Yoga Mala

Yoga Mala, Singapore: Hours, Address, Yoga Mala Reviews: 4.5/5

Health Clubs • Yoga & Pilates
Read more
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
8:45 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
7:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Write a review
About
Yoga Mala is a yoga studio located in the heart of Singapore.Yoga Mala practices thoughtful and reflexive yoga to promote both physical and mental well-being.Yoga Mala runs day-to-day yoga classes, teacher training programmes and also focus on community outreach and engagement with all walks of life in an effort to create a more positive environment.
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

The area
Address
Neighborhood: Central Area/City Area
How to get there
  • Raffles Place • 4 min walk
  • Telok Ayer • 6 min walk
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

4.5
34 reviews
Excellent
25
Very good
3
Average
2
Poor
0
Terrible
4

Amanda Mac
1 contribution
Solo
Yoga Mala has reframed what Yoga means to me. I took part in the YTT 200 at the beginning of this year thinking it would be the best way to improve my asana practice. I learned so much more than I bargained for and at such a good rate compared to other studios.

With the small class sizes, I received a lot of care and attention not only to my asana practice but learned to love and value pranayama along with the spiritual teachings. Meditation was something I always wanted to try but struggled with and Raj and Mien really supported us through the journey that I know incorporate it into my daily practice. I would have never thought this possible before this training.

My asana practice also improved as we learned about anatomy and that right muscles to engage when doing the poses. I'm also really comfortable teaching now and much of that is from the feedback I received during the course and through my practice hours.

If you are considering YTT, definitely go with Yoga Mala. The instructors lead a complete practice and you will become a great teacher because if it.
Written November 11, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Neha G
2 contributions
Solo
Honestly speaking i was new to Yoga and wanted to learn it from the most authentic yoga guru. Thank god i found Yoga Mala studio in Singapore. One of my friend referred me to this yoga studio. I wanted to have holistic view of whole yoga experience. Mr. Raj who is the principle instructor suggested me to go through Yoga Teacher Training course. Although i never want to become yoga teacher but i came to know that it is only the way to learn yoga the most authentic way.
Now coming to the whole course it is beautifully divided between course material, daily or weekend classroom practical classes and lastly Yoga Teacher practical training. The whole course is based on body anatomy. I learnt different postures and also its impact of body anatomy. The teaching of Mr. Raj is very simple yet informative. He is very humble and supportive. Now i have returned back to India with knowledge of Yoga. Thanks Yoga Mala and wish you all success ahead.
Written December 18, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

HimanshuBarve
Thane, India1 contribution
Solo
I travel a lot between India and Singapore for business purposes. This time my stay in Singapore was longer than usual so i decided to do something which i have been thinking throughout my life. I got enrolled in yoga teacher training course. It was batch of 6 people and Raj himself conducted the whole course. I just loved the small intimate class size. The whole course had balance of curriculum between philosophy, meditation, asanas & anatomy. There was balance between individual, partner and group work time. There was daily yoga classes, feedback from our teacher and the opportunity to teach 20 hour yoga class for our practicum towards the end of our training!! I honestly thought it was impossible to learn so much in 200 Hours. I have never felt so different and yet so myself at the end of this incredible journey. I really wish Raj, Yoga Mala and whole team best of luck for future.
Written January 18, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

chloesy88
2 contributions
Solo
I had attended their YTTC course and my advice is please do go somewhere else for the YTTC if you want something that is beneficial to you.
I come to their YTTC hoping to learn some interesting aspects about yoga. However, it failed miserably.
The first day of class.They showed us some lengthy yoga history videos about 1 hour plus?? Not too sure about it. Nearly fall asleep. We then discuss about the course, the timing, lectures, assignments and the lists goes on. But to be true, they are not too sure about them as well.
Some students are very enthusiastic as they already know a lot of aspects on yoga. They will asked questions but the teacher will suddenly went disappear??? Or even worse, he will snap at us.
Some students are not English native speaker so they will not be able to conduct their practical with fluent English on her first few practice. The teacher just claimed that she is lazy which hurt the girl badly....( 0.0)
I went for the alignment class. Half a day been spent to observe your friends body parts and video taking. Throw temper at us because not everyone is happy to take the video for the promotion of their center. When it comes to asana alignment, his partner said that I have some asana not doing correctly (adjustment required). However, the teacher just said no time. Not even bother to tell me at all (during the whole duration of the course when I attend the practical and even during the alignment practice).
There are still many other points. If you would like to know more about this course I would be glad to share with you, feel free to write to me in the comments below.
Written October 25, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

jolyene
Southampton, UK58 contributions
Solo
This is a long one, detailing my experience in their Teacher Training Course. In short, please go somewhere else for Yoga Teacher Training and NOT here. Please read for the details and hope it helps you with your decision.

