Paramita Tours & Travel
Paramita Tours & Travel
4
Multi-day ToursHistorical & Heritage ToursWalking ToursNature & Wildlife ToursDay Trips
This location was reported permanently closed
About
we provide: - private / group tours - car, minibus, big bus hiring - Hotel's reservation - Flight and Train ticketing - Study tour - Special interest tours - Tour for Disabilities
Yogyakarta Region, Indonesia

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles12 reviews
Excellent
8
Very good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
3

Arthurrvr
Marlborough, UK1,426 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2013 • Friends
Came across Paramita in a couple of TA review mentions and having made enquiries of a number of Yogyakarta tour companies about tailor made day tour arrangements, Paramita seemed to have the best responses and options. We (5 of us) were very happy with Paramita and all the 3 full day of tours that we did went very well and successfully. I made all the arrangements in advance by e-mail with their manager, Ummy, who was very helpful throughout. I was very precise with what I wanted and she did also make a number of suggestions as well but was still very happy to fit in with what I required for the schedule and didn't insist on her preferred options. Ummy also offered to arrange the tickets for us for the Ramanaya Ballet performance at Prambanan which saved us a lot of time and bother and didn't cost us any extra on top of the seat price. Paramita prices for all their services were also much more reasonable than some of the bigger companies that I approached so we saved quite a lot by using them.
We had one of their bigger mini-buses as although the standard ones were a little bit cheaper, the bigger ones gave greater comfort. Our driver was excellent throughout and very careful and considerate as well as being very helpful. We also asked for an English speaking guide who was good on history and we had Sony/Sunni who was really good. Very helpful, knowledgeable and detailed as well as having an excellent sense of humour. Our driver and our guide also always arrived in plenty of time so no hanging around waiting for them.
Paramita did not require a deposit in advance and was happy for us to pay on the last day. Our driver took us to their office (which was in the Jogjakarta Plaza Hotel) on our way to the airport, for us to pay the bill. The bill was exactly as we agreed before-hand with no 'nasty surprises', good for them. We paid Rupiah cash though could have paid on credit card with a 3% fee. A very happy experience with Paramita and we would be happy to use them again on our next visit to Yogyakarta.
Written March 9, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paramita Tour T
Dear Mr. Arthurrvr, many thanks for your review. Hope to see you again :) Best regards,
Written July 3, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

doublescore27
Singapore, Singapore146 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2019 • Solo
Starting off from my hotel in Yogjakarta at 7 am, it took 3.5 hours to reach 3.5 hours to reach Dieng Plateau, passing Borobudur about 1 hour into the journey.

It would save 1 hour each way if one would combine Borobudur Sunrise with a trip to Dieng Plateau. However, it will be physically taxing. The entire trip will last from about 4 am to 8 pm with a lot of walking and climbing.

We stopped at a café where my driver introduced me to a local guide, Dwi. On hindsight, it was a good decision to engage a local guide. It would have been impossible to walk and reach the sights in the plateau without a guide.

Dwi was able to gather a group comprising of a Belgian couple, an Italian couple (who arrived in Dieng after doing Borobudur Sunrise) and me.

Dieng Plateau is more than 2600 metres above sea level. Hence, the air is quite thin. The temperature at noon time was below 20 deg C, and it can drop below zero at night. However, the sun can still be very strong. So be prepared with sun protection for the body and eyes. Also, it will be inadvisable to walk to the sights on a rainy day. Most of the time, there was no proper trail, hence the need for a guide, and a lot of climbing up and down slopes.

Our first stop was to see Telaga Warna (coloured lake) from a hill. The lake was beautiful and in shades of green.

Shortly after seeing Telaga Warna, the Italian couple gave up. The physical exertion was too much for them. They had arrived from Italy early in the morning of the previous day, and had woken up very early, possibly around 3 am, in order to catch the Borobudur Sunrise.

