Ailola Quito Spanish School

Ailola Quito Spanish School

Ailola Quito Spanish School
5
9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Write a review
About
Kick off your South American adventure with a 1-day Spanish course in Quito! While you might want to stay longer, it's a perfect way to get a taste of our Spanish classes and prepare yourself for more rewarding travel experiences. After your 3-hour Spanish class, we'll take you on a city tour through historic Quito and to Mitad del Mundo with a Spanish or English speaking Guide. Saturday, 08-11am
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience Ailola Quito Spanish School and nearby attractions

See what other travelers are saying
  • Adventurer610595
    Quito, Ecuador1 contribution
    Spanish Lessons in Quito
    Excellent school with very good teachers. Classes are in Spanish: no English! - the best way to learn. Perfect balance of speaking and learning grammar. Full itinerary of excursions you can join, and staff extremely helpful if you want to organise your own.
    Hola Adventurer, Thank you for sharing your experience learning Spanish at Ailola Quito, we are happy to read your review and your good comments about our teachers and our service. Furthermore we are so glad that you enjoyed your Spanish program and got the best out of it. Keep on practicing and please remember we'd love to have you back. All the best, The Ailola Quito Team
    Written February 11, 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Written February 7, 2020
  • 828anon
    Tel Aviv, Israel1 contribution
    Highly recommended
    An amazing language school! We were picked up at the airport on arrival by the owner and someone also met us at our hostel to walk to school on the first morning. Great teachers and friendly helpful staff. Love the many activities which they organise over the week to fully immerse you into the culture. We were also given a lot of helpful travel tips for Ecuador. Would definitely go back again.
    Hola 828anon! Thank you for recommending Ailola Quito and for appreciating the details for the experience of your overall Spanish program. We do hope to see you again in any of our options in Ecuador to continue perfecting your Spanish and to get to visit many more great places around. Keep on practicing and all the best from the Ailola Quito Team!
    Written January 24, 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Written January 22, 2020
  • Isaak H
    1 contribution
    A really good school
    I studied for 3 weeks at Ailola, 2 weeks in Quito and 1 week in Otavalo. All the teachers I had were really excellent - Angelica, Tania , Zaira, and Carlos in Otavalo. I knew a bit of Spanish before I arrived in Ecuador but left knowing a lot more. I especially enjoyed my stay in Otavalo.
    Hola Isaak, We hope you are well. Thank you for your review and great recommendation. It is fantastic that you got the chance to enjoy more than one of our locations and get to know more about the culture, the language and apply what you learned at Ailola Quito, we are very happy to read that you enjoyed it and that it contributed a lot to the improvement of your Spanish. We hope to see you again in a near future continuing your course Online or to further get to experience another of the programs we have available in Ecuador. All the best for you from the Ailola Quito Team
    Written January 26, 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Written March 20, 2020
These reviews are the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor checks reviews for fraud.
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

5.0
227 reviews
Excellent
207
Very good
16
Average
3
Poor
1
Terrible
0

Tessagovers
Quito, Ecuador2 contributions
Dec 2019
First I went to another school (which I really didn’t like). I reached out to this school, they let me join a free lesson to give me an impression and I really liked it! After that, I joined this school for three weeks and I really improved my spanish. There are good teachers and nice activities with other students besides the lessons.
Written January 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hola Tessagovers, Thank you sharing your experience learning Spanish with Ailola Quito, we appreciate it. It is great to know you enjoyed the program we prepared for you and that you improved your Spanish! We hope to see you again in a near future, keep on practicing Spanish and all the best. The Ailola Quito Team
Written January 24, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

mccsa189
Palmerston North, New Zealand12 contributions
Jul 2016 • Solo
Spent 2 weeks at the school as will be travelling round South America for 3 months and wanted to get some basic Spanish.
The school was easy to email and arrange things with. Classes were organised, would recommend the one on one lessons. I learnt a lot!
The office staff also sooo helpful in changing money, organising tours, directions on how to catch a local bus etc, printing tickets.
I stayed with a local family and they were lovely, though they spoke no English, although it was daunting at first it forced me to practice at home.
Only negative was the director who does the airport pick ups can get a bit stressed/appear rude to students when picking them up from the airports (was a common discussion/point from new arrivals) so don't be put off if that happens. He was fine with me but others felt like this.
Written July 15, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hola Mccsa189, Many thanks for your review. I'm very glad that you shared your opinion and even more that you enjoyed your stay and our staff could help you in all your matters. Thanks for pointing out the critique some students apparently had with the airport pickup. I forwarded it to our school director. I don't have any insights into it right now. We had a driver who was responsible for the airport pickup who is now doing most of our tours and activity programs. So our director jumped in. Since he is quite busy, it might have sounded rude in some cases to some students but it was never meant that way. I wish you an awesome trip through South America! Enjoy it, Philip and the Ailola Quito team
Written July 24, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Suzanne
2 contributions
May 2017
I had a great experience taking a 1 day Spanish class. My dear teacher, Daniella, was a wonderful instructor---clear, kind, encouraging.

