opinion, your trip was such a disappointment. However, it is my obligation as a member of this company to defend our reputation when incorrectly and unjustifiably criticized.
Read more
Steve Yarbrough wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
My wife set up this trip up with Kusa Treks because she wanted me to take our son to Peru in an effort to get him to embrace his Peruvian culture. Thanks to Kusa Treks, mission accomplished!! As my 17 yr stated towards the end of the trip; " Dad, this was a once in a lifetime experience for me!!" From the Hiram Bingham train ride through the Andean mountains, to the attentive owner, Erik, in Cusco and our most excellent guide Elmer in Machu Picchu who explained to Tyler the greatness of his the Inka culture. Elmer went above and beyond to insure our trip was a complete success! Our travel to the Galapagos was an education in the sciences and the theory of evolution and we got some diving in too! Tyler believes that any dive hereafter will never measure up to what he saw in the Galapagos; Hammerheads, white and black tip sharks, Galapagos sharks, marine tortoises, sea lions, schools of Barracudas, blue footed Boobies, 13 speices of land tortoises, marine iguanas, the lava tunnels, and the Charles Darwin Research center. The guides on the islands, Andrea and Valerio were excellent as well. Valerio has even offer to assist Tyler if he wants to return as an intern and the Research Center. Kusa Treks, personnel were excellent across the board; Michael, Meaghan providing the administrative support; Erik monitoring that our trip was a success, to the most knowledgeable guides, and all the drivers that got us from place to place. This was my 6th trip to Machu Picchu and 2nd trip to the Galapagos; but this may be one of my most memorable visits.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from KusaTreks, Owner at Kusa Treks
Responded Jan 10, 2020
Wow! Thank you so much for the this amazing review! I am so glad that we were able to help you and your son experience the culture and wonders of Peru! Additionally, I am glad that you enjoyed your diving trip to the Galapagos. A 5-star review from someone so well traveled is such a great honor! Thank you!
Read more
Previous