Cat Cafe Neko no Niwa
Cat Cafe Neko no Niwa
4.5
Game & Entertainment Centers
This location was reported permanently closed
About
The first cat cafe in Singapore! Enjoy a cuppa and cake in the company of 13 adorable cats. We recommend for you to make a reservation and note that minimum age for entry is 7 years old. *Opening Hours* Mon, Wed to Fri: 11am to 10pm Sat, Sun & PH: 10am to 10pm Closed on Tuesdays
Meets animal welfare guidelines
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

The area

Address
Neighborhood: Central Area/City Area
How to get there
  • Raffles Place • 6 min walk
  • Telok Ayer • 8 min walk
Reach out directly

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles244 reviews
Excellent
168
Very good
45
Average
15
Poor
4
Terrible
12

Yohann F
Rio de Janeiro, RJ80 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020
Me and my wife have two cats and, having been away from home for almost a month in South East Asia, were very excited when we found out there was a cat cafe in Singapore. We’ve been to other cat cafes in Europe and South America and the experience was always great. The initial price was S$ 12/pax for an hour. I thought it was a bit expensive but since we were already there we went in. We got basic instructions about the cats, that we shouldn’t wake them up, shouldn’t talk too loud, and stuff like that. They were sensible recomendations. I looked through the glass door and saw the cats roaming aroud the room. Still excited we went in. We were barely through the door and the trouble started. I hadn’t even touched a cat when the first staff member came to me and told me off for some insane reason I can’t even remember. I came close to another cat that smelled my hand and was fine with me being there, so I started petting it. Another staff member came to me telling me that I shouldn’t be touching the cat like that, that I had to do it this or that way, as if the cat was really hating what I was doing, which, for the record, it wasn’t. And that kind of approach by the staff happened every single time me or my wife came close to or touched a cat, by every staff member. The staff obviously didn’t want us there and made a clear effort to annoy us, telling us off all the time. It was unbearable. Anything we did was followed by some remark about “what we were doing wrong”. Even when the cat was clearly liking what we were doing (even purring, yawning, stretching, etc) the staff told us off, as if we were doing the cats some harm. The only people the staff wasn’t harassing were the ones playing cards and not interacting with the cats (which doesn’t make sense. Why go to a cat cafe and not interact with the cats?). As I said, we have two cats and there are 4 others in the family, so we like cats and know how to treat them well. There wasn’t a single moment where the cats were harmed, hurt or abused by me or my wife, but the staff constantly made us feel that way. The situation got so annoying and made us so angry that we left before half an hour there. Not only did we waste money in that awful place, we got mad. What was supposed to be a pleasant experience actually made my day worse. I don’t know if the staff gets jealous of the cats or if they’re afraid we will “break” they’re source of income. Whatever the reasons, this cat café is the worst one I’ve ever been to by far. It’s not worth visiting at all.
Written February 20, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for spending your precious time to write this lengthy feedback. We have reviewed our records and video footage and found that you visited on 15 Feb 2020 from 3.38pm to 4.30pm. During your 50-min stay, three of our staff interacted with you a total of five times and we have spoken to them to find out more. As you have rightly pointed out, there is no reason for our staff to be jealous and we certainly didn’t think that you will ‘break’ or abuse the cats. Our intention when we interact with customers is to show how different cats like to be approached, stroked or petted so that the experience is enjoyable for both the customer and cat. While cat owners might have an advantage with some basic cat behaviour knowledge, there is no denying that every cat is different and our staff would know our café cats best. When our cats are mostly sleeping, we try to share fun facts or history about each rescued cat to give more depth to the visit. Perhaps our well-meaning advice and conversation starters were interpreted wrongly. We are sorry you feel mad from the whole experience and we have reminded our staff to pay more care to the words they use and tone of voice when communicating to avoid such future misunderstandings.
Written February 23, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ginnyleeinwonderland
Hai Phong, Vietnam359 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020
I booked 1 hour with drink before I went there. Staff there were very friendly and they gave me many helpful advices about how to take care of cats. Before getting inside, they asked me to wash my hands to keep it clean for myself and for cats. Although they had many rules to follow, it was not hard and it was good for the quiet environment they wanted to keep. They also had introduction which I could read and know more about the cats which were rescued and staying in their house happily. The cats were cute and huge. It was easy for me to pet them because they were comfortable with that and allowed me to pet them. The drink was hot, smelled good and tasted nice. The view from the window was beautiful, too
Written February 7, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Anna 娜娜子 Nanazi
Kuching, Malaysia24 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019 • Friends
The place is easy to seach. The cafe is cozy. The owner is friendly to explain everything. For my opinion one hour $18 might be a little much to just stay with the cats. If the cats happened to sleep all time u might waste an hour just leisure with friend. Choose a correct timing. I went twice and i am lucky to have fun with cats.
Written February 12, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for spending time with us! We'd just like to highlight that our First Hour entry fee is SGD12 (or USD9, perhaps $18 is in your local currency) and food and drinks are optional. Mornings and nights are usually best to catch our cats active.
Written March 1, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jacky_HYM
Singapore, Singapore7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 • Family
Best cat cafe. Love the place, cats and the staffs. Staffs shared their experiences and acknowledges regards cat with the customers. Art of doing simple things in a very detail manner. Love the whole vibe when in the cafe. One of the few places, that I'm able to find peace, after my wife demise.
Written April 27, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Pastel1234
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2021 • Friends
Disappointing experience. Admittedly we were late by half an hour but when we were paying, they told us we have 1 hour, but we got chased out 30min later. Should have told us before we paid, basically $12 for 30min? And there were 5 of us so $60 for 5 of us.. i think its very unethical of them to do such a thing. Told the staff that they should have told us earlier and she said “okay, then sorry?” It was so insincere. Will not be back 😔
Written September 12, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Clement
Singapore, Singapore1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2020
First time visiting the cafe, near the end of 2020. I came alone, and based on my own observation, all the cats were healthy and very much well-taken care of, with careful house rules and vigilant (but welcoming) staff to help ensure that the cats won't be mistreated by visitors.