We spent the morning reviewing vocabulary and conjugating verbs. She gently encouraged me to try sentences and reply in Spanish to her questions.

we lunched together --all in Spanish-- then toured a bit of the old city-- all in Spanish--- before heading back for an hour or so of more book work.

The day sparked my desire to learn more. The people were kind and the school welcoming.

Highly recommend.
Written May 15, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello, Thanks so much for your feedback. Really awesome to hear that you have enjoyed our program! One day is indeed a very short period to learn or improve Spanish but you experienced that even during an intensive day you can do a lot: Course, lunch and city tour - everything in Spanish ;-) It would be so great if you would have had more time to teach you more Spanish - hopefully on another day. I wish you all the best. Enjoy Ecuador and speaking Spanish. Philip and the Ailola Quito team
Written May 17, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ravi A
Toronto, Canada106 contributions
Mar 2017 • Solo
I was picked up at Airport by the Director of education and brought to my homestay family. The family was very nice to me for the two week duration that I was there.

The school has good facilities in the heart of historical Quito. They provide coffee and bread at break. Wednesday is tour day, Tuesday is salsa and they can provide additional excursions at extra charge. The excursions are well priced and very good. I took one to CotoPaxi the volcano for climbing and downhill biking. Another day I did Otavalo. Both trips were excellent.

I highly recommend the school. I have been to only one other in Costa Rica and Ailola was a much better experience.
Written March 28, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Ravi, It's awesome to read that you enjoyed your stay with Ailola Quito and used the time to discover Ecuador during some excursions. You are welcome to join us anytime at our schools in Quito, Otavalo, Buenos Aires or Madrid to further improve your Spanish. Some day you'll speak like a native ;-) I wish you all the best, Philip and the Ailola Quito team
Written March 29, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ian
11 contributions
Feb 2017 • Solo
I was at Ailola two weeks. The school itself is professional and has a very good learning atmosphere. The teachers are hit or miss, though. My second week I had a very good teacher and learned a lot. My first week I had one of the worst teachers I have ever had, and certainly the worst Spanish teacher. If I had been stuck with him the second week I would have canceled my classes.
The school was understanding and reassured me that I would have a different teacher the next week, and all my friends in other classes liked their teachers. But for my own personal experience, half my time at Ailola was very much a waste.
Written March 11, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Ian, Thanks so much for your open words and sharing the info. I understand that you haven't been happy at all with your teacher in the first week and I'm very glad that we have been able to better match your expectations in your second week. I know that live classes always depend a lot on the teacher, his or her personality and competency. We have spoken today with the teacher and discussed how we can improve the situation. That doesn't help you now but for future students it will. Still I hope that you have been able to enjoy the overall program and been able to improve your Spanish. I also hope that you will take back some great memories. Should you decide to take further classes with us in the future, rest assured that we have your teacher preferences now and we will consider that ;-) All the best, Philip and the Ailola Quito team
Written March 13, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

PharmaConsultant
Cozumel, Mexico21 contributions
Sep 2016 • Solo
I highly recommend this Spanish School. I basically did a month of private classes (7 hours each day) and was amazed at the ease of learning and the pace at which I was able to pick things up.

Zayra (teacher) was amazing and I can't wait to get back.
Written March 6, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hola, Thanks so much for your awesome review and joining our Medical Spanish Program. With 7 private lessons per day you have been able to improve your Spanish a lot. I hope that it will be very useful in your future career and trips to Spanish-speaking countries. It was a great time having you at our school. Keep on learning Spanish! All the best, Philip and the Ailola Quito team
Written March 13, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Cody S
8 contributions
Nov 2016 • Friends
I was fortunate to be able to be picked up from the airport in
Quito by the academic director of the school. This made me feel very
welcome to a new country, and that I was in good hands. Following the
ride from the airport, the director brought me to my host family, a
wonderful Ecuadorian lady who is full of energy! While not in class, we
found ourselves conversing in Spanish nonstop and she found it a great
pleasure to show me around the city and to introduce me to her friends.
She was of more help than I could explain in this feedback letter. As
for class, we were greeted each morning by the teachers and
administrators of the school. My personal class was a 4-hr segment, with
a 'pausa' or break, at 11am. Everyday, we were served tea, coffee,
fruits, and fresh breads from the bakery across the street. This was a
wonderful time to meet new friends to see the city or take weekend trips
with. When not in class or studying Spanish, there was always things to
do. From the 'teleforico' a gondola to 14,000 ft Mt Pinchencha, to going
to the local markets and breweries, I always had my hands full!
Overall, the school was an extrodinary find, and I reccomend it to
anyone who desires to learn Spanish in a professional, safe, and fun
environment.
Written November 21, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Cody, Thanks so much for your great review. Awesome that you chose us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your whole program from pickup over the Spanish course to the host family. Don't miss to visit us again when you should return to Ecuador some day. Keep on learning Spanish! All the best, Philip and the Ailola Quito team
Written November 23, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