==========================

I joined their part time YTT course for 3 simple reasons - it’s a part time course (I have a full time job), I want to learn about alignments for Yoga poses, and they have a 20 hours practical training in their studio for new students.

Yes, I do learn about alignment and the main course is primarily focused on anatomy and alignment. This is what I wanted, but for others, it felt like there is no balance in terms of the syllabus.

In general, the lecture sessions are not motivating nor enthusiastic. We have to ask and prompt for more information most of the time. Usually when questions are asked, most of the time, it will be asked back to us to get our thoughts. Don’t get me wrong, I see the point in getting us to think of answer, but it felt like we have to “earned” or “work hard” for an answer. Towards the end of the course, we have to request for additional day to come back in to learn about adjustments because they couldn’t complete it in time. For something that they told us will take 2 full days, was then cut down to 6 hours. Of which, 1.5 hours was spent with them asking us for good feedback and video recording us doing that. Some of us were reluctant to do it and informed them that we would prefer to email them instead. The lead trainer gave us a very unhappy face and snapped at one of us when she quietly approached him later. I find this very unprofessional.

Now that we have completed the course, exams and practical test, we have to get on with our 20 hours of practical - teaching in the studio before we can receive our certificate. Unfortunately, I have to move countries, and leaving Singapore for good - which I have informed them 3 months ahead (moving in Dec). Since they were renovating a studio room, I got notice of teaching only in October (1 month later). Since there are only 2 months, and a once a week teaching in their studio, I have brought up that I will only complete 8 classes and couldn’t complete all 20 hours.

Long story short, they have implemented that me and my coursemates to complete 10 hours teaching OUTSIDE of their studio, instead of 20 hours. You may think that - that’s awesome - 10 hours instead of 20 hours. But, we have to video record all of our classes, it has to show our students which most people declined to be videoed. On top of that, we have to search for a venue, arrange for a time where people can come, indemnity forms to be signed - a lot more hassle compared to teaching in their studio. Unfortunately, Yoga Mala did not want to discuss or negotiate anymore with me or my course mates. I find this very irresponsible of a yoga studio. Further to that, we have to schedule us (course mates) to attend each other’s classes just in case no one turns up. Instead of spending 10 hours teaching, based on the schedule, I will be spending a total of 28 hours - teaching and attending my course mates’ classes.

In the end, I wrote to Yoga Mala to say I cannot not complete the 10 hours as they have made changes to the requirement from the time I applied and on the syllabus that they have given me. Since I am moving from Singapore in December, I rather spend quality time with my friends and family, rather than harbouring all these negativity towards this studio. I am very very disappointed with the whole experience.

I have made full payment, passed the written and practical exams and I will NOT receive my certificate because I did not complete my practical teaching hours due to the change of teaching outside of their yoga studio, and video recording students.
Written October 18, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks for taking time in writing your concern. Unfortunately we are sorry to inform you that you did not complete all mandatory requirements of this Yoga Teacher Training Course. We are providing Yoga Alliance USA certification and it has very stringent and mandatory requirements. Looking at your personal problems I already gave you option of doing 10 hours practical Yoga teaching instead of 20 hours. We are here to help you and as I told you before you still have 1 year to complete this 10 hour yoga teaching requirement. Once you are done, we will be very pleased to award you Certification. We sincerely hope that you will not let your emotions affect all that you have worked for in achieving your Yoga Teacher Training Certification.
Written October 24, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

theshe-wolfstory
Singapore, Singapore1 contribution
Solo
I completed Yoga Teacher Training with Yoga Mala, Singapore and I have mixed feelings about this particular training.

First of all, I found that syllabus does not relate to what was introduced during the course – we missed a lot of promised information. Our classes were very slow and the information was not clear, sometimes my classmates and I had to guess what the correct answer is. Instead of demonstrate some correct / incorrect postures, movement of abdomen while doing pranayamas, our teacher just showed us some YouTube videos… I think that is inappropriate for the course.

Secondly, we did not improved in our personal practice at all. Hours for asana practice were reduced to minimum and we practiced asanas for beginners in the main.

Above all, by the end of the course, our teacher said that we can get certificates only after we complete 20 hours of free teaching in the school. After that the school has changed their requirements few times and ended up with 10 hours of teaching BUT outside the school. To prove it we have to provide recorded video, which for me pretty troublesome in terms of finding people who agree to be recorded, find a good camera, tripods, make sure that the full battery will be enough for one hour class, etc.

I hope that this review can help people to make their own decision whether to join the course or not. Also, I hope this review will be helpful for school as well, so they can improve their Yoga Teaching Course.
Written October 25, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks for taking time in writing your concern. Unfortunately we are sorry to inform you that you did not complete all mandatory requirements of this Yoga Teacher Training Course. We are providing Yoga Alliance USA certification and it has very stringent and mandatory requirements. We have checked our student enrollment details and it looks like you are one of 4 students from the same batch where we already gave concession of 10 hours of practical teaching instead of 20 hours. I also take this opportunity to ask you to encourage other 3 fellow mates from your batch to complete this last requirement. We are here to help you and as I told you before you still have 1 year to complete this 10 hour yoga teaching requirement. We sincerely hope that you will not let your emotions affect all that you have worked for in achieving your yoga teacher training certification. Once you are done, we will be very pleased to award you Certification.
Written October 28, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

sk8terboi91
Singapore, Singapore6 contributions
Solo
Hi fellow Yogis, if you are thinking of signing up for their teacher training course, I'd highly recommend you to go some place else to do it. Perhaps their daily yoga classes are very good and effective, however their teacher training course certainly needs major improvement.

To name a few reasons:-

1. We covered around 60% of the syllabus written on the website (old website - they have since revamped it and removed the YTTC content) and in our Training Manual.

2. Most of our time were spent on theoretical learning of the anatomy of asanas. We understand that it is very important to know which muscles groups, plane of movement etc are utilised in a particular asana, but that should NOT take up 90% of our course. More emphasis should be placed on how to teach, guide and adjust students. Eg. What are the common mistakes students make and how to correct them? What words to use to guide them? In fact we only had a 3 hour session at the end of the course to learn how to adjust postures for students, and this was only organised because my friends and I repeatedly requested for an asana posture adjustment clinic to be conducted for us.

3. The course was conducted in a painfully slow manner and we were often left alone in the classroom to "discuss". Teacher often walks out abruptly in the middle of lessons when he has something to see to.

4. We were told to buy 4 books but only actually used 2 of them. If I had known the other two books were not necessary I could have saved about $60. Please do keep this in mind.

5. The teacher tended to push back our questions by saying that he will discuss it later, but he usually doesn't follow up.

6. No proper re-examination plan for students who do not pass their theory and/or practical.

To sum, I feel that the overall YTTC is absolutely not worth it's course fees - not to mention that we have not received our actual certificates as Yoga Mala's requirements are too unrealistic for a working adult.
Well if you have questions please feel free to drop me a message and I will be very happy to help.
Written October 27, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks for taking time in writing your concern. Unfortunately we are sorry to inform you that you did not complete all mandatory requirements of this Yoga Teacher Training Course. We are providing Yoga Alliance USA certification and it has very stringent and mandatory requirements. We have checked our student enrollment details and it looks like you are one of 4 students from the same batch where we already gave concession of 10 hours of practical teaching instead of 20 hours. I also take this opportunity to ask you to encourage other 3 fellow mates from your batch to complete this last requirement. We are here to help you and as I told you before you still have 1 year to complete this 10 hour yoga teaching requirement. We sincerely hope that you will not let your emotions affect all that you have worked for in achieving your yoga teacher training certification. Once you are done, we will be very pleased to award you Certification.
Written October 28, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Lisalondon86
L'Escala, Spain65 contributions
I would not recommend yoga mala for yoga teacher training. I have recently completed the part time 200 hour yoga course and in my opinion, the teaching methods used were neither effective or professional. We only practised yoga for an hour or two per day and the rest of the hours were spent sitting on the hard floor listening to yoga theory on the spiritual aspects and anatomy (important areas, yet heavy in context and incredibly boring unless taught professionally and effectively). None of these lectures were structured, planned, practical or interesting. The days were very long and boring and Raj was quite impatient and rude as a teacher and was not empathetic or caring in nature. He was often very short with our class and the students in it and I even witnessed girls reduced to tears for their yoga teaching practise. Perhaps some of the students would have been more confident in their teaching, had they been taught more effectively and been given more practical experience and sessions for practising yoga on others. Due to medical complications I experienced during my course (which Raj showed no sympathy or consideration towards), I was unable to complete my 10 hours of videos (you must complete these after the course) within 3 months. I then had to pay a $300 late submission fee before receiving my certificate. I am currently five months pregnant and all of this contributed to my late submission but of course was never taken into consideration. I think money is more important as oppose to your wellbeing and quality of the yoga training. Overall, my experience here placed a dark cloud over my love of yoga. As an experienced, qualified primary school teacher, I would have expected more practical and engaging sessions as oppose to listening to a man on Skype or Raj for hours on end, whilst referring only to a basic manual book with a few simple diagrams in. I think YTT could and should be an amazing experience, but somewhere else, not here. It is uninspiring, disengaging and I was very disappointed from start to finish. I would strongly recommend that others go else where and I know my opinion speaks for myself as well as other students who have attended Yoga Mala.
Written October 20, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Lisa, We are sorry to hear about your personal experience which did not align with your expectations. Reading through your review, it seems you are unhappy with the penalty fee imposed. Here is a truthful account of the events. 1. You had 3 months to submit your practical teaching from December 2017-February 2018. You were not pregnant during that period as you claimed you are currently 5 months pregnant now (October 2018). 2. You had not reply to any of our reminders for the practical teaching submission nor had you requested for any extension. 3. The penalty fee was clear. When you finally submitted your practical teachings in September, you were 7 months late from February 2018, of which we only charged you late fee for 6 months. You agreed to the sum in the email which you had to pay before collecting your certificate but never once requested for a waiver. 4. We had actually offered you to teach at the studio to clear your practical teachings, but you rejected the offer, saying that you prefer to teach outside. This could have been avoided entirely. 5. Every teacher teaches different. Not everyone will agree to your method of teaching as well. We teach yoga, we ensure our teachers will teach safely in the future and they understand the discipline of yoga. Our Teacher Training does beyond churning mass market teachers. 6. No one made you or other students cry. We understand you were going through a difficult period of your personal life and loss during the course. Understand that everyone carries an emotional baggage which teachers have to deal with, and yoga purges it out faster. People do cry in meditation as emotions must be expressed in order to be cleansed. Go deeper in practice, and you will understand. 7. We had technical difficulties encountered in the Skype lectures but the Professor is old, he can't travel and is a distinguished researcher/lecturer in Yoga and has been in the field for over 60 years. Our intention was to deliver the best knowledge which we believed we delivered. Again, different teachers have different teaching styles. In those lectures, time was always given for Q&A. You had asked none. 8. You may be facing difficulties in your life now, based on the lack of open communication and decision to write this review instead of resolving it with us amicably. 9. As you had thought we lack compassion by imposing the penalty fee during your pregnancy period (which you had not informed us prior and had not put in a request for extension at all), we do have a big heart, and we are willing to refund your penalty fee. Only if you will reply our email and communicated with us about this earlier. Regarding the course: 1. Time was spent on discussing, practising and understanding the asana from an anatomical perspective. The lectures on theory were limited to 1 hour per day, which makes up about 10-15% of the total course. 2. The lectures were structured, and practical for your personal practice and growth in yoga. When you know your own practice well, you will also know how to teach others. 3. They all passed their practical teaching and were very confident in their practical exam, contrary to your claim. 4. The practical experience comes after the practical exam with a minimum requirement of 10 hours. this is where the additional practice comes in. 5. Raj is a very patient teacher and your views on him is biased, harmful and definitely disrespectful. If you had paid attention during the theory sessions, you will know that Yama and Niyama are the foundations for yoga. 6. Our course ensures a holistic teacher who understands yoga and teach from a yogic perspective. In that aspect, some may view the yogic discipline as boring, uninteresting and unstructured. 7. We are sorry for your medical complication faced during the course, but to be honest here, we are unsure what kind of sympathy you expect when you do not speak out honestly. During the 2 weeks break, you faced your loss, which we did not know about, until you emailed us to mention and in the same email, you stated that you would still like to continue with the course. How else do you expect us to reply to that? We had in fact thought that you were very brave and strong to continue with the course. We trust you are able to make your own decisions and own up to them. Truly, we cannot predict your thoughts. Unless you had asked for a postponement, which we would have granted. But you didn't ask. We are constantly improving ourselves through constructive feedback from past students. We do listen, but first, you must tell. We are unable to predict what goes on in a student's mind or their personal lives. Wishing you well in all aspects. Metta.
Written October 23, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Shinyee L
5 contributions
Solo
Cosy and clean studio that feels like home to most. Instructors are kind and are always giving you space to explore in a safe environment. The variety of classes offered here also ensured that there's something for everyone.

I've taken their full-time Yoga Teacher Training course and it was a smooth, enriching journey. My coursemates and I were always encouraged to do the right thing with proper justification.
Written October 25, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking time to review Yoga Mala. We are very glad to hear that you had a good experience at our studio. We are open for any kind of suggestions of improvements. Hope to see you soon.
Written October 28, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Rupesh K
5 contributions
Solo
I went to this yoga studio last week and had wonderful time. Teachers are well versed and very supportive. I booked my class at the yoga studio itself. But they have online as well as email booking from their website. Mostly i go to yoga studio for relaxing and this one was no different. I was fully satisfied. Will definitely recommend to others.
Written September 13, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank a lot for your valuable feedback. We really hope to serve you even better next time. Please do let us know whenever you want to drop in.
Written October 24, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 34
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Yoga Mala

Yoga Mala is open:
  • Sun - Sun 7:00 AM - 11:00 AM
  • Mon - Fri 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
  • Sat - Sat 8:45 AM - 5:00 PM