After a fairly long walk, we reached the Candi Arjuna temple complex. They are some of the oldest temples in Indonesia, dating back to the 8th century. It was a Saturday and the place was crowded. As far as I could tell, except for the Belgians and me, all the rest were Indonesians. In fact, the Belgians were the only non-Asians and constantly pulled away for photos with the Indonesians, beating the Po (Teletubby) and Hanuman impersonators for popularity!

We then made our way to the Sikidang Crater. The smell of Sulphur was very strong, with smoke and boiling mud in the crater. There were sellers of raw eggs who would have buyers dip those eggs into crater to cook. There was a man with a python and a ferret for visitors who wanted to take photos with these animals.

There were many vendors, mostly of local produce, and selfie sticks (how thoughtful).

Once again, despite the large number of visitors, it seemed that we were the only foreigners.
Written June 29, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for the review.
Written July 29, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Yoga Efendi (Tour Guide)
Yogyakarta Region, Indonesia1,595 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2018 • Solo
I've booked twice for the flight tickets from Paramita Tours and this is my second review. My first review about transportation.

I have to say the response was quick and helpful. I got the best seats, the price very reasonable, and also included 15 kg baggage!

After dropping the clients to Bali Island especially southern part, I am always staying 1 night first. Sometimes 3 nights. In this situation if you need quick and fast response and you don't have time for booking online, so Paramita Tours could help you.

Thanks for the best service from Paramita.
Written November 16, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you Mr Yoga
Written July 29, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

beijingtaylor
Kuta, Indonesia56 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We cannot recommend this tour.
The whole time we got the feeling that this was a procession of opportunities set up for the tour guide to make some back handers or introduce as many people as possible to elicit tips.
The visit to the market was ok. We’ve been to many a market and it was ok.
Next was Batik. On arrival we were introduced to about 6 people - why? The Batik guy was good. I took our tour guide to one side and asked “you have already introduced us to many people what’s the expectation here regarding tips?” Her reply it’s ok just give them 20 - 25,000 each.
This was the end of this tour as an enjoyable experience. Although that is not big money for us I really hate being taken for a mug or a ride.
Actually the Batik and the tour of the village would have been interesting if the whole experience not have been already soured.
We asked the tour guide to take us to a local restaurant for lunch. We said we prefer local, definitely Javanese food no need for western standard. They took us to a ramshackle filthy hut with the worst food we ate in the whole 9 days in Java. The bill a staggering 150,000. I am 100% sure this was at least double the real bill.
The beach at Parangtritis is a tourist honeypot pile of commercial trash. The beach is awful. It is populated with ultra tacky pony and traps and quad bikes. Rows of tourist tack stalls. A complete waste of 2 hours to get there and back. We stayed less than 5 minutes and immediately said no take us back to Yogya.

This whole tour is a scam. I only gave it 1 because you cannot give 0.
Written July 23, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Sir, Thanks for your review to our services. According to your program you experienced some activities in the village. We took you to a village where local people had different activities, such as making batik, making javanese chips and soy bean cake. We do not ask our guests to give people tips since it is not an obligation and we have already paid them. But if guests want to give them personal tips it is no problem. According to our guide, she had explained this fact already to you. But you still gave them tips at the end. About the restaurant nearby, you don't have that many choices in this rural area. The area is very famous for the local culinary ( lamb satay) and mostly the condition of the restaurant is the same. It s only a warung, not a restaurant. You paid IDR 150.000 for 4 people (our guide said that you invited the guide and driver for lunch) with the lamb satay and curry menu, rice, chips and drinks. It is a normal price as lamb and beef are more expensive than chicken. We, the locals pay the same amount as you did. Despite of the condition Parangtritis beach is very famous for the sunset and has its own story and history. So far our guests love to visit this beach.You can undertake nice walks along the beach where you will be on your own, not in the crowd. And it s very special. We think that there had been a lot of cultural misunderstandings. We are working in the tourism industry since 1996. We never ever had a review like this. Tourists in general like very much our set up of the programs and also the actual way we approach the people in the villages. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the tour with us but we have tried our best and we never had the intention to trick you at all. Thank you.
Written July 29, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