MJKeenan89
Seattle, WA21 contributions
Oct 2016 • Friends
My girlfriend and I attended the Ailola School in Quito for one week and it was so good we added a second week! We decided to go to the Otavalo location for our second week so we could continue exploring Ecuador while we learn Spanish. I started with almost no Spanish (except si, no, and una cervesa pot favor) but the teachers were very patient and enthusiastic. My teacher Zayra was awesome. She kept class interesting for the whole morning which I'm sure can be a struggle. The school also has some extra activities they organize which were fun to do with others at the school. I even went to the salsa classes which were a lot of fun - despite my lack of rhythm or the basic ability to keep a beat.
Written October 14, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello MJ Keenan, Thanks a lot for your awesome feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Zayra will love your comment, too. It sounds that you have used your time at the fullest: Quito, Otavalo, Salsa, other activities, and "una cerveza por favor" is also important ;-) It's sad that you left. Shall you revisit Ecuador or travel to another country with a Ailola Lingua school, you are always welcome. Spanish in the Amazon or on the Galapagos are great programs, too ;-) Keep on learning Spanish. All the best, Philip and the Ailola Quito team
Written October 23, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Andrew J
Salt Lake City, UT33 contributions
Feb 2016 • Couples
From my initial contact with the school via the Internet I knew that I was working with a very professional organization. My wife and I set up a 4 day private instruction consisting of 20 hours of class on the front end of our vacation to Ecuador. Eugenio who is the director of the school made it a point to meet with us on a Sunday after we landed to evaluate our language skills. Monday morning we were perfectly matched with Mrs. Angelica who was our instructor for the following 4 days. Our learning experience was top tier and the facilities and staff were top notch. The school even helped us coordinate our travels to the Galápagos with Aliola Travel. Our vacation to Ecuador was incredible thanks to our Spanish instruction at Instituto Superior de Espanol and Ailola Travel!
Written February 20, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Andrew, Many thanks for reviewing our school. It's great to hear that we have been able to meet your expectations. The Galapagos Islands are truly a magic place. Our intern has been there just a couple of weeks ago and posted a short video on our YouTube page. Should you decide to return some day to Ecuador, don't miss to visit us. We wish you all the best and keep on learning Spanish. Saludos, Philip and the Ailola Quito team
Written February 23, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Daniel B
Hartford, CT4 contributions
Nov 2015 • Solo
I have been taking Immersion Spanish Courses for the past 8 years and have been to many different countries trying to learn Spanish. I can honestly say that I have learned more in my nine days at the Ailola Quito Spanish School than in all my previous years of study. The school is incredibly conducive to learning. I am something of a loner but this place allows for every possible positive experience. I went on a tour arranged by the school that was fabulous which was an immense help in understanding the culture of the country which put my studies in a better context. The family nature of the school was not off putting at all for me and propelled me to learn more. I have the most incredible teacher ever. I say "have" because I could not wait to finish my classes to start writing about my wonderful experience with the school. My teacher is Zayra and I have never found a teacher who could listen so intently and masterfully pluck my error, like a seasoned surgeon and turn it into a lesson. Being willing to return to material already covered was a huge help for me as well. Instead of having a lesson on the subjunctive and concentrating on it exclusively, Zayra wove in all of my weaknesses into her lessons. Most importantly her lessons were based on my weaknesses while maintaining a structure that proved to be the perfect balance for me. She even took her lunch hour to walk with me and teach me while exploring the Basilica together. That was an unforgettable lunch hour. The entire staff was so accommodating. Mario is in charge of keeping the place afloat. He is a Saint, very amusing and ALWAYS willing to help. There was a confusion one day with my lessons and within 3 minutes he had it all resolved. He was able to reach the director who was on vacation and solve everything. The school did nothing but try to please me and make me feel special. Valeria runs the office and is extremely efficient and let me tease her often. I HIGHLY recommend this school and pray that I can return someday. It has been the most COMPLETE learning experience I have ever had. I am very sorry to be leaving in two days!
Written November 18, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Daniel, Well, what should I say or better where shall I begin? A really big thank you for your awesome feedback garnished with your anecdotes. I extremely enjoyed reading it. And yes, we are also very sorry to see you leaving. We would be more than happy if you return to us some day. In this sense, I wish you all the best! Philip and the Ailola Quito team
Written November 20, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 177
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Ailola Quito Spanish School - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

Frequently Asked Questions about Ailola Quito Spanish School

Ailola Quito Spanish School is open:
  • Mon - Fri 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Buy tickets in advance on Tripadvisor. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel at least 24 hours before the start date of your tour for a full refund.

We recommend booking Ailola Quito Spanish School tours ahead of time to secure your spot. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel up to 24 hours before your tour starts for a full refund. See all 5 Ailola Quito Spanish School tours on Tripadvisor

According to Tripadvisor travelers, these are the best ways to experience Ailola Quito Spanish School: See all Ailola Quito Spanish School experiences on Tripadvisor


Restaurants near Ailola Quito Spanish School: View all restaurants near Ailola Quito Spanish School on Tripadvisor