Despite having only stayed 1 hour, I thoroughly enjoyed my brief visit there, surrounded by the presence of friendly cats. I wanted to extend my reservation hour but unfortunately it was a busy period and the next slots were all filled up - Will definitely drop by again in the future!
Written December 29, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

ana tan
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2020 • Friends
Cats were cute and well groomed. Atmosphere was okay. Staff was extremely rude and unfriendly. Came here because of the good reviews and was extremely disappointed. Firstly - staff messed up our order, we didn’t give her a hard time but ended up with no drinks that we were entitled to for our package. There were a minimum of two staff in the cat play area. Understandable that they had to notify us on where the cats disliked to be touched, but the way they delivered this information came off as rude and unwelcoming. Instead of an informative experience, it felt like a session that we were extremely restricted in. Staff was really uptight about everything. Just touching a cat the wrong way can get you shoo-ed. Would highly not recommend you to come here, if it was an option, 0 stars.
Written December 30, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

ibrahim ahmad
Singapore, Singapore29 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2021 • Couples
We were very surprised by the ambience and cleanliness of the place. Truly a unique experience to meet and touch these lovely kitties. They are immaculately well kept and are explained to us in detail, each cat via a poster and a staff. The view to the Singapore river completes our experience 😊👍
Written March 17, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

guannn
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Friends
awesome place to just come and relax and de-stress. really cosy place full of lovely wonderful cats and awesome staff. they take the best care of the cats and are very friendly and approachable and will even give tips on how to better take care of ur cats nutrition and health. the desert is also very tasty and the catnip tea is very nice to drink. always a pleasure coming back to spend time will everyone.
Written February 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Billybrian8265
Braunton, UK98 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Couples
Just went here today on the off chance we could get in and wasn’t disappointed! Lots of lovely different cats all with different traits and backgrounds. The owners were very friendly and looked after their cats very well. A nice way to spend an hour or so!
Written February 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 218
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Cat Cafe Neko no Niwa - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Singapore HotelsSingapore Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Singapore
All things to do in Singapore
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars