We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Navimag

Diego Portales 2000 | 1st Floor, Puerto Montt 5505800, Chile
+56 2 2869 9900
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Bad Experience with a Car

First, we had great weather and booked a AAA cabin. It was comfortable and relatively clean. We... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Cooper F
Puerto Chacabuco to Puerto Montt Car Ferry

We took the 24 hour ferry ride from Puerto Chacabuco to Puerto Montt with our rental car for the... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
baafreo
via mobile
Read all 296 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Connecting the Chilean Patagonia through the southern fjords. Come and join us in a different travel experience #traveldifferent
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good36%
  • Average12%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible14%
Travelers talk about
“puerto eden” (18 reviews)
“open sea” (10 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM, 2:30 PM - 6:30 PM
LOCATION
Diego Portales 2000 | 1st Floor, Puerto Montt 5505800, Chile
CONTACT
Website
+56 2 2869 9900
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First, we had great weather and booked a AAA cabin. It was comfortable and relatively clean. We brought our own food on board which was nice to have as alternative to the food served - the food they provided wasn't bad and would get the...More

1  Thank Cooper F
Manager N, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Navimag, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your valuable feedback, help us improve.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We took the 24 hour ferry ride from Puerto Chacabuco to Puerto Montt with our rental car for the return trip from our Carratera Austral tour to Santiago. Whilst it was challenging and an unknown to us facilitated by broken English and broken Spanish we...More

Thank baafreo
Manager N, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Navimag, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments, we are glad you understand the meaning of traveling by ferry, and have had a good experience. ☺️

Reviewed January 13, 2018

We took the Navimag Ferry from Purto Montt to Chacabuco January 11 2018. The weather was mostly sunny. Great trip highly recommended. Since the ferry was not full our cabin was upgraded. Lots of fog and clouds made the scenery change frequently. Passed close to...More

Thank Brosie50
Manager N, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Navimag, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments, we are glad that you had a good experience. ☺️

Reviewed January 6, 2018

We chose to take the ferry from Puerto Montt to Puerto Chacabuco as an interesting way to travel the long distance to Coyhaique in Patagonia. Hoping to see mountain vistas and interesting wildlife we were rather let down by the rainy, cloudy weather on the...More

Thank Veeined
Manager N, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Navimag, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2018

Thank you for your comments, we are glad that you had a good experience.

Reviewed December 21, 2017 via mobile

We took the ferry from Puerto Chacabuco. It is advertised as leaving at 18.00 and we were told to report for embarkation at 16.00. They load cargo first so at 18.15 we were still sitting waiting. We finally left at 21.00. We had calm weather...More

Thank Lizzieflint
Manager N, Public Relations Manager at Navimag, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2018

We're sorry that the trip did not live up to your expectations. We will take your feedback into consideration.

Reviewed December 14, 2017 via mobile

I regret this trip so much. Out of my 3 months traveling in S. América these 4 days were the worst: wasted 4 days stuck on an old boat with no entertainment, cheap food, non existent scenery which they promise. I met great people on...More

Thank Svetlana T
Manager N, Public Relations Manager at Navimag, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2018

We're sorry that the trip did not live up to your expectations. Sailing through the fjords is a beautiful experience appreciated by many of our passengers who understand that it takes place on a ferry, and not a cruise boat, making it a non-mainstream activity....More

A TripAdvisor Member
152
Reviewed December 9, 2017 via mobile

First thing is you have to remember this is a ferry transporting lorries through Patagonia not a luxury cruise liner. That aside it is great fun and very relaxing. There is not a lot to do apart from enjoy the view which is the real...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Manager N, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Navimag, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2017

Thank you for your comments, we are glad that you had a good experience in general with our ferry and crew. 👍

Reviewed November 26, 2017

We were on our way north from Punta Arenas after an Antarctic Expedition trip that was fantastic and seemed we had already seen the best of the trip, But the Navimag ferry surprised us. We only found out about the ferry on the day before...More

1  Thank Koalainak
Manager N, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Navimag, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Thank you very much for your comments!! This season we are making an effort to provide better services to our customers and we are glad that you enjoyed the trip, and the “slow travel” experience.

Reviewed November 22, 2017

After reading reviews we went with little expectation. However we were all more than happy with the experience. It was a little late leaving but this is a working ferry not a pleasure cruise. The staff were fantastic motivated and keen to please. Great lectures...More

4  Thank Marysia M
Manager N, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Navimag, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2017

Thank you very much for your comments, we are glad to know that you enjoyed the trip. 👍👍

Reviewed November 6, 2017

Quick background: we sailed from Puerto Natales to Puerto Montt in early November booked in a two bed cabin. We we were fortunate to have really good weather for all three days of the trip (if it had been as bad, as it apparently was...More

3  Thank as85718
Manager N, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Navimag, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Hello, we appreciate your comments, Thank you for sharing your experience!

PreviousNext
12345617
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 22 hotels in Puerto Montt
Hostal Vista Hermosa
17 reviews
.07 miles away
Ibis Puerto Montt
15 reviews
.21 miles away
Hotel Costa Bahia
32 reviews
.24 miles away
Hotel Terrazas del Mar
31 reviews
.28 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
El Fogon de Pepe
462 reviews
.50 miles away
Restaurant Nana Bahamonde
114 reviews
.46 miles away
Da Alessandro
332 reviews
.52 miles away
Japon Del Lago El Arte Del Sabor
172 reviews
.46 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Volcan Osorno
1,653 reviews
.58 miles away
Angelmo
1,355 reviews
.76 miles away
Catedral de Puerto Montt
309 reviews
.35 miles away
Mall Paseo Costanera
317 reviews
.93 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
JeffreyVictoriaBC
January 10, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Manager N | Property representative |
Hello Jeffrey, the Puerto Montt trip rate to Puerto Natales and vice versa varies according to the type of cabin you choose, I don't know where you saw that rate of 1000 USD, so I cannot understand what it's mean. If you... More
1
Vote
Google Translation
Geoff_Heather
January 6, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from as85718 | Reviewed this property |
The Navimag communications aren’t very clear! From Puerto Natales, you board the ferry the night before the ferry’s departure. You sleep on the boat so that they can leave early in the morning if necessary. I think we... More
1
Vote
Patricia W
November 24, 2016|
Answer
Response from Roderick S | Reviewed this property |
Navimag is the local way. No hassles, no traumas. No snooty international 4-5 star tourists. The only cheaper way would be to buy your own tinnie or cruiser. Roderick
-1
Votes
PreviousNext
1234569