tessaleuwsha
Paramaribo, Suriname3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2016 • Business
I had a very bad experience with this travel agency! I booked a trip from Yogjakarta to Semarang with a stop at the Borobodur on the way. Although the booking agent was very friendly, the driver made some bad mistakes. At lunch he parked the car at an empty parking lot. Back on the road we had a flat tire. The driver repaired it, but did not close the car. I stood closely by the car, but had to shelter for the rain for a minute, still keeping an eye on the car. However, when I got back in the car my bag was stolen with my passport, credit card, cash money and everything else in it. The driver assisted me in going to the police and made me use his phone, but I still felt very bad about all of this. I spent my entire last week in Indonesia arranging things to fly back home. Be very careful!
Written June 5, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We feel really sorry this happened to you. For sure we wanted you to enjoy your stay in Yogyakarta. We are running the company since 20 years and this had never happened to us before and also never since this event. We are happy that our driver was able to help you in this difficult moment. We assure that our driver was acting in a correct way. Hopefully you will return one day and enjoy your new experiences in Yogyakarta. We are ready to serve you.
Written May 18, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

melai_camacho
Indonesia65 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2015 • Friends
We booked a day tour to go to Borobudur and the beaches through phone only. They were easy to talk to. The driver arrived on time at dawn because we wanted to see the sunrise on a hill overlooking the Borobudur Temple .He is also courteous and very patient with us. One of my friends forgot a valuable thing in a beach resort ,and when we requested to come back for it, even if he had to drive back for an hour, he was okay with it. He gladly helped.I highly recommend this transport service. They even gave a free bottled water and a bag :)
Written August 20, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paramita Tour T
Dear Mrs. Camacho, many thanks. Hope we can meet you again :)
Written July 3, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Meiju85
Singapore87 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2014 • Family
We had booked Paramita tours after reading the review by Arthurrvr on Tripadvisor (thanks!!). We had chosen a SUV (Toyota Innova) to take the four of us on a 3 day tour around Yogyakarta with an english speaking guide, Yoga and we had a fantastic time.

The 3 days tour were packed to the brim with the attractions that we wanted to see, and the arrangements were done seamlessly. Yoga, who was our english speaking guide for the entire tour, was a young chap that had brimming enthusiasm and love for Yogyakarta, and shared with us a lot of local knowledge and interesting trivia. His command of English is as strong as his sense of humour, and has a miraculous memory of all the foreign movies that were ever shot in Yogyakarta.

Our driver was a man with 18 solid years of driving, and was extremely skillful in navigating some of the tricky bends on the way out to Dieng plateau. Due to unforeseen circumstances (road works on the already razor thin road up dieng plateau), we were caught in this terrible jam that lasted for hours and were very late in our itinerary. Despite so, Yoga and the driver persisted in bringing us up to Dieng so we could at least catch a glimpse of the attractions, and stayed with us on the trip till past midnight so that we could go back home safely to our hotel. Kudos to the both of them for their dedication!

We had brought along 2 seniors to the trip, and Yoga took great care to ensure that they manage to move around safely (esp. for attractions that involved extensive physical activity like ascending boroburdur and the volcano jeep ride) and we are very thankful for that.

We would definitely recommend anyone that are thinking of booking a tour in Yogyakarta to consider Paramita, and to choose Yoga as their guide for a fuss-free, memorable tour! :)

- Christine & Eugene (visited Yogyakarta in March 2014)
Written April 1, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paramita Tour T
Dear Mr/s. Meiju85, we are glad to arrange your trip. Many thanks for your trust. Hope to see you again in the near future :) Best regards,
Written July 3, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Paramita Tours & Travel - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Yogyakarta Region HotelsYogyakarta Region Hotel Deals
All things to do in Yogyakarta Region
Day Trips in Yogyakarta RegionAmusement Parks in Yogyakarta Region
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars